Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin is an unadulterated kip

• 21-09-2015 6:45pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭

Not my words, but the spoken gospel of the €300k+ pa taxpayer-funded Joe Duffy himself.
    "The city is being turned into pound shops, banks are now housing fast-food restaurants, Go around to Parnell Street; Peat's Electronics is now dead. A liquidation store is now there for Clery's."

Is proud sal o de eart dubliner Duffy correct?
    Why has Bord Fáilte not cottoned on to this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

snubbleste wrote: »
    Not my words, but the spoken gospel of the €300k+ pa taxpayer-funded Joe Duffy himself.
    "The city is being turned into pound shops, banks are now housing fast-food restaurants, Go around to Parnell Street; Peat's Electronics is now dead. A liquidation store is now there for Clery's."

Joe must have been talking to Kermit

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Nah, he was talking to the nation from his cushy throne in Montrose

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭custard gannet

The loss of Cleary's is sad, but banks? God yes, banks really bring a tear to my Dublin in the rare oul times eye with all the good they did for this country fueling the property bubble :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 29,083 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Nah, he was talking to the nation from his cushy throne in Montrose
    He was actually shouting at/over one of his callers - you know, one of those people who make his show what it is (God help us all).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Do you think they're missing a trick for a catchy ad campaign?

"Get to Dublin, it's a kip that's worth the trip!"

"Dublin - bag o'sh*te but the price is right!"

"Up the Dubs (and the rent and the cost of living!)"

"Dublin: Come for the unadulterated kip, stay because your wallet was robbed and you can't afford to get home."

• Registered Users Posts: 28,395 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Valetta wrote: »
    Joe must have been talking to Kermit

They ever been seen in the same room together?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Heard that today alright, couldn't stop laughing to myself.

Some days I almost feel sorry for you, citizens of the capital.

Almost.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,279 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Can't be a kip. We have some galleries and museums. And Sam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

endacl wrote: »
    You argue with Joe, huh huh?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Ho hum - there are many, many places on this earth that are much worse than Dublin.
    Try living in Castlerea.

endacl wrote: »
    And pretty soon they'll be poundshops Enda! Pound shops!

And you can't even spend a feckin pound in them

• Registered Users Posts: 29,083 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

You argue with Joe, huh huh?!!
    You'd want to make sure your volume is set to the max!

katemarch wrote: »
    Ho hum - there are many, many places on this earth that are much worse than Dublin.
    Try living in Castlerea.

Love the wiki photo for Castlerea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Not Peat's Electronics!!!!!!

The answer to the main street of the capital being dominated by fast food shops and the like seems to be to introduce soulless foreign store dominated shopping centres around its environs. Personally, I'd prefer it stay as is.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Dublin is grand relative to most other European cities really. It seems mainly Dubs themselves that look at the negatives before considering the positives

But that's pretty standard fare wherever you go. Even in places like Amsterdam and San Francisco you'll find locals that couldn't have a lower opinion of their cities.

The other arse is always cleaner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

He's right, it is a kip. I'd still rather live in this kip than in any other part of Ireland though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

And pretty soon they'll be poundshops Enda! Pound shops!

And you can't even spend a feckin pound in them

The Foriegners Joe, they robbed the pounds joe.

Terrible, terrible, awful, ahh jaysus help us

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Dublin 1 is a kip. Dublin 2, 4 & 6 are very nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Yeah it's a kip

But it's our kip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

The economy is recovering. All the ****ty shops are starting to be replaced with restaurants, shops and cafes. Most of the areas he is talking about are scheduled to be turned into a shopping centre. Its like looking at a building site and giving out there is nothing on it yet.

Look at NYC. Time square was full of porn cinemas in the 1970s/1980s. They almost closed the subway as it was so run down. It was one of the most unpleasant places to live in America. Now its been slowly redeveloped into one of the most desirable cities in the World to live in.

Dublin has so rough parts. But the city is slowly getting better. Eg Capel Street was a kip 10 years ago. Now its full of decent bars and Restaurants. Dublin 2 is one of the nicest urban places in Ireland. It has excellent shopping, bars and restaurants.

Saying all of Dublin is a kip is complete sensualist BS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

" I know, I know, I know, I know..."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

It's seen worse days. Back in the 70's and 80's it made places like Beirut look homely by comparison. Now it's just a bit tacky. But then again, so is much of the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

The rare auld times of budget electronic stores and a 4 different multinational bank branches on every street corner.

We'll not see the likes of it again Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Maybe it's time to elect Rudy Giuliani as Lord Mayor.

" I know, I know, I know, I know..."
    *audible sigh*

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

It's like asking a scumbag "are you a scumbag?".
    Of course people from Dublin don't think it's a kip, but it really is.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

It isn't as swanky as some cities but it isn't a complete dump. I think the real issue is that Dublin city centre could be better than it currently is, there is undoubtedly a lot of tatty shops and vacant buildings but then again right now we have are crawling out of a recession and have a serious issue surrounding rents of commercial properties in the city centre which are both contributing factors which need to be dealt with. It is also important that individual shops and retailers are helped along otherwise the city will end up like London with the same shops cafes and restaurants in every part of the city.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

My opinion of Dublin would definitely go up if the good citizens put Joe Duffy into stockades on Stephens Green for a fortnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

If they tackled the drugs and homeless problems dublin would be fine. There has been a huge decline in the city centre since the recession, no one can deny that!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

If they tackled the drugs and homeless problems dublin would be fine. There has been a huge decline in the city centre since the recession, no one can deny that!

Junkies have ruined the city centre over recent years. Unsurprisingly at the same time when Garda resources have be slashed. Greater powers need to be given to Gardai to help them tackle this problem, unfortunately it does mean a new modern prison be built, but that goes for all criminality in the country, as prisons are over crowded and criminals cannot be housed and thus walk the streets with suspended sentences.

Glazers Out!