Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,955 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Sad to hear, but a very well-lived life at 97
    RIP Brig/General Charles "Chuck" Yager.
    The first man to break the sound barrier, WW2 air combat ace, one of the first aces to shoot down a ME 262 jet fighter in a P51 Mustang
    incredible pro-gun and 2A supporter and hunter.
    Truly "The right stuff!"
    Kick your tyres and light your fires on your final flight Gen Yager

https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/chuck-yeager-pilot-who-broke-the-sound-barrier-dies-at-97/ar-BB1bJgx5?ck_subscriber_id=560992113

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Sainsburys, the UK supermarket chain getting abuse for using footballer/actor in their adverts, as he is a "Wildlife terrorist" :rolleyes:.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-9030351/Sainsburys-slammed-anti-hunt-campaigners-decision-use-Vinnie-Jones-ad-campaign.html

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

Texas just filed suit in US Supreme Court against Georgia, Pennsylvania, Michigan and Wisconsin at the state level, alleging that the four swing states did not select their presidential electors constitutionally.

The argument by Texas seems robust and looks to be the result of huge amounts of work.

Forget about election fraud - which the Guardian article in the link presents as a straw man - the issues in question are the procedures followed in the 4 swing states to introduce mail-in voting.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/dec/08/texas-lawsuit-donald-trump-election-georgia-michigan-pennsylvania-wisconsin

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Just see the enormous economic impact the Chinese covid virus has had on it's host country - China, where exports have surged by over 20%!

https://www.breitbart.com/economy/2020/12/07/china-trade-surplus-sets-record-high-as-world-reels-from-pandemic/

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Rosahane wrote: »
    Just see the enormous economic impact the Chinese covid virus has had on it's host country - China, where exports have surged by over 20%!

https://www.breitbart.com/economy/2020/12/07/china-trade-surplus-sets-record-high-as-world-reels-from-pandemic/

China were never truthful with their economic figures in the past. Doubtful they would start now.

The Chinese are not to be trusted, they are ruthless and very underhand. For some reason Russia is portrayed in the media as the bogieman who is up to all kinds of evil, but in reality its the Chinese. I wouldn't be in the least surprised if they developed this horrible virus deliberately.

Personally i try to buy as little as i can from China.

The auction of Teddy Roosevelts Colt revolver, it got out of my price range really quickly :(.

I see in the Mejia, that former senior public servants, like Bertie Ahern, Fatty Cowen, and the bank regulators who were asleep at the switch when it all went seriously wrong, are to get a big hike in their pensions, 15k a year in the case of Ahern and Cowen.

Does your heart good to see it doesn't it :mad: ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

tudderone wrote: »
    I see in the Mejia, that former senior public servants, like Bertie Ahern, Fatty Cowen, and the bank regulators who were asleep at the switch when it all went seriously wrong, are to get a big hike in their pensions, 15k a year in the case of Ahern and Cowen.

Does your heart good to see it doesn't it :mad: ?

Where is that ignore button gone to!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

A barrister has formed a new privately-funded org called Irish Council for Human Rights which is going to challenge the constitutionality of an aspect of the Covid lockdown here.

Doesn't appear to be an amateur attempt like the one brought by Gemma and John, which actually did more harm than good IMHO.

I'm on the record as saying the lockdown is/was unconstitutional, had a letter printed in Sunday Times where I say it in passing, as part of a critique of Golfgate/Woulfe.

The lady barrister says she has advice to challenge infringements of either the right to work or the right to worship and as Declan Ganley is preparing a challenge wrt the latter, her org will prepare a challenge based on work. They are looking for plaintiffs from the small business community who have been impacted by the lockdown.

My own opinion is now, that there have been at least two lockdowns in 2020, there is an argument around the proportionality of the legislation; most people would probably agree with the first lockdown (as I do) because so little was known about the virus at the time, but I really worry that lockdowns could in future be imposed more-and-more casually, so I wish the ICHR well in their effort.

She has some interesting takes on lockdown in her previous vids, but here is the latest detailing the challenge;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LH1xbDrEerc

17 more states have just joined the Texas lawsuit against the US election fraud .

You won't hear about this on RTE ,as after all Slnffer Joe is the new US president and he is grand as he has some sort of Irish roots and is a Democrat...That's all you need to know in Ireland obviously.:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Dublin port sealed off with a Russian 82mm mortar found in the back of a van.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/dublin-port-soviet-mortar-launcher-19433959

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    17 more states have just joined the Texas lawsuit against the US election fraud .

You won't hear about this on RTE ,as after all Slnffer Joe is the new US president and he is grand as he has some sort of Irish roots and is a Democrat...That's all you need to know in Ireland obviously.:rolleyes:

You'd want a brain by-pass to listen to fluffy. He had some eejit of a lesbian woman on yesterday i believe, complaining she went to Magee the gents outfitters and they wouldn't measure her for a suit :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Dublin port sealed off with a Russian 82mm mortar found in the back of a van.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/dublin-port-soviet-mortar-launcher-19433959

"The weapon is currently being examined by the Ballistics team of the Garda Technical Bureau."

:o:rolleyes:;):D

"The weapon is currently being examined by the Ballistics team of the Garda Technical Bureau."

To the best of my knowledge, a mortar is just a length of pipe with a spike in the end and a tripod :confused:. Could it even be classed as a firearm ?

You'd want a brain by-pass to listen to fluffy. He had some eejit of a lesbian woman on yesterday i believe, complaining she went to Magee the gents outfitters and they wouldn't measure her for a suit :rolleyes:.

Reckon if RTE and by default, the Irish state didn't have Joe Fluffy and "Rant and rave to Joe hour" on 5 days a week we would have been out revolting on the streets years ago.

"Sniffer Joe" is Biden,for his rather alarming and generally unwanted habit of sniffing little girls or women's hair in public.

Dont think ye'll get much of a ballistic fingerprint off that yoke TBH.:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

"Sniffer Joe" is Biden,for his rather alarming and generally unwanted habit of sniffing little girls or women's hair in public.

Joe sniffs womens public hair ! Disgusting :eek:

For those who have missed out on the possible future POTUS unwanted groping and fondling of women and minors...Kind of puts the current president's salty locker room language in the absolute nowhere league.Dont think I'd want to let my wives or daughters near this dirty old man if he came over here on a state visit. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4PLSPvJ9BY

Bomb squad motto.
    "If you see us running.Try to keep up!"

For those who have missed out on the possible future POTUS unwanted groping and fondling of women and minors...Kind of puts the current president's salty locker room language in the absolute nowhere league.Dont think I'd want to let my wives or daughters near this dirty old man if he came over here on a state visit. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4PLSPvJ9BY

"BUT BUT BUT , PROGRESSIVE, LGBTQ-EI-EI-O, BLM"

Seen an article in a newspaper about the lever release rifles being banned in the uk and the headline said how legal gun owners can claim up to £5000 compensation for voluntarily handing in their ...............

wait for it

............. soon to be banned firearms.

Fact check douchebag, a "mandatory buy back" is gun confiscation and the compensation is a prerequisite of banning those types of guns from legally held owners.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Cass wrote: »
    Seen an article in a newspaper about the lever release rifles being banned in the uk and the headline said how legal gun owners can claim up to £5000 compensation for voluntarily handing in their ...............

wait for it

............. soon to be banned firearms.

Fact check douchebag, a "mandatory buy back" is gun confiscation and the compensation is a prerequisite of banning those types of guns from legally held owners.

At least they got compo, we got diddly-squat when the pistol ban came in :mad:.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

How was that right/fair/legal?

A friend of mine in NZ had his semi auto AK variant bought back by the government after they made them illegal after that nut job attack. Don’t quote me but they weren’t offering anything on additional mags/scopes etc, so he was left out of pocket for a load of accessories.

First they came for the socialists...

"BUT BUT BUT , PROGRESSIVE, LGBTQ-EI-EI-O, BLM"

Crickets when Tara Reade accused Biden of having a feel from the FemiTaliban.Whom Kamala Harris said she believed implicity when running against Biden, and that he was just as much a sexual predator as Trump!! Funny how that was forgotten, as soon as she had a whiff of the White house power...
    Think there is a not nice name for a lady like that ..Starts with a "W"

But pretty vocal when a looney tune like E Jean Carrol accuses Trump...23 years later...Of having a go at her in an NYC dept store, and it has "only taken" her this long to report a crime against her???:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Because it wasn't a ban!
    It was a grandfathering of the licenses out there already.
    The sneaky phase was to claim that because people in the DOJ and AGS were fixated on IPSC which they made illegal, that there would be "no good reason" for anyone to own a CF handgun so they revoked licenses left, right and centre.

They forgot however that there were plenty of other disciplines out there with CF pistols, and made a complete ass of themselves trying to claim it was "combat style " shooting on some of them.Anyone remember the WA1500 story with Insp Google trying to claim an 8in vertical post was a "barricade"?:rolleyes:

So, unfortunately, it was left open to people to go fight the revocation in the DC of the land. Those that did won in 95.9% of the cases. Pity we dont have class action lawsuits in this country

Because it wasn't a ban, but a cessation of issuing new licenses. A small point of law but an important one.

Feisar wrote: »
    .......... so he was left out of pocket for a load of accessories.
    Why hand those items in? Only the gun should have been given in.