Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

Is the number of daily cases in Italy flattening? If so, we are about 2 weeks behind them. You can interact with the info by clicking the country on the left tab.

https://www.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/bda7594740fd40299423467b48e9ecf6

Italy detail in attachment below, also lots of talk about hydroxychloroquine/antibiotic combo as a therapy - attachment 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭ezra_

yubabill wrote: »
    Is the number of daily cases in Italy flattening? If so, we are about 2 weeks behind them. You can interact with the info by clicking the country on the left tab.

https://www.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/bda7594740fd40299423467b48e9ecf6

Italy detail in attachment below, also lots of talk about hydroxychloroquine/antibiotic combo as a therapy - attachment 2.

I re-read both Max Brooks and Dick Proenneke.

Both seem apt for this time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

I wonder if this is truly fake ? Extinction rebellion posters appearing saying "Corona is the cure, people are the disease". Were they genuine and they panicked when it backfired. They have done really stupid things, supergluing themselves to trains and climbing on the roofs.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-derbyshire-52039662

• Registered Users Posts: 14,953 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Wellll.That is what happens when you put yourself down as an anarcho collective,where any action can be attributed to your group ,as you encourage independent handling and protest. Coming from George Moronibot,thats a lame explanation ,even by his tandards.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Wellll.That is what happens when you put yourself down as an anarcho collective,where any action can be attributed to your group ,as you encourage independent handling and protest. Coming from George Moronibot,thats a lame explanation ,even by his tandards.

A general rule of thumb, someone who writes for the graudian = complete plank :rolleyes: . A real giggle is looking "Trolling the guardian" on twitter, some of it is comedy gold.

I see we are now under house arrest. I always knew that verruca salts fella was a nazi at heart.

It looks like some old forgotten skills might have to be brushed up on again.Like Escape& Evasion and night navigation and the like.:p
    Will someone be going around saying "listen verrry carefully I will only say this only once!" in these times of plauge?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Call him Leo Connor:
    There is no fate but what we make for ourselves

Probably not a good idea to plagiarize a line from a film about the end of the world.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

WELL spotted Sir...Well Spotted!

BTW,where has the President Micheal D'e Hobbitt and joined at the hip wife got to???You couldn't keep the pair of them off RTE news for days at a time, even were there for opening a fricken envelope someplace,and now they have vanished into their Hobbit house...er the Aras...Or somwhere else???

Is it just me,or does anyone else think it bad form,that our first citizen and "leader" hasn't addressed the nation once sofar or even when this broke 10 days ago on St Patricks day,our biggest day as Irish people,that he wasnt "Arased" to address the nation???And left it to Leona to do it??Who didnt even bother wearing a bit of Shamrock,but had his EUSSR party badge on instead?:mad:
    Gotta really ask,that even in times like this,what role DOES the president now fullfill apart from being a expensive rubber stamp,that writes Gaelic hikayus about dry stone walls in Co Clare in a big house in the Phoenix park? Gotta ask when this is all over,will we really trim off some useless fat from Govt like the President and Senad?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

BTW,where has the President Micheal D'e Hobbitt and joined at the hip wife got to

The Hobbit you speak of is well over 70 so has to coccoon himself and herself in the luxurious surroundings of the Phoenix Park.

Gotta really ask,that even in times like this,what role DOES the president now fullfill apart from being a expensive rubber stamp.........
    You do know that the President's role is just that. The President's role, whomever it is, is to advertise and market Ireland and they have no authority to refuse to sign a bill into law and the only power they have when it comes to legislation is to review a finance bill for no more than 7 days after which time they MUST sign it.

I said before that the role of President is entirely cerimonial but as our unelected Taoiseach does the same, only on a grander scale, you have to wonder why the office exists. Well it was created for a past leader to hold onto some semblance of power/authority and another nice pension. A bit critical/harsh i suppose, but not a million miles from the truth.
    Gotta ask when this is all over,will we really trim off some useless fat from Govt like the President and Senad?
    We had that chance some years back and people voted, apparently, to keep the Seanad.

One thing that has me thinking. The Seanad. I seen that Varadkar has appointed a couple of failed TDs to it. He has no authority to do so. Once the Government is dissolved for general elections the Taoiseach and other Ministers keep their offices as caretakers until a new Government is formed.

As the caretaker Taoiseach cannot appoint Senators, only the newly elected Taoiseach can, and the Seanad requires the appointment of 11 of their number by the Taoiseach then how is any legislation to be passed when it cannot pass the Seanad?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Cass wrote: »

We had that chance some years back and people voted, apparently, to keep the Seanad.

Don't forget that the voting card for referendum on abolishing the Seanad was the most fcuked up confusing voting card ever as it looked like yes meant no and no meant yes.

Was that done on purpose, who can say. :mad:

Hence the "apparently" in my post. Couldn't make it too straight forward, in case people actually got to have a say.

I don't think they would have cared anyway, like the Lisbon treaty, they'd make us do it again and again until we voted "freely", exactly how they wanted.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    The Hobbit you speak of is well over 70 so has to coccoon himself and herself in the luxurious surroundings of the Phoenix Park.
    I'm pretty sure a sanitized mike and NBC suited crew could have been inserted so that this paragon of Irish civilisation as we know it could have spoken a few words to the serfs...Er citizens of Ireland???

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

BTW,where has the President Micheal D'e Hobbitt and joined at the hip wife got to???You couldn't keep the pair of them off RTE news for days at a time, even were there for opening a fricken envelope someplace,and now they have vanished into their Hobbit house...er the Aras...Or somwhere else???

Is it just me,or does anyone else think it bad form,that our first citizen and "leader" hasn't addressed the nation once sofar or even when this broke 10 days ago on St Patricks day,our biggest day as Irish people,that he wasnt "Arased" to address the nation???And left it to Leona to do it??Who didnt even bother wearing a bit of Shamrock,but had his EUSSR party badge on instead?:mad:
    Gotta really ask,that even in times like this,what role DOES the president now fullfill apart from being a expensive rubber stamp,that writes Gaelic hikayus about dry stone walls in Co Clare in a big house in the Phoenix park? Gotta ask when this is all over,will we really trim off some useless fat from Govt like the President and Senad?

He was on with Pat Kenny yesterday, it was reported on pretty much every newspaper site, and I saw him mentioned on a RTE.ie headline a few days before.. but sure don't let that get in the way of a bizarre rant

My "bizzare rant "as you call it has got more to do with the fact he wasnt on talking to us on one of the most important days in the states calender on proably one of the most challenging times in the history of the state 10 days ago.. This is now a damage control PR stunt.10 days after the fact...:) But Hey! Some people are happy out I guess having part of their democratic parliment being an oligarchy,and a figurehead in a neuterd state system.

I don't bother with irish political news much any more, you have a clique at the top who are either jumped up village idiots, cute hoors, gangsters, the lackies of gangsters (yeah that one), a crowd so far to the left they consider Marx a facist. Ignore it all and don't worry your head about that crap anymore.

Interesting times.

I'm calling Italy as being at the top of a flat curve wrt new cases (attachment 1). Think we are about 2 weeks behind them.

Wondering why some countries have many fatalities and others with similar number of infections have less? Saw interesting video from a German expert - could be down to air pollution. N. Italy and Wuhan are pollution blackspots, expert reckons could be down to years of lung damage from noxious emissions. (attachment 2). Just an interesting thought. Full rant at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0rInTBhGq10

Rumours about China misreporting Corona cases - no idea myself BTW (attachment 3).

The scary thing about the Cellphone in China is.You just cant live without one,literally.Everything from booking a train ticket to banking ,ordering food,to your citizens social score is on those damn things,as it is a perfect spy tool for a totalitarian state.So 20 million of those accounts disappering someplace since Dec is a big question mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Apparently she's back. God I want one!

python.jpg

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Apparently she's back. God I want one!

python.jpg

Yes they came back at the last shotshow and were said to be better made than the originals. But some have being reporting problems with them. lovely revolvers, but its hard to beat a Smith and Wesson.

I went out on a limb the last post, predicting Italy was at the top of a flat curve, but it was easy for me, as I have nothing to lose/prove in this forum. Now experts are beginning to say what I said, but they have to be more cautious, so they will be a bit slower giving opinions, understandably. (attachment 1 - apologies for the mix-up last post).

Now I'm saying that we in ROI are approaching the top of a flat curve more quickly than I thought due to the extreme lockdown (attachment 2).

i'm getting the info here;

Then, people's thoughts move from tackling the virus, to economic recovery and that's when the fun starts; jim rickards on sky news Aus (9 min vid)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=081bu3_P3vY

Thinking about why it has hit Italy so bad.Might have to do with how they live.You got sometimes 3 generations living in a large house complex and intermingling on a daily basis in a communal area of kitchen and main dining room.They are a very family orientated society,so it would be a perfect jumping point for a virus.

One place that is going to get hammered is Sweden! They are adopting their liberalism to to ignore basically any sort of infringement on movement like what we are doing here.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Thinking about why it has hit Italy so bad.Might have to do with how they live.You got sometimes 3 generations living in a large house complex and intermingling on a daily basis in a communal area of kitchen and main dining room.They are a very family orientated society,so it would be a perfect jumping point for a virus.

One place that is going to get hammered is Sweden! They are adopting their liberalism to to ignore basically any sort of infringement on movement like what we are doing here.

I've been watching the Swedish approach with horror and surprise, don't think it's going to work out well for them.

A friend of mine was an ice cream convention in Italy in January, it's an annual thing and a huge show.

When he came back he was telling me how all the Chinese at it were wearing face masks. I was reading an article yesterday that said they have traced the spreading of the virus in Europe back to that convention, the Wuham display stand was next to the stand from the region of Italy that is/was the hot spot.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Thinking about why it has hit Italy so bad..

Was reading, somewhere, that Italy has a high number of Chinese nationals from the originally infected area of the Chinese virus, do a lot of business with China, have large investments from China (both of which resulted in large Chinese immigration to Italy), and have the second highest elderly population with something like 25% of their population being over 65.

Couple that with the inaction of W.H.O., and the E.U. when asked for aid by Italy and they got hit very hard.

Spain is on the same level. High investment from China and their numbers are skyrocketing with numbers approaching, and soon to overtake, American numbers even though their population is 1/6th of the states.

Things are unreal in Italy at the moment, really bad, i know one guy on sardegna who was telling me there has been civil unrest, its not being reported of course, but conditions are grim. You literally can not put a foot across your threashold. The new sport in Italy is burning the EU flag. The EU met to discuss what to do in Italy and they decided.................nothing, lets meet again in a fortnight !

Sweden is run by tofu eating globalist soyboys and girls, Its no the slightest wonder they are putting ideology before practical concerns.

Was reading, somewhere, that Italy has a high number of Chinese nationals from the originally infected area of the Chinese virus, do a lot of business with China, have large investments from China (both of which resulted in large Chinese immigration to Italy), and have the second highest elderly population with something like 25% of their population being over 65.

Couple that with the inaction of W.H.O., and the E.U. when asked for aid by Italy and they got hit very hard.

Spain is on the same level. High investment from China and their numbers are skyrocketing with numbers approaching, and soon to overtake, American numbers even though their population is 1/6th of the states.

Italy knew they were in trouble with this virus, they approached the EU for aid or help and got nothing, instead the EU told them they were being fined 7.5 million euros for illegally giving state aid to the hotel industry in Sardegna, and would also be fined 80,000 euros a day until they stopped. The russkies have done more in Italy than the EU.

Milan is the epicentre of the fashion and rag trade for Italy.Not that any of that stuff is made there.. So they have imported Chinese labourers to work in Milan as well to learn the cutting and styles and what not.Many are there on fake papers and living in appaling conditions as well.Plus Milan has a older pouplation than most of Italy...Or did more like. Target rich enviroment for "Rona"

Not helped of course by the insistence of EU "open for migrants" and the "Go and hug a Chinaman" demos of solididarity and of diversity either by various Lefties in Italy. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iqhJmsZC_a4

tudderone wrote: »
    Italy knew they were in trouble with this virus, they approached the EU for aid or help and got nothing, instead the EU told them they were being fined 7.5 million euros for illegally giving state aid to the hotel industry in Sardegna, and would also be fined 80,000 euros a day until they stopped. The russkies have done more in Italy than the EU.

According to my contact on the ground there.The Russian "aid" has been nothing but substandard junk of which maybe 1in 8 ventilators work. It was basically a propaganda stunt with the Russians and the Italian Communist party who have always been close since pre Mussolini times.But no,there will be a reckoning with the EU after this is all over.Just remember this,if the EU could do this to their 3rd largest economy,they could just as easily do it to the EU class swot ,Ireland,should we displease them too.:(