Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

dar31 wrote: »
    It's actually a hard job to get merchants to sell you a low pr high energy ration for dairy cow. They always want to add something extra to drive up the price. As a regular here under many incarnations suggested moons ago beef rations are great value.
    FeedING a 13 % .96 ulf beef ration last two years to great effect and a fraction of the prices being mentioned.

We used a maize wheat soyahulls mix here the past two years but I felt it was lacking in something. Reading a few links posted here over the winter it would seem that most of the pr in grass is a best low quality to at worst a serious problem. We're going to feed .5kg of soya in whatever mix we settle on this spring. Still on winter mix. Maize barley soyahulls and soya. Can't remember price but was happy with the price agreed for the winter. Cows getting 200g of lime and 75g of cal mag to try to counteract grass pr. Heifers esp are maintaining condition much better than last year and so far no one is spray painting the parlour or collecting yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Have a high SCC cow here to dry off, prone to the odd clinical case too. Put her on once a day but she is still doing 25 litres. Would it be risky to just tube her and put.her on straw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Mooooo wrote: »
    Have a high SCC cow here to dry off, prone to the odd clinical case too. Put her on once a day but she is still doing 25 litres. Would it be risky to just tube her and put.her on straw?

Send her off with the maidens. She'll get a good do and they'll have someone to follow at moving time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

If you took her to the mart as a high cell count cow . Would you get much for her ?

Someone buy her for rearing calves ?

If you took her to the mart as a high cell count cow . Would you get much for her ?

Someone buy her for rearing calves ?

Shes 14 years old with udder that's too low so wouldn't suit calves. Calved in the autumn but puts herself in to the milk. Only served her to see if I could get a heifer but of course she gave a bull. I may just tube her and put her in a bare paddock when things dry up. Worried about her soaking up as much as anything without getting mastitis when she still has a drop of milk. Have a number of other culls she could go with then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,773 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Straight to factory. Sent one last week got €460 for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

cows out of parlour this morn av 980 yoyos for a friend in ross today.

This girl wouldn't do that way I reckon all bag alltho she has been bulling twice. 11 lactations owes feck all at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

leg wax wrote: »
    cows out of parlour this morn av 980 yoyos for a friend in ross today.
    Cull or fresh milking cows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

160 for 2 separate Fr bull calves today at the mart. I'm sorry I didn't just pickup 2 scrub br fr bulls last yr ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

What age ?

Cull or fresh milking cows?

cull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Cows are milking well here.

Bf 3.80
    Pr 3.32
    Milk urea 26
    Scc 62
    33 litres/cow

Butterfat is dropping a bit now was well in the 4's. But I'm offering a bale of silage if they want it going in and out. So we'll see.
    Only the more hol types seemed interested in it yesterday evening.
    Feeding 4kgs of a 14 % pr nut.
    Just switched from a 16 in the last few days.
    Finished up with the vaccinations yesterday on the heifers and drafted out some yearling heifers for sale next week.
    Never sold dairy heifers before always buying and have very mixed emotions about selling but we'll see how it goes.

But all in all things are flying along bar the cows standing in the corner of the paddock yesterday looking at us vaccinating and they bulling as well and mucking it up a bit.:rolleyes:

what are maidens making,in general......:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭orm0nd

what are maidens making,in general......:confused:

anything worth buying & suitable for bulling soon, 800 upwards

some fellows looking for crazy money for very light underfed animals.

orm0nd wrote: »

And what are calved heifers making, is the difference worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭cute geoge

And what are calved heifers making, is the difference worth it?

Calved heifers have taking big jump in price with last few weeks or so .Anything fancy will make €1600 and she would not have to a big heifer to hit that.Up to 1800 then for the good pedigree You can still buy middle of the road type for€1200/1300 no ebi with any of these

orm0nd wrote: »

so if you ask 800 now what were they worth as a calf....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,714 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

so if you ask 800 now what were they worth as a calf....

Just after off loading 6 5 week old high ebi calves for 500 a head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Cows are milking well here.

Bf 3.80
    Pr 3.32
    Milk urea 26
    Scc 62
    33 litres/cow

Butterfat is dropping a bit now was well in the 4's. But I'm offering a bale of silage if they want it going in and out. So we'll see.
    Only the more hol types seemed interested in it yesterday evening.
    Feeding 4kgs of a 14 % pr nut.
    Just switched from a 16 in the last few days.
    Finished up with the vaccinations yesterday on the heifers and drafted out some yearling heifers for sale next week.
    Never sold dairy heifers before always buying and have very mixed emotions about selling but we'll see how it goes.

But all in all things are flying along bar the cows standing in the corner of the paddock yesterday looking at us vaccinating and they bulling as well and mucking it up a bit.:rolleyes:

When was your mean calving?
    15th Feb here first calf dropped on the 30th but didn't really kick off till the 5th.
    Yielding 24 here for a good few weeks now. 40% of herd made up of first and second calvers though

When was your mean calving?
    15th Feb here first calf dropped on the 30th but didn't really kick off till the 5th.
    Yielding 24 here for a good few weeks now. 40% of herd made up of first and second calvers though

Same as you. Calving started on the 30th.
    The average of the cows calved so far (still have 5 left)(left the bull a little longer last year, but should calve in the next week) usually in another year these would be cull cows due to this but decided to calve some in April. Had 3 cull cows this year due that didn't go in calf in time (so not too bad).
    The average days calved is 40.34 days so that would be 22 Feb.
    40% of herd milking ( excl that 5) here 1st and 2nd calvers .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,773 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyone else's Glanbia connect down all weekend for "maintenance"?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Anyone else's Glanbia connect down all weekend for "maintenance"?
    It probably can't handle the high milk prices you're going to get this month;)

I'm on a bit of a high this morning. We had a small outbreak of E. Coli scour a few weeks ago and lost 2 calves with it. The third, and last one, to get it was very poor after it. I was giving electrolytes every 5 hours and she was in a calf jacket to help her keep warm and had to be turned regularly. A right PITA, tbh.

Anyway, she died 2 weeks ago. I went out in the morning and could see no movement so I flicked her eye and there was no movement. Left her as it was Saturday and no Knackery till the Monday.

So on Monday, I drove up to the door and lifted her up to carry her out when her eyes flickered! Still alive! I went off and got yogurt and milk and electrolytes and gave her some regularly and she started coming round after 2 days. She was blind in one eye and most of the other eye has a white film on it that the vet says will improve after a few weeks. Still feeding and moving her with the last 2 weeks but she was down to 3 feeds a day.

Anyway, to cut a long story short:rolleyes:, when I went in to feed her after milking, she was standing up! Wobbling, but standing! All by herself.

Fekking thrilled, so I am:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,898 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'm on a bit of a high this morning. We had a small outbreak of E. Coli scour a few weeks ago and lost 2 calves with it. The third, and last one, to get it was very poor after it. I was giving electrolytes every 5 hours and she was in a calf jacket to help her keep warm and had to be turned regularly. A right PITA, tbh.

Anyway, she died 2 weeks ago. I went out in the morning and could see no movement so I flicked her eye and there was no movement. Left her as it was Saturday and no Knackery till the Monday.

So on Monday, I drove up to the door and lifted her up to carry her out when her eyes flickered! Still alive! I went off and got yogurt and milk and electrolytes and gave her some regularly and she started coming round after 2 days. She was blind in one eye and most of the other eye has a white film on it that the vet says will improve after a few weeks. Still feeding and moving her with the last 2 weeks but she was down to 3 feeds a day.

Anyway, to cut a long story short:rolleyes:, when I went in to feed her after milking, she was standing up! Wobbling, but standing! All by herself.

Fekking thrilled, so I am:)

Great stuff. If only these anti dairy lads would read that post, it shows the amount of care and attention given to that calf.

On the third day she rose again and ascended onto Kerry.:P

Cheeses the super calf.:)

Edit: Good stuff Buford.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    On the third day she rose again and ascended onto Kerry.:P

Cheeses the super calf.:)

Edit: Good stuff Buford.
    Imagine the conversation on the Monday after ringing the Knackery.

Buford: Hello, it that the Knackery?

Knackery: Yes, how can I help you, sir?

Buford: This is Buford Justice, I rang earlier about getting a calf picked up?

Knackery : That's right, the lorry will be on before lunch.

Buford : Ah..great...ah.....can I cancel the call, please?

Knackery : Ah...OK? Can I ask why, Buford? Are our prices too dear?

Buford : Ah... no....I...ah....I seem to not need the calf picked up, thanks?

Knackery : Ah...whaat??

Buford : Yeah, I...ah...seem to not need the lorry today, thanks.

Knackery : Well, the driver can put the animal down when he arrives to stop their suffering, if you want.

Buford : Ah...no, thanks, I...ah...seem to have made a mistake....ah.....ah...the calf is actually....ah....still alive.

Knackery : Ah....OK....ah....thanks for the call, Buford.*thinks, what a fcuking eejit not knowing if a calf is dead or alive*

:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

As long as I live I won't understand marts here.

Just brought 2 FR bull calves to mart, both about 30 days old, and half brothers if I remember correctly. They were accidentally labelled as heifers on intake which didn't help, so by the time they made it to the ring they had already been hanging around all day with different groups.

In they walked and the place burst out laughing.

EUR 78 for the smaller one.

And 205 for the bigger one.

I think I might have hit the high and the low of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

Got 125 and 100 for 2 jex bulls today at the mart...

Now for clarification. ..We'd never use a xbred...It is purly experimental....against all my wishes...but we'll play our part...

Damn fine price though..

Came across a link for a slow and fast release N fertiliser for amenity use but could be the road Farm N may travel soon enough.

https://www.germinal.com/amenity/news/post/183/2017/04/new-twin-fertilisers-deliver-consistent-n-for-up-to-16-weeks/