Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Golf Society - Captains Prize, 19th Sept, 2pm, Fota Island, Deerpark Course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Once no on mentions Old oak or that other big yolk to start I'm happy.

Start in a nice old mans bar.

This has the castle inn written all over it. Although they would probably get a heart attack if they seen more than 10 walk in at once. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,758 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

kiers47 wrote: »
    This has the castle inn written all over it. Although they would probably get a heart attack if they seen more than 10 walk in at once. :D

I love the Castle Inn

Stuff like

Costigans
    Porterhouse
    Courthouse
    Chateau
    Mutton Lane
    The Oval
    Franciscan

Anyway - may be something near hotel - calm to start ?

I love the Castle Inn

Stuff like

Costigans
    Porterhouse
    Courthouse
    Chateau
    Mutton Lane

Some good shouts there.
    An Bodhran, Hi-Bee, Sober Lane
    Some great bars on mcurtain st but its miles away. Sin e is class!

Some good shouts there.

Is there anything above near hotel - that wouldn't be as busy to start.

What time will it be we will be at hotel ?

Is there anything above near hotel - that wouldn't be as busy to start.

What time will it be we will be at hotel ?

Not sure about near there. Thirsty Scholar was pretty close but i think thats closed now.

Costigans would only be .5k away

Cool.

Maybe Shauna has a plan that would suit grumpy old men :P
    Who want to talk about shanks and missed putts for 1 hour.

But is it any harm to say - get to hotel.

May be a plan after , but meet and gather in Costigans to start ?

Then have 2 hours there - then hit the crap.

Some good shouts there.

Was just thinking Kiers - this is a bunch of golfers.

Lads who go out and cry about the slightest imperfection and transgression.

Maybe some of the pubs mentioned lack the perfectly cut fringe :D:D:D:p:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Maybe Shauna has a plan that would suit grumpy old men Who want to talk about shanks and missed putts for 1 hour.

After 4 years of college in cork I have not had too many enperiences with those kinda pubs fix. However I'm sitting in deep south at the moment with a lovely pint in front of me and just finished a pulled pork burger and chips outa their food van in beer garden. Loads of room for us and definately a few quiet corners to discuss the good and bad points of the golf with who ever will listen :)

shaunac93 wrote: »
    After 4 years of college in cork I have not had too many enperiences with those kinda pubs fix. However I'm sitting in deep south at the moment with a lovely pint in front of me and just finished a pulled pork burger and chips outa their food van in beer garden. Loads of room for us and definately a few quiet corners to discuss the good and bad points of the golf with who ever will listen :)

Food in a pub - not a pub

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Food in a pub - not a pub

Oh but it is, great Guinness, craft beer and pretty much everthing u want on tap too :)

shaunac93 wrote: »
    Oh but it is, great Guinness, craft beer and pretty much everthing u want on tap too :)

Craft beer not a pub

:p:D

Anyway it will be grand.

Non of them ridiculous made up pub games this year.

Anyway

On a serious note , have not got over drive yet - and haven't a chance as it has done my head in.

Pity - as was in some form and was hitting last driver best I have ever hit it.

Looks like I'll never win one of these.

Looking forward to the pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

Once no on mentions Old oak or that other big yolk to start I'm happy.

Start in a nice old mans bar.

What, we're not starting in Rearden's??!! :pac::p

I swear .

I'll be off to Castle Inn alone.

Sure , a hour of golfers will do all.

:p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

I swear .

I'll be off to Castle Inn alone.

Sure , a hour of golfers will do all.

:p

No, I agree.

A gentle start, downhill par four slight dog-leg left.

Warm up properly before going for the green in two.

Course management.

Not a thing I have seen in spades at a Boards outing.

Lol

Handicap mgmt.

Lads I'm joking on this thread all week from now on.

End is near

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

Lads, if ye are looking for something authentic Cork start in Callanans on Sullivans Quay. A short stroll from your Hotel, not a Guinness tap to be seen but the best pint of Baymish (correct pronunciation whilst in the real Capital) in Ireland.

millerj wrote: »
    Lads, if ye are looking for something authentic Cork start in Callanans on Sullivans Quay. A short stroll from your Hotel, not a Guinness tap to be seen but the best pint of Baymish (correct pronunciation whilst in the real Capital) in Ireland.

Thanks for that .

I know I'm trying too hard.

But the best part of last year was when we went to a local for first 2 hours .

Just ourselves.

See we don't know each other that well.

So a few pints , golf talk and golf jokes is unique to our group.

Rhiana at 112 db is not what we need. ( well initially)

Start with a par 4 . No rough 332 yards from the forward wrong tees.

Lads if anyone bails out .

I can fill gaps.

My mates from Cork will play as guests.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

update

Time Player 1 Player 2 Player 3 Player 4
    14:00 Ben1977 ssbob Ciaranra
    14:10 kieran. a post punk O'Reilly Tony kiers47
    14:20 bobster453 ThecHamp26 Macker1 spacecoyote
    14:30 Barnaboy mafc shaunac93 dwd
    14:40 The Big Easy pistolpetes11 athlone99 ballyk
    14:50 princess poppy recycled tigerwood1 doublecross
    15:00 Golfgraffix paulos53 FixedePitchmark charlieIRL
    15:10 Keano RoadRunner 3putt Seve OB

• Registered Users Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

if the forecasters are right we're looking good for tomorrow:

17-18 degrees
    Sunny with the odd bit of cloud
    Gentle Southerly breeze

Sounds about perfect golf weather

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bobster453

if the forecasters are right we're looking good for tomorrow:

17-18 degrees
    Sunny with the odd bit of cloud
    Gentle Southerly breeze

Sounds about perfect golf weather

Now all we need is perfect golf :)

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭one man clappin

Best of luck to all playing tomorrow. Looking at your choice of venues this year, I am extremely jealous.

Hopefully my game will improve over the winter, and I will join ye for a few rounds.

I'm sure the committee have it all sorted.

And I see a few good men will be finished keeping house in order.

By the way - the likes of Space and Mafc are great men on the scores if the lads are busy (sorry to nominate (lol) )

But just to be clear again lads.

1) What tees are we playing
    2) How do we make sure that there are no card errors ?
    3) How can we help in this ?

We all finish up and are mad for the chat - and just sign stuff - I'm as bad as any.

But the day that is in it - it would be a disaster for an actual error.

Check and then check again with each other ?

Sorry lads not my place, but felt it was worth mentioning ?

Not the usual banter - maybe nerves ?

I'm going to try sleep for a change.

Was out this evening - and putting myself back in mix.

Driver not right - but game peaking .

I think I need a wine to relax me.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

Had planned to get to the range this evening, and try and get the swing into some sort of grove, instead I was on a 5 hr conference call with guys on the west coast of the US since 5pm. Just polished off a nice big glass of bush mills though, still not the prep I wanted for tomorrow :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

By the way - the likes of Space and Mafc are great men on the scores if the lads are busy (sorry to nominate (lol) )

We all finish up and are mad for the chat - and just sign stuff - I'm as bad as any.

Well I'm out with the first group, so I don't mind checking cards as they come in and sorting them,

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

I am really looking forward to the game tomorrow. Have been playing a lot of golf last few weeks so will either be completly wrecked or in the zone.

To anyone looking in from the sidelines, I am delighted that I took the plunge and joined the society this year. I was himming and hawing for too long. They are a great bunch of lads, very welcoming and not at all intimidating. There really are all sorts of golfers playing so if anyone is perched on my fence, as mr nike says - just do it!!

Thanks in advance to Seve and committee, for what I have no doubt, will ne a great day as always. Thankyou for the welcoming friendly spirit which runs through the group and very much thankyou for all your work

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

White
    Keep the cards tidy, some cards this year have had a lot of unnecessary stuff on them.