Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most annoying accents in the world

• 21-04-2016 12:53am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 9,047 CMod ✭✭✭✭

I know that nobody has an accent themselves, it is confined to other people.

Have just been listening to the radio, well it's on at work in the background, and there was a woman being interviewed. Her voice was so grating it drew my attention. It was one of those American accents which I think originates in Los Angeles. It was like that horrible false D4 accent you hear sometimes, but even worse.

It got me to thinking what do people find the most annoying accents?

Mine has to be that Los Angeles one above and some of the New York accents. So each side of the USA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Birmingham used to be. But, these days? The normal accent there is Pakistani.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

False D4 accents, must be the most ear grating accent in the world.

Stigura wrote: »
    Birmingham used to be. But, these days? The normal accent there is Pakistani.

Ber-bing-cam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

French accents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

Sam Kade wrote: »

And Belfast "chainsaw" accents...my poor bleeding ears....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Healy-Rae

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I was talking to a girl with one of those fake D4 accents. Something came up in conversation and it turned out she was originally from Dundalk. I commented on her losing the Dundalk accent, and she said "yeah, I went to college in Galway for a few years."

For the life of me I still can't figure out how she ended up with the D4 accent.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

galljga1 wrote: »
    Healy-Rae

The Healy Rae's have an accent all to themselves and there was I thinking it was a Kerry accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Some australian accents kill my ears. But i like the old crocodile dundee outback bloke accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Sam Kade wrote:

KungPao wrote:
    Some australian accents kill my ears. But i like the old crocodile dundee outback bloke accent.

Came here to comment both these accents, nice to know I'm not alone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,463 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Kilkenny accents, Wexford accents, Tipperary accents annoy me

I'm a Waterford man but hate the strong Waterford accent

Some d4 accents are annoying

I hate the Latino American accent (oh sorry homes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Kilkenny accents, Wexford accents, Tipperary accents annoy me

I'm a Waterford man but hate the strong Waterford accent

I hate the Latino American accent (oh sorry homes)

The Swansea accent is pretty bad. Its really the hardest accent for me to understand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Sam Kade wrote: »

south = sayth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

People who can't say shite without emphasising the T.

Dah's jus' shih.

Or maybe they are just shy?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

PTH2009 wrote: »

There's more than one type of D4 accent? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Dundalk has to be up there. I can't decide if it's horrible or comical or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Arghus wrote: »
    Dundalk has to be up there. I can't decide if it's horrible or comical or both.

Dundaaawk you say? Never go to Draaaw-da.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

The horrible D4 accent has to be the worst, followed closely by the Drogheda accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

I kinda agree that the Dundalk accent is not the greatest.
    On a side note, my wife (She is not Irish) heard one of the Healy Rae's on the radio last week and she thought he was Indian or Pakistani. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Brindor

Donegal.
    God, I hate what I sound like.
    Anyone have a Voice Changer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

Scouse. So phlegmy and whiney. Also difficult to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

Brindor wrote: »
    Donegal.

Are you insane?! That's probs one of the best accents out there.

Brindor wrote: »
    Donegal.

U ok hun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

pablo128 wrote: »
    I was talking to a girl with one of those fake D4 accents. Something came up in conversation and it turned out she was originally from Dundalk. I commented on her losing the Dundalk accent, and she said "yeah, I went to college in Galway for a few years."

For the life of me I still can't figure out how she ended up with the D4 accent.:confused:

I know a girl from Tralee. Went to college in UL.
    She has a spot on D4 accent. I thought she was from D4 til my missus told me she's from Kerry. There is not a hint of Kerry off her.

No idea how it happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

A Kiwi accent that is really, really nasal-y.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the dort accent is the language of aspiration adopted by those who perceive it as a way to climb the social ladder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Scouse. Indian. Nigerian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭11214

Knocknaheeny, horrible Cork nori accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

I don't think there is an accent particular to Dublin 4. When did all this 'D4' stuff start?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

If a girl is hot then some of the "horrible" accents will sound sexy on her...Liverpool, Newcastle, Aussie, Brummy, American Midwest (Michigan/Wisconsin).

But no matter how gorgeous and flirty she is, if she has one of the following accents, I vomit:

Cavan
    D4
    Long Island (every second word is "like" and every sentence ends with the uptone questioning intonation)
    South African

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Dublin scummer accent is horrible as well as being embarrassing to think that people from other countries often experience it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Dundalk accent is horrific. I can't listen to anyone from there.

LorMal wrote: »
    I don't think there is an accent particular to Dublin 4. When did all this 'D4' stuff start?

You must live in D4 then if you have never noticed that accent... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

11214 wrote: »
    Knocknaheeny, horrible Cork nori accent.

In fairness I don't think you can distinguish between a Knocka, Fair Hill, Farranree, Mahon, Togher accent.
    Granted the "Norrie" accent is grating but its not unique to an area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

you lot obviously havent been subject to the nasal, whiny , whinging victimhood DERRY accent , easily the galaxies worst accent *shivers* even thinking about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

That flat harsh Australian accent.

Julia Gillard has it but hers a bit more refined now.

EDIT: Actually, this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

No accents annoy me. People (mostly) don't choose them so it's about as useful as getting annoyed at the colour of their skin or anything else out of their control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    you lot obviously havent been subject to the nasal, whiny , whinging victimhood DERRY accent , easily the galaxies worst accent *shivers* even thinking about it

The Derry accent in general is pretty awful.

Typical speak from a female mucker working in a shop.

That'll be a hunnard poind please. Would you like a wee bag to put your wee lawnmower in?

No thanks.

Ok sure put your wee card in the wee machine there.

Ok type in your wee PIN number.

That's grand, ye can take your wee card out noi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

Cockney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The Derry accent in general is pretty awful.

Typical speak from a female mucker working in a shop.

That'll be a hunnard poind please. Would you like a wee bag to put your wee lawnmower in?

No thanks.

Ok sure put your wee card in the wee machine there.

Ok type in your wee PIN number.

That's grand, ye can take your wee card out noi.

I was about to say no-one better post and say Derry or Donegal, too late.

Hawkwind and CJC, I will hunt you both down. Hi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I actually don't like the french accent. Even on a good looking french one. They'd be hotter if they didn't sound like the were trying to swallow a coal bunker sideways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

I dont have an problem with Accents.

Its more some peoples voices grind my gears.

More the sound of there voice rather then the accent of where their from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

That CycleDub guy on the bike wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Wexford accents are just plain fúcked up. They're 'quare annnoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

The emm..travelling community...boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭weisses

I might be generalizing but ..... All the accent on the Jeremy Kyle show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

xabi wrote: »
    That CycleDub guy on the bike wins.

If he ever had a child with Rachel Allen, the abomination would have to be locked in a soundproof room for its entire existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Nigerian (invariably spoken at too high a volume), the whiney Derry & Donegal abomination, Louth, Alexandra College (yep, there's an accent specific to a single southside school - Miriam & Rachel Allen's alma mater), some Wexford, most Traveller & that newer type of harsh inner-ciry Dublin accent.