Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Putting a McGregor card on at regular Irish times would probably cause a huge drop in PPVs so they won't do it.

Ah so we're talking about him fighting on the card if it was here.

That's different.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I'd view what happened as much worse than Cormier and Jones having a fight.

I'm gonna sound like a "wont someone think of the children type" but McGregor
    was throwing stuff into a crowd which could have done some serious damage. Then you have his gang and Nate's gang having a bit of a square off too so I would be expecting something bigger than what DC and Jones got.

Same here - when you look at DC and Jones going for each other there was no one else going to get hurt apart from Jon Anik. (and he never should have been the one standing between those two anyways) :pac:

With McGregor and Diaz both sides were throwing stuff at each other across a crowded room and anyone could have got hit. Had some random person got struck with a can or bottle and decided to sue the UFC it would be a nightmare for Dana and co.

I expect both to get fined heavily - maybe 10% and both given community service but I wouldnt be surprised if they make an example out of Nate as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,386 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Ah so we're talking about him fighting on the card if it was here.

That's different.
    Well yeah, obviously. As they haven't a hope pulling off a sell out stadium without McGregor (or some sort of equivalent mega-PPV card).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Mellor wrote: »
    Well yeah, obviously. As they haven't a hope pulling off a sell out stadium without McGregor (or some sort of equivalent mega-PPV card).

You think?

The last one sold out in mins without him on it.

Granted the 3 arena holds a lot less than a stadium but still.

It sold out fast. But then were empty seats on fight night due to refunds.

Selling out 3Arena is breeze to compared to 60-80k for a stadium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I'd view what happened as much worse than Cormier and Jones having a fight.

I'm gonna sound like a "wont someone think of the children type" but McGregor
    was throwing stuff into a crowd which could have done some serious damage. Then you have his gang and Nate's gang having a bit of a square off too so I would be expecting something bigger than what DC and Jones got.

You're absolutely right that a flying water bottle/Monster can could hurt someone if they got a whack of it in the head from short range. But you're also making it sound like McGregor was launching stuff into a random crowd who didn't anticipate it.

He was throwing bottles from over 60 feet away straight at Team Diaz, who were all prepared for the incoming fire.

On the other hand, Nate (who started the whole incident) threw his bottle unexpectedly from a position of height to an area where children actually were.

Either way - i disagree it's worse than Cormier/Jones. UFC was trying desperately for years to be recognised as a mainstream sport and not a bunch of "thugs in a cage". What Jones/DC did was re-enforce the image of them being thugs.

Moreover, if you're "thinking of the children", it was far more likely someone got seriously injured/hurt trying to break up 2 elite trained-killer MMA fighters than it was for someone to get hit by a bottle of water from 60 feet away. Grown men and women were caught up in the DC/JJ melee and if a punch or kick from those lads connects, you could be talking serious injury.

Anyway, I expect Conor to get off lighter than Nate because he didn't instigate it, can argue self-defence and has an unblemished record when it comes to Nevada. Not to mention his 5 fights in Nevada are estimated to have brought in $750 million in revenue to the state itself.

There's just no reason for the Commission to throw the book at him. A slap on the wrist with a $150,000 fine and a warning for future conduct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,342 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

So Conor throwing bottles the 60 feet, over a crowd is safer then Nate and co throwing bottles 60 feet, over a crowd.........

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

See a lot of people over the past few pages saying that they can't see Conor fighting here due to the loss of ppv and while it's correct, there would be a drop, it would still make huge money for the UFC and a McGregor fight in Dublin is better than no McGregor fight at alland as a title fight here seems to be something he really wants, I simply can't see it not happening.

Kavanagh was making noises about the UFC making decisions only with money in mind this week and how he sees it as stupid / dangerous to have fights so late when they are held this side of the pond and I think that tells us that it's something that's being considered maybe. Earning less McG's end I would say would be something he would be willing to do to offset the UFC's loss. He said it himself in some recent interview that now that he has such leverage re: ppv numbers that's a positive for him with regards to trying to arrange a fight for here.

All going well in MSG, I could absolutely see the Nate Diaz trilogy fight for the 155 belt happening here in Dublin. Indeed, Kavanagh said to Ariel, all be it jokingly, that maybe Nate could come to Dublin for that fight but as they say, many a truth is said in jest. Would be fcuking amazing if that's how it all played out, even if it meant it was a year or more down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,110 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

See a lot of people over the past few pages saying that they can't see Conor fighting here due to the loss of ppv and while it's correct, there would be a drop, it would still make huge money for the UFC and a McGregor fight in Dublin is better than no McGregor fight at alland as a title fight here seems to be something he really wants, I simply can't see it not happening.

Kavanagh was making noises about the UFC making decisions only with money in mind this week and how he sees it as stupid / dangerous to have fights so late when they are held this side of the pond and I think that tells us that it's something that's being considered maybe. Earning less McG's end I would say would be something he would be willing to do to offset the UFC's loss. He said it himself in some recent interview that now that he has such leverage re: ppv numbers that's a positive for him with regards to trying to arrange a fight for here.

All going well in MSG, I could absolutely see the Nate Diaz trilogy fight for the 155 belt happening here in Dublin. Indeed, Kavanagh said to Ariel, all be it jokingly, that maybe Nate could come to Dublin for that fight but as they say, many a truth is said in jest. Would be fcuking amazing if that's how it all played out, even if it meant it was a year or more down the line.

It's not just down to the money though.

The size of the event they'd want all media access possible. They just won't get near the amount of media time from here as they would in Vegas/NYC

... as a title fight here seems to be something he really wants, I simply can't see it not happening.
    Does he still mention it? I haven't heard him talking about as much in the last year or so. Since the huge PPV money came to town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

It's a shame that Conor has got bogged down into having kids at this stage of his career.

If he is having one, I believe it's Dee that would be carrying the kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Listen, of you want to derail the thread any further...go ahead. You'll only get yourself banned.
    If you have a problem with the decision of a mod then pm that mod about it and don't post on thread and annoy everyone else here. Have a bit of cop on.

Everyone else......I've been away for a while. Good to be back in the madness and good to see all the regulars still around! :)

I didn't derail the thread :confused: I responded to comments that quote me and all of them were on the topic of McGregor. If someone says something publicly on the forum that falsely accuses me of trolling, then I should respond in the same manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Mellor wrote: »
    Does he still mention it? I haven't heard him talking about as much in the last year or so. Since the huge PPV money came to town

Well, recently he said something about how now that he is commanding such huge ppv it he has more leverage to get a fight here but can't remember where I seen it now. With regards to it being something he is still interested in though, just going by how passionate he was in Feb gone about it all I can't see that it being something he is no longer interested in. I know a lot has happened in the last eight months but his reasoning for wanting a big UFC event here is not really just for himself as when he talked about it he spoke also about what it would mean to other Irish fighters who would have a chance to get on the card.

Talks about it at 5m 50s in:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

rumours that McG was knocked out cold today. that guy is semi-reliable. hard to know

https://twitter.com/TalkMMA/status/785507445967822848

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Yes i know a bjpenn.com link....for shame

http://www.bjpenn.com/mma-news/conor-mcgregor/report-conor-mcgregor-knocked-out-cold-while-sparring/

Someone KO'd the camp........fanboys....assemble!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭nomadchocolate

That guy is very reliable. He broke the news of the fight.

If true then he shouldn't be hard sparring for the rest of camp. Flash ko for Eddie Alvarez incoming?

Also if true Conor should pull from the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

dashoonage wrote: »
    Yes i know a bjpenn.com link....for shame

http://www.bjpenn.com/mma-news/conor-mcgregor/report-conor-mcgregor-knocked-out-cold-while-sparring/

Someone KO'd the camp........fanboys....assemble!!!!!!

you need to be quicker next time boy AGGGGHGGHH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Hopefully it's untrue, but once that chin is gone, it's gone. It's sure as hell taken enough abuse in the last 9 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭hendo111

Funny season is underway anyways,a guy never ko'd or dropped once in his life is dropped by a sparring partner now all of a sudden pmsl (not saying its impossible but if it did not a hope someone on twitter would be finding out)

its a smoke screen to take attention away from this. :P

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfCoNpDIuw4

This was posted two hours ago - he looks pale and shook

https://www.instagram.com/p/BLYn-TvhP1V/?taken-by=thenotoriousmma

I'd say his chin is gone. he should pull from the fight

Conor is up on that youtube link now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,412 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Hopefully it wasn't Johnny who knocked him out....... he's not been having a good time of it lately!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 250 ✭✭Clarebelly

This was posted two hours ago - he looks pale and shook

As does the ring behind him, as does his companion, as do the hanging bags, as does the yellow background.

Someone needs to adjust the iso.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Cowley's shin across his face is my bet.

Or that big fella Ward.

Either way it is a shame if true. Kav said in his book that they don't spar hard but accidents can happen.

Conor's chin taken a fair amount of punishment in recent times

Coach KavanaghVerified account
    @John_Kavanagh
    Free tip - Just because its on the Internet doesn't mean its true ��

kav trying to save face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

Conor's chin taken a fair amount of punishment in recent times

Would say it's nothing compared to what punishment most other fighter's chins take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Conor is impossible to knock out due to multiple steel plates in his head which were put in after the first Diaz fight solely for this reason.