Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Davy is spot on.

I get people hating on Davy at every opportunity and I get people hating on the sweeper system but to say Wexford would have a better chance of beating the big teams playing without the sweeper system is absolute madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Radiant Cool Crazy Nightmare

Ah now, we are not tearing up any trees and our defence is absolutely woeful. No one will fear playing us.

I dont think any of the last 4 will fear each other. There is never much between Tipp and Galway when they play(I am not counting the league final). We have never beaten Waterford in championship and Cork have beaten both yourselves and Waterford this year. I like the way we are playing this year under Donoghue, as others have said we are yet to be really tested. If we perform we have the beating of any team but the same could be said of any of the semi finalists.

Morrison J wrote: »
    Davy is spot on.

I get people hating on Davy at every opportunity and I get people hating on the sweeper system but to say Wexford would have a better chance of beating the big teams playing without the sweeper system is absolute madness.

Well you certainly wont beat them with everyone playing miles from goal. I think the only benefit to the sweeper system is damage limitation personally. Breaking in a unit of 7 or 8 attackers is all well and good but during the summer months there is only a certain amount of 80 yard runs you can make

I agree though that certain pundits are very choosy of who to criticise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,650 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Davy is spot on.

nonsense , his tactics have proven to fail , the only time he had any success like the all ireland final or wining in the league was when he changed his tactics to a direct game , which suited clare and which would suit this wexford team down to the ground

wexford are a big physical team especially up front in the forwards sacrificing an inside forward against a side with 7 defenders is asking for trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Mulbert

While i agree with the lads on the sweeper system i kinda agree with Davy here too on the fact that Duignan has been picking and choosing his things to condemn.

Duignans problem now is that he can't compare every player and county to Kilkenny. His love affair with all things Kilkenny has been sickening for years.

All he does now is whinge, whine, complain and bore the listeners.

He was a great player all the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

If you told anyone Waterford would have to beat Cork to make an all ireland at the start of the year they'd have told you Waterford would be in an all ireland final.

Granted, Cork have improved plenty but just want to make that point. No doubt plenty of the same people making these assertions were the same lads making my eyes bleed the winter before last saying we might as well have handed Kilkenny the 3 in a row there and then.

Galway deserve their favourites tag but silly to be talking about them as certs too. Tipps full back line is a big issue, but their forwards mean they will be competitive in any game.

Don't think Waterford would beat them and though Cork certainly could, they won't exploit their biggest weakness as they should because they have no eye for goals. The forwards rarely take on their men, happy with their points. Galway would be more ruthless I think.

Davy is spot on.

nonsense , his tactics have proven to fail , the only time he had any success like the all ireland final or wining in the league was when he changed his tactics to a direct game , which suited clare and which would suit this wexford team down to the ground

wexford are a big physical team especially up front in the forwards sacrificing an inside forward against a side with 7 defenders is asking for trouble
    He won promotion with it this year. I'd count that as success.

Wexford aren't a big physical team. Galway towered over them in the Leinster final all over the field. Very small full back line that'd struggle without a spare man back there.

Any time a Davy team loses everyone blames him, never ever do they blame the players. Lot to be said for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

129 All-Ireland finals but never Waterford v Galway, here's hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Davy's entitled to defend himself for sure and he makes a fair enough point. However, not changing the system yesterday when Plan A wasn't working and it was 15 v 14 certainly begs questions. That criticism is entirely justified in my opinion.

In all I think he's had a pretty decent year. First year has been his best in both his previous jobs. Let's see how next year pans out and whether he can buck that trend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,482 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

How many touches of the ball did Conor Mac get? Absolute madness to play so laterally and not supply the forwards with any decent balls. Wexford probably have the two worst corner backs at county level so it's imperative that the ball is at the other end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭C__MC

Can't believe some posters fancied Wexford to win, very average team IMO. Davy factor will were off soon enough, not enough class in their team. Very poor game atmosphere felt like a minor game before a senior final. De burca red card very soft, that rule isn't applied consistently. Over all, it's been a poor championship not much change from last year, it's Tipp or Galway for me.

Wexford aren't a big physical team. Galway towered over them in the Leinster final all over the field. Very small full back line that'd struggle without a spare man back there.

Any time a Davy team loses everyone blames him, never ever do they blame the players. Lot to be said for it.

i probably have more time for this wexford side then most people from the place , i regard cathal mcdonald and paul morris as top top players liam og is a huge loss yes lee chin is a conundrum of a hurler , excellent one minute poor the next you dont know what player is going to turn up

wexford have been doing everything right at underage and it will follow through to the seniors but as far as systems go ,no team in clare played this system under fitz and some players were lost trying to adapt to it , i highly doubt there are many wexford clubs playing a similar system

fitz used every excuse in the book when he lost a match with clare , it was the supporters , the reff , the pressure coming from the media ect... and in kind when he was given a sunday game slot for the all ireland 1/4 finals in 2014 after wexford beat us , he twore into several of his own players , supporters and clubs for various different reasons as the reason we got knocked out of the championship so quickly , his own club were furious with him and still are as a result , he attacked a local journalist in the tunell at a game in cusack park for having a pop at his tactics the same year also

problem i found with davey over the years following his sides up and down the country is he doesn't want to be seen or have to admit that he is wrong from time to time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Waterford are in big trouble without de Bruca really has compromised thier chances.
    While galway are still favourites if tipp make the final they are a different animal altogether.If they get cork in the semi they should bate them,full back line is desperate though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Lee Chin up for MOTM on the Sunday Game?

Im not a huge hurling follower but that was one of his poorer games IMO.

Wexford number 3 was brilliant for me. Moran a good choice as MOTM though.

DDC1990 wrote: »

Laughable Lee Chin being nominated. Media bias towards him is borderline strange at this point. Good player but very inconsistent. Had one good game this year.

Liam Ryan was superb today and Matthew O'Hanlon is Wexford's best player and maybe the most underrated player in the country. Never gets any credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,482 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

DDC1990 wrote: »

Devereux should have got it. Won the game for Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭donnem33

Seadin wrote: »
    Galway be worried meeting Waterford as they haven't beaten in championship.

Cork be worried meeting Tipp too. Hard one to call who will win it out.

Until this year, waterford hadnt beaten kk since 1959. 2010 was the first time Galway had ever beaten wexford in championship, 2015 was the first time Galway ever beat Dublin in championship.

All unbeaten records are there to be broken!!!

i probably have more time for this wexford side then most people from the place , i regard cathal mcdonald and paul morris as top top players liam og is a huge loss yes lee chin is a conundrum of a hurler , excellent one minute poor the next you dont know what player is going to turn up

wexford have been doing everything right at underage and it will follow through to the seniors but as far as systems go ,no team in clare played this system under fitz and some players were lost trying to adapt to it , i highly doubt there are many wexford clubs playing a similar system

fitz used every excuse in the book when he lost a match with clare , it was the supporters , the reff , the pressure coming from the media ect... and in kind when he was given a sunday game slot for the all ireland 1/4 finals in 2014 after wexford beat us , he twore into several of his own players , supporters and clubs for various different reasons as the reason we got knocked out of the championship so quickly , his own club were furious with him and still are as a result , he attacked a local journalist in the tunell at a game in cusack park for having a pop at his tactics the same year also

problem i found with davey over the years following his sides up and down the country is he doesn't want to be seen or have to admit that he is wrong from time to time
    So you have a personal dislike for Davy Fitz? I'm shocked.

Year 1 under the system and it's been one of the most encouraging years the county has had for years. Young team who have bought into the system with loads of room for improvement. No reason they can't be even stronger next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

donnem33 wrote: »
    Until this year, waterford hadnt beaten kk since 1959. 2010 was the first time Galway had ever beaten wexford in championship, 2015 was the first time Galway ever beat Dublin in championship.

Absolutely, and they'd be favourites if they meet in the next round deservedly. I do think there'll be no easy games for Galway, although Bourke is going to be a massive loss if his ban is upheld.

Laughable Lee Chin being nominated. Media bias towards him is borderline strange at this point. Good player but very inconsistent. Had one good game this year.

Liam Ryan was superb today and Matthew O'Hanlon is Wexford's best player and maybe the most underrated player in the country. Never gets any credit.

hate to say it but i think someone has to , and i am not trying to be racist but i think rte are trying a little too much to promote ethnic diversity in the game , we all know the guys parents come from a different country , we all know there are several hundred even thousands of kids from different backgrounds involved at underage but this is nonsense ,

if you want role models make them the best players in the country regardles of there background

So you have a personal dislike for Davy Fitz? I'm shocked.

Year 1 under the system and it's been one of the most encouraging years the county has had for years. Young team who have bought into the system with loads of room for improvement. No reason they can't be even stronger next year.

yeah i do , i feel there is a way to win and a way to lose and mr fitz doesn't know how to do either

i hope wexford kick on again next year but whatever grudge aside i might have on the man i dont think fitz tactics are good enough to make any giant leaps , if he goes more direct then it will give ye a far better chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,100 ✭✭✭threeball

donnem33 wrote: »

Most of these Gaa championship records are bs anyway mainly down to the fact they never ended up playing one another.
    Heard one before the connaught football final that ros hadnt beaten galway in pearse stadium for 30yrs or so. Completely ignoring the fact that for about 20 odd years of that period Galway played out of Tuam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭letowski

Very interesting to see how the draw goes. Would love a Tipp v Galway and Cork v Waterford.

I wish they could do the draw on the Sunday Game now, instead of having to wait tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Jackie Tyrell,Donal O'Grady and Ken McGrath all going for Galway to win the All Ireland.

they have been the form team alongside cork m they have showed less chinks in the armour then the rebels so far and they have been probably the most consistent team in the country over the last 6 or 7 years without an all ireland

plus everyone wants to see canning retire with an winners medal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭blackcard

I would like to see a Galway Tipperary final. It would be a disaster for hurling if a team playing in the style Waterford use won an All Ireland. On the other hand, it would be brilliant for hurling if Waterford won playing the conventional style.

blackcard wrote: »
    I would like to see a Galway Tipperary final. It would be a disaster for hurling if a team playing in the style Waterford use won an All Ireland. On the other hand, it would be brilliant for hurling if Waterford won playing the conventional style.

very nearly worked for them against kilkenny in the replay last year , shame they reverted to type so quickly , austin gleeson won player of the year practically on his performance that night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,845 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Draw will be
    Galway vs Waterford
    Cork vs Tipp

Galway and Waterford have been comsidered 3rd and 4th in the hurling workd for the last few years and why not pair them together too find out who's better

Cork vs Tipp is guaranteed €€€€€€ and it's an historic rivilary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭davidx40

What a crap game today , something has to be done about this sweeper **** , its a wonder crowds are dropping away going to games , if this kind of hurling continues the game is in serious trouble ....bore fest after bore fest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭davidx40

What a crap game today , something has to be done about this sweeper **** , its a wonder crowds are dropping away going to games , if this kind of hurling continues the game is in serious trouble ....bore fest after bore fest