Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Wouldn't agree. You've much more time to spend with each cow by doing them after milking making sure everything is clean and tidy etc .
    Only time you can influence next years scc so may as well take it easy

Agree not to mention a tube going into the wrong cow and inhibitors in the tank.had a close call years ago so now if drying off even 1 cow shes taken out to do after. Remove the risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Wouldn't agree. You've much more time to spend with each cow by doing them after milking making sure everything is clean and tidy etc .
    Only time you can influence next years scc so may as well take it easy

Well. Covered there shur he had a lad milking while Tim concentrates on tubbing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭moneyheer

Timmaay wrote: »
    3rows is 42cows, liquid quota is 374l/day, surely to God they'll manage 9l/day average ha, even if OAD. Not definitely going to go oad tho, depends on scc etc, but for the 3rows it will be hard to justify the extra electricity, detergent etc to turn on the parlour tad.

Talking about liquid milk, I heard what is hopefully just a pure rumour this morning, that there might be a protein cap on liquid milk moving forward, where you won't be paid for anything over likes of 3.4%p on the liquid part over the winter? Sounded barmey enough 2bh, anyone else heard anything similar?

Was at meeting the other nite ftp rep was talking about it😕. Glanbia are pushing strong for it. They reckon its either a cap on protein or take a cut in liquid price😡

Jaysus lads if ye can at all do not stand for that. Would drive breeding back a good bit not a mind any bit of flexibility a liquid supplier has manage supply with late calvers. That's taking the fcuking piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

moneyheer wrote: »
    Was at meeting the other nite ftp rep was talking about it😕. Glanbia are pushing strong for it. They reckon its either a cap on protein or take a cut in liquid price😡

That'll be the end of winter milk here if that happens. That's what's making it pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,743 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mooooo wrote: »
    Jaysus lads if ye can at all do not stand for that. Would drive breeding back a good bit not a mind any bit of flexibility a liquid supplier has manage supply with late calvers. That's taking the fcuking piss.

Make up the rules as you go along......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

They don't want liquid milk
    Just give us the milk as cheap as possible lads,make a loss we don't care
    They're actually refusing to negotiate price with FMP
    What a shower
    Cooperative my ar5e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A bit below on milk and the first time in a while I've heard an argument for supply management.

http://www.thenorthwestern.com/story/opinion/2016/12/02/columnist-wisconsin-dairy-farms-drowning/94795814/

Not much there i'd disagree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

That'll be the end of winter milk here if that happens. That's what's making it pay

It's some laugh .the payement system based on solids was brought in at the behest of glanbia to replace the flat price that was traditionally paid for liquid milk.

The reasoning was that there was too much cost in drying the surplus milk (white water).

Now they don't want to pay for something they can't make anything off(protein) while skimming off the extra fat they encouraged in the first place .

Fu ckers and fukees as someone used to say round here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭farisfat

Timmaay wrote: »
    18 cows dried off this morning. Had a milker in, he milked while I dried off cows just after the cluster came off. Wayyy better than drafting them back around and having a full row after the milking, where they tend to dung everywhere! 6 more to dryoff in a week or so which will leave me at 4rows over Xmas, another row in Jan after which I'll prb throw them all OAD for their few weeks before it all kicks back off again mid Feb.

Thats the way it's done here alot better thán turning the parlour into a slurry pit after milking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Dried off yesterday took 4 hours, after every 2 rows washed down parlour. Slow on ones own but if not rushing not too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Well first attempt at pasteurisering colostrum was a fail, turned to pudding, think I need to lower the temp and keep it heated longer. 60 degrees for 30 mins is next on the agenda. Anyone have experience with this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Well first attempt at pasteurisering colostrum was a fail, turned to pudding, think I need to lower the temp and keep it heated longer. 60 degrees for 30 mins is next on the agenda. Anyone have experience with this?

Why are you pasteurising it?

I thought pasteurisering was rapid heating and rapid cooling. If you heat it for much of a length will you jot just cook it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

We have a pasteuriser here, heating to 60 degrees and keeping it there for 60 mins, what temp were you going too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

It's some laugh .the payement system based on solids was brought in at the behest of glanbia to replace the flat price that was traditionally paid for liquid milk.

The reasoning was that there was too much cost in drying the surplus milk (white water).

Now they don't want to pay for something they can't make anything off(protein) while skimming off the extra fat they encouraged in the first place .

Fu ckers and fukees as someone used to say round here

We get just a flat price for our liquid milk, it's great when the solids are below base, which unfortunately is too often but tends to be in spring when we're rising above liquid quota.

Anyone sell culls recently? Big framed cows maybe 600kgs plus down to smaller ladies. Will likely be finished in summer not inside. Condition okay but not well fleshed as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,280 ✭✭✭alps

Anyone sell culls recently? Big framed cows maybe 600kgs plus down to smaller ladies. Will likely be finished in summer not inside. Condition okay but not well fleshed as they say

I'm told selling strong at marts in last 2 weeks, seems to be a lift in prices...only second hand news I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,743 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Is everyone getting their glanbia quality results. Nothing here since 29 November. Mainly daily collections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

It's liquid suppliers it applies to not Baileys

alps wrote: »
    I'm told selling strong at marts in last 2 weeks, seems to be a lift in prices...only second hand news I'm afraid

Surprised at that. Will b selling to a feed lot so limited but deal a bit with this lad so just looking for a fair price. I suppose there weight would be a good bet some above some below

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

Well folks, I'm after using mastermectin on dairy cows and like a gob****e didn't read that it shouldn't be used on them, any ideas on what to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Well folks, I'm after using mastermectin on dairy cows and like a gob****e didn't read that it shouldn't be used on them, any ideas on what to do?

Are they dry?

Yeah dry three weeks, dosed them a week ago and start calfing around the 15 of January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yeah dry three weeks, dosed them a week ago and start calfing around the 15 of January.

Test their milk for antibiotics before ya let them in the tank after calving. Pool samples of whatever cows ready.

Not sure what you should do. How recently is it that it was stopped for use in dairy cows?. Is it 60 days for in calf heifers or can they be used on in calf dairy stock.? Would the test kits pick it up in milk?

Well I'm certain I used it last year as well so I don't really know when it was stopped for cows...

Umm sorry lads twas a false alarm I'm after reading the box again and it says do not use within 60 days of calving, I'll have to test a few but most will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Dosed all today, showed positive for rumen fluke so zanil, ibr and tagging. Go again in Jan with Albex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭degetme

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Dosed all today, showed positive for rumen fluke so zanil, ibr and tagging. Go again in Jan with Albex

high or low positive?