Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Gamebred wrote: »
    Its possible,he has never been into social media ever since I first came across him a few years ago so he probably hasn't looked at it,go onto his fb and look at the crap on his timeline hes not writing that.

Ye I'd second that. He's not into the bull**** social media side of things. He's pretty old school. I was very surprised he had a twitter account.
    I'm sure once he gets wind of the pic he'll tell whatever idiot that put it up, to take it down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

tbh it doesn't matter if he's in charge of the account or not, in the public's eye's it his account so he will be held to account for what is put on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭midnight city

But the profile picture is a whole different situation. It's indefensible. There's something haunting about the picture. Carvahlo just ate a big straight left hand, he was rocked and wobbled and his eyes going into the back of his head.

I hope he doesn't think it makes him out to be a real hard bas***d

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I dont like it myself considering I watched the man live lose his life basically,im not offended though enough to write a complaint,you seem to be so go and tweet the account with your concern.

https://twitter.com/TheNotoriousMMA/status/789953581445222402

Think its safe to say his announcement is some sort of training UFC Gym type franchise hes starting in Europe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Gamebred wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/TheNotoriousMMA/status/789953581445222402

Think its safe to say his announcement is some sort of training UFC Gym type franchise hes starting in Europe?

Either that or "The Mac Life System" for training. Subscription, DVD's etc.

Something similar to what supermodel Elle MacPherson did years ago. She made a fortune off her fitness dvd's and stuff.

It's obviously something to do with Julian Dalby anyway, given he's in every 2nd picture lately :pac:

I do find it slightly strange if it is to be a Fitness training thing. Purely because people will say "why should i bother, he gasses out in the 2nd round".

If its combat training gyms it will fail miserably the country is awash with them nobody in martial arts is leaving their club to join a new UFC gym because McGregor is the ''owner'' and shows up to cut the red ribbon,probably more of a crossfit style aimed at the general public.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

If he opened a gym he'd be competing directly with his own mates and Coach in a very crowded market place so I'd be surprised if he did.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    If he opened a gym he'd be competing directly with his own mates and Coach in a very crowded market place so I'd be surprised if he did.

yeah that's defo not it.

Kavanagh didn't seem to indicate in this thread that it was a bad thing.

I'd imagine it's going to be a subscription-based service called The Mac Life Training System.

Something like that.

Where it sets out 12-week programs on nutrition, exercise, stretching, cardio, striking, grappling, rolling etc.

A training and fitness plan aimed at aspiring fighters.

Stuff like that he can make money off online. I highly doubt a "big announcement" would be opening 2 or 3 gyms in Ireland and the UK that would turn over a couple of hundred grand profit a year between them.

I'd say Conor knows with 2.6 million twitter followers, 7 million instagram etc that he has to be targeting online-based ventures, not bricks-and-mortars stuff like gyms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Something i just noticed and maybe i'm being harsh.....

Charlie Ward on his Official Twitter page has a profile picture of him fighting Joao Carvahlo just after taking a straight left to the face and reeling from the punch.

Anybody else find that extremely crass to say the least?
    https://twitter.com/CharlieWardMMA

Followed by Kavanagh, Paul Dollery etc so the real deal.

Feck it, i won't mince my words for fear of the Godfather Kavanagh seeing this lol.

I think it's an absolute disgrace to set your profile picture to a punch that may have played a part in ending another man's life.

There. It's said.

I'm sure plenty won't be bothered by it but i think it's a really insensitive, d1ck move on Wards part.
    mdwexford wrote: »
    Wow, completely agree.

Beyond scumbag move.

That's one way of interpreting it.

Another way is that it's a homage to fallen brother warrior.

You just don't know how people think. Everyone's different. Everyone interrupts things differently.

Don't forget Ward has to live with what he did in the ring. That must be impossible. I don't think it's fair people sit on their high horses and judge him on that. I don't know why he picked that picture, but I'd very much doubt it's for 'crass' reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,341 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

True enough, **** load of Christians wear crosses.

Still think its a dick move to put that as your profile picture.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

.ak wrote: »
    That's one way of interpreting it.

Another way is that it's a homage to fallen brother warrior.

You just don't know how people think. Everyone's different. Everyone interrupts things differently.

Don't forget Ward has to live with what he did in the ring. That must be impossible. I don't think it's fair people sit on their high horses and judge him on that. I don't know why he picked that picture, but I'd very much doubt it's for 'crass' reasons.

Each to their own but a homage, to my mind, would be a picture of the weigh-in or a touch of gloves.

Not landing a vicious straight left that arguably contributed to his death.

I can't even imagine how devastating it must feel to be responsible for another persons death.

But if that was your brother or son in that photo, i highly doubt you'd view it as a "homage".

Anyway, it's his Twitter he can do what he wants with it. I'll sit here on my 'high horse' and disagree with it all day long.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

One of the scummiest things I have ever had the displeasure of seeing on the Internet. Ward needs a long hard look at himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

One of the scummiest things I have ever had the displeasure of seeing on the Internet. Ward needs a long hard look at himself

fair enough the pic is definitely in bad taste but these holier-than-thou amateur dramatics like this are an embarrassment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

The look on Joao's face in that picture haunts me tbh. I'm surprised nobody has told him to take it down yet. Strange.

• Company Representative Posts: 64 Verified rep JohnSBG

The personal attacks towards me on this thread i genuinely dont mind. On my personal twitter account I'll hold on to my right to block who i choose but on an open forum i accept the bad with the majority thats good being in the spotlight I'm lucky enough to hold right now for this brief period of time.
    However the recent attacks towards charlie are really saddening and disappointing. I had just posted the dangers of believing the 'absolute' style posts of someone who actually doesn't have the slightest notion of whats actually going on and so many of you are so fast to immediately assume the worst. Do none of you actually have any friends who are not obsessed with social media? If you do, thats Charlie. He has zero idea about Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. As difficult as that might be for you to imagine.
    As of today ive taken over his page so posts moving forward I'll accept responsibility for. As for twitter, whoever set up his account is ignoring my dms. As some of you may know i had to follow it so i could dm. Kinda sad the worst is immediately assumed, then accepted as a given. Bizarre you would think dollery following it, who i dont think has even met Charlie, would somehow lend weight to the assumed fact Charlie has any control over it.
    Guys, just try a small bit of critical thinking before jumping to utmost offence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

JohnSBG wrote: »
    Guys, just try a small bit of critical thinking before jumping to utmost offence.

Its an internet forum, everyone jumps to conclusions here and sheep mentality is always there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

Glad to hear it John. Would expect no less from you than for you to be on top of this. If the red tops found out about this they would have a field day and cause more misery for a promising young fighter starting out his career. Let's hope it gets cleared up soon. At any rate John we will have to stop calling you a double adapter and start calling you an extension lead!! I don't know how you do it keeping all these plates spinning! You must not have much room to squeeze anymore into you but, I'll hold my tongue until the big announcement after 205. Sleep well tonight champ, history will be made soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

This thread is the gift that keeps on giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Why is joe Duffy not on the Belfast card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

The personal attacks towards me on this thread i genuinely dont mind. On my personal twitter account I'll hold on to my right to block who i choose but on an open forum i accept the bad with the majority thats good being in the spotlight I'm lucky enough to hold right now for this brief period of time.
    However the recent attacks towards charlie are really saddening and disappointing. I had just posted the dangers of believing the 'absolute' style posts of someone who actually doesn't have the slightest notion of whats actually going on and so many of you are so fast to immediately assume the worst. Do none of you actually have any friends who are not obsessed with social media? If you do, thats Charlie. He has zero idea about Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. As difficult as that might be for you to imagine.
    As of today ive taken over his page so posts moving forward I'll accept responsibility for. As for twitter, whoever set up his account is ignoring my dms. As some of you may know i had to follow it so i could dm. Kinda sad the worst is immediately assumed, then accepted as a given. Bizarre you would think dollery following it, who i dont think has even met Charlie, would somehow lend weight to the assumed fact Charlie has any control over it.
    It just confuses people that he'd have that pic on his Twitter all things considered

Because he said he wasnt being giving a high enough ranked opponent and had issues with his pay.

Tigger wrote: »
    It just confuses people that he'd have that pic on his Twitter all things considered

Thats what you got from my post?

When I look at an official twitter account I assume that it's actually that person running the account. If we assume that this is an official account, which it may not and looks like it isn't, then the criticism of the photo is valid.

I post on here under a user name but if I did have a facebook or twitter account under my real name and I went to a job interview, HR for that company would be searching through that social media account to check me out. They would not limit it to the Engineering posts, though it would be an engineering job I would be interviewing for, but to everything.

It may or may not be right but it is the reality of the situation.

You question others ability for critical thinking but I would question are you engaging in this type of thinking yourself? It's quite logical for people to have a problem with that photo considering what happened and assuming it's actually the individual himself owning the account. Remember there's no where on the page that doesn't say it's him posting, granted there is no blue tick.

At the end of the day it's a storm in a tea cup that can, and looks like will be, easily resolved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Thought him and the UFC are on a "break" due to contract disagreement or something? Or am I imagining that?

Tinie wrote: »
    Thought him and the UFC are on a "break" due to contract disagreement or something? Or am I imagining that?

Hes still contracted for one more fight so hes going nowhere soon, for his owm sake he should just get on with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Digitalism

CatFromHue wrote: »
    When I look at an official twitter account I assume that it's actually that person running the account. If we assume that this is an official account, which it may not and looks like it isn't, then the criticism of the photo is valid.

I post on here under a user name but if I did have a facebook or twitter account under my real name and I went to a job interview, HR for that company would be searching through that social media account to check me out. They would not limit it to the Engineering posts, though it would be an engineering job I would be interviewing for, but to everything.

It may or may not be right but it is the reality of the situation.

You question others ability for critical thinking but I would question are you engaging in this type of thinking yourself? It's quite logical for people to have a problem with that photo considering what happened and assuming it's actually the individual himself owning the account.

At the end of the day it's a storm in a tea cup that can, and looks like will be, easily resolved.
    Yes, exactly all of this.

Theres no real logical explanation that isn't in bad taste or understandable to have a picture on your online, public account, of a punch you've thrown that hit a man, that could have lead to his death.

For the ones struggling with my previous post let me simplify it....
    IT'S NOT CHARLIE.
    Until you see that 'tick' know that it could be anyone, hold off before becoming uncontrollably offended.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Propane Nightmare

Well then who the feck is it. And how does he already have 500 followers