Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

767 on a hover barge

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭cherrytaz

cherrytaz wrote: »
    Is it just me or does the crane look unbelievably small alongside the 767 (i.e. too small to lift the 767)

Crane seems to be from this crowd http://www.windhoist.co.uk/Our-Crane-Fleet

A lot of them capable of lifting over 70 tonnes (the weight of the 767)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,096 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

some crowd there now!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭bigroad

They must have tested the wet sand for weight distribution.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Anyone on the ground got an ET on the lift? Debating having another beer or two!

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭onlyme!

bigroad wrote: »
    They must have tested the wet sand for weight distribution.

with the heal of their boots... its grand so!

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭ricimaki

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Anyone on the ground got an ET on the lift? Debating having another beer or two!

The crane boom is extending now, and the artic its being put on is very close too, so probably within the next hour or 2. All based from the live feed though.

This must be the best thing that ever happened to smashtech.tv

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Walter E GO

Just saw this post. Took this pic of it leaving Shannon the other day.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/776204/385367.JPG

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 9,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

onlyme! wrote: »
    This must be the best thing that ever happened to smashtech.tv

Perfectly valid comment to add to the thread

biggest crowd Enniscrone has seen in years :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭jimbis

What a story this is, the effort gone into it Is amazing. I'm sure plenty of deals with local companies were done for all this free advertisement, this man has the true Irish opinion of 'shopping local' and supporting his town.

I think we have found this century's Monsignor Horan of the west for future reeling in the years episodes. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

There's the truck. It also looks too tiny for the plane. Let's hope it's a 'small/far away' thing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,941 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I can't get over the line of people alongside the barge still watching - they must be absolutely frozen!

10 degrees there at the moment , heavy drizzle, light north easterly. horrible night for those watching. some achievement all round

"willaims shipping" from southamption was written on the side of the barge so i'd say they are the company that was tasked with transporting the plane.

Low tide 0130 , after that water begins to come back in...

When is the fecking thing going to get lifted? I have to get up in the morning!!

Low tide 0130 , after that water begins to come back in...
    I was just going to ask that.Thanks.

They are doing a fair bit of cutting,did someone forget the padlock keys.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,186 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Apparently it was welded to the barge, they are cutting the welds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Ah here lads, someone needs to get the finger out, it still isn't up on Wikipedia yet.

Those lads are going to need a burger and chips soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

should be off in next 10 minutes - the last weld has been cut off

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Lift at 2ish, according to a man who spoke to an engineer. Dont shoot me if I'm wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Looks like the crane is putting the sling in position now.

Lift at 2ish, according to a man who spoke to an engineer.
    Ah jaysus :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Ah jaysus :(

Be grand, get another beer.

Frynge wrote: »
    Be grand, get another beer.
    Trouble is, I'm tempted..... but I need a clear head tomorrow!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

I'd say there'll be a lot of beer cans on that beach in the morning!

Did the get all the passengers off yet.