Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WWW : Connacht vs Leinster

• Registered Users Posts: 4,211 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

neelia11 wrote: »
    it says absolutely nothing really. Healy kept losing the ball in contact for example. In two games between these sides this season connacht have one score in 160 minutes of rugby against the "international team". For all the talk about connacht's way of playing that little fact speaks volumes. You can argue with opinion about the merits of any player but thats just opinion.

It says that it's one game a piece. Leinster have three or four times the playing population, two or three times the budget. Connacht may meet them in the play offs and Leinster will obviously be favorites but I hope it will be a hell of a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Billysays no

what a night. off to bed. will wake up in the morning to find it isnt true

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

It shouldn't need to be said but as a few posters felt the need to call Leinster the "international" team... bar Sexton all the starting backs for the 6 Nations are from the other provinces. Zebo played more than Rob K this time so I'm counting him as #1 FB. There were 3 or 4 forwards from the other provinces too. So yeah, Leinster are not Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

Ulsterman in peace; well done Connacht, you're a team apart from the one which was the Fulham of the Pro 12.

Leinster, played a hell of a game, shorn of some serious players. Not all is lost for Irish rugby yet.

rsh118 wrote: »
    Ulsterman in peace; well done Connacht, you're a team apart from the one which was the Fulham of the Pro 12.

Leinster, played a hell of a game, shorn of some serious players. Not all is lost for Irish rugby yet.

Its always the same. Leinster shorn of players. Honestly. We just beat what is put up against us. Bring up your team selections with Leo

Why would an Ulsterman be bringing up team selections with Leo?

I'm im not saying Connacht were gifted it at all, they still had to beat a hell of a team, one which on paper beforehand I would have said was a lot better!

As I said, well played Connacht!

Why would an Ulsterman be bringing up team selections with Leo?

We all know Leo is pulling Joe's strings ;)

It would be nice if Shane Horgan figured that Tiernan's surname is not O'Halnahran (or something like that Shane). Having listened to the Galway Bay FM intro day before yesterday I find Thornleys match report weak. He saw no way Leinster could be beaten and his report is just stuck on how Leinster lost. Gerry, do you even know the name of a connacht player? Must be very confusing when henshaw doesn't start. But I guess you can always talk about how he looks on the sideline.

Are you actually expecting a reply ftom Gerry on this or....?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

The Galway Player ‏@GalwayPlayer 8h8 hours ago
    Bono, Gay Byrne, Alan Brogan, Colin Farrell, Coppers, @RossOCK Robbie Keane, Molly Malone you're boys took one hell of a beating #CONvLEIN

Fair play Conn you won fair and square

• Registered Users Posts: 4,211 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Are you actually expecting a reply ftom Gerry on this or....?

I will say that ouncer and myself rarely agree. But he's absolutely correct that Thornley barely knows what day of the week it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Well done Connaght - a good performance in atrocious conditions. I think they played the conditions far more astutely. I was amazed how poorly Leinster coped. Some of our box kicking in the first half was beyond stupid.

I have to say, the Leinster posters on here have been gracious in defeat. Many of the Connaught posters has been less than gracious in victory.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,758 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Are you ever fecking happy?!

Your team just had a great win...enjoy it!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

So McFadden, so ringrose, so te'o, so Fitzgerald, so McGrath, so nothing.

Were you not the lad on here talking about how good Ringrose is and how JS was missing a trick by not playing him in the 6N?

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Johnny Farango

What did we think of Robb? Thought he made some decent lines at times and made two particularly impressive tackles. He had big shoes to fill.

Also was really hard to see the replay of Isa's first tackle on Niyi. Was it actually high?
    I thought Nacewa got away with not one, but two dangerous high tackles in the game. Without the benefit of action replays though I can't be certain.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Johnny Farango

LorMal wrote: »
    I have to say, the Leinster posters on here have been gracious in defeat. Many of the Connaught posters has been less than gracious in victory.
    Disagree, what's wrong with the Connacht posters Lormal? Where have they upset you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Disagree, what's wrong with the Connacht posters Lormal? Where have they upset you?

In fairness to the weshties, there's only one Connacht fan who is letting the side down badly, the rest have been 100% gracious in victory.

And frankly, I don't like it. Connacht can never be taken seriously until their fans descend into petty provincialism and needless point-scoring. Time to up yer game lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Ok. I'm awake and I've checked the table again. It wasn't a dream :D
    The atmosphere at the game was just unreal and the scenes at the end are something no one there will forget.

Would love to see both teams against each other on a dry calm day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭neelia11

ClanofLams wrote: »
    It says that it's one game a piece. Leinster have three or four times the playing population, two or three times the budget. Connacht may meet them in the play offs and Leinster will obviously be favorites but I hope it will be a hell of a game.

at the end of the day it is 15 v 15 on the pitch. Weight of numbers population doesnt come into it once the whistle blows. Connacht were full value for the win but my post you quoted was in response to this.
    And Joe have a look at it. We can close a game out against your international team. What does that say for your selections?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Honestly this arrogance is just poor taste. Leinster were pounding our line yesterday and could easily have taken the 4 points with that team selection.

Leinster will have Sexton playing for them if we meet them in the playoffs and they will be a different animal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Please don't judge us all based on that eejit! Delighted with the win and to hold out was fantastic; but every true fan knows there was nothing substantial between the teams and it could have gone either way!

We can still have a little brag though, we'll just keep it civil! 😆

• Registered Users Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

I watched 7 games of rugby yesterday and this one definitely had the greatest intensity. Pity the skill level didn't match it but obviously the conditions were a factor there. I think the game meant more to Connacht than it did to Leinster and it will be interesting to see if they can go up another level if these two teams meet in the playoffs.

I'm worried that McGrath and Marmion are the up and coming halfbacks in Ireland. This was a game that a quality HB should have stamped their mark on and neither of them did.

And Nacewa's hit on AJ was nowhere near being high.

Many of the Connaught posters has been less than gracious in victory.

One poster.

And it's Connacht

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭redmca2

It's probably been said already but the tactics and more significantly the lack of execution by Leinster in the 2nd half was appalling. With the wind with them and a strong pack, territory was the name of the game.

Madigan had 2 attempted kicks downfield in a row blocked. Kirchener took a penalty kick for the far touchline which, almost predictably, didn't find touch.

I have been a fan of Madigan over the years but the result is hugely down to his poor performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭neelia11

redmca2 wrote: »
    It's probably been said already but the tactics and more significantly the lack of execution by Leinster in the 2nd half was appalling. With the wind with them and a strong pack, territory was the name of the game.

Madigan had 2 attempted kicks downfield in a row blocked. Kirchener took a penalty kick for the far touchline which, almost predictably, didn't find touch.

I have been a fan of Madigan over the years but the result is hugely down to his poor performance.

the lack of control at 10 was leinsters biggest problem, especially in the 2nd half.

McGraths box kicks in the first half were poor, Fitz hit one lovely clearance about 50m into the wind. Thought McGrath could have looked to go long as opposed to up with his kicks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I'm worried that McGrath and Marmion are the up and coming halfbacks in Ireland. This was a game that a quality HB should have stamped their mark on and neither of them did.

I actually thought Marmion played very well overall. He brings a level of pace and speed of pass to the position that we haven't seen at international level for Ireland since Peter Stringer. There are still some deficiencies in his game but I think it's now time for Schmidt to back him as his number two scrum half and work with him to mould his game into what he wants rather than reverting back to Reddan time and again.

McGrath was awful - a long way from international standard. Given that he's only a year younger than Marmion he has a lot of ground to make up. Seems very mouthy towards officials also any time I've seen him play.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I actually thought Marmion played very well overall. He brings a level of pace and speed of pass to the position that we haven't seen at international level for Ireland since Peter Stringer. There are still some deficiencies in his game but I think it's now time for Schmidt to back him as his number two scrum half and work with him to mould his game into what he wants rather than reverting back to Reddan time and again.

McGrath was awful - a long way from international standard. Given that he's only a year younger than Marmion he has a lot of ground to make up. Seems very mouthy towards officials also any time I've seen him play.

The age comparison is pretty meaningless when Marmion has been playing as first choice pretty much every week for 4 years, it's like comparing Henshaw to Ringrose

To be fair to McGrath it's probably a force of habit with him being a captain all the way up from St Michaels to Leinster A. He's still young but Marmion gave him a tough day which he was able to do with experience.

McGrath should have been number 2 scrumhalf last year, but Leinster went for Boss.

McGrath is going to be a quality player for Leinster and Ireland, same for Nick McCarthy, but he should be further developed by now IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Borders no.2

In fairness to the weshties, there's only one Connacht fan who is letting the side down badly, the rest have been 100% gracious in victory.

And frankly, I don't like it. Connacht can never be taken seriously until their fans descend into petty provincialism and needless point-scoring. Time to up yer game lads.

I guess I just imagined all the years of coming into threads and seeing tit for tat point scoring nonsense over and back between Leinster and Munster fans. I'll quote plenty of examples of needless point scoring against Connacht from Leinster fans if you like. It's an internet thread for god sake. There is always going to be petty provincialism from one side to the other regardless of the outcome. I'm much happier that there is that bit of needle between the provinces rather than like the Welsh regions having to try and manufacture dislike for one another.

Leinster were deserving winners on New Years Day, we were deserving winners yesterday. In a day or two its forgotten and everyone gets ready for the next game. There will be posts that will be out of order but likewise from experience I know there is posts that annoy you at the time but in the cold light of day you look at and say that might be a fair point.