Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buckingham Palace emergency meeting?

Ah for Jaysus sake.

I thought she was dead. She has let me down very badly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I suppose he won't have to dodge the benefits investigators now........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I was Ironing My going to funeral suit......

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Fair play to him. Enjoy your retirement Phil.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,718 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Would that necessitate an "emergency" meeting though?

Not really, but from a logistical perspective of getting all staff in the same place at the same time it might be seen as best practice to ramp up the urgency.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,069 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It says a lot about The English Media when this actually makes front page news.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭cml387

It says a lot about The English Media when this actually makes front page news.
    And you're reading this thread about it. So you must be interested too.

cml387 wrote: »
    And you're reading this thread about it. So you must be interested too.

well I thought one might be dead;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 864 ✭✭✭neverever1

I thought it was going to be another jimmy saville/rolf harris type announcement. It really wouldn't be surprising, it seemed to be the done thing in Britain in the 70's/80's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭BlinkingLights

The guy is 95! It's an impressive retirement age.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Big Phil is stepping down..Official

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Was that it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

Maybe it was one of the royal corgis whose died..sad day !

The flags would be at half mast if a corgi died, mabee one of them is in heat...........the corgi that is, not a royal !!

Harry's going to have to step up and start making more royal gaffes.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,718 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

kfallon wrote: »
    Lizzy is up the spout I bet!

Ghandi's flip-flop......

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

***********Pippa Middleton is Pregnant*************

with Prince Philip's child :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Read the guardian article. This isn't the way significant information is released. Unless it's totally changed.

I'm sure something is up that effects the staff of the royal family.

Also an emergency meeting isn't a meeting about an emergency. It's just a non scheduled meeting.

Well I was right. It didn't have that much to do with staff after all.
    You don't call an emergency meeting unless something is up.
    Its not that significant but noteworthy nonetheless. The man has earned his retirement at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,107 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

He woke the queen up at midnight with the full royal guard dressed as Sto?truppen screaming May the fourth be with you. Lizzy has had him sectioned and he will meet with George Lucas for reeducation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Harry's going to have to step up and start making more royal gaffes.

He would appear to be the natural successor to Prince Philip in this regard.

Without those they might as well just declare a republic and be done with it.

I mean, it's basically a state-funded live soap opera.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The guy is 95! It's an impressive retirement age.
    It is, but then again he is retiring from being a professional tourist essentially.

What have these people ever done? They just go around visiting places and live in a massive house without having to cook or clean for themselves? It's hilarious seeing the Brits fawning over them! They've been taken for mugs.

Brits being Brits - it's an odd mental state to get your head around. One minute they're a modern, progressive democracy, the next they're worshiping the old lady who owns the place and seeing nothing odd about the Lords Spiritual (bishops in the upper house of the parliament).

It's a bit of an enigma of contradictory facts and ad hoc arrangements that only make sense in context.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

David Bowie made the same announcement a year before he died

As did Bill o herlihy

• Registered Users Posts: 40,319 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Agricola wrote: »
    It is, but then again he is retiring from being a professional tourist essentially.

I dont remember being told where to go and who to meet when i'm a tourist. You must go on different holidays to me.

neverever1 wrote: »
    What have these people ever done? They just go around visiting places and live in a massive house without having to cook or clean for themselves? It's hilarious seeing the Brits fawning over them! They've been taken for mugs.

Its funny people cant actually see this with Prince (or king or whatever the F he is) Phillip. People wishing him the best on his "retirement". Like he gives two hoots what people think

and this is coming from Half English, Prod myself.:P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Enjoy your enlightened flawless Republic lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Enjoy your enlightened flawless Republic lads.

Uh oh! We've got a fawner here! :D

David Bowie made the same announcement a year before he died
    Oh stop trying to cheer us up.

Lets face up to the disappointment it is. I want a royal death now to get me over the midweek hump. :mad: