Mooooo wrote: » Not sure what you should do. How recently is it that it was stopped for use in dairy cows?. Is it 60 days for in calf heifers or can they be used on in calf dairy stock.? Would the test kits pick it up in milk?
Morris Moss wrote: » Yeah dry three weeks, dosed them a week ago and start calfing around the 15 of January.
Mooooo wrote: » Are they dry?
Morris Moss wrote: » Well folks, I'm after using mastermectin on dairy cows and like a gob****e didn't read that it shouldn't be used on them, any ideas on what to do?
alps wrote: » I'm told selling strong at marts in last 2 weeks, seems to be a lift in prices...only second hand news I'm afraid
GrasstoMilk wrote: » That'll be the end of winter milk here if that happens. That's what's making it pay
Mooooo wrote: » Anyone sell culls recently? Big framed cows maybe 600kgs plus down to smaller ladies. Will likely be finished in summer not inside. Condition okay but not well fleshed as they say
stretch film wrote: » GrasstoMilk wrote: » That'll be the end of winter milk here if that happens. That's what's making it pay It's some laugh .the payement system based on solids was brought in at the behest of glanbia to replace the flat price that was traditionally paid for liquid milk. The reasoning was that there was too much cost in drying the surplus milk (white water). Now they don't want to pay for something they can't make anything off(protein) while skimming off the extra fat they encouraged in the first place . Fu ckers and fukees as someone used to say round here
blackdog1 wrote: » Well first attempt at pasteurisering colostrum was a fail, turned to pudding, think I need to lower the temp and keep it heated longer. 60 degrees for 30 mins is next on the agenda. Anyone have experience with this?
Timmaay wrote: » 18 cows dried off this morning. Had a milker in, he milked while I dried off cows just after the cluster came off. Wayyy better than drafting them back around and having a full row after the milking, where they tend to dung everywhere! 6 more to dryoff in a week or so which will leave me at 4rows over Xmas, another row in Jan after which I'll prb throw them all OAD for their few weeks before it all kicks back off again mid Feb.
Mooooo wrote: » Jaysus lads if ye can at all do not stand for that. Would drive breeding back a good bit not a mind any bit of flexibility a liquid supplier has manage supply with late calvers. That's taking the fcuking piss.
moneyheer wrote: » Was at meeting the other nite ftp rep was talking about it😕. Glanbia are pushing strong for it. They reckon its either a cap on protein or take a cut in liquid price😡
Timmaay wrote: » 3rows is 42cows, liquid quota is 374l/day, surely to God they'll manage 9l/day average ha, even if OAD. Not definitely going to go oad tho, depends on scc etc, but for the 3rows it will be hard to justify the extra electricity, detergent etc to turn on the parlour tad. Talking about liquid milk, I heard what is hopefully just a pure rumour this morning, that there might be a protein cap on liquid milk moving forward, where you won't be paid for anything over likes of 3.4%p on the liquid part over the winter? Sounded barmey enough 2bh, anyone else heard anything similar?
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Wouldn't agree. You've much more time to spend with each cow by doing them after milking making sure everything is clean and tidy etc . Only time you can influence next years scc so may as well take it easy