Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

jive wrote:
    bro i lift real heavy so it's safer for me to shot put my weights across the gym floor

If you aim for the racks you're just being efficient really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Utah wrote: »
    I really dislike the people who slam down the weights as a show of masculinity. "Look at me, I'm working harder than you".
    It's pretty dangerous, I've seen dumbells skip across the floor, they could do damage!

My gym installed a soft floor in the weights section, but its sooo dam springy if anyone even remotely drops their weights it will happily bounce away.

If i drop a dumbell 12 inches to the floor it will flip over 2-3 times and end up about 3 feet away from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

If everyone (else) in the free weights area had OCD, it would be a better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

If everyone (else) in the free weights area had OCD, it would be a better place.

There was actually a guy in one of my old gyms a few years ago i suspect had ocd. He wasnt a regular attender but when he did attend he could put everything he could find in its place. Would spend about 5 minutes setting up his bench in just the right place/angle. Redoing it over and over. Moving it millimeters.

Felt kinda sorry for the guy as you could see the frustration on his face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Star_Nupa

He had to do it or his family would die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

There was actually a guy in one of my old gyms a few years ago i suspect had ocd. He wasnt a regular attender but when he did attend he could put everything he could find in its place. Would spend about 5 minutes setting up his bench in just the right place/angle. Redoing it over and over. Moving it millimeters.

He made plates and DBs were easy to find.

That's a soldier every gym needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭EmmaMurray2016

Is this just me but when using boxing gloves at boxercise classes I'm just imagining the filth from other people sweating in them, the smell from the gloves is rank, now I'm starting to think the same about machines to the point I am thinking of bringing in antibacterial wipes lmao :/ 2 far or am I a germ freak !?!?!

Yes I'm mad .... you don't have to tell me lol be interesting though to hear if anyone else is like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Could be me :o

If I lie under a bar, and the ceiling above happens to have panels then the bench and the barbell have to line up exactly with the joint lines in the ceiling panels.

Same as the bar with I'm deadlifting, it has to line up with whatever straight lines are on the floor :o

I rearrange the dumbells in the racks too lol.

Sorry :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

If I lie under a bar, and the ceiling above happens to have panels then the bench and the barbell have to line up exactly with the joint lines in the ceiling panels.

Same as the bar with I'm deadlifting, it has to line up with whatever straight lines are on the floor :o

Now that you mention it, I do the same deadlifting.
    Well I'd be aware if it being off parallel. I wouldn't go to to many lengths to straighten it up. I'm not crazy, Jesus. I just tap the floor 14 times with my left foot so I know my family will be safe. Phew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Is this just me but when using boxing gloves at boxercise classes I'm just imagining the filth from other people sweating in them, the smell from the gloves is rank, now I'm starting to think the same about machines to the point I am thinking of bringing in antibacterial wipes lmao :/ 2 far or am I a germ freak !?!?!

Yes I'm mad .... you don't have to tell me lol be interesting though to hear if anyone else is like this.

Gyms usually supply those wipes. As for gloves, yes, I can only imagine the smell. My own tend to smell but I have the re assurance that it's mine and not other people's sweat

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Gyms usually supply those wipes. As for gloves, yes, I can only imagine the smell. My own tend to smell but I have the re assurance that it's mine and not other people's sweat

Never saw them but wasn't looking for wipes as I just presumed they didn't have them. I will look tomorrow. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

As I mentioned before new to all this lark ...my new moan is both girls and lads taking selfies like posing mid reps..I have noticed nearly every person under 30 stops a number of times to pose for selfies or for photos taken by others..
    Another thing I have noticed is in the class studio (lots of mirrors) people have started to pose...like both men and women stripping down to underwear and throwing all sorts of shapes..now I know some guys are doing shows and might need to practice posing...but it's very off putting when some lads and girls are bouncing around nearly in the nip... am I just showing my age or is normal gym behaviour 😮😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

What gym are you in? How much is membership?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

Totally normal in my gym to see guys and girls practicing for shows in the studios in small gym gear shorts sports bra sometimes in the stage gear (thong banana hammock and bikini top) don't have a problem with it to be honest.
    The photo thing I don't care about either, as long as it's not interfering with my workout each to their own. I know for me my selfies and posting my workouts held me accountable when I was on a big weight loss effort, it really helped keep me focused. Each to their own like...

Dtp1979 wrote: »

A set of handwraps is your best friend here - extra protection for the wrist/knuckles on top of the hygiene benefits - they'll absorb majority of the sweat and wash and dry in no time.

Of course, best solution is to buy your own pair of gloves - cheap as chips and you only have to worry about your own sweaty hands in them then!

A set of handwraps is your best friend here - extra protection for the wrist/knuckles on top of the hygiene benefits - they'll absorb majority of the sweat and wash and dry in no time.

Of course, best solution is to buy your own pair of gloves - cheap as chips and you only have to worry about your own sweaty hands in them then!

Sound, I'll get handwraps. I've bought myself a pair gloves but didn't see anyone else bring their own in. So I'll just bring my own and handwraps will keep mine clean :) thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sound, I'll get handwraps. I've bought myself a pair gloves but didn't see anyone else bring their own in. So I'll just bring my own and handwraps will keep mine clean :) thanks

Use Fabreeze spray and give the insides a squirt on occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

To the guy doing dumbbell flys on the cable row machine today:
    giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

Same as the bar with I'm deadlifting, it has to line up with whatever straight lines are on the floor

I thought it was just me that did that, I feel better now I know I'm not the only one. :pac:

Nate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭caviardreams

I was probably engaging in annoying gym behaviour myself today :o

Guy using the leg curl machine, left it absolutely covered in sweat, no towel with him etc. He moved to the machine right beside it and I went to use the leg curl. It was so manky looking I went over to get towels and spray to clean it myself and then I actually went over to the guy and said "sorry, do you mind wiping the machines with a towel when you're finished, thanks". It's not really my place to say it I know, and probably just better to let these things go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭The Caveman

This is something that probably annoys only me.

in my gym, there is this 40ish aged guy, that comes in 06:30 each morning, same time as me. I have been seeing him for the last 18 months.

he does 1 set, quite light weights, and, than sits there, doing nothing for... the same time it takes me to do 3 sets...

i am actually using him as my timer, to see how many sets i can do, before he does the next one.

than, as he finishes his set, he will get up, walk to the water fountain, and, sit down again, just staring at himself in the mirror.

My record is 6 sets, and i just started the 7th, and he woke up.

My wife an i call him the statue...

and, he looks exactly like he did on day 1...He gets up, goes to the gym, and basically do nothing,

I was probably engaging in annoying gym behaviour myself today :o

Guy using the leg curl machine, left it absolutely covered in sweat, no towel with him etc. He moved to the machine right beside it and I went to use the leg curl. It was so manky looking I went over to get towels and spray to clean it myself and then I actually went over to the guy and said "sorry, do you mind wiping the machines with a towel when you're finished, thanks". It's not really my place to say it I know, and probably just better to let these things go...

You know what's annoying? People leaving out the important bit at the end of their stories! How did he react?
    and, he looks exactly like he did on day 1...He gets up, goes to the gym, and basically do nothing,

"Oh I tried working out, it didn't do anything for me! Load of nonsense."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Zillah wrote: »
    You know what's annoying? People leaving out the important bit at the end of their stories! How did he react?

:D:D

He actually just looked up and went "oh right", and that was it.

I did feel a bit like a school teacher, or a ranty aul' one (I'm not that old yet :D) or something afterwards :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

When I got to the gym on Thursday I found out - to my horror! - that the bench press had been moved slightly...

29709692920_2203b41e5a_c.jpg20160927_102410 by burgomeister08, on Flickr

It used to line up perfectly... now I need a new gym, obviously...

Your gym looks like a spaceship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

Very fancy lighting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭JJayoo

in my gym, there is this 40ish aged guy, that comes in 06:30 each morning, same time as me. I have been seeing him for the last 18 months.

he does 1 set, quite light weights, and, than sits there, doing nothing for... the same time it takes me to do 3 sets...

i am actually using him as my timer, to see how many sets i can do, before he does the next one.

than, as he finishes his set, he will get up, walk to the water fountain, and, sit down again, just staring at himself in the mirror.

You sound very insecure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭The Caveman

JJayoo wrote: »
    You sound very insecure

no, not insecure, but, i am guilty of judging people.

what is the difference between my friend mentioned above,and somebody who go to school, for a whole year, attending class each day, but, only open and close 1 book, dont right a single thing down, and a year later, he is still on page 1, chapter 1.

I go to the gym to work out. I am not the biggest guy in my gym, but, i am 1.9m, 104Kg, and, and i am not fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

give yourself 18 more months and you wont notice him anymore.

Use to see guys (always guys) in gyms all the time. Yes its great hes out there moving etc but jesus move it along a little. trainer should help him out to make his gym session even just a little bit more productive.

He'd probably say hes grand doing what he wants and he'd be right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Todd Toddington III

no, not insecure, but, i am guilty of judging people.

what is the difference between my friend mentioned above,and somebody who go to school, for a whole year, attending class each day, but, only open and close 1 book, dont right a single thing down, and a year later, he is still on page 1, chapter 1.

I go to the gym to work out. I am not the biggest guy in my gym, but, i am 1.9m, 104Kg, and, and i am not fat.

Ha, I've no idea how tall 1.9m is:) Showing my age!