Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,066 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

No merit in supporting greed. If you follow your logic that might is right, then this country is truly finished. Call back in the Brits or EU to run the place.
    The EU are running it.
    You didn';t seriously think FG were, did you?

Get out and fight your cause and stop whinging on here or you'll never have anything. I worked in the UK and was on 3 strikes. Always came out on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

snubbleste wrote: »
    Nobody forced him to take the mortgage

this is starting to take me back to that nutter school teacher complaining about "ONLY" earning 68k a year and how she cant afford to live on it with all her bulgarian apartments.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Marion Basto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Just in....did I miss something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭madanall

After 28+ years in Retail business , working in same company , my basic Annual Gross wage is 26k . People in public service don't realise how good they have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Cdosrun

Joe during the ad break "Yew, is there anything to be said for a death.......God I love a good death" .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

If that Garda is paying €21k per annum in interest, then the mortgage must have been €600k +...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

The Purge starts at midnight tonight

Just in....did I miss something?
    We're hatching a plan to free Sadie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,888 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Liveline says no need to be frightened, that's not what I've been hearing over the last month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Joe says no need to be terrified but in the past few days he's been instinuating there'll be anarchy :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

Gets rid of any squeaks !

I love wd40, excellent lubricant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭sjb25

Ah lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

Some irish citizens will be very put out tomorrow......eg those that never required a Garda

will find they do so , road traffic accidents, robbery etc etc ......and the one time they

seek assistance their let down.......perhaps the first time in decades.....

Caller: I'm petrified tomorrow Joe as anything could happen incl. death, rape, burglary, etc.
    Joe: WHOY would you tink dat caller?
    Caller: I've been listening to you all week Joe, that's WHOY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

"There's no need to be afraid" says our intrepid presenter.

Conveniently forgetting that for the past few weeks he's gorged himself on spreading panic around the country regarding "Armageddon" this Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Burgulars beware you might get squirted if you come near this lady so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

sensible caller on.

this wont last long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭North Cork Star

Red Kev wrote: »
    I don't think that's true.

She said that they refuse to sign her out. This means that medical people, (doctors, nurses, Occupational Therapists, district nurses, home helps etc.) have formed the opinion that she isn't fit to look after herself. They're not going to let her walk out the door on her own, as when something happens to her, Joe Duffy will be down their necks asking "Why was she let out".

If she was capable of looking after herself there would be nothing to sign and she could leave when she wants. That is almost guaranteed not the case here.

I feel sorry for her, but if the family can't/won't look after her, then she's in the best place for herself. I looked after my Dad for 2.5 years and it's a full time job.

I'll say what i said at the beginning; it's voyeurism pure and simple. It shouldn't be on the radio as it's seriously hurtful to the family.

True. If the Medical advice states she is not fit to live at home I see where the family won't resist to her pressure. But just speaking from experience of my own uncle who lives on his own, is very dependant on his home helps but is delighted by the fact he still lives at home. He gets visited regularly by his neighbours and friends. I just see Sadie as a similar case as my uncle, sound in mind but physically dependant on help. But every case is different of course. I just hope Sadie and her family find that happy median.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Get out and fight your cause and stop whinging on here or you'll never have anything. I worked in the UK and was on 3 strikes. Always came out on top.

As self employed who has to figure out how to earn every cent, who precisely am I going to strike against? There are large numbers of working people in this economy who cannot strike as they don't have any leverage.

snubbleste wrote: »
    I love wd40, excellent lubricant

thats-what-she-said.jpg?w=286&h=215

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Burgulars beware you might get squirted if you come near this lady so to speak

Naughty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

They must have met in "Coppers".

I paid €15 to park in a car park, joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Jesus this wan is hard to listen to :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

That moaning teacher is getting on my tits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Give him a good time tonight Emma and that'll 'raise his morale' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭woejus

2smiggy wrote: »
    Jesus this wan is hard to listen to :(

voice in a constant strained octave