Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

jimgoose wrote: »
    You there! Boy! Fill a bath with courvoisier and Ukrainian hoors quare live-lah! By furk we're back!! :D
    Wanted: Buxom wench to snort coke off!

They've sanitised the article since but there was a classic in the indo this morning about them eastern european stunners honey trapping irish lads.

Quote "she went to town on herself, if you get me". Pure waterford whispers stuff. All the best bits deleted since :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

They've sanitised the article since but there was a classic in the indo this morning about them eastern european stunners honey trapping irish lads.

Quote "she went to town on herself, if you get me". Pure waterford whispers stuff. All the best bits deleted since :(

Humph. You mean all they have to do to mesmerise some gobadaws is masturbate in front of them? If I did that in front of a chungwan I'd be arrested. I'll just stick to the tweed sports-jacket, brown Dubes and leaving the old wallet in the Jaaaaag awfully sorry old stick, would you mind getting this? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

jimgoose wrote: »
    Humph. You mean all they have to do to mesmerise some gobadaws is masturbate in front of them? If I did that in front of a chungwan I'd be arrested. I'll just stick to the tweed sports-jacket, brown Dubes and leaving the old wallet in the Jaaaaag awfully sorry old stick, would you mind getting this? :D

jeremy-clarkson-2-553a8b3088d14.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Diesel less than a euro!!!! Never thought I'd see the day again!

Jeepers. Now petrol needs to drop down to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

OSI wrote: »
    various items I don't even know the name of.

Do they look like male sex organs? :pac:

Oh yaw baby!

jag-53ecf1a2e1544-540e8ae72e58-55538eda90491.jpg

Do they look like male sex organs? :pac:

One of them is called "The Jackhammer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Diesel less than a euro!!!! Never thought I'd see the day again!

Jaysus, what's the reason for the diesel price drop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

job seeker wrote: »

they're subsidising it's price to promote it's usage as it's good for the environment.

oh, wait... :pac:

VW been ordered to pay a subsidy? Maybe compensation for all the abuse we get on Motors. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

VW been ordered to pay a subsidy? Maybe compensation for all the abuse we get on Motors. :cool:

you'd do well to start stock piling it now while it's cheap, get an old home heating oil tank and fill that up, fill up your bath and toilet cistern, any empty coke bottles on the back seat, get 'em full! save yourself a packet.

It's a deliberate ploy by the diesel lizards to raise my blood pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Ordered some ditchfinders for the XC90 on Oponeo.ie. I called Red Cow Tyres and they said they will mount and balance them for €10 each. Works out at €103 per tyre (235/60/R18). Not too bad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Crude oil is trading at less than $30 a barrel for the first time since 2003. Hence the fuel prices trickling down, very slowly though.

Hal1 wrote: »
    Crude oil is trading at less than $30 a barrel for the first time since 2003. Hence the fuel prices trickling down, very slowly though.

Just wait till there's even a rumor of it going back up again. prices at the pumps will be up by 3 cents before the newsreader has finished the sentence.

shietpilot wrote:
    Ordered some ditchfinders for the XC90 on Oponeo.ie. I called Red Cow Tyres and they said they will mount and balance them for €10 each. Works out at €103 per tyre (235/60/R18). Not too bad

Why ditch finders? :eek:

GvidoR wrote: »
    Why ditch finders? :eek:

I read that XC90s chew through a set of tyres in roughly a year :D

shietpilot wrote: »
    I read that XC90s chew through a set of tyres in roughly a year :D

4WD doesn't help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

All depends how many miles a year one's driving. Driving style's a significant factor as well. My corolla wears down a set of tyres a year, doing approx. 25.000 kilometres.
    Ah dang! I see, I'm guessing the rubber seal would be a bit steep from the dealer?

A bit yeah. Roughly 100 notes + VAT.

Shoot a photo of it, give me few more details about a car and I'll look around.

http://www.oponeo.ie/details-tyre/nexen-n-fera-ru1-235-60-r18-103-v#103365754

That's what I chose. Never tried Nexen before but the price is fairly cheap and the EU label isn't bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The e46 is booked in to Murphy & Gunn BMW for some a free bulb and an airbag replacement. Woohoo.

Why does the airbag need to be replaced?

The e46 is booked in to Murphy & Gunn BMW for some a free bulb and an airbag replacement. Woohoo.

Free airbag replacement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Bingo ;)
    Free airbag replacement?

I only called up for the bulb, that went there on the weekend. I've already bought the replacement though, but handy to keep them as spares. The airbag replacement is a bit overdue! I wonder if they'll give me a list of all the things *wrong* with my car.

At the heart of the problem is the airbag’s inflator, a metal cartridge loaded with propellant wafers, which in some cases has ignited with explosive force. If the inflator housing ruptures in a crash, metal shards from the airbag can be sprayed throughout the passenger cabin—a potentially disastrous outcome from a supposedly life-saving device

:eek::eek::eek::eek:
    Your airbag exploding and showering your face with white hot shrapnel is definitely not safe. Even I would sue if that happened to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

fuzz - your diesel doesn't nail :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

:eek::eek::eek::eek:
    Your airbag exploding and showering your face with white hot shrapnel is definitely not safe. Even I would sue if that happened to me!
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Takata_Corporation#Defective_airbag_recalls_.282013-present.29

You might well be dead, at least 8 people so far...

fuzz - your diesel doesn't nail :confused:

I think he means his diesel isn't an "old nail", i.e. a clapped-out Massey. You know he tries, but his German isn't great. He should be saying "ACHTUNG!! MEIN DIESELWAGEN IST NICHT GESCHITTENHEAPEN!!"