Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin is an unadulterated kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,466 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I'm willing to bet Tallaght has more multinationals based in it than any other backwoods sh*thole down the country, despite any pyjama wearing denizens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

The majority of them are though. It's a nice spot but all the riff raff from Dublin like to venture down here and cause trouble which tarnishes Brays reputation.
    Baldy Paddy & co.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,887 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Tallaght and Ballymun most certainly are subsidising the bogger lifestyle. Unfortunately part of the condition of being a cuchie troglodyte is not understanding basic economics.

My apologies, I gues you're right. What we need is a Dublin minister for Finance, maybe like Bertie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

People from the likes of Ballina, Athlone ect.. wouldn't even qualify as culchies *gasp!!* -- let alone Cork or Limerick city.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,887 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Ush1 wrote: »
    I'm willing to bet Tallaght has more multinationals based in it than any other backwoods sh*thole down the country, despite any pyjama wearing denizens.

You might be right, there probably are more minimum rate paying jobs in Tallaght and Ballymun than elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

no need for that all of us no matter where we live really are truly lucky and blessed to live on this island. Dublin is a wonderful city I dont get it when we bash ourselves I really dont take a look around the world. then take a look at what we have aint so bad is it. that goes for anywhere in the country. I wouldnt want to live anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Edited for accuracy.

Horrible dive of a place full of deeply unpleasant people.
    & you've lived in Sherrif Street for how long exactly?

You know nothing of the place or the people there, you're just displaying your biased ignorance :mad:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    & you've lived in Sherrif Street for how long exactly?

You know nothing of the place or the people there, you're just displaying your biased ignorance :mad:

In fairness a portion of Sheriff street keeps on going on fire for no apparent reason these days, it's not the best area in the world :D

You might be right, there probably are more minimum rate paying jobs in Tallaght and Ballymun than elsewhere.

Likely yes, because as I've said, there is more industry. Hence more tax revenue generated etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Love this escape to the Southsoide narrative people have going on when Westmoreland St, and Tara street are the two worst parts of the city for junkies.

Temple Bar is full of utter dirtballs all the time too. It's hilarious saying D2 is some sort of haven. I work in it and walk around it every day and it's as bad as anywhere in the city. Also see the amount of beatings and people killed late at night as a result in the area in the past few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

snubbleste wrote: »
    Not my words, but the spoken gospel of the €300k+ pa taxpayer-funded Joe Duffy himself.
    "The city is being turned into pound shops, banks are now housing fast-food restaurants, Go around to Parnell Street; Peat's Electronics is now dead. A liquidation store is now there for Clery's."

Is proud sal o de eart dubliner Duffy correct?
    Why has Bord Fáilte not cottoned on to this?

Joe Duffy is a semi literate untalented DJ earning well well above what he should get. I'd be surprised if he got his point across coherently enough for it to be understood.

I've been to cities all over the world and rarely have I seen this kind of crap happen. Disgraceful.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/two-teenage-girls-brutally-assault-woman-in-broad-daylight-for-her-2-penneys-umbrella-31540345.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,138 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

sully2010 wrote: »
    I've been to cities all over the world and rarely have I seen this kind of crap happen. Disgraceful.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/two-teenage-girls-brutally-assault-woman-in-broad-daylight-for-her-2-penneys-umbrella-31540345.html

Why didn't you help if you were there?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

sully2010 wrote: »

Did you see that particular incident happen, or just read about it? Are you in the habit of reading newspapers which record what's going on in other cities? There are very few cities in the world without some level of violent crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

The way things are going, it seems to me the time is ripe for the return of....

The_Citizen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

Dublin must also be one of the most lawless cites in Europe. I can't think of any other city were you would see Junkies shooting up on the steps outside of court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,869 ✭✭✭Calibos

Bray is not without its problems and is rough around the edges sometimes both figuratively and literally, but for the 9th largest urban area in the country after Dublin, Cork, Limerick, Galway, Waterford, Dundalk, Drogheda and Swords, it has if anything lower crime than areas or towns of similar geographical size and population. What it does have is an image problem which to my mind has several causes. It has grown a lot in the last few decades but people still have this picture in their head of a small seaside town and they've likely only seen a small part of it when out daytripping back in the day. ie. The Seafront to Mainstreet area. They now read about crime in Bray in newspapers and online and imagine its all happening in this 'little seaside town' of their memory. Concentrated criminality. They don't realise we've grown to a town of 32,000 people and cover an area the size of Dun Laoghaire to Dalkey to Cabinteely to DeansGrange and back to Dun Laoghaire with Sallynoggin in the middle.

Crime per capita and area is actually less here in Bray than most other places. People also likely visited on a Sunny Summer weekend when they were surrounded by teens with bags of cans on their way to set fire to Bray Head creating a certain vibe on the seafront. For some reason they seem to assume these are all locals and homegrown and any issues they see and turn their nose up at are a 7 day a week 52 weeks a year issue for Bray. THEY CAME OUT ON THE SAME DART AS YOU! Finally got proof of this when Ianrod Eireann closed Dart Services every weekend for the entire Summer of 2006 for major line maintenance. Dublins finest had to find new playgrounds that Summer and they never came back en masse. The cycle was broken. Now you have videos posted on youtube called, "Howth/Portmarnock Riot 2009,2011,2012,2013" etc These kids older siblings and parents are what gave Bray most of its bad image since the early 80's.

Ever since the seafront area has become gentrified and is packed every weekend Winter or Summer, not with knacks but with thousands of well behaved families of old and new Irish, walkers, dog walkers, joggers, picnicers, foreign students etc Cafe Culture and Restaurants popping up. Investment and confidence to invest is increasing its just unlucky that this change in visitor demographic came around the same time as the economic crash so investment is happening slower than we'd like. Brays image problem has caused a lack of pride and confidence locally and a lack of investment from within and without for the last few decades. The recent economy has made progress slow but change is happening. Think about moving to Bray now while prices are still lower than Dublin because I guarantee it wont always be like that. There aren't many towns with the amenities that Bray has within the town and with the Wicklow mountains on our doorstep and yet at the same time right next door to the capital connected to the motorway network, Dart to the City and likely Luas Green Line in another few years. In the grand scheme of things its a fabulous town albeit underinvested in and not yet meeting its full potential but I wouldn't live anywhere else. Get in here before you are priced out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Wibbs wrote: »
    While being subsidised by the inhabitants of Dublin, Cork...

Who in turn are subsidised by the inhabitants of London, Frankfurt... :pac:

Absolute sh!te. I'll take your bet, send your shirt in the post.

Having not lived in Dublin for a while, I'd forgotten how many up there have (imo) a staggering ignorance of the rest of the country. Was up for work a few weeks ago and got talking to a woman there, apparently she'd no idea that there were motorways outside of Dublin! Must be sad living in a little bubble that ends at the furthest Dublin Bus stops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Reiver wrote: »
    Dublin on the other hand deserves it. Feel much safer in Cork or Galway.

I found Cork way, way worse for junkies than Dublin when I lived there.

c_man wrote: »
    Absolute sh!te. I'll take your bet, send your shirt in the post.

Having not lived in Dublin for a while, I'd forgotten how many up there have (imo) a staggering ignorance of the rest of the country. Was up for work a few weeks ago and got talking to a woman there, apparently she'd no idea that there were motorways outside of Dublin! Must be sad living in a little bubble that ends at the furthest Dublin Bus stops.

What's ****e? Okay, so how many regional towns have more multinationals than Tallaght and list them please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

What's ****e? Okay, so how many regional towns have more multinationals than Tallaght and list them please.

Where can I find a list of the multinationals in Tallaght? How many does it actually have?

PARlance wrote: »
    Why didn't you help if you were there?

Who ever said I was there?? hence the link to get he newspaper article. Typical no brained response

andrew wrote: »
    Did you see that particular incident happen, or just read about it? Are you in the habit of reading newspapers which record what's going on in other cities? There are very few cities in the world without some level of violent crime.

Oh sorry Mr moderator Sir! I stated what I said, its also a fact that Ireland and the UK have some of the highest rates of drink and drugs related violent crime in Europe and more than Australia and Canada. Google it because im not going to do it for you and anyone who can't see the state Dublin has become with junkies and drunken idiots is blind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Menas wrote: »
    And the pissing competition starts!

If the competition is to be held in front of a live audience Dublin will definitely win. We are the public urination capital of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

I hate going into town. Moore St full of robbers and junkies, Ilac centre the same. One threatened to take my iphone, (I dont have one), then she said she was going to get me punched. This is in the middle or Eurogeneral Moore St.

All because I roared at her to not forget to pay for all the stuff in her jacket :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

If the competition is to be held in front of a live audience Dublin will definitely win. We are the public urination capital of Ireland.

Do they still have the blue lights in the jacks at Bus Arus? Otherwise would have to find some that are not patroled by burely security guards or rent a cops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭booooring!

Its a kip compared to other small towns, large towns and cities in Ireland. Its an actual dump the whole of Dublin City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Lord PuppyMcSnuggle of Cuddleshire

Dublin is grand because some other city is worse. Lets not have any standards or aspirations beyond what other countries are doing.
    I really hate this bar-lowering mentality. It's like someone who won't get a job pointing at his junkie cousin and going "Well what about him?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,253 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

c_man wrote: »
    she'd no idea that there were motorways outside of Dublin!

You must think you're in conspiracy theories. Motorways outside Dublin...huummmfff ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Simon2015 wrote: »
    Dublin must also be one of the most lawless cites in Europe. I can't think of any other city were you would see Junkies shooting up on the steps outside of court.

Every city has them, it's just more noticeable in Dublin because they're in the city centre. Most other Euro cities can contain them to their rough sections.