Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin is an unadulterated kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I like to draw a comparison with my inner monologue of these Dublin bashers, with how Alan Partridge describes London.

"..people of Norwich are warmer of heart than their bitter London counterparts, with their negative equity and their stab wounds.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Bray? Dun Laoghaire? Tallaght? Deansgrange? the Clons - Clonshaughlin, Clondalkin, Clonee, Palmerstown, Crumlin - a lot of this city is a total kip. You wouldnt park uour car for a cappucchino anywhere there. Drive on Jeeves. dublin is a dump.

Bray and Dun Laoghaire are fine for gods sake. I live in Bray and it's safe as can be. The way you go on you'd swear crime was rife or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

I think a lot of people over-exaggerate the junkie problem

Are you having a laugh??? Please tell me you are.

I've been in cities all over the world and never seen a city which even remotely compares to the plethora of scags in this city. And it appears to be getting worse. They have full free reign of this city and can pester whoever they wish, whenever they wish, wherever they wish, all without fear of retribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

As someone being born and bred in London, and who moved to the NW of Ireland, I used to enjoy getting the bus or train down to the big smoke, to get my City fix. Walking down from Bus Arus or Connolly down Abbey Street on to Oconnell St, seeing some of the old statues, the tree lined pavements, the side streets, the hustle and bustle of Henry St and Moore St. Tbh it was was like a smaller City of London, or one of its suburban towns. If the weather was a little better, you would have almost thought you were somewhere on the continent.

Then one day, I crossed the river, and discovered this other part of Dublin, Graften Street, College Green, and its other side streets to explore, I would never get all this in on my few hour day trip a few times a year.

Then one fatefull day, some group of bright sparks decided to remove all character from Oconnell St, and stick a great big bloody spike right in the middle of it. Then over the years, all those streets suddenly became a gauntlet, the character and friendliness slowly disappeared to be replaced by people burying their heads, not wanting to look up, having to keep a grip on both your pockets and sences for fear of pick pockets and druggies alike. Not feeling you were quite safe until you got across the river, and you seen those beautiful trees and buildings that once graced the Street you just escaped.

Coincidently, things also got worse when after they built Luas Red Line, not saying the de characterisation and a semi decent introduction of a new transport system was to blame, but when the people you are trying to avoid, are now sharing the same tight space, it's not a friendly sight for new arrivals to our once great Capital.

Now I don't even like visiting Graften St, as the gauntlet there is the ever present sandwich board holders and chugger ever few steps, where burying your head and having your headphones in doesn't even help.

Now I just go there for Lansdowne Road, or Croke Park, or by pass it totally for the Airport.

Cant really comment on its Suburban areas other than Tallaght, but then that's for another thread altogether. I'm sure there are some nice spots, Dundrum and Rathfaram look alright from the few times I have visited friends, but then what tourists are going to go there unless visiting friends and family too.

Hopefully the Dublin I remembered might return some day, or maybe I am just looking though a Childs eyes, or in my case, someone who was once looking for adventure, and something new, and only saw change for the worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Love this escape to the Southsoide narrative people have going on when Westmoreland St, and Tara street are the two worst parts of the city for junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

KungPao wrote: »

Or be beaten up or worse as you are different? See Eastern Europe/Russia

The world is a crazy place. Dublin is grand.

Living in Poland and having travelled quite extensively in eastern Europe I can safely say that you're talking out yer arse. Full of stereotypes, the countries get very bad press.

Dublin on the other hand deserves it. Feel much safer in Cork or Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,883 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

He's right, it is a kip. I'd still rather live in this kip than in any other part of Ireland though.

Believe me we would prefer if all Dubs remained in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Bray and Dun Laoghaire are fine for gods sake. I live in Bray and it's safe as can be. The way you go on you'd swear crime was rife or something.

Bray isn't even in Dublin? It's a kip, just not one in Dublin! Safe though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

There is a lot more to dublin than the city centre and in general i think it is a great place. A bit deadly in parts, but generally great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Born and raised in Dublin, been here all my life and parts of it are a kip, junkies are a major problem no longer confined to alleys or derelict buildings, the inject openly without sanctions, crime is rife, attacks are a daily occurrence, I've seen people assaulted, I've been the victim of a assault, a mugging, I've been held up in work and pick pocketed. I love my city and I love it's people, this is my home and I want to feel proud of it but something has to happen to sort the problems out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

chrissb8 wrote: »
    I live in Bray and it's safe as can be.

Bad timing to make that statement as this appeared today
    http://www.thejournal.ie/attack-eva-sutton-bray-2344948-Sep2015/

I know, I know, it happens everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Well I was waiting for the Number 1 bus today and say a bird with fantastic jabs.

So its not all that bad.

ebbsy wrote: »
    Well I was waiting for the Number 1 bus today and say a bird with fantastic jabs.

So its not all that bad.

I find it amusing the odd time I go to Dublin watching all those people crammed into buses, I haven't been on a bus since I was a kid, so quaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,962 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Bray? Dun Laoghaire? Tallaght? Deansgrange? the Clons - Clonshaughlin, Clondalkin, Clonee, Palmerstown, Crumlin - a lot of this city is a total kip. You wouldnt park uour car for a cappucchino anywhere there. Drive on Jeeves. dublin is a dump.

Erm, You realize that Clonee is in County Meath and Bray is in Wicklow right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,835 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

snubbleste wrote: »
    Not my words, but the spoken gospel of the €300k+ pa taxpayer-funded Joe Duffy himself.
    "The city is being turned into pound shops, banks are now housing fast-food restaurants, Go around to Parnell Street; Peat's Electronics is now dead. A liquidation store is now there for Clery's."

Is proud sal o de eart dubliner Duffy correct?
    Why has Bord Fáilte not cottoned on to this?

he's a bit right

O Connell street and its environs are horrendous

However cross the river and it's a different story. The council and gardai are standing by as the north inner city wastes away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,835 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Dun Laoghaire?

seriously?

Dun Laoghaire is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

Southside is fine. Capel St is a good example of how the northside could be decent.

P.S. Nobody cares about the opinions of dopey Culchies

Southside is fine. Capel St is a good example of how the northside could be decent.

Culchies are so dopey that they even pay less for housing,drink,car insurance, home insurance, parking,etc etc, I mean how dopey is that!

Sure that only reflects their earning potential.

They pay less for that ****e because nobody wants to live in culchieland and theres no demand for any of it. Things in Dublin are expensive because everyone wants to live here. But dont worry, we'll continue subsidising your horrible hovels despite you being bitter lemons.

In fairness, there's many places in 'culchie' land that I'd like to live in.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

While being subsidised by the inhabitants of Dublin, Cork...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

And the pissing competition starts!

Wibbs wrote: »
    While being subsidised by the inhabitants of Dublin, Cork...

Oh!, so thats what those folk walking around in pyjamas and tracksuits at 11 in the morning in Tallaght and Ballymun are doing. subsidising us!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Dublin is like anywhere else....there are nice parts and not so nice parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Well this culchie was going to chip in and defend Dublin but then I saw this. Some of you Dubs really have a chip on your shoulders. People in this country complain about every single place, from Limerick to Leitrim.

But the second a non Dub mentions Dublin -- some of ye just can't take it. I like Dublin, I do -- but it's head is just as far up it's arse as any other part of Ireland.

Lastly, Dublin people don't seem to know what a culchie is. If you grow up in a suburb (like most Irish do) then your not a real culchie. Your a townie.

People from the likes of Ballina, Athlone ect.. wouldn't even qualify as culchies *gasp!!* -- let alone Cork or Limerick city.

Oh!, so thats what those folk walking around in pyjamas and tracksuits at 11 in the morning in Tallaght and Ballymun are doing. subsidising us!.

Tallaght and Ballymun most certainly are subsidising the bogger lifestyle. Unfortunately part of the condition of being a cuchie troglodyte is not understanding basic economics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,505 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Dublin is an unadulterated kip....
    With a load of all-ireland medals and the sam. It should be enough for people to ignore the pound shops for a while.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Well this culchie was going to chip in and defend Dublin but then I saw this. Some of you Dubs really have a chip on your shoulders. People in this country complain about every single place, from Limerick to Leitrim.

But the second a non Dub mentions Dublin -- some of ye just can't take it. I like Dublin, I do -- but it's head is just as far up it's arse as any other part of Ireland.

Lastly, Dublin people don't seem to know what a culchie is. If you grow up in a suburb (like most Irish do) then your not a real culchie. Your a townie.

People from the likes of Ballina, Athlone ect.. wouldn't even qualify as culchies *gasp!!* -- let alone Cork or Limerick city.

Well there's someone who took a post waaay to serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Tallaght and Ballymun most certainly are subsidising the bogger lifestyle. Unfortunately part of the condition of being a cuchie troglodyte is not understanding basic economics.

We don't understand basic economics do we not?

Why pay for something when you can some other eejit to pay for it for you?

How basic is that? :p