Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Interslice wrote: »
    fook! That fly out of a toyota?

Aye! Effort that went into doing that :D Left quite a mess too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

robbiew wrote: »
    Just venting lads..

I was driving from the Wilton on the link road passing kinsale roundabout heading into the city, as my lights turn green i proceed while in the left lane past the roundabout to take the left lane into the city, when 2 feckin gob****es in a 1.9 a4 silver and sporting a nice big red L plate, flew past the junction coming from the harvey norman side, not even slowing down at the roundabout, just missed me, i was only doing 35 thank jasus, otherwise he would have totalled my front end..

To make matters worse i kept my cool and proceeded as normal not even bothering to flash or beep the cnuts.. i kept under the limit the whole time..

Then they slowed down in the left lane to just in front of me and drifted into the right land and wanted to race, well so it seemed to me anyway..
    After getting no satisfaction they tore off and took the turners cross turn off half way down the road and must have been doing 80 on the bend, which at 40 is too fast..

Id luv to knee cap the cnuts tbh.. ** Rant Over **

Reminds me i must order a dash cam..

Fcuk the little scrotes over.

Traffic Watch 1890 205 805

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

robbiew wrote: »
    Just venting lads..

Reminds me i must order a dash cam..
    Is it a full moon or something?

Met two straaaange boys in a golf at lunchtime in Limerick.
    Slowed down miles ahead of a queue of cars at a red light, then crawled along. So far, not so weird but they seemed to be doing an awful lot of looking back.

Crawl off from traffic lights, slowing down (no brakes) and speeding up randomly, then jerking right/left.

Then shot off in a 50k zone after a few hundred meters?

I stayed well back from them, strange stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭robbiew

Fcuk the little scrotes over.

Traffic Watch 1890 205 805

Whole thing happened so quickly that i didn't get their reg, and i had to meet up with someone, so i didn't have time to follow them..

luckily no one got hurt and no damage to my car, so i left it off..

Was praying that the boys in blue would be patrolling, but no such luck..
    Mind you i bet if i had took off and left them i would have got caught speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Dat power!

5589793138_46925d90db_n.jpg

But do they know their turbos from their altenators?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Wow that guy really likes alternators... WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Heading for the tunnel in Cork this morning, look in my rear view and what's behind me? Another thunder grey celica, the only other thunder grey i've ever seen aside from my own!

So much awesome had never been seen in rear view before, then he overtakes me and pulls back into my lane and it also has the VVTI 190 crest on the boot too, the only other celica i've seen with that apart from my own!

Literally enjoyed the whole thing more that is normal to do so.

Then on to the Jack Lynch tunnel;
    tunnel+vvtli+k&n+sunroof open = :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ah I can see you now :D

gWXcxgO.jpg

(sorry I just seen that pic on reddit and had to post given your description above).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Seriously thinking of not selling my A3 purely because I'm sick to my teeth of timewasters, what do they get out of it? There is some gobeens out there! Such as " ill leave now" 3 hours later no sign. Won't answer text or calls? Why?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Seriously thinking of not selling my A3 purely because I'm sick to my teeth of timewasters, what do they get out of it? There is some gobeens out there! Such as " ill leave now" 3 hours later no sign. Won't answer text or calls? Why?!

This is exactly why I will not meet anyone somewhere outside of my town. If they truly want what I'm selling, they'll come to me for it. After that they can fvck right off!

I will let them go to the arranged meeting point and when I don't show, they can ring me. Otherwise I'm going to continue with my life as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Booked my NCT there and was suprised at the amount of slots available until I realised all of them were all after midnight. Booked mine for ten to one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

So I'm doing the free theory test on ISM's site:

http://www.ism.ie/advice/theory-test/mock-theory-test

And I got a question wrong :eek: :o

Is this correct?

theoryqa.jpg

I thought the driver was held responsible for everyone in the vehicle and not just those under 17? :confused: By that logic, if a 19 year old gets into my car and won't put a belt on, when we get to a checkpoint, only he is at fault, and not me for choosing to drive with him unrestrained?

Yeah, technically if you're caught by a Garda and someone over 17 doesn't have their belt on in your car, they actually get the fine. Now, if he decides to fine you or not thats another story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Got the Focus back with coolant leak issue fixed. Apparently there was some corrosion on one of the pipes.

The vacuum pump kit arrived also so I got a chance to change the fuel filter. Drained the fuel filter housing, put in new filter, didn't even put any diesel into the filter housing. Connected the vacuum pump to the outlet on the filter housing and pumped until diesel came out.

Car started on the first turn of the key :D Can't wait to see my Fuelly stats for this fuel up. Lots of diesel wasted idling/changing fuel filter :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Pov06 wrote: »
    Got the Focus back with coolant leak issue fixed. Apparently there was some corrosion on one of the pipes.

The vacuum pump kit arrived also so I got a chance to change the fuel filter. Drained the fuel filter housing, put in new filter, didn't even put any diesel into the filter housing. Connected the vacuum pump to the outlet on the filter housing and pumped until diesel came out.

Car started on the first turn of the key :D Can't wait to see my Fuelly stats for this fuel up. Lots of diesel wasted idling/changing fuel filter :pac:

Great stuff, all's well that ends well.
    Fuel figures will be royally screwed up for a while.
    How long did you let it idle and did you give it a bit of a rev? Sometimes it starts on fuel still in the pump and then dies, but that would happen within 10 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Great stuff, all's well that ends well.
    Fuel figures will be royally screwed up for a while.
    How long did you let it idle and did you give it a bit of a rev? Sometimes it starts on fuel still in the pump and then dies, but that would happen within 10 seconds.

Ran it for 15 minutes while I was screwing the shield back on top of the fuel filter housing.

Drove it down to Burger King and back after that :D

Honest mistake, Guv!
    If they catch me, I will need a crooked, shyster lawyer, any recommendations?

Johnny of course :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Lads, just topped up my brake fluid, put dot4 in, put the cap back on and the cap says dot3.

Time for panic or is a little dot4 mixed in no harm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Lads, just topped up my brake fluid, put dot4 in, put the cap back on and the cap says dot3.

Dot 4 has a higher boiling point. Be grand. ;)

Its grand. Older Toyotas have DOT3 on the cap. I remember asking a fella in the motor factors for DOT3 for my Corolla years ago. He looked at me like I had two heads. Doesn't exist anymore I think. Last time your car saw it was the day it left the factory I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Just booked my NCT too got it for middle Oct not due til New Year's Day but I'll be in Ozz then so want to get it out the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Is it just me or does anyone else think the newer model 2012 onwards Jetta is a lovely looking car so few on the road they look very well in CL or HL spec with the 5 spoke / multi spoke alloys. I'm at the stage now where there are just so many mk7 golfs on the road you'd be sick looking at them I'd nearly prefer the mk6. Jetta is a fair few thousand cheaper than a golf too in same spec / engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

CIP4 wrote:
    Is it just me or does anyone else think the newer model 2012 onwards Jetta is a lovely looking car so few on the road they look very well in CL or HL spec with the 5 spoke / multi spoke alloys. I'm at the stage now where there are just so many mk7 golfs on the road you'd be sick looking at them I'd nearly prefer the mk6. Jetta is a fair few thousand cheaper than a golf too in same spec / engine.

Ya whichever one has the multispoke rims looks quite well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Ya whichever one has the multispoke rims looks quite well!

They are nice alright. Probably not as fancy as the mk7 golf inside as the interior is more based on a mk6 golf still nice though in highline spec.

I often think I would be loaded if I had no interest in cars and just bought some car for a grand and kept it 5 years and spent nothing on I mean you'd have so much money. Instead I think 1.5 years is a long time to have a car. Sure I suppose it would be no fun otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

CIP4 wrote: »
    They are nice alright. Probably not as fancy as the mk7 golf inside as the interior is more based on a mk6 golf still nice though in highline spec.

I often think I would be loaded if I had no interest in cars and just bought some car for a grand and kept it 5 years and spent nothing on I mean you'd have so much money. Instead I think 1.5 years is a long time to have a car. Sure I suppose it would be no fun otherwise.

The 1k mark is where all the fun is. . .

My car cost 1100 and was done basically 30k this year so far at this stage.
    2.5l, 6cyl, wicked handling and rwd.

I doubt there is a better money/car ratio out there at the minute to be honest.

CIP4 wrote: »

I enjoy my cars. Bought my own for fcuk all 2 years ago next month. Less than a grand actually. Spent loads because I had to. Have zero money. Will repeat in the new year and still have zero money.

I've bought expensive cars at 17k and cheap cars.
    The 1k cars are the fun ones :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    I've bought expensive cars at 17k and cheap cars.
    The 1k cars are the fun ones :)

Absolutely! Took a loan out for one car in my life when I was 18. My second car for 6k. Minded it like a baby for the first year or 2. Flogged it after 4 or 5 years for buttons. Only had 3 cars and a van since. They all cost under a grand as will the next one hopefully. I like the idea of a disposable car. I prefer it even more when I can keep them on the road for as long as possible with little expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Mine was 1900 to buy and honestly could not be happier with what I picked, has a spec matching modern cars along with the comfort/refinement level and most importantly, almost a year on, I still look back at it everytime I walk away.

Thats weird, I do the same thing, can never help but look and grin like an idiot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »
    [/B]

Thats weird, I do the same thing, can never help but look and grin like an idiot :)

Yep! And there was my neighbours today thinking I'm mad sitting down and spending 20 minutes De-Tarring each wheel with a brush :pac: