Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA (Club and Intercounty) Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 17,839 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Miles off the pace, I'd prefer a game next week to sharpen up. More games we play the better we'll get.

Crazy decision having won the toss to play into the wind.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Cold comfort but thought they did at least show a bit of fight. Could really have been an epic trouncing. But the lack of basics was shocking, even allowing for conditions. Reduced to just lamping it into the square second half summed it up. Don't blame them as we simply couldn't compete through the lines. Limerick a serious outfit in any conditions so great credit due to them, but we're better than that and maybe a few big changes might be considered.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

The All Ireland win last year papered over the cracks that are in that Tipperary team. The win put off the structural changes that need to be made. They have to make them now im afraid. You cannot play Limerick with Fellas not physical enough. Jason Ford is a luxury Tipp cant afford same as Bubbles Dwyer. Unfortunately the two McGraths don't have the wheels. That was a big big beating but things can only get better.. Bonner would make a big difference. Cathal Barratt was back to the old ways of over committing. He was bad. If Tipp play Limerick again in Croke Park they have every chance on a dry sod but youd have to say you wouldn't be surprised by another beating either.
    How in God's name would you choose to play against the gale ..?

BloodyBill wrote: »
    The All Ireland win last year papered over the cracks that are in that Tipperary team. The win put off the structural changes that need to be made. They have to make them now im afraid. You cannot play Limerick with Fellas not physical enough. Jason Ford is a luxury Tipp cant afford same as Bubbles Dwyer. Unfortunately the two McGraths don't have the wheels. That was a big big beating but things can only get better.. Bonner would make a big difference. Cathal Barratt was back to the old ways of over committing. He was bad. If Tipp play Limerick again in Croke Park they have every chance on a dry sod but youd have to say you wouldn't be surprised by another beating either.

Its a risky strategy but the thinking behind it is if we can keep anyway close, we would have the wind on our backs in the second half. Unfortunately, we gave ourselves far too much to do. Of the 9 point deficit we gave them 6 handy scores from terrible passes. We overplayed the ball on several occasions. To hurl like that in such atrocious conditions beggared belief and Bubbles Dwyer should not have been called back in the condition he was in .

Eamon O'Shea is considered one of the best tacticians in the game, but for the second time now he has been outthought by Kinnerk. We played like a team who were told up to a few days ago there would be no championship in 2020 and then were told to get your gear ready you are playing Sunday. No excuses. That was absolutely sh1te.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭formerlyET

Winning an All-Ireland papering is over cracks...hahaha come on? Most of these lads have two to three all-irelands - five to 6 munster munster medals- they don't do paper.
    You do realise this is one game? Sheedy teams have lost the first round before. I wouldn't be throwing the baby out with the bath water. It's very unique champiosnship. It is what it is. Talking about Jason Ford as a luxury player is baffling.
    I can understand going agianst the gale if Dan, Breen, and Bonner et al were in - but they tried something completely different against Limerick. Very summery tactics and selection - can't see the weather getting better, or being as bad, but they will have to change the selection to a more balanced forward line.
    And I said it before the game - they'll have to look at Quigley for full back - he is the only specialist full back we have.

formerlyET wrote: »
    Winning an All-Ireland papering is over cracks...hahaha come on? Most of these lads have two to three all-irelands - five to 6 munster munster medals- they don't do paper.
    You do realise this is one game? Sheedy teams have lost the first round before. I wouldn't be throwing the baby out with the bath water. It's very unique champiosnship. It is what it is. Talking about Jason Ford as a luxury player is baffling.
    I can understand going agianst the gale if Dan, Breen, and Bonner et al were in - but they tried something completely different against Limerick. Very summery tactics and selection - can't see the weather getting better, or being as bad, but they will have to change the selection to a more balanced forward line.
    And I said it before the game - they'll have to look at Quigley for full back - he is the only specialist full back we have.

Theyve got papered over by Limerick twice now in a row. Im not taking anything away from Tipperarys All Ireland win but its put off the changes that need to be made. Ye played against a 14 man Kilkenny last year. Look no better man to change things than your manager. But Limerick have their number at the moment. I agree with your wind comment. Totally accurate.

What changes would you make?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Think what he meant was, winning the AI last year has made us a bit stale and our attitude has been if it isnt broke dont fix it. Its fair to say that if Limerick turned up and beat Kilkenny last year, we'd have had a far tougher final.

That all said, as you correctly pointed out, no one could have envisaged that nearly 15 months on since winning the All-Ireland that we would be in the midst of a pandemic and playing the 2020 championship in November.

Very disappointed with Kehoe deciding to needlessly solo the ball today when taking the score seemed to be the obvious option. That would have brought it back to five points. Instead, we ended up conceding at the other end and Limerick gained some composure from it

KIB4Life wrote: »
    It was probably one of worst performances under Colm Collins, absolutely atrocious could have pulled it out of fire if Tubridy had scored the penalty, but we wouldn’t have deserved it. There was some questionable team selections from a Clare point of view as some of the players that started out there today for Clare aren’t good enough and there was better players left on the bench or not on the panel.

Overall though, Collins has done an outstanding job. If he got the support from his county board and some of the players they would be competing for Munsters.

I wasn't aware Tipp won the toss and chose to play against the gale force wind, crazy stuff, you use the advantage while its there hopefully run up a good score and then defend it for the second half. Its easier playing infront than chasing a game.. Knowing the weather in this country the wind could as easily be gone in the second half and the advantage nullified.

If we were two points down at half time though id have said it was a fantastic strategy.

What changes would you make?

Id start Paddy Caddel wing back but I dont know who I'd drop. Id drop Jason Ford and Noel McGrath for the next day. Id start Bonner and another big man like Dan. This is winter hurling lads . If you miss the ball first time them its about power and physique. Id have Seamus on the frees and most of all,id hope Paudie Maer could play himself into form. I was disappointed with Jake Morris..he got a few balls but Finn is very good.

Think what he meant was, winning the AI last year has made us a bit stale and our attitude has been if it isnt broke dont fix it. Its fair to say that if Limerick turned up and beat Kilkenny last year, we'd have had a far tougher final.

That all said, as you correctly pointed out, no one could have envisaged that nearly 15 months on since winning the All-Ireland that we would be in the midst of a pandemic and playing the 2020 championship in November.

Very disappointed with Kehoe deciding to needlessly solo the ball today when taking the score seemed to be the obvious option. That would have brought it back to five points. Instead, we ended up conceding at the other end and Limerick gained some composure from it

What happened last year is Tipp won it. Limerick lost their semi and we're beaten. There's no garantees either way.
    Lots of players were tried in the league...

Kehoe is a young guy - I'm sure he'll learned from it. On the flip side of that, there were other guys at the other end of the field who were caught numerous times in possession and were not hooked...

Id start Paddy Caddel wing back but I dont know who I'd drop. Id drop Jason Ford and Noel McGrath for the next day. Id start Bonner and another big man like Dan. This is winter hurling lads . If you miss the ball first time them its about power and physique. Id have Seamus on the frees and most of all,id hope Paudie Maer could play himself into form. I was disappointed with Jake Morris..he got a few balls but Finn is very good.[/QUOTE}

Apparently, Bonner is injured.

Seamus wasn't going well on the frees in Drom's last club game this year.

It's only one game, we don't really know what people's form is at this stage - that would take two games at the minimum.

Barry Hogan might be worth a look.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

Limerick lost 3/6 games tipp won7/8 so stop talking about last year, tipp deserving winners full stop, still think in croke park we come alive, don't count us out yet.

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    Limerick lost 3/6 games tipp won7/8 so stop talking about last year, tipp deserving winners full stop, still think in croke park we come alive, don't count us out yet.

These guys are only human - when you've got five or six Munster senior medals - you're not going to bring the same tenacity to such occasions against a team with one.
    Tipp are a different force in the all-ireland championship.

That said, ,aybe, they are a dry weather/dry ball team - I couldn't believe that they were trying intricate passing in the forwards and trying to run out the ball in those conditions. And the ball like a bar of soap.

The fact we've fallen so spectacularly to Limerick again is very disheartening though. Some Tipperary fans were well able to say that Clare won a lucky All-Ireland in 2013 when all the top teams went out of it early. It's arguable, that we had a bit of luck on our side last year too. We played outstandingly in most of those games. Cork on Leeside, Clare, and the epic against Wexford spring to mind.

Things are different this time. Its winter hurling. Do we have the hurlers for this time of year? We simply can't afford another abysmal performance like today or our year could be over next weekend. It's **** or get off the pot time.

The fact we've fallen so spectacularly to Limerick again is very disheartening though. Some Tipperary fans were well able to say that Clare won a lucky All-Ireland in 2013 when all the top teams went out of it early. It's arguable, that we had a bit of luck on our side last year too.

Things are different this time. Its winter hurling. Do we have the hurlers for this time of year? We simply can't afford another abysmal performance like today or our year could be over next weekend. It's **** or get off the pot time.

yeah cant say im optimistic this year but lads we have some very good u21/20 hurlers coming through unlike many other counties so lets not be too downbeat.

I wholeheartedly agree that Tipp hurling is in a fantastic place. Im sick of the one in a row tag though. It would be great to break this cycle this year. Its an even tougher task now. Its looking like a repeat of the 2018 final so far.

yeah but to be fair but not many counties can really slag about one in a row, whatever hope we had winter hurling has made that hope alot dimmer.

Very few of these are making an impact, most of them seem to be too small and light. Is conor Bowe involved?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭lim4ev

I dunno lads from a limerick perspective obviously happy with today but no chickens counted here yet an awful lot of hurling to be played between here and end of championship. Certainly feel Tipp still have a big say as other counties still do but yea no doubt we're where we want to be alright. If we got richie English back I'd be far happier though

Very few of these are making an impact, most of them seem to be too small and light. Is conor Bowe involved?

bowe is still u20, in todays hurling it will take until 23 to make an impact, give them a chance.

It takes time for a player to develop. Not everyone is Eoin Kelly.

Conor Bowe is not involved.

There's a lot of overreaction on here. Similar to the Munster final last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Ompala

Wouldn't have gotten carried away with a victory so not going to be carried away with a defeat. However, there are a lot of negatives from that.

We handed Limerick a lot of scores tonight through very very basic errors. Our handling was the poorest I think I've ever seen, multiple dropped balls and several attempts to rise the ball.

All 3 goals were badly defended by us. In particular, the first goal was very badly dealt with by Ronan. Constantly moving the defence around did not help us. Limerick got way too much space when taking shots. Particularly when playing against the wind we needed to track back more.

Limerick half back line lorded it over our half forward line. We needed more physical players on the pitch, Dan and Breen made s difference when they came on. Full forward line rarely ever got decent ball into them. Tackling was well below where it needs to be for championship.

Lots to ponder for Sheedy and co. Still, first game out of the way and conditions were absolutely awful tonight so heres hoping for an improvement the next day.

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭farmerval

Limericks ball control and handling was light years ahead of ours today. Same conditions, but we consistently dropped ball etc.

Limerick's tackling intensity was immense, if we do meet them again our defenders will need to offload the ball much quicker, taking the ball into contact against Limerick is suicidal.

Was really surprised at the half forward line we went with, would have expected Dan or Bonnar at least for a bit of power against their half back line.

We had a lot of very anonymous players today, Paidi, Brendan, Jason Forde, Barry Heffernan, John McGrath. Mark Kehoe looked what he is, a guy starting out, himself and Jake Morris left a couple of easy scores behind them. They are starting out and will learn.

I feel this Tipp team struggle when teh opposition half forwards drop deep for our puck outs, the loose half backs seem to get lost and are not influencing any part of the game.

yeah but to be fair but not many counties can really slag about one in a row, whatever hope we had winter hurling has made that hope alot dimmer.

One other bloody county can, and I happen to live on the border :pac:

It takes time for a player to develop. Not everyone is Eoin Kelly.

Conor Bowe is not involved.

There's a lot of overreaction on here. Similar to the Munster final last year.

The handling errors were scandalous today though. Did we not expect that the weather might be someway adverse on November 1st?
      Its the sheer lack of preparation for today that worries me.

On the subject of why we don't have many of last years u20s involved, I totally agree with you, it's completely understandable. Up against the likes of Dan Morrissey, Gearoid Hegarty, TJ Reid, huge tanks of men, they would be blown out of the water. It will take considerable time to build a physical frame that can cope with the demands of the senior game. With the physical bulk of today's hurler, the days of bringing minors straight through to senior are over and its probably a case of biding your time for one or two years upon graduating from u20 now

Got the 1st round qualifier bye anyway. Think that's a good thing. Four weeks in a row this time of year would have been a big ask.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,978 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Would have preferred a game against the likes of Laois to be honest. Maybe the break will be a good thing though

Yeah i see that side of it, but to correct what i said above, we'd have been talking about 5 weeks in a row to reach the final, including yesterday. So think the bye is welcome on that basis. Two weeks will pass quickly enough.