Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭BattleCorp1

The problem is that if they cut taxes on fuel, they will have an even bigger deficit and we'll end up paying it eitherways.

I'm not saying taxing the fcuk out of petrol and diesel is right as I'm one of those getting hammered by fuel prices at the moment, but slashing the tax isn't as simple as it sounds. Cut taxes on fuel, less money for other things.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,955 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

The problem is that if they cut taxes on fuel, they will have an even bigger deficit and we'll end up paying it eitherways.

OTOH, as oil is the much-needed lube to keep our economy going,by putting it in trucks and vans and tractors and jacking the price to beyond economic viability,you will lose haulage companies, already on a razor-thin profit margin, independent hauliers and farmers. Simply because the cost of putting fuel in their machines will cause them to cal lit quits.

Does Mr Ryan expect his tofu and avocadoes to be delivered to him by horse-drawn cart or bicycle courier,or canal barge, once it has been unloaded from a modern version of a tea clipper that only took 2 months to round Cape Horn from NZ with his much needed green vegan produce? Stuff that we can deliver by oil-driven transport and farming methods within 24 hours from the other side of the globe. We have to stop buying into the utter LIE that we only have until 2030,45,50,60, definitely 2070 to save the planet by reverting to medieval methods of transport and inefficient wind and solar power and that the electric vehicle is the solution to everything.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

SATIRE from the Babylon Bee website...But funny all the same!

Are you thinking about buying a gun? Ew. What's wrong with you? Gross! Just... ew. Guns are very problematic, and so are the people who use them. You don't need one. Here's why. 

#1) You can always count on the police to protect you: That's just a fact. Police are proven 100% effective at protecting innocent people! 

#2) There's no evidence to suggest the government would ever overstep and try to take away your rights: A government has literally never done this. Don't be so paranoid! 

#3) Guns make journalists wet their pants: If you live near a journalist and he hears you own a gun, he may wet his pants. You don't want something like that on your conscience. 

#4) Guns are NOT cool and awesome and fun to shoot and useful for protection: Just trust us on this. We're journalists.

#5) Criminals have guns and use them to do bad things: You don't want to be like a criminal, do you? 

#6) Nobody's going to break into your house when there's plenty of free stuff to loot at Target: Relax. Seriously.

#7) Your much manlier neighbour already has a gun: You can just borrow his if you really need it! 

#8) Gun handling is best left to the professionals: Like Alec Baldwin. 

So do the world a favour and DON'T buy a gun. Don't visit an online store for a fantastic deal on a firearm. Just don't. 

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

And? What's your own opinion.

The story's a bit like a plot from eastenders.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Well in fairness he had the butchers apron outside the house, what did yer man expect?

First they came for the socialists...

A plot in Eastenders...Novel concept!.The CIA should pump that tripe in 24/7/365 in Guntamino into the hard nut terrorist cells.24 hours later they'll be broken men. I was after 20 mins of watching one episode.

Whose your wan with the big thighs?😖

I seem to remember you knew the cost of rent boys earlier in this thread........................ so maybe she's not your cup of tea. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Sorry, couldn't resist messing. Maisie Smith is her name. EastEnders actress. Depressing programme with the occasional decent bird.

She doesn't look like she skips leg day in fairness to her.

My ears feel cold. Now what could I put around them to keep warm. 😀

Sorry,powerlifting thighs on a woman don't do it for me at all. Screws up the Booty .

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

In all fairness to you lads, I wouldn't climb over her to get to you lot. 😜

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I'd say she could crush all kinds of nuts between them......😮

So long as you don't have to end the foreplay like in this scene.😝

https://youtu.be/gp33apn4U5I?t=121

Had my booster today. And I'm not sure how I feel about the whole thing at this stage. The nurse said that it was preferable that the booster was different to the original double vaccination, I'm paraphrasing. Will I be not allowed into somewhere in six months time because I haven't some blend of vaccines? Someone a while back suggested the excluded unvaccinated would be throwing stones, I'm not one for throwing stones at other idiots.

ANOTHER YEAR.

My look back at 2021.Another year best seen the rear of in the shooting world.

It's been difficult to do anything on the like of competitions and clay shoots with the Chinese flu befalling us for another year. I think I was literally twice at my range courtesy of the lockdowns and Covid life, in general, getting in the way of shooting.

We have the ominous rumblings of the proposed CF SA ban on the horizon next year and God alone knows what else might be reviewed in the firearms legislation to look forward to. being more active and demanding stronger pushes from our mainstream gun organisations is in order...They have a clear mandate from Irish shooters to do so going by the responses they got on club level about this,a bit more openness on what's going on and less midnite in smokey backroom machinations would be in order...

Yet strangely, we have a Green environment minister who despite his animal libber membership hasn't really done anything drastic or draconian against us hunters at all that wasn't already proposed over the last few years.[IE the proposed licensing of newbies coming into deer hunting, or stopping the wood pigeon deregation].

On the EU and lead ban front, we seem to be holding our own, and despite this lead ban being railroaded thru the EU parliament, there is some hope in the EU court challenge to it. Rumour now has it the EU, or certain countries are now after "mil-spec calibre ammo in 5.56,7.62X39,7.62 NATO and 9mm" IE Green or black tip ammo as they are claiming it is "armour piercing"...Quite frankly missing the point that if their demands of solid metal bullets go thru, they too are considered armour piercing as well... The joys of the ignorant legislating on stuff they know nothing about.

So we are holding on, just about as usual. We are dying of old age in this sport, and we seriously need to address this problem at a local and personal level

Maybe in 2022 we could all make a resolution to try and get one or two people interested in the sport and out to a try shoot on a range or tossing a few clays in a safe location and manner. Don't be afraid to ask the ladies in your life if they might be interested too. After all, they are the biggest growing segment in shooting sports and hunting Europe wide.

Ditto on the club level. Maybe some new brooms are in order and new blood needs to be encouraged to get your local club moving? We cant keep the "Nov 1st shooters" and petty tyrants in place forever,just because their family has been in the parish for decades. They are the ones killing our sport on a local level, and they need to realise that without new members they will kill it for future generations. Likewise for PR people. Please STOP playing to the expectations of MSM and cacituriseing yourselves. Take a few courses in PR and how the media works and stop playing their game.It's not helping our image,and that's 75% of the battle these days.

Anyhoo that's my final rant for 2020.Thanks again to the Mods for their hard work in keeping us rowdy bunch under some sort of control when things get heated.

Wishing you and yours a happy new year in 2021, and a safe and prosperous new year...We could all do with one and catching a bit of slack.

Regds

Grizzly 45.

I think its a case of mistaken identity...Its probably just the local tax collector or politican!

https://www.thejournal.ie/egyptian-vulture-spotted-roscommon-5644143-Jan2022/

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Astonishing find really given the time of year and their normal home range and migration pattern. Europes rarest and smallest vulture which I had the privilege of seeing in Turkey a few years ago. A very important part of the Pharoah culture back in the era of Pyramids etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭JP22

Good man Grizz, your spot on.

Its the revenue man/possibly woman, don't you know the LPT is due in January. 🤑

For those who are clay piegon hitting challenged!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PpJWnsf4dV8

• Registered Users Posts: 39,138 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Can you translate the different headings? I presume Mitte dummy is with dummies. Schwarzpulver is maybe Blackpowder.

But schiebstand, hulsien, etc lost me

Sure.

Trocken ubing in der Werkstatt Test run in the workshop

Mit dummies With dummy rounds

Mit Hulsen Empty cartridge shells

Scheissen mit trap munition Shooting with trap loads

Schwarzpulver Blackpowder,

• Registered Users Posts: 13,367 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

That looks so cool, same it can only have three shells in it. :p

Could get it restricted...Be a Hell of a demo/crowd pleaser for shooting events.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭JP22

You’d need 10k rds on your license and pretty deep pockets to feed that bugger. 😍🤑🤑

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭garrettod

What other social media channels are people using, to discuss our sport?

Truth be told, I'm seriously thinking about quitting Boards, as I really don't like it since the "upgrade" - but I'd ideally like to keep contact with fellow Irish shooters etc.

Thanks,

G.

There's a few FB groups but they're not really great for chatting, I prefer the forum format.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Take a break from it.

I only use this forum and on occasion the Boards shooting page on FB, but haven't tocuhed the latter in months and only come on here (lately) every few days to check the forum for problems or user issues. Since I have, I've found a better sense of "well being" simply because I'm not reading or subjected to the pissing matches, misinformation, fights and the general hassle that comes with having everyone's opinions instantly relayed to you via the various social media paltforms. Not owning a phone also helps. So I only get messages or comments, from this forum, when I open the laptop to check.

If you have whatsapp, FB, instagram, meta or whatever the hell if the latest fad then that is a lot of people "shouting" in your ear all the time. Its exhausting.

As for the sites new layout, its different and even now there are some things that bother me, but its to be expected after 20 years of the previous format. Some changes are good and make the user interface far easier, some features were lost but the forum is, and always has been, a member based platform meaning the members keep it going, the members drive the discussions, and the members can make it better or worse depending on content and input.

Still, I'd consider a break from it. I mean weeks if not a couple of months. Get back into the act of shooting and forget about the discussion of it. It'll either renew your interest in the forum or show you don't need it at all. Either wya you'll have your answer.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo