Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

You train in a gym which has notices up requiring people to use deodorant?.

Seriously now that's a first for me!.

It must be a sweetest smelling gym ever.

It's the smell of gains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

How big is your free weights area mate, having a conversation along the way or something? rubbish!

I have had to chase people away even when my bottle was sitting beside the bench and I was gone for twenty seconds. They're animals during rush hour.

But more importantly, why on Earth does a water bottle on a bench annoy you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Zillah wrote: »
    I have had to chase people away even when my bottle was sitting beside the bench and I was gone for twenty seconds. They're animals during rush hour.

But more importantly, why on Earth does a water bottle on a bench annoy you?

Maybe it's a psychological issue?

It is not an insult I hope you understand.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Hope you don't mind me posting here! I've been following/reading the thread for a while now and finally have something to contribute! I've worked out with a trainer in his own gym before but recently had to move to a full gym. A few annoying things for me:

People on phones. I'm always a little worried they are taking sneaky photos of me and sending them to their friends to mock me. I know some people in the gym hate me for being there simply because I'm fat. Knowing that is kinda annoying too actually.

Mirrors. Trust me, any hatred people have for me is nothing compared to how I hate my own body. I can't stand the sight of myself so the wall to wall mirrors are highly annoying. I feel sick and disgusted whenever I see my own reflection so you can imagine how uncomfortable it is in the gym! Doesn't stop me from going but sure is annoying!

Weights in the wrong order on the rack. Is it that hard to put them back with the right sizes?

Guys coming into the ladies only area to show ladies what to do. Even if the lady asks them to it's just not on!

Oh yeah a word of explanation. There is one treadmill in my gym that doesn't have a mirror in front of it. When I do use them I'll always use that one regardless of how many are free and who is beside me. :P

Any time I see someone overweight at the gym I think "fair play to you". Why would anyone hate you for being there?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

There can't seriously be a gym that insists on people wearing deodorant, surely to Jaysus!

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

It is not an insult I hope you understand.

Mine was a joke. I hope you laughed? :D
    Brian? wrote: »
    Any time I see someone overweight at the gym I think "fair play to you". Why would anyone hate you for being there?

I'm fat. People are going to hate me purely for that fact. I get it everywhere I go. I should say though that so far I haven't had any comments by anyone at the gym, but I've seen enough online to know some people are thinking it. Getting used to it doesn't make it easier but as you say 'fair play' because I'm at least working on being healthy and fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭alane20

I'm fat. People are going to hate me purely for that fact. I get it everywhere I go. I should say though that so far I haven't had any comments by anyone at the gym, but I've seen enough online to know some people are thinking it. Getting used to it doesn't make it easier but as you say 'fair play' because I'm at least working on being healthy and fit.

Don't give 2 ****es what people think, and people probably don't even notice you, it's more than likely you are just that bit more self aware at the moment, keep going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

You can lose the weight and get fit. They'll always be pr*cks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

There's a sign on the wall of my gym, one of the DO’s and DON’T’s, says something like “Check your attitude, help others be better than you, leave your ego elsewhere’.

Anyone who looks down on another member because they are underweight/overweight/old/weak/strong or (dare I say) sock-deodorant challenged, when they are at the gym and making an effort, is seriously lacking in any degree of class and education.

Absolutely, good for you. Some people are just idiots.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

There's a fairly simple rule that everyone should abide by.

"Don't be a dick".

It shouldn't be that hard yet it seems to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

some women dont feel as comfortable lifting weights in the mens section, their catering to that group.
    i hate the idea of womens gyms and sections.
    But the people that don't feel comfortable by weights section feel like that because of the existence of womens sections. By creating a "safe place for women" they are, by inference, creating a much larger area that is unsafe for women. Can you see the problem with that?
    As an example, you just referred to the main gym as the "mens section". Now I get that you are probably just doing that as a convenient label. But some people will genuinely start to think like that. It's net effect is negative imo.
    It's a pretty dated approach, and a very poor design for a gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭ISOP

There can't seriously be a gym that insists on people wearing deodorant, surely to Jaysus!
    very common in England, basic manners really, just like not taking your shoes off, no one wants to smell someone's disgusting feet, even if they don't think they smell themselves, its vile

ISOP wrote: »
    very common in England, basic manners really, just like not taking your shoes off, no one wants to smell someone's disgusting feet, even if they don't think they smell themselves, its vile

Feet aren't smelly because they're feet in the same way that sweat isn't smelly just because it's sweat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If you think taking off your shoes is disgusting because others will smell your feet, then you should probably wash your feet and change your socks more often.
    Your feet only smell when they are dirty. It's not good for feet to be smelly by default.

I train in an environment were people are in their barefeet all the time. It's pretty common in loads of sports. There's no issues are long as people are clean. And that should be a requirement regardless of whether your shoes come off.

It's not "basic manners". It's ridiculous nonsense. Offensive body odour isn't caused by sweating, it's caused by not washing. I've been around a lot of gyms, for a long time and I've never noticed an over powering smell despite the sweaty people all around me. After a tough workout people smell like sweat, not BO. BO comes from not washing or changing clothes.

If someone's feet smell, either they haven't changed their socks in a long time or they don't wash their feet.

Shoes actually smell far more than feet in my experience, they don't get washed like feet or socks.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

Mellor wrote: »
    some women dont feel as comfortable lifting weights in the mens section, their catering to that group.
    i hate the idea of womens gyms and sections.
    But the people that don't feel comfortable by weights section feel like that because of the existence of womens sections. By creating a "safe place for women" they are, by inference, creating a much larger area that is unsafe for women. Can you see the problem with that?
    As an example, you just referred to the main gym as the "mens section". Now I get that you are probably just doing that as a convenient label. But some people will genuinely start to think like that. It's net effect is negative imo.
    It's a pretty dated approach, and a very poor design for a gym.
    not all women are comfortable walking over loading a bar and lifting when theres dopy lads around, im not talking about (in my gym anyway) the easten european lads, the strong men or the other women there that offer help or will spot you if necessary... im talking about the 15-16 year olds up to 20 odd something lads who are there baseball cap on, string vest, beats by Dre who are all about the #gainz posing like their in a body show, who snapchat/instagram all their workouts (#fitfam #liftinglyf)  and rip the piss out of each other and other people in the gym- openly, its a culture thing, its the new mods and punks or emo its a phase their going though, they chug their pre workout, sip their protein shakes throughout the workouts, then the creatine, . ive seen it in my gym, ive been called a whale while out running (running, not sitting in mcdonalds mind) by this lil ****s and they do make me uncomfortable in the gym.. my gym doesnt have a womens section and like i said i dont like the idea of them but there are women out there who are uncomfortable by it so why not?
    im more of a 'your workout is my warm up' kinda gal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,588 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I don't know how ye subject yourselves to public gyms.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

What with the people and the feet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

people leaving their towels on machines to "hold" them bugs me,
    Gyms are too busy these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

The only way it is tolerable is early in the morning before work when it is (relatively) quiet.
    After work/evening time is a nightmare and should be avoided....

Although it can be a bit awkward looking for a spotter if the gym is really quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

In 12/13 years of gym going, to various gyms - some sh*t, some great, some in between - I have never once, ever, heard or overheard a gym goer "rip the p*ss" out of a stranger. I'm not saying it's never happened, but in my experience it's certainly not common... to be honest, most gym goers are too self-absorbed to bother!

I think "Women Only" sections are a regressive step. My gym has recently upgraded but two changes they have introduced are unnecessary in my opinion - they've brought in a small women's only room and an equally small "Heavy Lifters" room, whatever the f*ck that means... in recent years, the 'stigma', for want of a better word, of lifting weights has been almost eradicated - herding 'heavy lifters' and women into a separate room undoes that, in my opinion... there's also a completely separate weights section where, I presume, everyone is welcome! I hope Ladies and Yoo-ige lads alike shun their separate sections and hang out in the mixed zone.

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    not all women are comfortable walking over loading a bar and lifting when theres dopy lads around, im not talking about (in my gym anyway) the easten european lads, the strong men or the other women there that offer help or will spot you if necessary... im talking about the 15-16 year olds up to 20 odd something lads who are there baseball cap on, string vest, beats by Dre who are all about the #gainz posing like their in a body show, who snapchat/instagram all their workouts (#fitfam #liftinglyf)  and rip the piss out of each other and other people in the gym- openly, its a culture thing, its the new mods and punks or emo its a phase their going though, they chug their pre workout, sip their protein shakes throughout the workouts, then the creatine, . ive seen it in my gym, ive been called a whale while out running (running, not sitting in mcdonalds mind) by this lil ****s and they do make me uncomfortable in the gym.. my gym doesnt have a womens section and like i said i dont like the idea of them but there are women out there who are uncomfortable by it so why not?
    im more of a 'your workout is my warm up' kinda gal...

In 12/13 of gym going, to various gyms - some sh*t, some great, some in between - I have never once, ever, heard or overheard a gym goer "rip the p*ss" out of a stranger. I'm not saying it's never happened, but in my experience it's certainly not common... to be honest, most gym goers are too self-absorbed to bother!

I think "Women Only" sections are a regressive step. My gym has recently upgraded but two changes they have introduced are unnecessary in my opinion - they've brought in a small women's only room and an equally small "Heavy Lifters" room, whatever the f*ck that means... in recent years, the 'stigma', for want of a better word, of lifting weights has been almost eradicated - herding 'heavy lifters' and women into a separate room undoes that, in my opinion... there's also a completely separate weights section where, I presume, everyone is welcome! I hope Ladies and Yoo-ige lads alike shun their separate sections and hang out in the mixed zone.
    me too. for the splitting the gyms ive said this about 3 times now...

as for the ripping the piss, im speaking from personal experience of being called an elephant while out running in public,
    overhearing someone say they would kill themselves if there were as big as i was at the time.
    etc etc, other posters have also mentioned comments made to them. again its one of those things, once you see it, its horrifying, and i am only talking about a certain type of gym goer, as was clearly pointed out in my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,031 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

as for the ripping the piss, im speaking from personal experience of being called an elephant while out running in public,
    overhearing someone say they would kill themselves if there were as big as i was at the time.

etc etc, other posters have also mentioned comments made to them. again its one of those things, once you see it, its horrifying, and i am only talking about a certain type of gym goer, as was clearly pointed out in my post.

That's not ripping the piss. That's bullying.
    I wouldn't go starting a campaign over it but don't go giving them the excuse that they're only having fun.

Ripping the piss in a gym environment would be one guy saying to another "well done on benching 60Kg. Pity it took you 3 reps of 20 to do it" but in a give and take type of way.

That's not ripping the piss. That's bullying.
    I wouldn't go starting a campaign over it but don't go giving them the excuse that they're only having fun.

Ripping the piss in a gym environment would be one guy saying to another "well done on benching 60Kg. Pity it took you 3 reps of 20 to do it" but in a give and take type of way.
    im not doing that at all, ive accepted some poeple are just fundamentally asshole, i cried, moved on and lost 7 stone. now i deadlift more than those lil ****s do and do it looking damn cute...once they realise instagram likes dont get you lean and strong theyll be able to as well.. #gainz

an equally small "Heavy Lifters" room, whatever the f*ck that means...

lol

Do they have a roided out meathead at the door checking your lifting grunt to see if it's obnoxious enough?

lol

Do they have a roided out meathead at the door checking your lifting grunt to see if it's obnoxious enough?

It's ridiculous. Feels cramped with about three people there.... especially cos we're all so frickin' humongous! :cool:

Don't you just do a monthly spin class now you're too old to lift anything? ;)

That reminds me, did an oul spin class yesterday... must update the Log! :D