Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Great win for Waterford. Hopefully the silly argument that a sweeper system can't win an All Ireland gets put to bed now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

letowski wrote: »
    It going to be controversial either way anyway.

The second I saw it I said "he's off" I'm not sure how the ref didn't send him off given that he was certainly trigger happy with the red cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Jaysus Donal would start a row in an empty room.

Even when they are agreeing with him, he is looking for a row.

He's from cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Jaysus Donal Óg would start a row in an empty room.

Even when they are agreeing with him, he is looking for a row.

He is painful, would argue with his shadow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Morrison J wrote: »
    Great win for Waterford. Hopefully the silly argument that a sweeper system can't win an All Ireland gets put to bed now.

Only if they win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,159 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

They won nothing yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Patww79 wrote: »

I love GAA, just certain aspects of it I hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭letowski

The second I saw it I said "he's off" I'm not sure how the ref didn't send him off given that he was certainly trigger happy with the red cards.

Can you imagine the absolute anger there would be in the Deise if Gleeson got banned and Tuohy didnt. There will be riots in Drumcondra. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,978 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Today was Waterfords All Ireland final, Galway will absolutely maul them.

Absolutely baffling how Waterford weren't reduced to 14 in the first half, a blatant and cynical helmet pulled off in front of the linesman.
    No surprise that the linesman was Gavin.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

citykat wrote: »
    Take your beating!

Ive no problem with losing. Disappointing yes. If Cahalane didn't go kamakize I think cork would have won.

After the red it was always going to be a Waterford win. Fair dues to them. But I still really hope Galway and in particular canning win the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭C__MC

I love GAA, just certain aspects of it I hate.

I agree. For the last 3 years Mc Grath was lambasted for his game plan,

"It won't an AI"

Today, it's the greatest thing ever on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭leestone

Gleesons helmet pull was100% deliberate no question about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

What's with all the bitterness lads?
    It's embarrassing

The place was empty with 5 minutes to go. Stay around and support your young team that won Munster. The sense of entitlement is embarrassing.

leestone wrote: »

I didn't see what the Galway lad done last week, was it as clear cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Waterford mite be better off without Austin Gleason for final..... Most selfish player I think I've seen....... He made an attempt to hand pass during game when he lost his hurl and he fcuked it up....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Today was Waterfords All Ireland final, Galway will absolutely maul them.

Absolutely baffling how Waterford weren't reduced to 14 in the first half, a blatant and cynical helmet pulled off in front of the linesman.
    No surprise that the linesman was Gavin.

It would have totally changed the result I think. Really stupid and should be banned for the final and then the other one has a total brainfart and gets sent off. Really stupid losing out like that, with the game well and truly won at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Know them all personally?

Wanker.

Wouldn't bother with him tbh, I remember him following me around this forum like a bad smell a year or two ago trying to get a rise. People that do those things are generally sad, bitter people. Best not to get ban over them.

"Centra.... We are Hurling".

Well I told yer wan behind the Deli counter to watch her hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Brilliant tactics by McGrath. Cork had no answer to Nash's puckouts being contested. They were obviously expecting Waterford to concede them, and drop back. they did both!

Some crowd. 72,000. Must be near a record?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

C__MC wrote: »
    I didn't see what the Galway lad done last week, was it as clear cut?

It was accidental- he wasn't looking at the player and as his arm with backwards knocked the helmet off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Best team won. I always felt Waterford would win. Stupid by Conor Gleeson. Austin will be on the toilet but I can't see him being suspended. Hurler of the year suspended for the final.

Claire again looking for the controversy.. baiting him..

What doesn't she f**k off.

Hard to know where cork are at. A lot of these guys played in the 2014 hammering by Tipp. Their forwards a huge let down

C__MC wrote: »
    I agree. For the last 3 years Mc Grath was lambasted for his game plan,

"It won't an AI"

Today, it's the greatest thing ever on RTE.

I'd love to see Waterford and McGrath win.

To take a leave of absence from your job shows the level of commitment the man has and he's done a great job in fairness.I don't see anything wrong with the likes of him and Davy trying different tactics and seeing if they can maximise the talent they have but of course the old guard can't bare the idea of such a horrible thing as "tactics" or "defensiveness" in hurling.I'm delighted Davy took a cut at Duignan a while back (and I'm from Offaly) the ****e the managers in both codes have to listen to from pundits on RTE who should know better must be tedious to listen to.

Hurler of the year suspended for the final.

Yeah, the GAA would never ban the hurler of the year.. ;)

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Brilliant tactics by McGrath. Cork had no answer to Nash's puckouts being contested. They were obviously expecting Waterford to concede them, and drop back. they did both!

Some crowd. 72,000. Must be near a record?

I think there was a Cork v Waterford semi in the 00's that was a sell out.

EDIT: Looks like I am wrong, seems to be biggest attendance at a semi this century.

I'd love to see Waterford and McGrath win.

To take a leave of absence from your job shows the level of commitment the man has and he's done a great job in fairness.I don't see anything wrong with the likes of him and Davy trying different tactics and seeing if they can maximise the talent they have but of course the old guard can't bare the idea of such a horrible thing as "tactics" or "defensiveness" in hurling.I'm delighted Davy took a cut at Duignan a while back (and I'm from Offaly) the ****e the managers in both codes have to listen to from pundits on RTE who should know better must be tedious to listen to.

I totally agree, if Donegal were saluted in 2012 for their win, so should Waterford

Good interview by Kingston.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

leestone wrote: »

Certainly looked it. Got the fingers right in there and yanked the helmet right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Only if they win

Mushy wrote:
    They won nothing yet

If you get to the final you can win a final. Anyone still saying the sweeper system isn't effective for certain teams is just talking nonsense at this point.

I fancy Galway to beat them as the better team imo but you've got to give credit where it's due to McGrath and even Davy Fitz too. Both achieved far ahead of their expectations with the sweeper system. You can't argue with its results.