Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It's been a while since I've been in a chain gym (where I go is mostly HIIT, circuit classes and so on) but one thing that annoys me are the girls that adhere to this #fitfam stuff. They spend ages talking about these classes on FB and tagging the trainer in excercises they find on FB.
    When it comes to getting down to it in class, they throw an absolute fit if they deem the class to be too hard, they've often had the class changed to their preferred format for example.

I'm not one to look down at anyone's ability and they're all well able to push on through, but thankfully due to feedback, they were politely told the class is set and it won't be changing.

Every now and then they still stamp their feet though, why would you sign up to these classes and sessions and then refuse to do as told?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

razorblunt wrote: »
    It's been a while since I've been in a chain gym (where I go is mostly HIIT, circuit classes and so on) but one thing that annoys me are the girls that adhere to this #fitfam stuff. They spend ages talking about these classes on FB and tagging the trainer in excercises they find on FB.
    When it comes to getting down to it in class, they throw an absolute fit if they deem the class to be too hard, they've often had the class changed to their preferred format for example.

I'm not one to look down at anyone's ability and they're all well able to push on through, but thankfully due to feedback, they were politely told the class is set and it won't be changing.

Every now and then they still stamp their feet though, why would you sign up to these classes and sessions and then refuse to do as told?
    for the #gainz #fitfam #irishfitfam #detoxtea #absbysummer #werk #pizzaisbae #protienisbae #cheatday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,074 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    In 12/13 of gym going, to various gyms - some sh*t, some great, some in between - I have never once, ever, heard or overheard a gym goer "rip the p*ss" out of a stranger. I'm not saying it's never happened, but in my experience it's certainly not common... to be honest, most gym goers are too self-absorbed to bother!

I think "Women Only" sections are a regressive step. My gym has recently upgraded but two changes they have introduced are unnecessary in my opinion - they've brought in a small women's only room and an equally small "Heavy Lifters" room, whatever the f*ck that means... in recent years, the 'stigma', for want of a better word, of lifting weights has been almost eradicated - herding 'heavy lifters' and women into a separate room undoes that, in my opinion... there's also a completely separate weights section where, I presume, everyone is welcome! I hope Ladies and Yoo-ige lads alike shun their separate sections and hang out in the mixed zone.

My gym has a women only section - which annoys me on the basis that I pay the same money for my membership and get less gym than them.

In general terms though it seems to simply mean that the women who want to work out away from the bulk of the gym can do so - most of the women in the place still use the rest of the gym. I think it is good for the gym atmosphere - allows some of the women who seem a bit shy or anxious to ease into the place.

A heavy lifting room though? I don't get that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

My gym has a women only section - which annoys me on the basis that I pay the same money for my membership and get less gym than them.

In general terms though it seems to simply mean that the women who want to work out away from the bulk of the gym can do so - most of the women in the place still use the rest of the gym. I think it is good for the gym atmosphere - allows some of the women who seem a bit shy or anxious to ease into the place.

I get that that's the intention - but I feel it has the opposite effect. It marginalises a section of the membership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I think the idea is if you're one of the guys who likes to tell the world how big and manly you are by making various gorilla noises while you lift you should probably do it in there and leave the rest of the civilised folk alone. It seems unnecessary and yet those kind of people really do annoy me. Like, there are twenty people in this room, buddy; if we all groaned up a lung with each rep we'd blow the windows out.

but how will us women know which are the manliest? if theres not grunting and loud clanging and banging of weights on the ground and pounding of chests?!?!?
    i mean finding a husband is the only reason most of us go to the gym anyway like :D:angel:

at least if ye have your own room we can perv outside?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Cake Man

for the #gainz #fitfam #irishfitfam #detoxtea #absbysummer #werk #pizzaisbae #protienisbae #cheatday
    lol, not nearly enough hashtags #amateur

Clown in the gym the other morning loaded up the hex bar with 8x20kg plates, did a few sets, dumped one or two off, another set or two and then just left everything there. Him and one or two others are serial offenders when it comes to re-racking (or lackthereof), some awful sh!tty attitude expecting others to then strip that much weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

not all women are comfortable walking over loading a bar and lifting when theres dopy lads around, im not talking about (in my gym anyway) the easten european lads, the strong men or the other women there that offer help or will spot you if necessary... im talking about the 15-16 year olds up to 20 odd something lads who are there baseball cap on, string vest, beats by Dre who are all about the #gainz posing like their in a body show, who snapchat/instagram all their workouts (#fitfam #liftinglyf)  and rip the piss out of each other and other people in the gym- openly, its a culture thing, its the new mods and punks or emo its a phase their going though, they chug their pre workout, sip their protein shakes throughout the workouts, then the creatine, . ive seen it in my gym, ive been called a whale while out running (running, not sitting in mcdonalds mind) by this lil ****s and they do make me uncomfortable in the gym.. my gym doesnt have a womens section and like i said i dont like the idea of them but there are women out there who are uncomfortable by it so why not?
    im more of a 'your workout is my warm up' kinda gal...
    I understand that some women feel like that. I'm not suggesting that they can quickly switch it off and that's that. But I'm saying having "female lifting areas" actually encourages those feelings. It's part of the problem, and therefore removing it is part of the solution.
    It was all the rage about 10 years ago when weights started to become cool again. But the industry has moved well past it now.

I've no doubt that people have been derogatory towards women in the gym (and men too btw). But dickheads are everywhere. Seeking to hide away isn't a solution. More to the point, a women's lifting area suggest to these dickheads that "women should leave the heavy weights to the boys". And that attitude is responsible for at least some of the comments you'd hear.
    I just searched for #irishfitfam (I'm not actually sure what it is) and the results were more women than men - also some dogs and icecreams, so it seams I'm not the only one who didn't understand.

As an aside, Imagine a gym brought in a male only lifting area? Maybe you'd be ok with it (maybe not?), but I'd guess there'd be outrage among facebook-feminists, ironically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭Felexicon

People sticking the incline up to 11 on the treadmill and then grabbing the handles and leaning back so they are essentially at 90 degrees to the treadmill again.

Also people doing standing oblique crunches with a weight in each hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Felexicon wrote:
    Also people doing standing oblique crunches with a weight in each hand.

You mean side bends? I used to these what's the big deal about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Blacktie. wrote: »
    You mean side bends? I used to these what's the big deal about that?

Isn't it kinda pointless doing them with weight in both hands though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Dtp1979 wrote:
    Isn't it kinda pointless doing them with weight in both hands though?

O that's what he meant. Ye I only had it in one hand. Makes much more sense now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Felexicon wrote: »
    People sticking the incline up to 11 on the treadmill and then grabbing the handles and leaning back so they are essentially at 90 degrees to the treadmill again.
    An incline is harder because you are travelling against gravity. It's nothing to do with the angle you make with the treadmill.

Supporting your a lot of your weight of the handles is a bit silly, regardless of the angle you make.

Mellor wrote: »
    Supporting your a lot of your weight of the handles is a bit silly, regardless of the angle you make.

Yeah it's functionally the same as hanging onto a car as it drags you up a hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Zillah wrote: »
    Yeah it's functionally the same as hanging onto a car as it drags you up a hill.

not as gnarly tho

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

jive wrote: »

not as gnarly tho

Unless you're a turtle in a half shell.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,766 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Brian? wrote: »
    Unless you're a turtle hero in a half shell.

Please get it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Victoria21

People taking up walkways etc skipping, that give you the evils when you ask them to move out of the effing way.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Brian? wrote: »
    Unless you're a turtle hero in a half shell.

Please get it right.

That's a deep burn.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Young lads, hyping up kicking fecking their bottles around.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

bladespin wrote: »
    Young lads, hyping up kicking fecking their bottles around.

lol what?

Lads physically blocking access to the weight rack while they do their sets. Literally take two steps backwards and you stop being an asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

lol what?

It's new on me, was in the weight room of a hotel I use when travelling and there was a lad doing cable pulls (looked late teens), I was on leg press directly across from him, his form was excellent but after each set he's grab his bottle, take a few sips then hype up for the next set then lash it or kick it behind the machine, thought nothing the first time but each and every set he did this :confused:

I was back in the hotel this week and he was there along with a couple of mates and the same craic (they were all throwing their bottles), I bumped into him at the water cooler and said hey etc, he came across a sound, nice lad with great knowledge, I just don't get the bottle thing lol.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

bladespin wrote: »
    It's new on me, was in the weight room of a hotel I use when travelling and there was a lad doing cable pulls (looked late teens), I was on leg press directly across from him, his form was excellent but after each set he's grab his bottle, take a few sips then hype up for the next set then lash it or kick it behind the machine, thought nothing the first time but each and every set he did this :confused:

I was back in the hotel this week and he was there along with a couple of mates and the same craic (they were all throwing their bottles), I bumped into him at the water cooler and said hey etc, he came across a sound, nice lad with great knowledge, I just don't get the bottle thing lol.

It draws attention to him. People will look at him. He wants to look like a tough mother fcuker. Don't mess with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Went to the gym late enough the other night, had more or less finished but wanted to use one machine in particular, walked towards it, phone on the seat, a lady then finishes a set on one machine and pops on to use it for one set, leaves the phone there, then back to the other machine.

Little annoyed at that but figure I'll just use another machine, do a few sets and it'll be free then. Nah. The BF comes over, he jumps in for a quick set, then she's back on. At this point I've done 4x8 so I decide to do something else.

I finish 3 sets of 10 on another exercise, give a glance over, the machine is still being used, now the BF is recording the lady, who's stripped down to the sports bra, presumably for instagram.

I get 3 more sets of a different exercise in and leave, she's sitting on the machine, typing away, posting the video I can only assume.

D'Agger wrote: »
    Went to the gym late enough the other night, had more or less finished but wanted to use one machine in particular, walked towards it, phone on the seat, a lady then finishes a set on one machine and pops on to use it for one set, leaves the phone there, then back to the other machine.

Little annoyed at that but figure I'll just use another machine, do a few sets and it'll be free then. Nah. The BF comes over, he jumps in for a quick set, then she's back on. At this point I've done 4x8 so I decide to do something else.

I finish 3 sets of 10 on another exercise, give a glance over, the machine is still being used, now the BF is recording the lady, who's stripped down to the sports bra, presumably for instagram.

I get 3 more sets of a different exercise in and leave, she's sitting on the machine, typing away, posting the video I can only assume. I head away and drive from the gym to the nearby garage for diesel.

Pulling out of the garage and who's queuing up for the chipper across the road? Only the young couple from the gym. I don't know if it was the hogging of equipment, the no doubt self gratifying posting on social media, followed by the  poor nutrition that won't be displayed but cumulatively it left me shaking my head.
    I was with you until... unless you follow them  you have no idea if it was for them, eaten by them, posted by them or not.
    get over yourself. someones nutrition has nothing to do with them being a gym douche

I was with you until... unless you follow them  you have no idea if it was for them, eaten by them, posted by them or not.
    get over yourself. someones nutrition has nothing to do with them being a gym douche

You're right - edited as such

Jesus fair ****s D'agger, is this the first time two people have disagreed on the internets and not had a row?
    did we just become best friends??? :)

Jesus fair ****s D'agger, is this the first time two people have disagreed on the internets and not had a row?
    I....I think so :pac:

Spent the morning arguing with the girlfriend so my argumentitive muscles are fatigued I'd say

I....I think so :pac:

Spent the morning arguing with the girlfriend so my argumentitive muscles are fatigued I'd say
    omg! i spent the morning arguing with my boyfriend! we are defo best friends now.
    unless... youre my boyfriend.... hummm (now to go stalk your posts to see)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

people snotting on the floor in the steam room gets on my goat,
    or old grey men drying their pubes in the changing room with a hair dryer,
    i mean wtf