Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

YbFocus wrote: »
    Pred where have you been :)

Lurking :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

???

Yeah... cuz chape tax yo :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

YbFocus wrote: »
    Course he/she wore a ring, probably had for about 40 years :D :pac:

Owned by a man apparently I can only imagine what he was like if he was so paranoid about the car being robbed that he spend at least 500 quid getting a canbus Clifford alarm which I see no benefit to as the car has its own security system and immobiliser.

Nathin, was in college. A few of us went out to a forest, in a little entrance off the road and stupidly left the car lights on. Had the tree loaded and all, and the squad car comes in behind us. They searched the car, and us, from top to bottom, thinking that we were doing drugs. When they seen that we were only after a tree their response was, I remember it to this day, and I quote "I couldn't give a fcuk if ye cut the whole fcuking lot of them down as long as ye weren't doing drugs" Good times, still scared the shyt out of us though!

Desperately trying to hold back on the 'Typical Arts students' comment :pac:

Although I know you didn't do arts.

Also had a late night trip home from cork left cork 10.30pm there is something very nice about a long late night trip where the roads are quite it's very relaxing bit of music in the background you can't ask for much more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

CIP4 wrote: »
    Desperately trying to hold back on the 'Typical Arts students' comment :pac:

Although I know you didn't do arts.

Also had a late night trip home from cork left cork 10.30pm there is something very nice about a long late night trip where the roads are quite it's very relaxing bit of music in the background you can't ask for much more :)

Ya, I'd be one to bash arts students alright :pac:

I used to love night time driving, but the events of the past 24 hours has me driving slower. God knows what you'd hit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Seems the latest game around parts of my town lately is kids throwing rocks at passing cars,just this evening somebody I know had the passenger window smashed with somebody sitting in the seat.Luckily nobody was hurt but this has been going on for a while since the dark evenings rolled round.
    Little fuckers.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

* Patiently waits for GvidoR to post the pictures of his new motor *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Hello OSI :D when did thou get chosen for thy coveted position?

Congrats! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

OSI wrote: »

Thanks, I'll try not to cock it up too much.

Just don't try and clock it up, we all know what happened to the last guy :pac:

shietpilot wrote: »
    * Patiently waits for GvidoR to post the pictures of his new motor *

Apologies for the delay, I had to do a few things this morning. Uploading photos as we speak. Post in the other thread incoming. :)

Put silicone around the pollen filter housing last night, now when I turn the air on onside, all I can smell is that rotten silicone smell. Hopefully it'll go again once it's settled, I don't want to go disrupting it again.

One of the lads sent this to me. It's unusual looking car. Anyone ever hear of them or are they some kind of a kit car. Not sure if the owner will get 15k euro as it would be a very limited market. Anyone know what 2.0 petrol engine they have ?

93B4D789-2C73-4542-8664-53E6D65B64D2_zpsltoqyvfl.jpg

CIP4 wrote: »
    One of the lads sent this to me. It's unusual looking car. Anyone ever hear of them or are they some kind of a kit car. Not sure if the owner will get 15k euro as it would be a very limited market. Anyone know what 2.0 petrol engine they have ?

Ah, a Caterham kit car I guess.

That is an Opel red top engine (c20xe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

It's an Opel engine in it.

Anyone know any place that would be breaking a Volvo car with the D5 engine anywhere around Dublin/Kildare?

Need a new front engine mount for the XC90. The current one isn't holding vacuum at all which will probably start causing boost issues soon :\

They are €250 new on MicksGarage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

shietpilot wrote: »
    Anyone know any place that would be breaking a Volvo car with the D5 engine anywhere around Dublin/Kildare?

Need a new front engine mount for the XC90. The current one isn't holding vacuum at all which will probably start causing boost issues soon :\

They are €250 new on MicksGarage...

5W-30, is that yourself? :pac:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,309 ✭✭✭✭beertons

So is that engine any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

OSI wrote: »
    Errr... errr....... BANNED!

Thanks, I'll try not to cock it up too much.

Ffs, I don't log in for all of 9 hours and look who they let in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Life lesson #528

Never ever eat a rafello bar in your car.

It's like a coconut massacre in the audi :(

Ffs, I don't log in for all of 9 hours and look who they let in!

We might as well all leave now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Nice and handy location of disks for Garda at checkpoints :rolleyes:

nOziDkC.jpg

Life lesson #528

They come in bars now? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

My cars eml light flickered there earlier on and again on the road. After an hour or so it stopped. So either my coil pack (genuine one installed 2 years now) or plugs are failing (not that old going by how long they are rated to last). Well I'll drive on and hopefully it won't come back! ¬¬.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Days like today prove that there's always a place for fast cars in the world.

I don't think I dropped below 160kph for the whole road between Newtownmount Kennedy and Gorey. And kept it up for a good while after Gorey too.

It's just freedom like. Just getting away as fast as possible and getting a quiet break on my own with some good scotch, a warm fire and Nirvana spinning on the turntable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Dartz wrote: »
    I don't think I dropped below 160kph.

How do you know if you've been done by a speed van? They don't flash do they?

Went past one earlier a decent bit over the speed limit

Don't worry, nobody would give penalty points to Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Jesus died for our penalty points.

I'm just making sure he didn't die in vain.

Life lesson #528

Ate a cup cake in the car a few weeks ago one of the biggest mistakes of my life crumbs everywhere but they even marked the seat somehow :confused: I still haven't cleaned it that is one the holidays to do list :)

Changed the pollen filter yesterday, the old one was sopping wet, weighed about 3 times that of the dry one!

sxmzvn.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Woah that was filthy.