If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin is an unadulterated kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Liamario

North side of the Liffey is most definitely a kip to be fair. Saying that it's a kip due to the amount of sub standard humans walking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Why do culchies just hang around Middle Abbey St and complain about Junkies?

The nicer parts of the city are south of the river - College Green, Dame St, Nassau St, Dawson St, Stephens Green, Baggot St, Merrion Sq, Fitzwilliam Sq, Suffolk/Wicklow/South William, Georges St up to Wexford St and the Villages just outside the Canal - Rathmines, Ranelagh & Ballsbridge. This is a large region not populated by crappy retail, in fact the shops are too high-end in most of it, for some ethnic streetfood goodness walk the 100 metres over to Capel St.

Its not 1970 anymore lads, cities change. The north centre of the city is best avoided until the authorities finally decide to sort it out. Which wont be today or tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Liamario

The north centre of the city is best avoided until the authorities finally decide to sort it out. Which wont be today or tomorrow.

Friday then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It's just funny how Dublin residents live in a bubble thinking their city is above and beyond everything else in Ireland.
    Senna wrote: »
    Do Dublin people really believe their city is pretty much the same as every capital city.
    No they certainly do not all think that, anyone who think they do is an ignorant provocative cunt. Mind numbing shite as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

The one half decent conference that they were getting- the Web Summit-they couldn't even hang on to. I mean who wants to be fleeced for tripping over junkies and lousy broadband?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    I found Cork way, way worse for junkies than Dublin when I lived there.

Sir, I fear you may have simply misunderstood the local accent, which can be extremely misleading for the unwary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

Another problem with Dublin is that you can't walk from one end to the other without people coming up and asking for money.

That must be very intimidating for tourists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Chuggers are everywhere, not just Dublin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Chuggers are everywhere, not just Dublin.

I'm not talking Chuggers. Its the "here bud have you got a couple of euro" type of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

As a capital city which has got the highest income in the state by some distance Dublin can only be considered a hole. Imagine Finland or Norway having such a shabby gateway to the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Simon2015 wrote: »
    A friend of mine had a syringe pulled on him in Dublin city centre I hardly call that friendly.

Well I did witness one being ever so helpful to inform a group of tourists in Tallaght, that the ticket machine at the Luas stop wasn't working, and politely asked if he could have the money instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,129 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Well I did witness one being ever so helpful to inform a group of tourists in Tallaght, that the ticket machine at the Luas stop wasn't working, and politely asked if he could have the money instead.

Wallet Inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Simon2015 wrote: »
    A friend of mine had a syringe pulled on him in Dublin city centre I hardly call that friendly.

I doubt this happened.

Joe prim wrote: »
    Sir, I fear you may have simply misunderstood the local accent, which can be extremely misleading for the unwary.

I wish. :pac: Nah, zombies everywhere!

Ah here's the aul "we're not as bad as other places" spiel that is brought out time and time again, as if that makes it better.

WTF? He's right, the people bitching about Dublin probably live somewhere no better and likely worse. I find people bitching about the capital city of their country so embarrassingly parochial. I thought the same when I lived in the UK and people would be bad-mouthing London all the time. And I'm not from Dublin, I'm from the rural west of Ireland.

Dublin is the liveliest place to live in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

I would call Dublin a lot of things, but one word I'd never use is "unadulterated"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Just seen something on an Irish tadio stations FB page from today of a young child getting stuck by a discarded needle on a Dublin bus...
    Not the first time this has happened if memory serves me right.
    Grand place alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

djflawless wrote: »
    Just seen something on an Irish tadio stations FB page from today of a young child getting stuck by a discarded needle on a Dublin bus...
    Not the first time this has happened if memory serves me right.
    Grand place alright...

http://theoutspokenpost.com/2015/07/01/security-on-dublin-bus/

Claaaaaaaasy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    I doubt this happened.

I'm the first to defend Dublin but this CAN happen. Happened to me once, on Talbot Street at 6.30am-ish. Was on my way to work and stupidly took the shorter route up Talbot Street.

That said, I've been 'accosted' more times in Limerick in a year of living there, than I have been in 15 years in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,524 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

To be honest if I was a bus driver I might think twice before challenging a bunch of feral teens in Ballyfermot (for example) who got on the bus because an old person happened to be at the stop too.

A bit invidious to ask one bus driver to be a tough guy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

I haven't been in the Pale since 07, it is full of pretentious clowns and culchies acting the maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I haven't been in the Pale since 07, it is full of pretentious clowns and culchies acting the maggot.

We missed you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,912 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I haven't been in the Pale since 07

So, like most of the people posting here, you haven't a notion what it's like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,524 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Erm, You realize that Clonee is in County Meath and Bray is in Wicklow right?

The reason why people are always trying to lump rougher areas of surrounding counties in with Dublin, and complaining about it being such a kip, but never with the likes of say, Westmeath: bitterness.

And it's glorious. Utterly, utterly glorious! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Billy86 wrote: »
    The reason why people are always trying to lump rougher areas of surrounding counties in with Dublin, and complaining about it being such a kip, but never with the likes of say, Westmeath: bitterness.

And it's glorious. Utterly, utterly glorious! :D

Leinster/The Pale < Whesht is besht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,494 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Dublin is a kip, full of junkies, lying bastid politicians and seagulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,148 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Happy out in Dublin. Great spot. Cannot be beaten no matter what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭booooring!

Happy out in Dublin. Great spot. Cannot be beaten no matter what.

Its a complete and utter kip compared to all the other beautiful cities, towns and villages around Ireland.