Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Go Tobban

rob316 wrote: »
    Good luck man getting a ticket will be next to impossible I'd say been the first event in new York.

Any idea when tickets will be going on sale? I imagine they'll be extortionate price wise but feck it! Don't even mind if Mc Gregor fights as long as it's a solid card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Tickets out on the 28th for Fight Club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Same as when a punch is thrown and is missed. The technique was off or their judgement or distance or timing.

Or the wind, or the ground or the bounce.

I'm not saying it was lucky or anything like it. he pretty much flagged what Aldo's undoing was going to be.

But all those variables outside of your control don't always come together to make the perfect storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Insane Rambling

rob316 wrote: »
    Good luck man getting a ticket will be next to impossible I'd say been the first event in new York.

Do you think it will be difficult to get tickets even with the Fight Club presale code?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,936 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

14364719_1374988729198432_7192996028118943566_n.jpg?oh=f5c2ece18a4e9e2fe9d303cc5187c43d&oe=587D031B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,314 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Haven't bought a COD since Black Ops 1 bit of he had sound bites in the game abs you can throw cans of Monster instead of grenades, then it's an insta purchase from me.

Also, it's sad how a war game can make a more realistic looking Conor than the actual UFC game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

That wargame probably has a budget of 200 Million and better mo-cap equipment and software than any Hollywood studio :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

DeVore wrote: »
    That wargame probably has a budget of 200 Million and better mo-cap equipment and software than any Hollywood studio :)

EA Sports developed the UFC game. They're hardly impoverished amateurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Just like not every movie from the same studio has the same budget, not every game from the same studio has the same budget.

FPS games like COD/Battle field and sports sims like FIFA/NBA Live would have budgets that are multiples of titles like UFC 2 and several times more staff working on them, they have a far bigger playerbase and generate infinitely more money for the company.

That picture above isn't an in game image anyway, he won't look like that when you're playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Just like not every movie from the same studio has the same budget, not every game from the same studio has the same budget.

FPS games like COD/Battle field and sports sims like FIFA/NBA Live would have budgets that are multiples of titles like UFC 2 and several times more staff working on them, they have a far bigger playerbase and generate infinitely more money for the company.

That picture above isn't an in game image anyway, he won't look like that when you're playing.

Is McGregor actually going to feature in a playable part of the game?? I figured we'd just see him in the cut sequences between levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

That's true, but they didn't make their fortune spending millions on games that'll bring in thousands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

John_D80 wrote: »
    Is McGregor actually going to feature in a playable part of the game?? I figured we'd just see him in the cut sequences between levels.

seems from the trailer hes on the bad side of things so i doubt he'll be playable but hopefully he has more than a few scenes!

getting killzone-ey vibes off it, looks cool enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Depp wrote: »
    seems from the trailer hes on the bad side of things so i doubt he'll be playable but hopefully he has more than a few scenes!

getting killzone-ey vibes off it, looks cool enough!

it will be in mp people will want to play as him. Highly possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Never thought I'd see the day Conor McGregor and Jon Snow are in the same videogame, and a shooter at that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

it will be in mp people will want to play as him. Highly possible

Cant see it myself. Dont remember ever playing a COD multiplayer game as a specific ''character'' or ''persona''.

Seems to me he is appearing in a sort of guest star role, similar to Kevin Spacey.

But EA got a lot of fighters spot on. I have a feeling Conor never bothered showing up for the face/body scan like other fighters did. Coitus be completely wrong but it would make sense if he didn't. They have to get their cover star right but i remember a few backhand remarks from him about EA giving the cover to winner of him vs Aldo. Id say he was pissed off he wasn't being offered it straight up after what happened to Ronda.

Anyway, yeah, contractually he had to be in the UFC game so wouldn't have been too much money where as Activision arrived to his door with a truckload of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Coitus be completely wrong but it would make sense if he didn't.
    What are you googling that autocorrect preferred Coitus over Coukd?
    Big Bang fan?

Mellor wrote: »
    What are you googling that autocorrect preferred Coitus over Coukd?
    Big Bang fan?

Haha yes well i like to search the correct terms for things :)

Coukd?? Sounds durty :pac:

My stupid phone makes no sense unless I'm swiping in slowmootion and nobody got time for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Balls.ie (LOVE the name :D) reporting that McGregor's next fight will be announced later tonight:

https://www.balls.ie/mma/conor-mcgregors-next-fight-rumoured-announced-tonight/346520

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Balls.ie (LOVE the name :D) reporting that McGregor's next fight will be announced later tonight:

https://www.balls.ie/mma/conor-mcgregors-next-fight-rumoured-announced-tonight/346520

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Love it so much ya said it twice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Not a prayer on earth this is announced tonight on a tiny UFC card. The fight will be announced by Dana White on ESPN next week. Both lads are in camp already. Conor was rolling with Richie Smullen and grappling already this week. Eddie is in camp. It's going down....just when Dana agrees the money.

I've a feeling the problem is on Eddies end. He'll be looking for Nate Diaz money (2 million disclosed and PPV points) and the UFC are probably saying 'stall the ball here you're not Nate Diaz and without Conor you don't draw'.

So i think it'll be a case of Eddie coming down to accepting 750k disclosed, 1 million tops, plus some PPV points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Not a prayer on earth this is announced tonight on a tiny UFC card. The fight will be announced by Dana White on ESPN next week. Both lads are in camp already. Conor was rolling with Richie Smullen and grappling already this week. Eddie is in camp. It's going down....just when Dana agrees the money.

I've a feeling the problem is on Eddies end. He'll be looking for Nate Diaz money (2 million disclosed and PPV points) and the UFC are probably saying 'stall the ball here you're not Nate Diaz and without Conor you don't draw'.

So i think it'll be a case of Eddie coming down to accepting 750k disclosed, 1 million tops, plus some PPV points.

Thats what I thought too, But it is on FS1 and you'd imagine their sick of big announcements going to ESPN.

I'd say there's as much chance of them announcing it during a NFL game then tonight.

If it's a money thing, Eddie deserves at least $1million+ PPV points, he's the champion, he has the belt, Conor is the one looking for the easy route to a shot at a belt in a division he's never even fought in. Why should Eddie facilitate that without getting compensated fairly.

Whoever wins between Eddie and Conor is on a hiding to nothing anyway, Khabib will just ragdoll them.

If it's a money thing, Eddie deserves at least $1million+ PPV points, he's the champion, he has the belt, Conor is the one looking for the easy route to a shot at a belt in a division he's never even fought in. Why should Eddie facilitate that without getting compensated fairly.

problem is eddy has eff all leverage here, he digs his heels in they can have conor fight aldo and eddy can go lose his title on a fox card...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Whoever wins between Eddie and Conor is on a hiding to nothing anyway, Khabib will just ragdoll them.

Well that's your opinion, i think Conor and Eddie can both KO Khabib. But that's another debate.

I've no problem with Eddie getting $1mil + PPV points. I've no problem with him getting $2 mil. Not my money!

Conor and the UFC hold all the leverage, Eddie has very little. If i were him, i'd take $1 million + PPV points in a heartbeat because the alternative is 300 or 400 grand, no PPV points and a Ferguson/RDA/Khabib match-up.

Depp wrote: »
    problem is eddy has eff all leverage here, he digs his heels in they can have conor fight aldo and eddy can go lose his title on a fox card...

Eddie has the belt, Conor wants the belt. Dana will say he'll make Conor fight Aldo but we all know at this stage Conor will get the title shot because Dana cares more about the show than he does about the sport, otherwise there wouldn't even be talk of Conor getting an instant title shot, he'd have a mandatory defence of his title is Dana wasn't playing Vince McMahon lite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

The thought of Eddie Alvarez getting $1m+ and a cut of PPV's. :pac:

He's overpaid on his current $150,000 to show with no win bonus deal.

Eddie has the belt, Conor wants the belt. Dana will say he'll make Conor fight Aldo but we all know at this stage Conor will get the title shot because Dana cares more about the show than he does about the sport, otherwise there wouldn't even be talk of Conor getting an instant title shot, he'd have a mandatory defence of his title is Dana wasn't playing Vince McMahon lite.

yeah but im saying from eddies pov hes playing a dangerous game, they can just as easily put aldo-mcgregor on 205 and it'll be a massive fight still, reckon eddie does numbers on his own? belt or no belt he doesnt hit 200 on ppv unless the card is stacked

also if khabib comes like he did against horcher against either he gets starched