Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA (Club and Intercounty) Thread

Limerick obviously big favourites now but Tipp can beat anyone on their day. Also I wouldn't be ruling out the likes of Galway or Wexford.

For all their tekkers and showboating during the league, when Limerick met Kilkenny last year they more or less filled their togs the first few minutes and played catchup the rest of the game.

When the ground hardens, we'll see how 'old' Tipp are

• Registered Users Posts: 6 demerse

For all their tekkers and showboating during the league, when Limerick met Kilkenny last year they more or less filled their togs the first few minutes and played catchup the rest of the game.

When the ground hardens, we'll see how 'old' Tipp are

Have any of the youngsters put themselves in first XV? Quirke the closest?

demerse wrote: »
    Have any of the youngsters put themselves in first XV? Quirke the closest?

Cadell has done well this league when called upon as has Kehoe, Morris and Darcy. Along with Quirke they've all chipped in with scores throughout the league. We might be a little short of cover at the back. Morgan, Brian Mcgrath and O'Mara are the best hope to challenge for places here because Sean O'Brien and Alan Flynn have looked a bit suspect this campaign. I think also Kennedy has struggled a bit on occasion during the league. Browne and Paul Maher probably needed more game time.

All will be revealed on May 9th.. Thats going to be a huge test in Walsh Park. If we come through it, it will set us right up for the following week against the Banner in Thurles

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

BloodyBill wrote: »
    That's one way of looking at it. Another is that Tipp are in a bit of bother after letting big leads slip against Galway and Limerick. It's like Tipp dont have 70 in those old legs anymore. They are going to be searching for form going into the Munster Championship. I'd have them behind Limerick now in the All Ireland race. Still dangerous like the old professionals they are but theres no fear factor playing them.
    Rubbish, League form means nothing when Championship comes around.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭joeguevara

the only form that really matters is in matches that if you lose you’re out of the championship. All other matches are good for bragging rights but the AI is all that matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

tippspur wrote: »
    Rubbish, League form means nothing when Championship comes around.

It's best to stay positive anyway and like people say the Championship may see a totally different Tipp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭matthewmurdock

We won only 2 and lost 3 league games last year and won the All Ireland.

We made the final of the league the year before and didn't win 1 Championship game.

The league was not important to us past blooding a few players and working others toward fitness after a well deserved layoff. It isn't an indication of anything with Tipperary.

Other teams may have wanted to set out their stall for the year like Limerick, Tipperary don't need to set out any stall, we are the All Ireland champions.

I think we will retain the AI, though I also think we will finish 3rd in Munster this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭robbiezero

We won only 2 and lost 3 league games last year and won the All Ireland.

We made the final of the league the year before and didn't win 1 Championship game.

The league was not important to us past blooding a few players and working others toward fitness after a well deserved layoff. It isn't an indication of anything with Tipperary.

Other teams may have wanted to set out their stall for the year like Limerick, Tipperary don't need to set out any stall, we are the All Ireland champions.

I think we will retain the AI, though I also think we will finish 3rd in Munster this year.

Agreed.
    Limerick needed a good league after issues in the post-season last year.
    Other teams have new managements and also needed to have a good league to get a bit of confidence and belief (Cork the obvious exception here, but I don't think the wintery conditions of most games suited their style of play).

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Really not too bothered by yesterdays trimming or by moderate league showing in general. Just glad to see browne get some bit of game time and the likes of darcy and quirke showing one or two flashes of what they can do.

Suppose the one main question mark is full back line which currently stands at barrett and two others. When it comes to it, will we see the maher line restored or ronan reverting to his roving commission as circumstances dictate? Felt we got away with it a bit last year and are no nearer to having a specialist full back and left back has been a bit hit and miss since mikey cahill was the man there. Thought the younger mcgrath might have got more game time but all these lads development is so closely monitored now its hard to know where they stand in the eyes of management. We have such a glut of forward options, I'd happily trade a couple in for just one unpolished gem at the back!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Tipperary team returning from Spain this evening will have to self quarantine, I wonder how it will affect their preparations for the Champinship.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭johntune

Xenophile wrote: »
    Tipperary team returning from Spain this evening will have to self quarantine, I wonder how it will affect their preparations for the Champinship.

All training is banned anyway. I'm sure they will go running and a few pucks in small groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

There wont be one

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭KK36

Come back to me in August :) Everyone said this last year and we were purring come championship time

Liverpool fans told Utd fans to come back when they had 18. Guess what, they came back.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

KK36 wrote: »
    Liverpool fans told Utd fans to come back when they had 18. Guess what, they came back.

the only one that agrees with you on this subject is Karen Brady and both you and i know she got nowhere in life using her brains :pac:

we will see ye in august if needs be ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭KK36

the only one that agrees with you on this subject is Karen Brady and both you and i know she got nowhere in life using her brains :pac:

we will see ye in august if needs be ;)

Karen Brady Agrees with me??? What inGods name are you on about

• Registered Users Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Karen Brady Agrees with me??? What inGods name are you on about

Amm well... I ment well. Was probably drunk at the time though, very paranoid Liverpool supporter here the corona has gotten to me:pac:

Last year, my opinion was that the doubters can come back when we are knocked out of the championship.....guess what.......they never came back ;)

I think we'll be in the mix. Its a tough field this year (assuming it goes ahead) with anyone capable of beating anyone on the day really. Limerick look the outstanding team but then no one would have thought Kilkenny would beat them after the polishing they took off them in the league in Nowlan Park.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,077 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

A disgrace they went in first place not so long since there back from holidays going to loose lot of support for there recklessness

mahoney_j wrote: »
    A disgrace they went in first place not so long since there back from holidays going to loose lot of support for there recklessness

What kind of support are they going to "loose"? Can you be more specific? Are the tipp legion of fans dotted around Kilkenny, Cork and other neighbouring counties going to abandon them in protest now? I dont know were they reckless in going, nothing was commented about it till they were almost ready to return, but seems they are following all HSE protocol since then which seems all they can do. I forgive them anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,664 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Doubt people will stop following them for going on a training camp but would agree it was bad timing. Probably stood to loose the guts of 50k if they didn't so took the chance.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

A disgrace they went in first place not so long since there back from holidays going to lose lot of support for there recklessness
    will they really lose support because of this. There will be deserved criticism but it's not going to stop people supporting team in any way when games do start back up.
    Doubt people will stop following them for going on a training camp but would agree it was bad timing. Probably stood to loose the guts of 50k if they didn't so took the chance.
    and they were on their own in the camp with no other people staying near then. Poor timing I agree and agree ot wont stop people supporting the side

Agree, bad timing and fair to question the wisdom of it. But they weren't breaking any government issued guidelines or advice by going so calling it reckless is ott. A party of 45 heading for spain seems small beer when you consider the thousands heading for the races over the following days. Not defending it but perspective helps. Once they are keeping to the health and safety protocols following their return, any potential risks can be avoided.

What kind of support are they going to "loose"? Can you be more specific? Are the tipp legion of fans dotted around Kilkenny, Cork and other neighbouring counties going to abandon them in protest now? I dont know were they reckless in going, nothing was commented about it till they were almost ready to return, but seems they are following all HSE protocol since then which seems all they can do. I forgive them anyway.

It was reckless and unnesecarry money shouldn’t come into it are they any better than the crowd that went to Cheltenham ????trip shouldn’t of went ahead end of

If you were posting in a coherent, rational manner, I'd have a bit of sympathy. The tipp board werent ignoring any existing guidelines so to say they acted recklessly isnt valid. That doesnt mean the question cant be asked, mind. Thousands were going to Cheltenham so, no, its absolutely nothing on the same scale. End of....or maybe not as case may be.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

disgrace. No it isnt. And why are you bringing up the team holiday. That has no relevance to a training camp which this was.
    And how will they lose support from this? Are people not going to go support them at games because of this. Or not buy jerseys etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Rumour has it some Tipp fans in Limerick have been seen burning their jerseys

disgrace. No it isnt. And why are you bringing up the team holiday. That has no relevance to a training camp which this was.
    And how will they lose support from this? Are people not going to go support them at games because of this. Or not buy jerseys etc

Sorry it is was this trip vital ???,no and the situation with the virus was starting to ramp up before they went both here and Spain I’m a tipp supporter and Gaa fan too .team holidays was jan and the county boards spent a small fortune on team last year (subbed by teneo)no need for amateur teams playing amateur sport to go on one of these trips ,if this Wax a rugby or soccer team there would be uproar but in the Gaa ...aghh it’s grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭matthewmurdock

Sorry it is was this trip vital ???,no and the situation with the virus was starting to ramp up before they went both here and Spain I’m a tipp supporter and Gaa fan too .team holidays was jan and the county boards spent a small fortune on team last year (subbed by teneo)no need for amateur teams playing amateur sport to go on one of these trips ,if this Wax a rugby or soccer team there would be uproar but in the Gaa ...aghh it’s grand

Nobody cares.

Whatever the coaching staff think helps the team win and play their best is fine with me.

They will have been advised upon re-entry to the country and if they are following this advice there is no issue.

Don't support them if you don't want to, nobody wants to listen to the incessant whinging anymore.

Nobody cares.

Whatever the coaching staff think helps the team win and play their best is fine with me.

They will have been advised upon re-entry to the country and if they are following this advice there is no issue.

Don't support them if you don't want to, nobody wants to listen to the incessant whinging anymore.

Sorry for having an opinion ,lot of Gaa fans becoming very precious ,lot of people I’ve been talking to last few days would be of simillar opinion