Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

Guys, can GoSafe vans detect no NCT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

vidor wrote: »

No they can't Vidor, just speed.
    The ANPR cameras can get you though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Anyone looking to go to C&C in Cherrywood today don't, all cordoned off by security. Apparently they don't want the cars there anymore

Jaysus good thing I slept in. Would have been some trip for nothing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Anyone looking to go to C&C in Cherrywood today don't, all cordoned off by security. Apparently they don't want the cars there anymore

That tells you everything you need to know about the attitude to cars in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

That tells you everything you need to know about the attitude to cars in this country.

Something tells me something had to have happened to make them do that. Even last week at the SqueakyClean show one of the Honda heads really lowered the tone and annoyed everyone by limiting his shed of an EG Civic. Luckily his reg was given to the Guards and Tesco so hopefully it won't be ruined for real enthusiasts. From my experience of car events, it's the Jap "Enthusiasts" that ruin them for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭BeatBoxing Blowfish

Something tells me something had to have happened to make them do that. Even last week at the SqueakyClean show one of the Honda heads really lowered the tone and annoyed everyone by limiting his shed of an EG Civic. Luckily his reg was given to the Guards and Tesco so hopefully it won't be ruined for real enthusiasts. From my experience of car events, it's the Jap "Enthusiasts" that ruin them for everyone.

That's a generalisation and as we all know all generalisations are right!

However it's a pretty crappy thing to have happened. I've been to a couple of C+C (not in my own car but with some friends) and it's a great event which normally in my experience passes off queitly with no "messing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Learning instructor shows how not to get involved :D

That's a generalisation and as we all know all generalisations are right!

However it's a pretty crappy thing to have happened. I've been to a couple of C+C (not in my own car but with some friends) and it's a great event which normally in my experience passes off queitly with no "messing"

It's a correct generalisation. Believe me, I know there's proper Jap Enthusiasts, I'm friends with a good few but it's the Jap "Enthusiasts" that are the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭BeatBoxing Blowfish

It's a correct generalisation. Believe me, I know there's proper Jap Enthusiasts, I'm friends with a good few but it's the Jap "Enthusiasts" that are the problem.

If you're making a distinction between John who has an R32 and Johnno who has a civic with a fartcan exhaust then I can agree :)

But those people exist in all fanboy categories.

If you're making a distinction between John who has an R32 and Johnno who has a civic with a fartcan exhaust then I can agree :)

But those people exist in all fanboy categories.

Pretty much the distinction I'm making alright, even last night I met a few lads to chat about cars in the local Topaz and who was there only some shady Corolla's with tinny exhausts revving their engines while parked up, the Guards drove by and they all sped off then, it's that kind of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

I'd like to thank whomever took the time to grab their keys from their pocket and gouge a nice little scratch in the passenger-side wing of my car at today's Cars and Coffee. Your efforts are greatly appreciated.

It did go ahead. People just parked in different places....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

vidor wrote:

Wow, your username is almost like mine. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Laads, anyone around north county dublin with a trailer/ recovery truck/ anything to move a car from swords to coolock with three burst tires. Will pay obvs

Anyone have these cables? MultiECUScan? FiatECUScan?

914cGm2WwHL._SL1500_.jpg

I need the red one for like 5 minutes, for... for science.

YbFocus wrote: »
    No they can't Vidor, just speed.
    The ANPR cameras can get you though.

Thanks. And the ANPR cameras, will they just automatically mean that a person will get x number of points and a fine? Or does it mean that the squad car stops you?

vidor wrote: »
    Thanks. And the ANPR cameras, will they just automatically mean that a person will get x number of points and a fine? Or does it mean that the squad car stops you?

I seen one operate in town, car passes by and obviously flagged on system, squad pulled straight out and had the car pulled in within 500m.

You'll be stopped.

On the topic of NCT... is there any advantage of doing it early, say 2 months before it's up?

And if it fails, you can still drive it, right?

I seen one operate in town, car passes by and obviously flagged on system, squad pulled straight out and had the car pulled in within 500m.

You'll be stopped.

Ah ok, thanks. NCT expires tomorrow but I can't get it serviced until Wednesday :/ And have zero other means to get to work.

So I take it a fine and points would have to be issued to me there and then by a Garda (as in I can't go around driving and clock up a load of points unknowingly)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

GvidoR wrote: »
    [...]

And if it fails, you can still drive it, right?
    Yes, you can. But if you (unlikely) get "fail - dangerous" - you can't.

What time would I expect you tomorrow, by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Best place for pressed plates anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Best place for pressed plates anyone?
    Front bumper. :D

joujoujou wrote: »
    Yes, you can. But if you (unlikely) get "fail - dangerous" - you can't.

What time would I expect you tomorrow, by the way?

About 19:00 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Getting a hang of this coolant leak. 1 coolant reservoir = 10 km :pac:

Hopefully it gets fixed properly tomorrow :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Lads, aircon making a "gurgling" noise after I turn the engine off. Lasts for a few minutes. Does that mean it needs a refill?

Pov06 wrote: »
    Getting a hang of this coolant leak. 1 coolant reservoir = 10 km :pac:

Hopefully it gets fixed properly tomorrow :)

That reminds me I used to carry a couple of liters of water in the back of my Bora. At one point it was scary how much it was pissing out, ran out of water about 4km away from the house.

Jesus. wrote: »
    Lads, aircon making a "gurgling" noise after I turn the engine off. Lasts for a few minutes. Does that mean it needs a refill?

It means your car is too high and you must lower it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

That reminds me I used to carry a couple of liters of water in the back of my Bora. At one point it was scary how much it was pissing out, ran out of water about 4km away from the house.

I'm leaving water drips all over the place. Every time I park it I can see wet drips all over the road :rolleyes:

It means your car is too high and you must lower it.

On that note I have some lovely coilovers arriving tomorrow :)

Pov06 wrote: »
    I'm leaving water drips all over the place. Every time I park it I can see wet drips all over the road :rolleyes:

Getting flashbacks here. :pac:
    On that note I have some lovely coilovers arriving tomorrow :)

Nice. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I was driving home yesterday evening so I decided going around town I'd actually follow the gearshift indicator and change gear when it said. You end up changing up at about 2,100 Revs although it changes this based on engine load how hard your accelerating etc. it was mad altogether you probably would save diesel but I mean you'd go mad following it. I have the car over 3 months and that was literally the first time I ever looked or paid any attention to it. It's fairly wated on me :)