Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Yep! And there was my neighbours today thinking I'm mad sitting down and spending 20 minutes De-Tarring each wheel with a brush :pac:

You don't know of de-tarring until you detar a style 5..

Same surface area as a football pitch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Here's my tail light that I'm thinking of changing notice corner missing from left bottom corner and far right has 2 crack can't really see them in the photo they are about an inch long each. Then notice the way the indicator part is starting to discolour inside. But that the same time it works 100% and no water is in it. I mean I might not necessarily get a better one in a scrap yard.

01AEEB62-471A-40C4-A4F6-58CFCA5009C4_zpsnje64h6h.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Seal it up and see how you get on man? They look grand for feck sake.

Even studying the photo its impossible to tell!

CIP4 wrote: »
    Here's my tail light that I'm thinking of changing notice corner missing from left bottom corner and far right has 2 crack can't really see them in the photo they are about an inch long each. Then notice the way the indicator part is starting to discolour inside. But that the same time it works 100% and no water is in it. I mean I might not necessarily get a better one in a scrap yard.

01AEEB62-471A-40C4-A4F6-58CFCA5009C4_zpsnje64h6h.jpg

Its been 2 mins and...

Don't do anything dude. Looks fine.

Look where the two light units meet each other along the bottom there is a chip gone out off the right unit. Then on the far right of the right unit there are two cracks which are hard to see in photo. Chip of plastic gone out of light in obvious look along joint.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Look where the two light units meet each other along the bottom there is a chip gone out off the right unit. Then on the far right of the right unit there are two cracks which are hard to see in photo. Chip of plastic gone out of light in obvious look along joint.

Yup. I see em now. Its grand dude. Don't replace it

I'll re-phrase that. Replace it if you want. A cracked tail light is a fail for the NCT (know from experience). I don't think many people including a tester would even notice your light unless it was pointed out. I'd rock on with what you have until its an issue if I were you. Could have been like that before you bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Mine was 1900 to buy and honestly could not be happier with what I picked, has a spec matching modern cars along with the comfort/refinement level and most importantly, almost a year on, I still look back at it everytime I walk away.

If you don't look back you've bought the wrong car.

When you stop looking back it's time to change. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Whats a decent dyno in the midlands to get a reading.

Heard alot of people mentioning enfield ?

Any of ye at Electric Picnic? I've a few cans in me and reminiscing EP 2012

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Any of ye at Electric Picnic? I've a few cans in me and reminiscing EP 2012

:(

I've been to the last two, forgot to get a ticket when I could've gotten them cheap earlier in the year and feck paying €300 for one, although it is completely worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Whats a decent dyno in the midlands to get a reading.

Heard alot of people mentioning enfield ?

https://www.facebook.com/WestwardPrecEng?fref=ts

martin treacys epic workshop in enfield village i have been there on the rollers a few times but usually on club days where it usually cost 50$ ish for a 2wd run and you got free tea and sambos . he used to race a sexy black rs 3dr sierra the last time i was with him in the time attack etc so bring your camera and you might get lucky :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Last night I rebuilt the oddball seat-height adjuster in the Xsara, after many years of the seat base moving up and down as you got into and out of the car. I had put it down to Gallic exuberance, or summat. The NCT man recently said that'd probably be a fail next year and alluded to some tightening up on safety/restraint stuff in the test. The two Torx bolts that hold the telescopic lever to the seat frame had worked loose and disappeared, apparently it's not unheard-of. I used some nice black hex-head bolts with spring washers and threadlock, replacing Citroën's ridiculous misshapen plastic spacer thing with steel washers. Fix-fix! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ha! Class. Kinda suits it actually!

http://www.joe.ie/sport/pic-mayo-man-in-malaysia-transforms-luxury-aston-martin-supercar-into-pimped-out-mayo-for-sam-mobile/510885

I know this isn't the gaa thread, but connolly being allowed to play has me so mad. Corrupt system. :mad:

Ha! Class. Kinda suits it actually!

http://www.joe.ie/sport/pic-mayo-man-in-malaysia-transforms-luxury-aston-martin-supercar-into-pimped-out-mayo-for-sam-mobile/510885

I know this isn't the gaa thread, but connolly being allowed to play has me so mad. Corrupt system. :mad:

ahh its a nonsense broken system, im as suprised as you, are you going to the replay today too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

davycc wrote:
    ahh its a nonsense broken system, im as suprised as you, are you going to the replay today too?

You bet! Soon hitting the road.

good luck hope ye win today & the all ireland at any costs:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Look lads, it takes two to have a scrap. You're all just raging that Dairmud won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Big Nasty wrote: »
    If you don't look back you've bought the wrong car.

When you stop looking back it's time to change. ;)

You must lock the car, walk a little, turn back, take pictures from a few angles, double-check it's locked and then walk away while looking back at the car. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

So, I spotted this vehicle in the local kip of a town.

Who can diagnose what's wrong with it? :)

Hellaflush yo :pac:

Third coil gone since the bank holiday weekend today. Fcuk this fcukin car anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Third coil gone since the bank holiday weekend today. Fcuk this fcukin car anyway

#JustVolvothings :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

So, I spotted this vehicle in the local kip of a town.

Who can diagnose what's wrong with it? :)

Parked incorrectly ???

Autosport wrote: »
    Parked incorrectly ???

I thought my comment made it obvious...

Aw2eIZl.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

GvidoR wrote: »
    I thought my comment made it obvious...

Aw2eIZl.png

bottom ball joint or something in that area, what's a hella flush? :confused:

Interslice wrote: »
    bottom ball joint or something in that area, what's a hella flush? :confused:

It was a joke.

A quick google search would have provided you with an answer.

hellaflush-3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

It's also parked incorrectly :P might see it in the Parking Picks on Facebook :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Focus with the dodgy plate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Well lads, she's leaking coolant again, this time from a hose that's going from the block to the EGR valve. The thing sprays once you hit 2.5k RPM!

Complete PITA. Second time I've caught it without running completely out.

Yup. I see em now. Its grand dude. Don't replace it

I'll re-phrase that. Replace it if you want. A cracked tail light is a fail for the NCT (know from experience). I don't think many people including a tester would even notice your light unless it was pointed out. I'd rock on with what you have until its an issue if I were you. Could have been like that before you bought it.

Ah it's nctd till mid 2017 that wouldn't be an issue and it passed its first nct like that as it was damaged like that before I got the car and it was ncted by the garage. Ah I think I'll leave it for the moment look at it again next year when I decide what I'm going doing.