Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Ah lads, Mousasi was insinuating that because Conor is much lighter, he'd be of no threat.

Which is true, but the humour and tone of it is lost as we're reading it rather than hearing him say it.

Imagine if they were both at some presser and Mousasi said "What are you gonna do with your 50 kilos" and he just calmly said "Well, a knife is lighter than a pound but it could still cut you from ear to ear" ...... we'd be breaking our holes laughing.

Come on. The guy is mouthing to get some attention and good on him for it, but McGregor has not done anything wrong here. Mousasi seems like a bit of drama queen to me if he's gonna start suggesting people are threatening him with a knife after something like that is said to him. He knew damn well it wasn't a threat as he said to Ariel that Conor was trying to be "philosophical". So if he knew that, why claim Conor was threatening him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

John_D80 wrote: »
    If you believe that this guy who sent him the messages is being serious then you need to have a word with yourself mate.

Its a obvious spoof.

A lot of effort for a spoof to write an essay on random coaching thoughts, send it in a private email (where nobody will see the spoof!) and to ask not to post his real name in public!!

Spoof or not if someone messaged me on here with their real name and asked to keep it private, i'd keep it private.

Ah lads, Mousasi was insinuating that because Conor is much lighter, he'd be of no threat.

Which is true, but the humour and tone of it is lost as we are reading it rather than seeing him say it.

Imagine if they were both at some presser and Mousasi said to Conor "What are you gonna do with your 50 kilos" and we saw him just turn calmly to him and say "Well, a knife is lighter than a pound but it could still cut you from ear to ear" ...... we'd be breaking our holes laughing.

Fcuking thing would go viral.

Come on. The guy is mouthing to get some attention and good on him for it, but McGregor has not done anything wrong here. Good on Mousasi for trying to get himself noticed but tbf he it seems like a bit of drama queen to me if he's gonna start suggesting people are threatening him with a knife and he knew damn well it wasn't a threat as he said to Ariel that Conor was trying to be "philosophical". So if he knew that, why claim Conor was threatening him?

Conor randomly messaged him cursing him out of it.

Gegard then replied "what you gonna do you weigh 150lbs"

Conor then says "a knife is lighter than a pound it'd cut from ear to ear".

Gegard "woo i'm scared big man say it to my face".

The point is this - you're right, if that interaction happened at a presser it'd be different.

But for Conor to take the trouble to curse Mousasi out in a PM ..... that just strikes me as insecurity and wanting to act hard.

We'll see how it plays out. The UFC would be wise to try get Mousasi wedged on to the already stacked UFC 205 card!! Why not sure, feck it. More drama.

Conor randomly messaged him cursing him out of it.

Well, Mousasi had a go at him after his win and so I think McGregor was right to have a go back... but he should have done it via a tweet, not a private message.

It just bugs me the way Mousasi said he threatened him with a knife when he knew it was just an analogy Conor was making.

Be interesting to if the messages come out and to see what was said initially, as who knows but maybe they started off a bit lighthearted but just turned nasty. Something tells me that a lot of what is said to Mousasi is lost in translation.
    We'll see how it plays out. The UFC would be wise to try get Mousasi wedged on to the already stacked UFC 205 card!! Why not sure, feck it. More drama.

Wouldn't surprise me alright.

Come on. The guy is mouthing to get some attention and good on him for it, but McGregor has not done anything wrong here. Good on Mousasi for trying to get himself noticed but tbf he it seems like a bit of drama queen to me if he's gonna start suggesting people are threatening him with a knife and he knew damn well it wasn't a threat as he said to Ariel that Conor was trying to be "philosophical". So if he knew that, why claim Conor was threatening him?

This is another aspect of the negative effect of this McGregor worship phenomenon I think..
    "Good on him for mouthing to get attention..he's trying to get himself noticed and good on him for it.."...it's like people applauding a bold child who won't shut up in class..I dunno..it's not something that should be encouraged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,386 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Wasn't one of the lads messaging his missus some weird messages. "Send me nudes" type stuff, with his own girlfriend in his profile pic. To be honest, I'd be hanging that fella out to dry too. Can't comment on some other as I haven't seen them all.

This is another aspect of the negative effect of this McGregor worship phenomenon I think..
    "Good on him for mouthing to get attention..he's trying to get himself noticed and good on him for it.."...it's like people applauding a bold child who won't shut up in class..I dunno..it's not something that should be encouraged

I was clearly talking about Mousasi when I made that comment and you can bet he wouldn't be getting the column inches and interview time he is currently getting had he not said what he said after he won.

As for blaming McGregor for it, what a load of nonsense. MMA fighters have been calling each other since the sport was founded. Chael Sonnen, Jones, Diaz brothers etc etc all trash talked other fighters down the years.

And it's not just MMA of course, Boxing always traditionally had fighters calling each other out. Lewis, Tyson etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Moussasi is as bland as a magnolia wall, its about time he started to open up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭califano

ASOT wrote: »
    Moussasi is as bland as a magnolia wall, its about time he started to open up a bit.

He looks like a culchie too. A western culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

the most ironic thing about all my criticism is i bought his book, bought a Conor reebok fight kit, have SBG t-shirts etc.

I just can't stand when he does that nonsense on facebook.

Ah lad.....no.

dashoonage wrote: »
    Ah lad.....no.

the walk-out hoody is actually really comfy!! That's all i can say :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Jesus were a sensitive bunch.

These two fighters are grown men who beat the **** out of people for a living.

Leave them have their little handbags on social media and focus on what they do in the ring.

The world is gone so bloody sensitive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

These last few pages... smh.

Saipanne wrote: »
    These last few pages... smh.

Ah sure look it beats waffling about Floyd Mayweather, a proposed WWE career, a possible wedding, Dee being maybe pregnant or for the millionth time how Eddie is going to wrestle the bejaysus out of him :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

JustTheOne wrote: »

Leave them have their little handbags on social media and focus on what they do in the ring.

Now when you mention Jesus here are you taking about the first coming biblical Jesus or the second coming of Conor....

dashoonage wrote: »
    Now when you mention Jesus here are you taking about the first coming biblical Jesus or the second coming of Conor....

Isn't Conor a jew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Does anyone actually know for sure if Conor messaged him?

No need to answer, the answer is no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

.ak wrote: »
    Does anyone actually know for sure if Conor messaged him?

No need to answer, the answer is no.

Seems to have been confirmed that he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Funny how we watch 2 men beat each other a bloody pulp, cheer it on (jump up and down to it in some cases) .....yet the use of a few words turns some into Mary Whitehouse......McGregor has also said many times he'll take his opponents head clean off, I don't think he means it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

For all we know it was the fake McGregor page with a couple of 100k likes on facebook.

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Funny how we watch 2 men beat each other a bloody pulp, cheer it on (jump up and down to it in some cases) .....yet the use of a few words turns some into Mary Whitehouse......McGregor has also said many times he'll take his opponents head clean off, I don't think he means it

Its ridiculous how much people care what sports people do or say outside of the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,342 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Its ridiculous how much people care what sports people do or say outside of the sport.

I think the overall character of a person is pretty important in the long run.

You would look at a fighter differently if you knew he was a wife beater at home wouldn't you? A paedophile? A buddy buddy with a brutal dictator etc

You need to be very careful who you hitch your wagon to, who you champion and put forward as a bastion of goodness. I couldn't support some people if I knew certain things about them - just for the record, a twitter spat between two grown men isn't going to be one of them.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

I think the overall character of a person is pretty important in the long run.

You would look at a fighter differently if you knew he was a wife beater at home wouldn't you? A paedophile? A buddy buddy with a brutal dictator etc

You need to be very careful who you hitch your wagon to, who you champion and put forward as a bastion of goodness. I couldn't support some people if I knew certain things about them - just for the record, a twitter spat between two grown men isn't going to be one of them.

Ah here what you're suggesting is totally off the scale and pretty obvious to any Sane person that that behaviour isn't on.

But a few words in the heat of the moment on twitter isn't a crime.

We have all said stupid things, every one of us.

But murdering someone we haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Confirmed how? By who? Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I think this is just another case of someone trying to make a name off Conor, much like Conor and Ronda did with Floyd. Sceptical til I see the actual tweets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

.ak wrote: »
    Confirmed how? By who? Where?

Quoted, by Gegard, in an interview with Ariel Helwani.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

One party said it occurred. Thats not confirmed. If Conor did it he must have been hammered, there was nothing to gain from it.

Quoted, by Gegard, in an interview with Ariel Helwani.

He couldn't even read the message out, he also said he didn't see it and that his manager told him about it as he handles his twitter. Sounds like a load of bollíx to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,386 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Wait, Gegard confirmed it. But then said he didn't see it. WTF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Mellor wrote: »
    Wait, Gegard confirmed it. But then said he didn't see it. WTF

That's what you call a solid FACT.