Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

€145,000 plus expenses, per year, for this turnip.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Cass wrote: »
    €145,000 plus expenses, per year, for this turnip.

If you nod off in your job what would the gaffer say ? Anywhere i worked it would be "Get the fcuk down the road". What a tit :mad:

Lets have a quick recap of the last two weeks:
    • Roderic O'Gorman (Greens) - Paedophilia scandal
    • Barry Cowen (FF) - Drink driving
    • Pat Buckley (SF) - Drink driving, although less publicised for some reason
    • Eamon Ryan (Greens) - Falling asleep twice
    • Senators - Cost of the senate, and expenses, at over €3,200,000 with only 6 sittings this year
    • Regina Doherty (FG) - Senate seat though she campaigned for it's abolition

Have i missed anything?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Aodhan O'Riordan campaigned against the senate too and still took a seat there. Ryan was also going on about praising and meeting Peter Tatchell, do a google search about him !

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

• Senators - Cost of the senate, and expenses, at over €3,200,000 with only 6 sittings this year

Have i missed anything?

I think the Roderic O'Gorman thing is blown out of all proportion. He knows a nonce. That's about the extent of the scandal. He hasn't campaigned for paedophilia to be made legal nor has he supported paedophilia as far as I'm aware.

Regarding Eamon Ryan, I'd have been sacked if I fell asleep twice in work.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I think the Roderic O'Gorman thing is blown out of all proportion. He knows a nonce. That's about the extent of the scandal. He hasn't campaigned for paedophilia to be made legal nor has he supported paedophilia as far as I'm aware.

You're absolutely correct, on the content of it, but the "scandal" comes from his response, or lack of.

He did not come out and say something along the lines of "i knew/know him having met him X time(s), but don't support any of his writings, nor do i condone anything he has said".

Instead he came out with "you're all right wing nuts, attacking me because i'm gay".

No one, at least no one with a brain, attacked him because of his sexuality. Hell we had a gay Taoiseach so that line about him being gay is a deflection.

It's his silence on the matter, his deflection and refusal to condemn Tatchell's writings/viewpoints on what is paedophilia.

This brings us back to the hate speech laws they were/are trying to bring in. If such laws existed he could claim, as he did, that it was hate speech to criticise him and have any dissent removed.

This is very dangerous, but watch, they'll get them in :mad:.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,032 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

You're absolutely correct, on the content of it, but the "scandal" comes from his response, or lack of.

He did not come out and say something along the lines of "i knew/know him having met him X time(s), but don't support any of his writings, nor do i condone anything he has said".

Instead he came out with "you're all right wing nuts, attacking me because i'm gay".

His response was a crap. But it was a "scandal" before he commented. The fact that he is expected to a response is a bit ridiculous. It's a guy he met and had a photo taken with. Where is the implied support for everything this person has every said.
    I'd be more concern about actual public figures openly supporting convicted pedophiles, than misrepresenting others.

No one, at least no one with a brain, attacked him because of his sexuality. Hell we had a gay Taoiseach so that line about him being gay is a deflection.

I don't think that claim holds much water. Consider the amount of homophobic abuse Leo cops. Gay marriage may have passed by landslide, but there's still a sizable minority who have a problem with homosexuality.

Not going to suggest that these are people with a brain as you say.
    It's his silence on the matter, his deflection and refusal to condemn Tatchell's writings/viewpoints on what is paedophilia.
    I haven't read Tatchells writings, other than what was quoted recently. I've a feeling the the quotes are highly edited, but I don't which way they are being twisted.

Regardless, O'Gorman should have distance himself an walked away. Instead he reference Tatchell's clarification when he didn't need to.

I don't think that's correct. Hate speech laws would prevent personal abuse dues to somebodys race/sexuality/etc. But it would make anyone immune to valid criticism. Claiming otherwise doesn't matter.

Boards has an an attack the post, not the poster rule. Personal abuse is removed. Anyone can claim a poster disagreeing is attacking them. But if it's not valid it would be removed my mods.
    Or at least that's how it should be.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭excludedbin

Except he did.

https://www.thejournal.ie/roderic-ogorman-reject-peter-thatchell-5142524-Jul2020/
    “I met Peter Tatchell once and took a photo. That was the only time I have met him,” the minister said.

“I knew of him as someone who stood up for LGBT people in countries where their rights were threatened. I was surprised to read some quotes from the 90s, which I had not read before.

“Any of those views would be completely abhorrent to me. I’m glad to see he’s clarified and explained that what is being alleged isn’t his view.”
    Well that much, at least, is true. Look at the abuse Katherine Zappone received before him. And it was the National Party that manufactured this controversy, who are far right nuts. I don't know about you but I'd say turning up with pictures of nooses to a protest against him, on the back of lies by the same people, is pretty damn dangerous (and nutty) and shouldn't be allowed.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,951 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Regarding Eamon Ryan, I'd have been sacked if I fell asleep twice in work.

Its not that,its the double standards being applied by the PC woke mob. Were it a right wing chacter standing within 500 meters of a fiddler.The PC taliban would be screaming for blood and their head and deplatforming. Remember what happened to Jordan Peterson when he was seen with some yoke wearing a "proud to be a denier" or somthing upsetting to the woke mob T shirt? Or Milo Yannanopulis,gay and right wing,who said somthing on the issue of underage sex in one of his interviews or books .

Pretty much the same thing Sen David Norris said about how he wished he had been seduced by an older man about six years ago and not a peep about it,because well,he's a Leftie..

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Have i missed anything?

IOW busisness as normal has resumed in Ireland in the political world?:rolleyes:
    Lads ,can someone explain something to me please?Why are half this shower sitting in a huge hall out in city park West and the other half in the Dail chamber?They seem to be swopping and changing on an hourly basis,and no one knows where thy are supposed to be? How does this work at all??
    Have they not heard of SKYPE teleconferencing?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Its not that,its the double standards being applied by the PC woke mob. Were it a right wing chacter standing within 500 meters of a fiddler.
    Jordon Peterson was treating ridiculously by the far left.
    O’Gormon is being treated ridiculously by the far right.

Both are examples of gob****es with extreme views in the wrong. One is as much a double standard as the other. Not suggesting you aren’t condemning both groups of clowns btw.

Mellor wrote: »
    Jordon Peterson was treating ridiculously by the far left.
    O’Gormon is being treated ridiculously by the far right.

Both are examples of gob****es with extreme views in the wrong. One is as much a double standard as the other. Not suggesting you aren’t condemning both groups of clowns btw.

Trouble is, the left are everywhere in positions of power in society. There was a survey done of the lecturers in the major league American colleges, Harvard, Yale etc and most said they were left wing/democrats. If anyone identifies themselves as centrist or rightwing, the pitchfork and torch mob would be after them. Look at Jordan Peterson, he had to have bodyguards on campus, even though he is a centrist, who happened to upset the lefties by saying socialism/communism killed many more people than any other ideology. I am pretty certain he is correct in that, but as he says himself "Once they killed 10 or 20 million the number becomes irrelevant really".

tudderone wrote: »
    Trouble is, the left are everywhere in positions of power in society. There was a survey done of the lecturers in the major league American colleges, Harvard, Yale etc and most said they were left wing/democrats. If anyone identifies themselves as centrist or rightwing, the pitchfork and torch mob would be after them. Look at Jordan Peterson, he had to have bodyguards on campus, even though he is a centrist, who happened to upset the lefties by saying socialism/communism killed many more people than any other ideology. I am pretty certain he is correct in that, but as he says himself "Once they killed 10 or 20 million the number becomes irrelevant really]
    You are conflating “the left” and the far left. They are not the same. Same way that it’s not fair to tar “the right” with the actions of the far right. You could make the exact post about the right being in power in the US right now and the insane actions of far right extremists.

Equating the entire left of centre with communism is also disingenuous. Same way that equating the the entire right with fascism/nazis is stupid. I’m fully aware that both happen regularly btw. But they are both extremist views. In any matter, the extreme views age usually incorrect.
    Both sides are full of hypocrites, especially at the extreme ends.

Jordan Petersen probably gets labelled right often as he often attacks the far left. The labels are relative. Centrists exist to the right of the left and left of the right. I imagine he attack more due to his platform rather than opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭excludedbin

Trouble is, the left are everywhere in positions of power in society. There was a survey done of the lecturers in the major league American colleges, Harvard, Yale etc and most said they were left wing/democrats. If anyone identifies themselves as centrist or rightwing, the pitchfork and torch mob would be after them. Look at Jordan Peterson, he had to have bodyguards on campus, even though he is a centrist, who happened to upset the lefties by saying socialism/communism killed many more people than any other ideology. I am pretty certain he is correct in that, but as he says himself "Once they killed 10 or 20 million the number becomes irrelevant really"
    That's funny because I can't find any source for your claim of Peterson needing bodyguards. You'd expect something like that to make the news but... there's literally nothing, apart from some dopes on Reddit saying they should crowdfund him some bodyguards.

Mellor wrote: »
    You are conflating “the left” and the far left. They are not the same. Same way that it’s not fair to tar “the right” with the actions of the far right. You could make the exact post about the right being in power in the US right now and the insane actions of far right extremists.

Equating the entire left of centre with communism is also disingenuous. Same way that equating the the entire right with fascism/nazis is stupid. I’m fully aware that both happen regularly btw. But they are both extremist views. In any matter, the extreme views age usually incorrect.
    Both sides are full of hypocrites, especially at the extreme ends.

Jordan Petersen probably gets labelled right often as he often attacks the far left. The labels are relative. Centrists exist to the right of the left and left of the right. I imagine he attack more due to his platform rather than opinion.

Well i didn't mean to lump all the left all in together. Some are good and sensible, some are pretending to be to the left and aren't, like the Irish Labour party, doing ff's dirty work for them. But are some that should have everyones alarm bells going.

Toni McBride LAPD officer and well known shooter, in trouble after she shoots man who was armed with a stanley knife.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8535627/LAPD-officer-known-prize-winning-shooting-skills-center-deadly-shooting.html

Well i didn't mean to lump all the left all in together. Some are good and sensible, some are pretending to be to the left and aren't, like the Irish Labour party, doing ff's dirty work for them. But are some that should have everyones alarm bells going.

I’m sure you weren’t intentionally lumping them all together. But that’s the side effecting of using loose terminology interchangeably. A far left twitter brigade you were criticising are not “in power” as you said. Same way that far right fascists are not in power.

I just think these generalisations on either side do more harm than good. Many people will recognise that they are generalisations not take them literally obviously. But recent events have shown the masses will believe any tripe they read on FB or Twitter. This stuff is harming the easily led.

Toni McBride LAPD officer and well known shooter, in trouble after she shoots man who was armed with a stanley knife.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8535627/LAPD-officer-known-prize-winning-shooting-skills-center-deadly-shooting.html

Guess the California police depts are now alowing their officers to shoot IPSC/IDPA these days? When I was there it was a no no for officers,as a couple of them had been shot while trying to "slap leather" on people who had guns drawn on them,and the top brass decided that IPSC mentality would interfere with police training. in those situations.
    Looks like she can handle both situations well enough.
    Justifiable shooting,the guy refused to stop and was in the 30 foot knife/gun rule.
    Looks like another ambulance chaser case simply because she is a competition shooter.

While we are talking about police arms and shootings....Dear God an Uzi is the "best weapon available" even back then???Guess HK Mp5s were a bit too expensive were they?;)
    https://www.rte.ie/archives/2014/0110/496965-should-an-garda-siochana-be-armed/

Jeeze this RTE archive is pure gold on how we ended up with daft legislation.

The GRA character was lying thru his teeth with his "statistics of attacks on other police forces and the Gardai" There was ONE attack with a half-assed pistol Xbow firing a DIY meat skewer.
    Meantime as a security guard down in Limerick rubbish tip, we were facing a barrage of xbow bolts, stones and ball bearings from slingshots every day and night from unhappy dump pickers,and there was never a peep about it.:rolleyes:

https://www.rte.ie/archives/collections/news/21274936-gra-want-weapons-control/

And another... The demonstration of the "crossbow gun"...Saints alive!:rolleyes:

https://www.rte.ie/archives/collections/news/21304542-stun-guns-to-be-banned/

Guess the California police depts are now alowing their officers to shoot IPSC/IDPA these days? When I was there it was a no no for officers,as a couple of them had been shot while trying to "slap leather" on people who had guns drawn on them,and the top brass decided that IPSC mentality would interfere with police training. in those situations.
    Looks like she can handle both situations well enough.
    Justifiable shooting,the guy refused to stop and was in the 30 foot knife/gun rule.
    Looks like another ambulance chaser case simply because she is a competition shooter.
    I’m not sure it will so cut and dry for her. It’s a civil suit rather than formal charges. She could be found liable, even if she followed procedure.

I’m not sure how far away the guy was but I think it’s a 21 foot rule. Based on the ground covered vrs a holstered gun. Best legal team probably wins here.
    Definitely an ambulance chaser pressing the 14 year old

My mistake 21 foot rule,or Tueller drill.

The GRA character was lying thru his teeth with his "statistics of attacks on other police forces and the Gardai" There was ONE attack with a half-assed pistol Xbow firing a DIY meat skewer.
    Meantime as a security guard down in Limerick rubbish tip, we were facing a barrage of xbow bolts, stones and ball bearings from slingshots every day and night from unhappy dump pickers,and there was never a peep about it.:rolleyes:

Oh sweet Jebus :rolleyes:. Thank god they banned those crossbows, or made them a restricted firearm. That put an end to murders altogether.

See for yourself, i think she was right, he collided with 5 cars, got out of his and was brandishing a knife, was told repeatedly to stop and drop the knife, none of which he did.

I’d already seen the video, I completely get why she shot. He refused to drop the weapon, coming towards her, and even after being shot he tried to get up and/or continue towards her.

But I’m pointing out that it’s not a criminal charge. It’s a civil suit. So it’s not the same onus as a criminal trial.
    For example, the 21 foot drill mentioned. The guy is about 30 away (based on road markings). Plus the drill is based on a holstered gun. A gun that’s ready half’s the distance at least. So the family’s lawyer will probably argue that she’s shot too soon, didn’t give him time etc.

How we all know had she give him time, he’d have gotten to 12 feet if she let him. Her team will press the fact that he ignored instructions repeatedly. She should get off. But I’ve a feeling whoever plays the best trick card wins here.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭Mississippi.

The RTE reporter was even putting the words in his mouth for him " so do you think now these should be banned as a matter of urgency ? "

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

A clear case of 'suicide by cop' in my opinion especially seeing as person who called the police said he was trying to kill himself in the car by cutting himself.

That said, civil cases are far easier to win than criminal cases so she could be under a bit of pressure.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,837 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

A clear case of 'suicide by cop' in my opinion especially seeing as person who called the police said he was trying to kill himself in the car by cutting himself.

That said, civil cases are far easier to win than criminal cases so she could be under a bit of pressure.

That's what it looks like, either that or he intended to murder the cop, no backward steps even contemplated.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.