Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Should read his book, lot of that interview is taken from it.

Cheers - think I will. Honestly, only reason I have not until now is because all of the press I heard / read about it was either about bullying from his teen years (not saying this isn't an important issue, but I thought - meh, do I really want to spend my limited free time wading through chapters about a 40-som year old's teenage trials and insecurities) or stuff on social media about his girlfriend/reposts of McGregor's latest publicity foties. Seems like there is indeed quite a bit more to the man ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Cali_girl wrote: »
    Cheers - think I will. Honestly, only reason I have not until now is because all of the press I heard / read about it was either about bullying from his teen years (not saying this isn't an important issue, but I thought - meh, do I really want to spend my limited free time wading through chapters about a 40-som year old's teenage trials and insecurities) or stuff on social media about his girlfriend/reposts of McGregor's latest publicity foties. Seems like there is indeed quite a bit more to the man ;)

The book is great.

Only a couple of pages about bullying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,386 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

.ak wrote: »
    What weight was that? Yer man looks huge compared to Eddie!
    It was for the Bodog WW title. That's the division Eddie fought in at that stage, and he was the reigning champ for that one. That was his first loss.
    Conor won't be able to dish out a soccer kick if he cracks him with a left :pac:

Kick was to the body, so still legal in the UFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

So the NSAC say Conor owe them 75k now instead of 150k. What a farce of an organisation.

TimRiggins wrote: »
    So the NSAC say Conor owe them 75k now instead of 150k. What a farce of an organisation.

They said that he always owed $75k.
    And they the 150k was misreported my the media based on the "value" of the community service element.

It's there any transcript of the hearing to confirm/refute that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Mellor wrote: »
    They said that he always owed $75k.
    And they the 150k was misreported my the media based on the "value" of the community service element.

It's there any transcript of the hearing to confirm/refute that?

The hearing was so convoluted. I watched it all.

So basically, Pat Lundvall wanted him fined 10% of his purse ($300,000). Anthony Marnell said he's finding it hard to accept giving someone a 300 grand fine for throwing a water bottle.

They settled on 5%.

They then consulted their own legal advice who was sat behind McGregors lawyer off-camera.

He said they could break up the fine in any way they deemed fit.

So they decided that $75,000 must be paid in a fine that goes into the General State Fund.

The other $75,000 must be used on the making of the PSA commercial.

So in some ways, they are correct he was fined 75 grand, but given he has no choice but to put the second 75 grand towards a PSA, then surely it's the same as $150,000 fine. They stipulated his accountants must demonstrate he spent $75,000 on the PSA.

It was the most convoluted, wishy-washy, makey-upy fine i've ever seen.

The Attorney General simply wanted him fined 25 grand and make him do 25 hours community service teaching kids jiu-jitsu.

Why on earth they couldn't have just said "that's grand" i've no idea.

McGregor himself offered to do an anti-bullying commercial in the mistaken belief they would scrap the community service and fine if he offered his services in fronting a huge anti-bullying campaign.

The whole thing was a mess.

So they decided that $75,000 must be paid in a fine that goes into the General State Fund.

The other $75,000 must be used on the making of the PSA commercial.

So in some ways, they are correct he was fined 75 grand, but given he has no choice but to put the second 75 grand towards a PSA, then surely it's the same as $150,000 fine. They stipulated his accountants must demonstrate he spent $75,000 on the PSA.
    Bennett is now saying that the $75k is the fine, and the second $75k is "the value of the PSA that he must do". On face value, that sounds like the 75k is a value assigned to doing the PSA.
    But if he actually has to contribute $75k and plus appear in the PSA it's completely different to what he is saying now.

If they have levied 150k against him, it's irrelevant where the funds are going.

Mellor wrote: »
    Bennett is now saying that the $75k is the fine, and the second $75k is "the value of the PSA that he must do". On face value, that sounds like the 75k is a value assigned to doing the PSA.
    But if he actually has to contribute $75k and plus appear in the PSA it's completely different to what he is saying now.

If they have levied 150k against him, it's irrelevant where the funds are going.

Yeah so they said his accountants must show he spent 75k on the PSA and he could use that however he saw fit in terms of production, videographers, etc but that the Commission itself would be giving input into script, storyboard etc.

They actually got into the script and storyboard at the hearing lol.

So he has 75k fine to the commission, 75k extra he has to prove he spent on the PSA (and that proof must come from his accountant) AND he has to do the 'acting' in it.

They even split it down further. The 50 hours community service they said he was allowed use no more than 5 hours on the PSA.

So theoretically, if he spent 12 hours doing this PSA, he would still owe the commission 45 hours of community service teaching kids jiu-jitsu, capoeria or whatever else he fancied. And that teaching must be done in Nevada or Southern California, not Ireland.

In short, for apologising and trying to do the right thing, they took his pants down and spanked him before kicking him in the balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I hope he stands his ground on this. Absolute nonsense from the Commision, completely out of control in terms of their treatment of fighters.

Mousasi on the MMA Hour called Conor, quote,

"That ginger is f–king retarded. I think, you know, in an interview I mentioned about respect or whatever. He texted me on Twitter. So I said, ‘what are you going to do with your 50 kilos?’ You know he was like being philosophical or whatever the f–k he was writing. Something like, ‘a knife is lighter than a pound. It will cut ear to ear’. Whatever the f–k he was writing. That guy is a bum. He’s a 60-kilo guy. What the f–k is he going to do. If he’s face to face he’s not going to say that. You know Twitter gives some people courage."

He went on to say "say it to my face".

I will say this and i'm not proud to admit it but i do know that Conor unfollowed Gegard on Twitter, for a fact, because i went on Gegards Twitter page after he beat Belfort and it pops up "followers you know" and Conor McGregor was one.

So he obviously messaged him and unfollowed him. Weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭nomadchocolate

Mousasi on the MMA Hour called Conor, quote,

"That ginger is f–king retarded. I think, you know, in an interview I mentioned about respect or whatever. He texted me on Twitter. So I said, ‘what are you going to do with your 50 kilos?’ You know he was like being philosophical or whatever the f–k he was writing. Something like, ‘a knife is lighter than a pound. It will cut ear to ear’. Whatever the f–k he was writing. That guy is a bum. He’s a 60-kilo guy. What the f–k is he going to do. If he’s face to face he’s not going to say that. You know Twitter gives some people courage."

He went on to say "say it to my face".

I will say this and i'm not proud to admit it but i do know that Conor unfollowed Gegard on Twitter, for a fact, because i went on Gegards Twitter page after he beat Belfort and it pops up "followers you know" and Conor McGregor was one.

So he obviously messaged him and unfollowed him. Weird.
    That is sad to read. Was hoping the Diaz loss might knock some humility back into Conor.

All this talk that his on stage character is just a "persona" and backstage he is lovely seems to be complete nonsense.

Hope Eddie knocks him out

That is sad to read. Was hoping the Diaz loss might knock some humility back into Conor.

All this talk that his on stage character is just a "persona" and backstage he is lovely seems to be complete nonsense.

Hope Eddie knocks him out

seems contagious! John Kavanagh unfollowed Paul Kimmage on twitter and posted a "Clickbait image" for the headline the Indo ran with "I beat the sh1t out of him" - which referenced Conors first day in the gym. Weird as the article itself was brilliant and it's journalists job to entice readers with headlines. Surely the lesson is to be careful over your words instead of shooting the messenger.

Seems like a thin-skinned bunch over at SBG at the moment who just want sychophantic praise.

seems contagious! John Kavanagh unfollowed Paul Kimmage on twitter and posted a "Clickbait image" for the headline the Indo ran with "I beat the sh1t out of him" - which referenced Conors first day in the gym. Weird as the article itself was brilliant and it's journalists job to entice readers with headlines. Surely the lesson is to be careful over your words instead of shooting the messenger.

Seems like a thin-skinned bunch over at SBG at the moment who just want sychophantic praise.

Well if Conor is threatening Moussassi for a relatively innocuous comment (Moussassi said in his after fight presser that maybe he should post photos of cars like Conor does to get popularity), then maybe Kavanagh is worried that McGregor will take this the wrong way too.

Also it isn't Kimmage who writes the headlines, Kavanagh should know that.

Conor's weight cut effecting his mood? (Or has the weight cut even begun?)

Well if Conor is threatening Moussassi for a relatively innocuous comment (Moussassi said in his after fight presser that maybe he should post photos of cars like Conor does to get popularity), then maybe Kavanagh is worried that McGregor will take this the wrong way too.

Also it isn't Kimmage who writes the headlines, Kavanagh should know that.

Conor's weight cut effecting his mood? (Or has the weight cut even begun?)

Look, i love Conor. I'd be the first to admit it and my post history speaks for itself. I like the way he fights and he's good entertainment value. I've mentioned a few times i do see his mam a bit and have a chat whenever we cross paths and she's pure salt of the earth dead sound.

However, there's a lot about Conor and Kavanagh i really don't like.

Kavanagh has this thing on Facebook where he posts "mental message of the week". Where he mocks someone publicly for sending him a Private Message. A lot of the people he mocks is bang out of order.

There was this one fan, an Irish lad in America, who would message John lots of praise. Over the space of a year he'd congratulate John whenever Conor won a fight. He got no responses.

Eventually Kavanagh smartly replies "are you interested in sponsoring one of my fighters". To which the fella loses the plot saying he has some cheek with the millions they have to be looking for a lousy few bob off him.

He's also publicly shamed journalists for enquiries, he's shamed former friends etc.

I just think that sort of behaviour is bullying. So what if someone rambles on? Facebook have privacy settings for a reason. If he doesn't want a random fan waffling the ears off him via message, then change his settings so only friends can message him. Or just ignore!! I don't see the spirit of martial arts (respect) in publicly shaming and humiliating some fella for no reason. And being real, one of these days he's gonna humiliate the wrong fella. Plenty of weirdos out there, he'll pick the wrong one and end up with a brick through the windscreen of his Merc.

It's such a mixed bag from both Conor and Kavanagh. They can be charming, engaging and great craic but they also act like pure entitled bullies at times. And they (both) get such an easy ride off the media.

Perhaps the media knows if you write anything negative about either of them that's how they react.

Look, i love Conor. I'd be the first to admit it and my post history speaks for itself. I like the way he fights and he's good entertainment value. I've mentioned a few times i do see his mam a bit and have a chat whenever we cross paths and she's pure salt of the earth dead sound.

However, there's a lot about Conor and Kavanagh i really don't like.

Kavanagh has this thing on Facebook where he posts "mental message of the week". Where he mocks someone publicly for sending him a Private Message. A lot of the people he mocks is bang out of order.

There was this one fan, an Irish lad in America, who would message John lots of praise. Over the space of a year he'd congratulate John whenever Conor won a fight. He got no responses.

Eventually Kavanagh smartly replies "are you interested in sponsoring one of my fighters". To which the fella loses the plot saying he has some cheek with the millions they have to be looking for a lousy few bob off him.

He's also publicly shamed journalists for enquiries, he's shamed former friends etc.

I just think that sort of behaviour is bullying. So what if someone rambles on? Facebook have privacy settings for a reason. If he doesn't want a random fan waffling the ears off him via message, then change his settings so only friends can message him. Or just ignore!! I don't see the spirit of martial arts (respect) in publicly shaming and humiliating some fella for no reason. And being real, one of these days he's gonna humiliate the wrong fella. Plenty of weirdos out there, he'll pick the wrong one and end up with a brick through the windscreen of his Merc.

It's such a mixed bag from both Conor and Kavanagh. They can be charming, engaging and great craic but they also act like pure entitled bullies at times. And they (both) get such an easy ride off the media.

Perhaps the media knows if you write anything negative about either of them that's how they react.

Jeepers, I was unaware of Kavanagh's social media nonsense. That is again very sad to read.

My girlfriend treated me to Kavanagh's book and I just finished the first chapter. The first chapter he says how he was bullied so it is sad that he stoops to digging out his own fans on social media.

I think Paddy Holohan had a pop at both of them over social media before a year or two back. But this was before Holohan got his own gym.

The fame and money changing them? Not a hanging offence but sad to see.

Eddie has a bit of Irish in him, his mother is Irish I believe, so definitely going to be rooting for him!

Jeepers, I was unaware of Kavanagh's social media nonsense. That is again very sad to read.

My girlfriend treated me to Kavanagh's book and I just finished the first chapter. The first chapter he says how he was bullied so it is sad that he stoops to digging out his own fans on social media.

I think Paddy Holohan had a pop at both of them over social media before a year or two back. But this was before Holohan got his own gym.

The fame and money changing them? Not a hanging offence but sad to see.

Eddie has a bit of Irish in him, his mother is Irish I believe, so definitely going to be rooting for him!

He cost one journalist his job and he was forced to close his Twitter account.

The 'crime' the journalist committed was to message Orlagh (Kavanaghs partner) through official SBG email (i.e. Orlagh works at SBG and has her work email address which is public), he emailed her asking for an urgent message to be passed on to Kavanagh requesting a comment. He contact her 3 or 4 times.

Kavanagh replies only to find out the journalist merely wanted a comment on the proposed Mayweather fight.

Kavanagh then took to social media to screenshot all the journalists emails and basically made a fool of him, to the point the journalist had to close his twitter due to hate messages.

It was all extremely childish and bullying behaviour.

My advice would be this:

Lesson 1: Don't employ your sister and girlfriend to work in your gym if you can't handle journalists emailing them through official channels.

Lesson 2: If you can't handle dealing with journalists then go find work as an engineer. As things stand you're the coach of the most famous active combat fighter in the world. You're gonna get journalists swarming.

Lesson 3: If you respond to criticism by blocking people, naming-and-shaming people and cutting ties with people, then you're probably too insecure to teach the art of jiujitsu to children.

Lesson 4: Don't be a dcik. Most Head Coaches get paid between 5 to 10% of their athletes income. You're a millionaire through Conor. No need to be a twat to your own fans. I'm all for blocking trolls and haters but being a bully to your own fans is ridiculous. Sure he's blocked people from this forum for commenting on the Bahrain Royal Family!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Disclaimer...I'm a big McGregor fan.

Isn't mayweather universally disliked?,is Conor acting this way because he thinks he's the mayweather of mma,is he too big for his boots....
    Id still want to see him win against Alvarez but can totally understand some people wanting to see him dropped a peg or two

He cost one journalist his job and he was forced to close his Twitter account.

The 'crime' the journalist committed was to message Orlagh (Kavanaghs partner) through official SBG email (i.e. Orlagh works at SBG and has her work email address which is public), he emailed her asking for an urgent message to be passed on to Kavanagh requesting a comment. He contact her 3 or 4 times.

Kavanagh replies only to find out the journalist merely wanted a comment on the proposed Mayweather fight.

Kavanagh then took to social media to screenshot all the journalists emails and basically made a fool of him, to the point the journalist had to close his twitter due to hate messages.

It was all extremely childish and bullying behaviour.

My advice would be this:

Lesson 1: Don't employ your sister and girlfriend to work in your gym if you can't handle journalists emailing them through official channels.

Lesson 2: If you can't handle dealing with journalists then go find work as an engineer. As things stand you're the coach of the most famous active combat fighter in the world. You're gonna get journalists swarming.

Lesson 3: If you respond to criticism by blocking people, naming-and-shaming people and cutting ties with people, then you're probably too insecure to teach the art of jiujitsu to children.

Lesson 4: Don't be a dcik. Most Head Coaches get paid between 5 to 10% of their athletes income. You're a millionaire through Conor. No need to be a twat to your own fans. I'm all for blocking trolls and haters but being a bully to your own fans is ridiculous. Sure he's blocked people from this forum for commenting on the Bahrain Royal Family!

Is Kavanagh in cahoots with the Bahrain Royal Family too?

That is sickening to hear about that journo, especially as the journo did the ethical thing of looking for a comment on a story before running it

Jesus..dude seems like a wretch..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

That is sickening to hear about that journo, especially as the journo did the ethical thing of looking for a comment on a story before running it

No that fell through. I get people criticizing that deal he struck, but at the same time I think 99% of people take the money if in his position.

Look at the likes of PSG, Man City etc and how much Arab money has developed those clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭hendo111

I know JK is reading this right now he loves to browse the forum in his spare time,lets go coach k where you at? respond to these accusations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

hendo111 wrote: »
    I know JK is reading this right now he loves to browse the forum in his spare time,lets go coach k where you at? respond to these accusations.

How do you know this?

What, because he has a handful of posts in this forum? He might have a snoop every so often but I doubt he is looking at this RIGHT NOW.

And even if he is, why would he bother his ass responding to any of this!!?

Yeah the journalists "crime" in Kavanaghs eyes was emailing Orlagh 4 times in the space of an hour looking for an "urgent comment on a breaking issue".

Then when Kavanagh found out it was just the Mayweather rumour, he hit the roof.

Ridiculous stuff. And yeah he's got strong ties to the Bahrain Royal Family.
    Jesus..dude seems like a wretch..

Yeah to be honest he does some sickening stuff at times. He might think it's great craic altogether to take the p1ss out of someone who sends him what he finds to be stupid messages. What he doesn't realise is publicly humiliating a person on facebook, posting their screenshots, their real name, can often ruin someones life!

If a person lives in their own quiet little world and suddenly are humiliated and made to look a fool by Kavanagh to 100,000 of McGregors fans....they usually end up having to delete their whole facebook.

I dunno. Maybe i'm easily annoyed. But it makes my blood boil when i see people in positions of power abuse that power.

I could maybe understand if he was shaming a troll. Or a Diaz fan. Or someone saying they would bang his missus. But the stuff he actually mocks is pathetic.

Exhibit A:

Harmless eccentric fella emails him "advice". Kavanagh not only mocks him but publicly humiliates him despite the fella asking not to share his real name.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=545766998937366&set=pcb.545767025604030&type=3&theater

John_D80 wrote: »
    How do you know this?

What, because he has a handful of posts in this forum? He might have a snoop every so often but I doubt he is looking at this RIGHT NOW.

And even if he is, why would he bother his ass responding to any of this!!?

He couldn't give a monkeys what I or anybody else has to say :o

There's no such thing as constructive criticism in his world. He's all about positivity and yes-men or Get the Fook Out.

Yeah the journalists "crime" in Kavanaghs eyes was emailing Orlagh 4 times in the space of an hour looking for an "urgent comment on a breaking issue".

Then when Kavanagh found out it was just the Mayweather rumour, he hit the roof.

Ridiculous stuff. And yeah he's got strong ties to the Bahrain Royal Family.

Yeah to be honest he does some sickening stuff at times. He might think it's great craic altogether to take the p1ss out of someone who sends him what he finds to be stupid messages. What he doesn't realise is publicly humiliating a person on facebook, posting their screenshots, their real name, can often ruin someones life!

If a person lives in their own quiet little world and suddenly are humiliated and made to look a fool by Kavanagh to 100,000 of McGregors fans....they usually end up having to delete their whole facebook.

I dunno. Maybe i'm easily annoyed. But it makes my blood boil when i see people in positions of power abuse that power.

I could maybe understand if he was shaming a troll. Or a Diaz fan. Or someone saying they would bang his missus. But the stuff he actually mocks is pathetic.

Exhibit A:

Harmless eccentric fella emails him "advice". Kavanagh not only mocks him but publicly humiliates him despite the fella asking not to share his real name.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=545766998937366&set=pcb.545767025604030&type=3&theater

It's a very strange way for John to get his kicks from. He has made his money, has a successful business and stunning girlfriend but gets his cheap thrills from that? Yuck.

With Kavanagh doing that and Conor threatening Mousasi with a knife threat then maybe the commission was right and that they could both do with media training!!

It's a very strange way for John to get his kicks from. He has made his money, has a successful business and stunning girlfriend but gets his cheap thrills from that? Yuck.

With Kavanagh doing that and Conor threatening Mousasi with a knife threat then maybe the commission was right and that they could both do with media training!!

People bullied at any stage in their life often go on to become bullies themselves when they get some power.

Kavanagh is no different.

the most ironic thing about all my criticism is i bought his book, bought a Conor reebok fight kit, have SBG t-shirts etc.

I just can't stand when he does that nonsense on facebook.

the most ironic thing about all my criticism is i bought his book, bought a Conor reebok fight kit, have SBG t-shirts etc.

I just can't stand when he does that nonsense on facebook.

My girlfriend bought me the Kav book (20 fecking euro in Easons)...almost wish she hadn't now.

Same goes for Conor, his drive and determination is inspirational. The other aspects of his personality not so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭hendo111

Lads click the unfollow button if you dont like his social media postings, its all gone too PC I personally have no bother with him posting them screenshots from absolute headaballs,

I think hes a bit too vocal on social media myself trying to get some limelight,for example would you ever see Winklejohn or greg jackson up to that nonsense on twitter?,I also find his mentioning of his bird very strange its like hes never had a woman and now he cant contain himself,again I follow him because I like his coaching and a lot of his idea's on martial arts he has some pearls of wisdom so I let the trivial stuff fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Exhibit A:

If you believe that this guy who sent him the messages is being serious then you need to have a word with yourself mate.

Its a obvious spoof.