Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭visatorro

alps wrote: »
    Boys n girls...summer is here

Your not local anyway?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

horns always help with the weight in my mart.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

leg wax wrote: »
    horns always help with the weight in my mart.....
    With the lads buying, like?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,860 ✭✭✭✭Water John

If they were off her, you'd be surprised how her manners would change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Mooooo wrote: »
    Stopped last year bit the same as whelan have scc issues. Won't go back.to every month maybe 5 or 6 times I'm the year.

Did first recording last weekend. Bit of hardship alright but worth it. Bulk tank scc bouncing around 70-120 for last while. Found 2 millionaires.being treated ATM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,770 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Did first recording last weekend. Bit of hardship alright but worth it. Bulk tank scc bouncing around 70-120 for last while. Found 2 millionaires.being treated ATM
    The recorder was saying alot of people are complaining on the 4week scheme that the results are taking too long to come back , that its nearly time to record again when they get the results from the last time. In some areas samples are only being collected once a week . If I dont have the results within a week I ring them to hurry them up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

Any one a date for starting the second round of grazing yet yet
    I'd say I'll be around the 9th of April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Finished here 80 units out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Next Monday I'm thinking ATM. Going to do a cover and I'll know for sure then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,711 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I'm z grazing at night till next Friday ,could start second round in next 2/3 days but will stick with zg till Friday then full steam ahead ,95 units n out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Finished here 80 units out

Very sorry, didn't read properly. Cover 700/cow so could start now but 3-4 days till I'm into first paddock again.

Thought it was fert you were talking about, specsavers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Your gonna call me mad, but the grand total of 20units of artifical N out! Decent bit of slurry out also however. I need to do a grass measure, but 1st grazed paddocks all back up to 1000ish. About 80% of ourown milking block grazed out, about 20ac of 2500 covers in the rented land across the road still to be grazed, I could walk the cows here which isn't ideal at all yet, or throw on a bag of urea and cut it early may (and accept it will be very average dry cow feed). Will put a full bag of N per acre on the whole farm, best price is from Glanbia (20e/ton less than others), I'm going to wait till April 1st to order that because it moves it into the April trading period, and won't need to be paid until end of May!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Timmaay wrote: »
    Your gonna call me mad, but the grand total of 20units of artifical N out! Decent bit of slurry out also however. I need to do a grass measure, but 1st grazed paddocks all back up to 1000ish. About 80% of ourown milking block grazed out, about 20ac of 2500 covers in the rented land across the road still to be grazed, I could walk the cows here which isn't ideal at all yet, or throw on a bag of urea and cut it early may (and accept it will be very average dry cow feed). Will put a full bag of N per acre on the whole farm, best price is from Glanbia (20e/ton less than others), I'm going to wait till April 1st to order that because it moves it into the April trading period, and won't need to be paid until end of May!

Why not cut it asap and get a good crop of quality stuff in early May. 2k of slurry and a bag of urea. You'd be grazing aftergrass in the first week of June. What's forecast like for the coming week?

Iv have 25ish units spread on half milking platform. And one half covered in slurry. Heading towards 50 % grazed. More fert out tomorrow. Am culling seven next week. Traditionally they would have been 'given a chance '. But this year visa says fook chances, out the gap!!

BTW one left to calf! If I could only get decent figures out of them now I'd be flying!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Got a late start here will be likely to be the 13/14th, group reckon that's the latest it should be. Going thru grazing block as fast as I can and then into silage ground and the few days in silage ground should help first paddocks get up a bit. Have 50 units N out on all ground bar 18 acres that's too wet, 60% also got slurry so maybe 60 units out in total on that?

One of my finest jerseys has what looks like a build up of fluid in its lower jaw. Just like a bubble hanging down underneath. Is this tooth related or any idea's?

I was expecting to hear something about the payment for the milk reduction scheme by now. Anybody hear anything yet?

This might interest someone in Cork.

https://twitter.com/PastureBase/status/846376023050596356

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

visatorro wrote: »
    One of my finest jerseys has what looks like a build up of fluid in its lower jaw. Just like a bubble hanging down underneath. Is this tooth related or any idea's?

It could be a heart problem....vet job I would say. If she's one of your best, give her the best chance you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

I was expecting to hear something about the payment for the milk reduction scheme by now. Anybody hear anything yet?

90 day payment limit will be up by the end of the week....while there was no announcement, end of the week could be looking good

alps wrote: »
    90 day payment limit will be up by the end of the week....while there was no announcement, end of the week could be looking good
    There are currently no amounts owed, according to Agfood:mad:

I might ring tomorrow and see what the story is.

There is usually a fanfare of 5 or 6 announcements saying money is being paid, not a mention of any payments yet which leads me to think we won't have the money in the near future:(

I had a cow calve this spring with a blue bull calf. She was supposed to be in calf to a friesian but I reckon the AI man mixed up the straws and either put a Shorthorn or Belgian Blue on the cow by mistake. There is no Shorthorn breeding in her that might account for the blue colour that I can find anyway.

Anyway, I had a lad here today looking to buy the calf but I would have to change the breed on the card to Belgian Blue for him.

I have an ER94(b) here but I'm wondering what reception changing the breed would have with the Dept especially as I don't have a BB bull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

What did you put on the card ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I had a cow calve this spring with a blue bull calf. She was supposed to be in calf to a friesian but I reckon the AI man mixed up the straws and either put a Shorthorn or Belgian Blue on the cow by mistake. There is no Shorthorn breeding in her that might account for the blue colour that I can find anyway.

Anyway, I had a lad here today looking to buy the calf but I would have to change the breed on the card to Belgian Blue for him.

I have an ER94(b) here but I'm wondering what reception changing the breed would have with the Dept especially as I don't have a BB bull?

Can't see how it would be a problem.

What did you put on the card ?

Friesian as the breed but no sire listed as I wasn't sure the right sire was used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

If it looks like a blue should not really be a problem. Not sure what you put down on form to explain the change though .

Don't think the department check icbf to see what bull's are used on cows .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,770 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

If it looks like a blue should not really be a problem. Not sure what you put down on form to explain the change though .

Don't think the department check icbf to see what bull's are used on cows .
    I would just write wrong sire and send it off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Anyone else a bit freaked out by that picture advertising the Dairy Start Up Course?

Why is there an arrow pointing to that man's knees?
    How many male farmers do you know anyway who go around in wellies and shorts?
    And there's obviously a woman walking beside him wearing white runners.
    Where is she going in her white runners or what are the two of them doing walking down the cow track?

It seems a very strange photo.

Edit: I figured it out.
    On the bottom it says couples are encouraged to attend.
    So now Sìn è.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Anyone else a bit freaked out by that picture advertising the Dairy Start Up Course?

How many male farmers do you know anyway who go around in wellies and shorts?
    And there's obviously a woman walking beside him wearing white runners.
    Where is she going in her white runners or what are the two of them doing walking down the cow track?

It seems a very strange photo.

Yer over thinking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

pedigree 6 wrote: »

A subtle skyrim joke.