Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

Zillah wrote: »
    Maybe people have a tendency to judge women on their appearance so consistently and relentlessly that it makes them paranoid about being seen without make up in any circumstance. Which makes sense because they will apparently still get judged for wearing make up.

This... *claps claps*.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    When you look like the Joker from Batman after a run on one of them machines, to say it looks a bit weird is an understatement.

i dont wear make up to the gym, mainly because i dont give a **** but i do have friends that do, full blown make up baseball cap the works, because they feel like people are looking at them, judging them, i always tell them its not true, but it turns out, people like you are.

so figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

2: I don't get women who put on makeup when they go to the gym, especially with any kind of sweat going on. Do they expect to get hit on/enjoy the attention or what?

Some women feel more confident in themselves when they put on make-up, which helps if they're going to lift. For them, it's not because they'll look better for the others in the gym.

It doesn't apply to everyone but it does apply to some.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

This... *claps claps*.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

i dont wear make up to the gym, mainly because i dont give a **** but i do have friends that do, full blown make up baseball cap the works, because they feel like people are looking at them, judging them, i always tell them its not true, but it turns out, people like you are.

so figure.

If they need to put on makeup to feel better about themselves and go out and lift, so be it. Judgment is pointless.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Brian? wrote: »
    Aren't you judging them? If they need to put on makeup to feel better about themselves and go out and lift, so be it.

not at all, i want them to be comfortable being themselves, i tell them they dont need to bother that they are stunning without it, that its the gym no one give a crap what you look like but it turns out ive been lying this whole time because assholes are still complaining.

the same ones that will complain about a fat person in the gym, or someone sweating too much, or a girl not taking care of herself and looking crap in the gym.

you cant win.

you edited your post after i posted.
    i dunno where you get the idea im judging my friends... your way off mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

On my very first day in the gym, I just wore mascara but I regretted it immediately.

It was all running down my face and when I wiped my face with my towel, it was destroyed with mascara.
    Now I wouldn't dream of wearing make-up at all in the gym.
    NOBODY is looking at you. Nobody is thinking "Oh look at her with no make-up on!"

In fact, the odd ones out are the ones who ARE wearing make-up.
    I find it liberating not to wear any and frankly, I'm there to work out. I don't care what people think of me. They should be concentrating on their own work-out.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

not at all, i want them to be comfortable being themselves, i tell them they dont need to bother that they are stunning without it, that its the gym no one give a crap what you look like but it turns out ive been lying this whole time because assholes are still complaining.

the same ones that will complain about a fat person in the gym, or someone sweating too much, or a girl not taking care of herself and looking crap in the gym.

you cant win.

you edited your post after i posted.
    i dunno where you get the idea im judging my friends... your way off mate.

I edited my post because I misread yours. Apologies, I realised my mistakr after I'd posted!

I agree with your points. I hate this thread. I hated the last one and it was one of my favourite pieces of mod action when I closed it and killed it with fire!

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

Does having chalk all over your head and face count as make up?

I hope so

fussyonion wrote: »
    On my very first day in the gym, I just wore mascara but I regretted it immediately.

It was all running down my face and when I wiped my face with my towel, it was destroyed with mascara.
    Now I wouldn't dream of wearing make-up at all in the gym.
    NOBODY is looking at you. Nobody is thinking "Oh look at her with no make-up on!"

In fact, the odd ones out are the ones who ARE wearing make-up.
    I find it liberating not to wear any and frankly, I'm there to work out. I don't care what people think of me. They should be concentrating on their own work-out.

and id totally agree with you but judging by this thread the lads wonder why we are wearing it and think its because we want to get hit on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

A girl wearing make-up at the gym is far less annoying than anyone else giving a sh*t about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭granty1987

Now I am actually wondering if we are in the same gym (though it's not me, I promise :D)

I wont judge if it was you (to your face)! In UCD anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,812 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My gym has a chalk bowl with a sign telling people there is no need to clap. The sign doesn't say anything about sticking your face into it.

Interesting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

My gym has a chalk bowl with a sign telling people there is no need to clap. The sign doesn't say anything about sticking your face into it.

Interesting...

Southside Sandyford?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,812 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Caliden wrote: »
    Southside Sandyford?

Yep :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I have to admit, if I see a good-looking girl wearing tight yoga pants and sports bra top in the gym then I do (subtly) check her out whilst resting between sets ......... I'm a man inside, and outside, of the gym ....... I don't leave my c*ck in the locker!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭TheSegal

Probably safe to assume that a number of women wearing makeup come straight from work to the gym while still wearing makeup. I know if I was a woman I wouldn't be bothered to remove makeup before lifting/running/etc.. since it would result in me having to spend longer in the gym

TheSegal wrote: »
    Probably safe to assume that a number of women wearing makeup come straight from work to the gym while still wearing makeup. I know if I was a woman I wouldn't be bothered to remove makeup before lifting/running/etc.. since it would result in me having to spend longer in the gym

THINK OF YOUR PORES!!! (if you were a woman)

im the same come from work alot, sometimes ive a make up on sometimes i dont, taking it off is SUCH a pain as well.

but it is terrible for your skin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭caviardreams

THINK OF YOUR PORES!!! (if you were a woman)

im the same come from work alot, sometimes ive a make up on sometimes i dont, taking it off is SUCH a pain as well.

but it is terrible for your skin...

Those cleansing face wipe things - super handy!

only work before though... my beautitian murdered me one day when she found out id been running with my foundation on.

im a baby wipe gal, way handier for the face and cheaper too;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Agreed. Most annoying part of a heavy gym session is the flack I get from my beautician after. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

weightlifters with their sense of superiority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Paulieniceguy

Is there anyone here that can give me a good gym to join in D24 need to shed a few pounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Is there anyone here that can give me a good gym to join in D24 need to shed a few pounds.

Westpark Fitness.

Agreed. Most annoying part of a heavy gym session is the flack I get from my beautician after. :pac:

mine is trying to get my sports bra off after a tough session...

seriously its like a feckin HITT workout in itself! :eek::D:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,748 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Dont know whos taking the p*ss now.........

GAA shorts and socks (everyone gets it you play GAA well done)

Indeed

I'll throw on whatever is the nearest and cleanest pair of sports shorts available to me. Sometimes it's soccer shorts, sometimes GAA, sometimes tennis shorts...

Get over yourself.

this pissed me off last night.

In Flyefit and I'm training away and this lad is walking round in total bare feet, no socks even. Now I get the whole bohemian new age keeping fit has many forms thing etc but he wasn't in a squat rack squatting keeping in one place (which in socks is fine but bare feet still weird). He wasn't on a yoga mat in the quiet area practicing his downward dog!! he was warming up, picking up weights, using machines and generally training in bare fooking feet!!

here's the part that blew my mind.... he gets talking to this mad wan who does the same, but she sticks to a matt at least, then in the squat rack area, at peak time 6-7pm, he proceeds to do walking hand stands! WTF! he faltered half way and nearly toe poked some lad trying to navigate a path round him!!

an absolute "look at me and my Ido portal hairstyle doing my walking hand stands everyone"... toooool!! is it just me?? is this a thing now?? I saw at least 3 other lads in socks doing the same, walking about!

Is he going to increase his muscle mass through the medium of interpretive dance??? idiot walking around like billy fooking Elliot!

maybe it's just me and I'v a low bill burr like tolerance for bull**** as I get into my 40's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

mine is trying to get my sports bra off after a tough session...

seriously its like a feckin HITT workout in itself! :eek::D:P

If you need help ...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

rusty cole wrote: »
    this pissed me off last night.

In Flyefit and I'm training away and this lad is walking round in total bare feet, no socks even. Now I get the whole bohemian new age keeping fit has many forms thing etc but he wasn't in a squat rack squatting keeping in one place (which in socks is fine but bare feet still weird). He wasn't on a yoga mat in the quiet area practicing his downward dog!! he was warming up, picking up weights, using machines and generally training in bare fooking feet!!

here's the part that blew my mind.... he gets talking to this mad wan who does the same, but she sticks to a matt at least, then in the squat rack area, at peak time 6-7pm, he proceeds to do walking hand stands! WTF! he faltered half way and nearly toe poked some lad trying to navigate a path round him!!

an absolute "look at me and my Ido portal hairstyle doing my walking hand stands everyone"... toooool!! is it just me?? is this a thing now?? I saw at least 3 other lads in socks doing the same, walking about!

Is he going to increase his muscle mass through the medium of interpretive dance??? idiot walking around like billy fooking Elliot!

I wonder if there have ever been posters on here reading and gone: "fùck, he's actually talking about meself!"

Where did Mr Fùcking Hanstand go? :D He just disappeared after that one post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I deadlift in socks and I may need to go to the water fountain once in a while :o

Caliden wrote: »
    I deadlift in socks and I may need to go to the water fountain once in a while :o

perfectly fine in my humble opinion. I squat in socks and Romanian deadlift in them too. running around potentially injuring yourself or others is just not cricket in my opinion. not to mention the fungus spreader himself was on several floors too..nah, that's not normal at all.