Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,333 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

snubbleste wrote: »
    But the Garda mentioned is a garda for at least 8 years and is getting €48k pa

I know people a lot of people who have degrees and arent on €48k after 8 years employment.

A year and a half in Garda 'college' and 8 years later - €48k a year aint bad is it.

And they only pay 5% or 6% for the huge pension they will be able to start drawing after 30 years service! Thats worth tens of thousands a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

The poor bus drivers dealing with the dregs of the city every day hour in hour out

shoulder to shoulder with the spaced out ....clients etc deserves more pay than many

a Garda .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,066 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Lads in this life you get what you're given unless you go out and fight for better. No use whinging about teachers, nurses, bus drivers, garda, fireman etc. Doesn't matter what.
    Go out and fight your corner and grow a pair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

BPKS wrote: »
    I know people a lot of people who have degrees and arent on €48k after 8 years employment.

A year and a half in Garda 'college' and 8 years later - €48k a year aint bad is it.

And they only pay 5% or 6% for the huge pension they will be able to start drawing after 30 years service! Thats worth tens of thousands a year.

They're on the pigs back. I'll have no respect for the Gardai, if they bully their way through on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Why have we heard nothing from Mick Wallace or Clare Daly about the Garda dispute?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Homeinstead jingle playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Home instead senior care, to us it's personal...........

copyright butterssuki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,066 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

They're on the pigs back. I'll have no respect for the Gardai, if they bully their way through on this.
    Go and join them lad. Grow a pair and fight for better. No use crying on here about it. If you want better then fight for it.
    I kept changing jobs until I got what I wanted and I fought for better pay and conditions all the way.

€25ph.. is that more or less than a garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Joe changing the topic because Home Instead was mentioned...

Joe is so nosy "how do you keep busy?"

snubbleste wrote: »
    copyright butterssuki

Careful now. That's not one of mine. Although with all the plagiarism around these parts lately I can understand your caution :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,333 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Say the average Garda wage is €50k over the 30 years they will work.

Their pension contributions over their working life is around €75k.

So when they hit 53 or 54, they will start earning 2/3's final salary in their pension - say €40k a year.

Live until they are 85 and that pension costs the state €1.2m.

Not bad for a contribution of €75k over 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

She's got a new car, she's out and about but she can only visit her sister twice a month? :confused:

Joe: And wat colour is de car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

92- youngish

Her sister is sick of her

Joe: And did she leave you de gaff so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

92 , YOUNGISH, is he mental !!!

Question:- What's the difference between a house and a home?
    Answer:- A home is where the kids put you when they want your house!

92- youngish

92 is young today.

A few weeks ago 71 year old Pat Hickey was a very old, frail man.

Smoking kills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

92 is youngish these days he says. :rolleyes:

Don't all cigarettes have anti-smoulder stuff in them now- so unless you keep puffing on it, it will go out so to speak

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Question:- What's the difference between a house and a home?
    Answer:- A home is where the kids put you when they want your house!
    FF was last week

monkey9 wrote: »
    92 is youngish these days he says. :rolleyes:

Unless you're Pat Hickey?

I have a paid companion too- she charges more than e25 an hour though, full GFE

Paid companions, you mean escorts caller

Joe perks up when moderately posh-sounding caller comes on air. He's like the court jester in medieval times desperately seeking approval from his master.