Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards entering bus - greeted with angry passengers

• Registered Users Posts: 15,849 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

FTA69 wrote: »
    They can make up pretty much anything to constitute "reasonable grounds", something as vague as stating that they believed someone was involved in subversive activity is grounds enough. It's an act that gives them a huge amount of power.

If the cops feel like pulling you over and detaining you they can and will do so very easily.

But we know that they would never misuse that :pac:

I heard about a funny "prove your id incident" in a supermarket carpark. An English family were returning with their shopping & were greeted with customs & Guards. They were asked if they were resident in Ireland & replied that they were on holiday. They were asked to prove their UK residency. At one point a Guard asked for a utility bill. The poor holiday maker explained that, when you are packing for your hols you don't think that you will need utility bills.

I had a similar incident many years ago, driving a UK car.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

They can make up pretty much anything to constitute "reasonable grounds", something as vague as stating that they believed someone was involved in subversive activity is grounds enough. It's an act that gives them a huge amount of power.

It wouldn't stand up in court as a real charge if they had no grounds for suspecting you before the arrest, but if they are only hassling you, then yes, you are right.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It wouldn't stand up in court as a real charge if they had no grounds for suspecting you before the arrest, but if they are only hassling you, then yes, you are right.

Unfortunately that's what they're at most of the time. They're interested in disruption, profiling and deterring people as much as anything else. Especially younger people.

It's reminiscent of stop & search in the UK. All it does is make enemies. It just hardens resolve & hate.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

When these things happen there is always at least one person who proclaims, "da bankers", why aren't ye going after them?

Lukker- wrote: »
    When these things happen there is always at least one person who proclaims, "da bankers", why aren't ye going after them?

Yes & very justifiably. But don't forget the crooked Guards too.

Discodog wrote: »
    So Garda baseball hats & bomber jackets with Garda on them aren't uniform ?

No.
    They are not in uniform

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

That bus wasn't stopped for no reason. It'd be very interesting to know who paid for their weekend up there. Might give us a clue as to why the bus was stopped and searched ....
    It's reminiscent of stop & search in the UK. All it does is make enemies. It just hardens resolve & hate.

Your line always reminds me of a certain Irish folk singer who whinged about being stopped in the UK. The same person was well known for having "special collections" at his gigs.

bubblypop wrote: »
    No.
    They are not in uniform

So what constitutes uniform & what difference does it make ? They were hardly undercover :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭Stars and Stripes

Imagine your life was so sad and you lacked depth so much that you had to cling on to something like "Republicanism" and go to ridiculous memorials up the North that really have nothing to do with you. Thank God I had smart parents.
    Could be worse, like the sad clowns who go around pestering people for money to buy a poppy for weeks on end. Even a few clowns in Ireland believe in wearing one for some family reject who fecked off to England and joined their military.

A7Z5Xn9CMAAJZgX.png

cropped_CUT_Poppy_Veterans_Rememberance_Day_iStock.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Could be worse, like the sad clowns who go around pestering people for money to buy a poppy for weeks on end. Even a few clowns in Ireland believe in wearing one for some family reject who fecked off to England and joined their military.

Those "rejects" had to leave because your wonderful nation couldn't feed, clothe or house them amongst other reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

[/IMG]

Bit of a low blow there eh? How do you know their motives? Most probably went for work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

JAsas theres some good old fashioned classical shinnerbot troll on this thread

lads claiming personal experience of regular dealings with special branch. if true theres a good reason why they were looking at you . more likely the closest to special branch they ever got was hiding in the bushes with a few cans.

realistically a couple of former or active terrorists were identified as they were about to leave the country. wouldnt be unusual for some of them to have warrants or to still be involved in criminality at a older age. i know one near 70 year old republican doing 3 months for frauds right now ,

i suppose the irony of a crowd of idiots travelling from dublin to another country to commemorate something that happened in dublin is lost on most ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Alot of the people on the bus are commenting on facebook of the video on the liberal facebook site.

Its gas, just google their second names and tallaght and you get an idea of what they and their families are involved with.

Nice to see they are getting their kids started early by involving them in something like this.

Berserker wrote: »
    Those "rejects" had to leave because your wonderful nation couldn't feed, clothe or house them amongst other reasons.
    Our nation was barely 20 years old and still trying to drag itself out of the mess your 'wonderful' nation left it in and parasited off for centuries. The RoI was peacefully neutral while in England they were been bombed to bits, rationing, evacuations etc Only misfits and rejects went to England and joined it's forces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

No harm, keeping an eye on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Why, what's wrong with Tallaght?

Lack of a sense of houmour amongst some of it's residents

mynamejeff wrote: »
    JAsas theres some good old fashioned classical shinnerbot troll on this thread

lads claiming personal experience of regular dealings with special branch. if true theres a good reason why they were looking at you . more likely the closest to special branch they ever got was hiding in the bushes with a few cans.

realistically a couple of former or active terrorists were identified as they were about to leave the country. wouldnt be unusual for some of them to have warrants or to still be involved in criminality at a older age. i know one near 70 year old republican doing 3 months for frauds right now ,

i suppose the irony of a crowd of idiots travelling from dublin to another country to commemorate something that happened in dublin is lost on most ?
    " good old fashioned classical shinnerbot troll" good description of your own post. What next maybe will you post, pity the Guards didn't 'bait the shyte out of them ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,233 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Really ? Arrested for what ? There is no way that the Guards would do the same with a coach load of muslims going to Mosque. I find it amazing that after all the years of negative Garda stories that people still assume that the people they target are always in the wrong. It's like the old no smoke without fire.

I have a strong dislike of the Republican movement but my standards of public service mean that I don't say the Guards are fine because they are questioning Republicans. I used to wonder how the Gardai were allowed to get away with so much. It's because citizens allow it.

If the Guards have to rely on asking people for ID, which there is no legal requirement to carry, as their method of monitoring possible terrorists then heaven help us.
    Considering you have no idea what information the gardaí had, that's a fairly stupid post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Our nation was barely 20 years old and still trying to drag itself out of the mess your 'wonderful' nation left it in and parasited off for centuries. The RoI was peacefully neutral while in England they were been bombed to bits, rationing, evacuations etc Only misfits and rejects went to England and joined it's forces.

How do you know? Where's your evidence? What about people as of late who joined the British army? No misfits or rejects in the 'RA then no?

Turner wrote: »
    Alot of the people on the bus are commenting on facebook of the video on the liberal facebook site.

Its gas, just google their second names and tallaght and you get an idea of what they and their families are involved with.

Nice to see they are getting their kids started early by involving them in something like this.
    Could be worse, their kids could be joining Fianna Gael or Fine Fail !! " Now don't forget what daddy and mammy always said, the 'party' has always been good to the family so join them, then do as your asked, forget about all the corruption, cronyism etc and ye'll get a nice wee cosy job in the civil service or a semi state one day."

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

job in the civil service or a semi state one day."

Yes, and actually contribute to society. Instead of concentrating on "Jobstown not guilty" or whatever rent a mob needs support

• Registered Users Posts: 6,918 ✭✭✭circadian

If they're heading to Derry for Easter parades with dissident groups then I'm not surprised they were stopped by Special Branch. I can't imagine they are any more modest about their leanings/apparent position within some obscure Wannabe group as some of the eejits I see in certain pubs in Derry.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Considering you have no idea what information the gardaí had, that's a fairly stupid post.

How ? What information could necessitate stopping a bus & asking for ID ? Did they arrest people ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Hope the bus broke down in Derry.

Turner wrote: »
    Yes, and actually contribute to society. Instead of concentrating on "Jobstown not guilty" or whatever rent a mob needs support
    And " forget about all the corruption, cronyism ", it's no wonder our we gombeen state is the epitome of corruption.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,918 ✭✭✭circadian

cursai wrote: »
    Hope the bus broke down in Derry.

I'd rather it didn't, we have enough head the gratin's as it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

And " forget about all the corruption, cronyism ", it's no wonder our we gombeen state is the epitome of corruption.

In comparison to other countries, anyone who has any experience of living abroad. This is a great little country with LITTLE corruption. We have a more open system than lots of tranparency.

Statements that are almost comparing us to a banana republic or to North Korea or flipping Indonesia are ridiculous and reek of naivety.

Most of us really don't know how good we have it.

Corruption in the police force???? Sloppy paperwork more like or its more like the Gardai were cheating on the leaving cert. Other ACTUAL corrupt police forces and government are laughing at us and calling us amateurs at
    corruption.

OK deep breath.....

cursai wrote: »
    In comparison to other countries, anyone who has any experience of living abroad. This is a great little country with LITTLE corruption. We have a more open system than lots of tranparency.

Statements that are almost comparing us to a banana republic or to North Korea or flipping Indonesia are ridiculous and reek of naivety.

Most of us really don't know how good we have it.

Corruption in the police force???? Sloppy paperwork more like or its more like the Gardai were cheating on the leaving cert. Other ACTUAL corrupt police forces and government are laughing at us and calling us amateurs at
    corruption.

OK deep breath.....
    So you must perceive that your benefiting from the corruption in some way to claim it doesn't exist. Haughey, Ahern, Lalor, Burke, Lowry, Denis O'Brien, Fingers Fingleton, Seanie Fitzpatrick etc not to worry, nothing to see here, move along, it only lead to the bankruptcy of the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

" good old fashioned classical shinnerbot troll" good description of your own post. What next maybe will you post, pity the Guards didn't 'bait the shyte out of them ?

how do you figuire ?
    what of you mean by that post ?

or is that a standard response from the handbook lol :):)