Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users Posts: 55,025 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    SHOVELLER wrote: »

Lastly he said he would be willing to fight at 147 or 150.

What did he mean here? The way it's written it seems he's doing Conor a favour?

Surely it can't be TBE putting in conditions before he steps in a boxing ring to fight an MMA fighter in a boxing match.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

walshb wrote: »
    What did he mean here? The way it's written it seems he's doing Conor a favour?

Surely it can't be TBE putting in conditions before he steps in a boxing ring to fight an MMA fighter in a boxing match.

Presume the whole interview is now on youtube but from memory Floyd was asked what weight would the fight be considering Conor can go up to 170.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭Positively Negative

I think its safe to say that this is actually going to happen now? I am going to put a large some of money on McGregor to win

• Registered Users Posts: 14,084 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    Don't do it!

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Even with a heap of money would Conor really get in the ring with Floyd to be brutally exposed and embarrassed? Unless they do a secret deal whereby Floyd eases up and makes it competitive?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    Mayweather at Frampton fight just interviewed and whole interview was about the potential bout with McGregor.

Have to say he was very positive about it happening.
    Why wouldn't he be? He has a huge advantage in a boxing match.

Mayweather should win the fight, however Conor has beat the odds so many times I wouldn't want to bet money on the fight. I don't think conor can expect to knock Mayweather out in the early stage of the fight and the longer it goes on the less likely Conor is to make it to the end.

pac_man wrote:
    On what basis do you think Mcgregor would win?

Many reasons,
    Youth being one. Fighters do age overnight as we have seen many times before. Floyd will be 40 when this fight takes place, and inactive for 2 years.
    Chin, Conor will take Flyods best shots with ease. Style, Floyd will have never faced someone who moves like Conor, a stance like Conors. We know Floyd doesn't match up well with southpaws, that's the only times he has ever been hurt. And lastly, Dat left hand, obviously the 8 or 10oz gloves will make it more difficult to land clean, but its clear Conor has unbelievable power for someone his size, as well as accuracy. Belief, I don't think any of Floyd's previous opponent's would have been as confident as Conor, it makes a difference. He won't mind leaving himself open to a shot to land his own.

I'm not suggesting its a certainty, but my money will go on McGregor.

Do you think Conor will trouble Floyd at all?

walshb wrote:
    Even with a heap of money would Conor really get in the ring with Floyd to be brutally exposed and embarrassed? Unless they do a secret deal whereby Floyd eases up and makes it competitive?

So the excuse is in already from the boxing faithful if Conor beats him?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,060 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

If he loses he can just say he took on the best at their game and lost but at last he tried and if it had been a real fight he take him easily or something to that effect.

He lost to Nate Diaz in MMA, his first loss in UFC and his first loss in 5 years. It didn't hurt him and he's bigger than ever now. A loss to Mayweather won't hurt him apart from maybe injuring his back when he lifts up the big bag of money he'd make from it.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    If he loses he can just say he took on the best at their game and lost but at last he tried and if it had been a real fight he take him easily or something to that effect.

He lost to Nate Diaz in MMA, his first loss in UFC and his first loss in 5 years. It didn't hurt him and he's bigger than ever now. A loss to Mayweather won't hurt him apart from maybe injuring his back when he lifts up the big bag of money he'd make from it.

Yes but it's more the likelihood that he looks foolish and ridiculous as well as beaten up. His loss to Diaz was in his own sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

I'm sure Conor would do it. What I'm not sure about is if real interest can be maintained in a fight where one guy is a 1/100 favourite.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    pac_man wrote: »
    I don't really follow the UFC but from have seen of Mcgregor, i'd be very surprised if he came out in top of the Irish Seniors.

Not only would he not come out on top he'd be brutally exposed at that level. I was at the Novice all Ireland's last week and he'd be at that level. U22s would be too much for him.

Ok. Trained and prepared he could beat the best novices, but no way the intermediate lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭megadodge

Floyd via DQ
    I think its safe to say that this is actually going to happen now? I am going to put a large some of money on McGregor to win

No need to go to the bookies, I'll take that bet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Not only would he not come out on top he'd be brutally exposed at that level. I was at the Novice all Ireland's last week and he'd be at that level. U22s would be too much for him.

Ok. Trained and prepared he could beat the best novices, but no way the intermediate lads.

Ah UFC lads love him, I may have reffed him in a club show in Crumlin. Fair dues to him in MMA, but he ain't a world class boxer

• Registered Users Posts: 39,153 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw
    The delusion in this thread is insane.

We will see guys. The very same posters told me I was delusional when I said Fury would school Vlad.

The MMA guys told me I was delusional when I said Conor would school Aldo and Alvarez.

Nothing is impossible with the right mindset.

I won a nice few quid on all 3 of those fights despite the smart arse advice from boardsies.

I posted how I think Conor can win, all I get in response is that he wouldn't win an Irish amateur fight.

It will sicken ye to see a man who doesn't even compete in yer sport, beat or at least give a good fight to yer so called goat. I will think of ye whilst on the beach :)

Draw
    The MMA guys told me I was delusional when I said Conor would school Aldo and Alvarez.
    Yeah, that never happened. Conor was the favourite for both od those fights. People went one way or the other. But nobody was considered delusional for backing the favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    We will see guys. The very same posters told me I was delusional when I said Fury would school Vlad.

Nothing is impossible with the right mindset.

I won a nice few quid on all 3 of those fights despite the smart arse advice from boardsies.

I posted how I think Conor can win, all I get in response is that he wouldn't win an Irish amateur fight.

It will sicken ye to see a man who doesn't even compete in yer sport, beat or at least give a good fight to yer so called goat. I will think of ye whilst on the beach :)

There is so much bullsh*t in this post I don't even know where to start.

However I'll cosign megadodge and happily take a bet with you if you're siding with McGregor. I'll offer you better odds than any bookies will.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

When in your total of 5 posts did you impart all this deep knowledge?

Draw
    Mellor wrote: »
    The delusion in this thread is insane.
    This was aimed just as much towards the boxing side too btw.

Yeah it did happen. Only die hard McGregor fans thought he'd beat Aldo

Aldo was like the May weather of MMA before Conor mentally and physically destroyed him

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Mellor wrote: »
    This was aimed just as much towards the boxing side too btw.

Can you elaborate? What boxing views/opinions are delusional regarding this discussion?

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

This is the first fight in ages that McGregor is going to actually be the underdog. There is a myth out there that people are subscribing to that somehow, Conor McGregor is battling against the odds when in fact his opponents are the ones battling against the odds, literally. There is no other way of battling against the odds other than the bookies odds. As for popular criticism, of course there are people out there within and outside the MMA that have opinions that a fighter may lose or will lose. Interview enough people and you can get around 7 people to have an opinion against you, eventually, and you can then go and put a soundtrack and slow mo video of Conor McGregor entering the ring.....I took on the world despite adversity and ''all the odds.''

Conor was fighting out of his weight class and Nate was in his weight class...Myth. They are both lightweights, albeit that Nate was a bigger lightweight.
    Was Conor fighting outside his weight-class when he fought Aldo? Seems it was spun that he made an effort ''against all the odds'' to make the cut to lightweight too rather than being the bigger man.

My point is simple. Unless people are unwilling to be critical for themselves, someone will come along and tell them what to believe.

This time however, McGregor will be the rank outsider, and correctly so. I think that people should acknowledge that this is a money fight for both men, end of. McGregor's only hope in this is to use MMA skills, which he cannot do.

Expressing this opinion, i expect all the soundbytes. 'Haters gonna hate', yada yada.

Time to make your own minds up folks but it is most likely that a couple of McGregor one liners will get everyone singing 'ole ole'.

Draw
    Yeah it did happen. Only die hard McGregor fans thought he'd beat Aldo
    Heres the event thread. 62% to 38% in McGregors favour.
    McGregor was also the favourite with the bookies. If you look at the gambling thread you see loads of us had Conor by KO.
    So yeah, it didn't happen.

Free feel to point out the posts where people called you delusional for backing McGregor

OK, I won't go around in circles, I gave my opinion, I think Conor can win, I gave my reasons why.

May I ask, how many of ye boxing fans would like to see Conor win, no matter how ridiculous ye think it may be,
    Would ye be happy to see an Irish non boxer beat the GOAT of boxing, or would it discust ye to see yer sport become a laughing stock?

Draw
    Can you elaborate? What boxing views/opinions are delusional regarding this discussion?
    Sure. I'm not quoting specific posts here, so just paraphrasing generally;

The constant repeated justification that Mayweather could beats McGregor easily. At times defensively so. It's all a bit unnecessary tbh.
    Mayweather cruises through a boxing match. McGregor destroys him in an MMA fight. Two different sports. (FWIW Conor also wins in other ruesets imo)

"If it happens, McGregor should be ashamed and feel foolish to lose." Which in a way contracts the above assertion. Floyd is the greatest defensive boxer of all time, Conor isn't even a pro boxer. There is no shame losing to the best. Just like there's no shame in losing to Usain Bolt in a sprint.

People insisting that they won;t watch this circus match.
    A circus match it may be, but lets be honest, we'll all going to the circus.

The suggestion that the UFC wont let it happen as "they have nothing to gain, it's a PR disaster, they'll kick him out if he does it, etc".
    That one's just bizarre tbh. I can think of a 100 million reasons they might let it happen - should be obvious. I've no idea how it reflects badly on their image.
    Did Toney losing to Randy tarnish boxing? Only if people were holding on to the notion that a boxer would win in MMA - dispelled years previously.
    They are two different sports. The UFC don't present their fighters as being better than boxers at boxing. And it definitely wouldn't be the angle in the build up. I think those kind of comment com across as quite insecure.

The idea that McGregor losing somehow (1) "exposes MMA striking as being poor", and (2) "ruins MMA image as allrounders". :confused:

(1) MMA sriking is different to boxing striking for a reason. Anyone that doesn't get that doesn't understand either sport. Put a pro boxer into muay thai fight and he'd get absolutely lumps knocked out of him. Does that expose boxing striking as poor, of course not.
    (2) MMA fighters routinely lose to the best jiu jitsu fighters in the world in jiujitsu. It in no way harms their image. Why would it?
    Of course a guy learning multiple disciplines will never be as good a guy specialising in one.
    Best example is the guys who do the decathlon. Most obviously wouldn't even qualify for the Olympics in any of the individual sports. That obviously doesn't tarnish their credentials as athletes.

That was probably way longer that I had intended. But I think my general meaning is clear enough through all the rambling. :D

Draw
    OK, I won't go around in circles, I gave my opinion, I think Conor can win, I gave my reasons why.

May I ask, how many of ye boxing fans would like to see Conor win, no matter how ridiculous ye think it may be,
    Would ye be happy to see an Irish non boxer beat the GOAT of boxing, or would it discust ye to see yer sport become a laughing stock?
    I never mentioned your opinion on Conor vrs Mayweather. You are entitled to what ever opinion you like.

I was talking specifically about your claims that people said you were delusional for picking Conor vrs Aldo and Eddie. As I said, most people had that opinion. I linked the thread above.
    Again, feel free to link to the posts where it happened, easy way to prove it.

I'd have no problem with Conor winning, (no problem with Floyd either) but I'd need much better odds to put money on Conor.
    Mayweather is not nearly as short as I expected however. I'm surprised the boxing lads are all over it.

Mellor wrote:
    I was talking specifically about your claims that people said you were delusional for picking Conor vrs Aldo and Eddie. As I said, most people had that opinion. I linked the thread above. Again, feel free to link to the posts where it happened, easy way to prove it.

The majority of "true MMA fans" and not just blow in Conor fanboys like myself were convinced that Conor didn't stand a chance against Aldo, they were convinced he didn't stand a chance against a good wrestler (Mendes, Alvarez).

The majority of posts on those threads were in favour of Conor, but the 'experts' who were MMA fans long before Conor arrived, didn't give him a chance.

I am not rooting through thousands of posts on a 2 year old thread to find the experts who didn't give him a chance.

My original statement was that the "experts" called me deluded, not everyone.

Its like deja vu here now, where the boxing "experts" aren't giving him a chance, and again I think he will prove them all wrong. These same "experts" laughed at anyone who suggesteted the mayweather fight may even happen, now its happening.
    I don't think my mental health should be questioned for backing a man that constantly proves the doubters wrong, who constantly does exactly what he says he will do.

Enjoy the pie my friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

''Proving the doubters wrong'' is exactly what people should wake up to here.

The bookies are the only yardstick when it comes to getting an angle. The punters can go round in circles all they like, and the fans too. If you want to get an angle on a company, go to their share price and see how they are trading, not anyone else, as even the people whom you would expect to know everything, may not be giving the true story - mainly for marketing reasons (the list is long).

This is going to be the first fight that McGregor is outsider in for a hell of a long time - He was even favorite for the diaz rematch and somehow it was spun that he won 'against all odds'. No he didnt, his win reflected the odds.

So when people are talking aboutMcgregor being up against all odds in the Mayweather fight, be secure in the knowledge that this time, it actually is for real, against all the odds - as the bookies are calling it.

You're going well off track now, I clearly stated quite a few times that he proved his doubters wrong, the people who said he didn't have a hope. You can rave away about betting odds all you like, it has nothing to do with what I said