Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

CIP4 wrote: »
    Whoever owned the car previous must of worn a wedding ring and there is loads of chips gone out of it. Since I don't wear a ring (well wont be for the foreseeable future) id like to change it. All small stuff really.

Course he/she wore a ring, probably had for about 40 years :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

As in the upper arms are on the wrong sides?

Make sure you have the bolt going the other way too, for future arm changes you won't have to remove the strut...

No just the top mounts themselves. Just had to re-compress the springs a bit and spin them around. It was a 10 minute job but I don't have compressors so had to head up the road and it was near dark when I got back, so I'm no further than I thought I was this morning :). Hopefully it's a dry one tomorrow.

I know what you mean by the bolt alright. It's a feckin trade in itself this front suspension :D. Hopefully won't have to touch them for a while. Fitted 2 brand new meyle top arms. You were right about the them knocking that time. The ARB-Bushes are fine. I had 2 decent donor top arms stuck in but if they went in the next few months, after the shock bursting, I'd loose patience with it!

I fitted 2 good as new lowers and drop links, both less than 6 months old. More or less just lying up on the donor car since it came of the road.
    New red eibach springs.
    Couldn't even get at the ARB bushes with the engine out so left them alone . They looked perfect. Steering rack bolts were siezed and I had enough to be doing :). Shocks looked good and passed an NCT this year.
    The donor top arms had a tiny bit of play in one of the ball joints so I scapped them for the new ones.

What cuold posisblye go worng?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I lifted a Christmas tree today in the Golf. Drove home with the boot open. I was surprised at how loud the exhaust was, I had no idea. It is a bit boomy on overrun but the pop/thud on up shifts is far louder than I had thought it was.

Quite happy about that. Might have to buy crap that doesn't fit in the car more often now :-$

We could here the bang between each gear in mondello when powering out of the hairpin sure.
    Sounded good, not e36 good but good nonetheless :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

vintagevrs wrote:
    I lifted a Christmas tree today in the Golf. Drove home with the boot open. I was surprised at how loud the exhaust was, I had no idea. It is a bit boomy on overrun but the pop/thud on up shifts is far louder than I had thought it was.

The one year I lifted a Christmas tree, the gardai caught me..... won't do it again soon!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Ah, delighted tbh! Great to see the old girl doing well for herself and getting at least one more year, i'll treat her to 3 months tax now. Just looking there, it's done just shy of 17k miles since it's last NCT and the only consumable i've replaced is the tyres :) engine swap went completely under the radar so it must have been a tidy job.

4 liter V8, 1.4 on the logbook? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

The one year I lifted a Christmas tree, the gardai caught me..... won't do it again soon!

What did they do?

vintagevrs wrote:
    What did they do?

Nathin, was in college. A few of us went out to a forest, in a little entrance off the road and stupidly left the car lights on. Had the tree loaded and all, and the squad car comes in behind us. They searched the car, and us, from top to bottom, thinking that we were doing drugs. When they seen that we were only after a tree their response was, I remember it to this day, and I quote "I couldn't give a fcuk if ye cut the whole fcuking lot of them down as long as ye weren't doing drugs" Good times, still scared the shyt out of us though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

A foulmouthed and pissed off pigeon at the ticket machine to find that the price of parking had gone up unexpectedly was immediately calmed down by a kind gentleman whom gave me the change I was short for parking :)

Thank you, you sweet old gent :) its so nice to know there are kind people out there :)

A foulmouthed and pissed off pigeon at the ticket machine to find that the price of parking had gone up unexpectedly was immediately calmed down by a kind gentleman whom gave me the change I was short for parking

I paid 16 euro needlessly for parking a few weeks back. Was a worse feeling then that of stubbing your baby toe!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

A foulmouthed and pissed off pigeon at the ticket machine to find that the price of parking had gone up unexpectedly was immediately calmed down by a kind gentleman whom gave me the change I was short for parking :)

Thank you, you sweet old gent :) its so nice to know there are kind people out there :)

Did you even sing him a song ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Happened to me in Kilkenny yesterday, had no change, the meter didn't take notes and wouldn't take my card, was about to send one of the kids off for change, when a very kind lady gave me €2.
    There are still some nice people out there :)

Pred where have you been :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I will be doing automotive archaeology tomorrow, if you know what I mean. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

GvidoR wrote: »
    I will be doing automotive archaeology tomorrow, if you know what I mean. ;)

make sure you video the pube test!

did you buy something?

make sure you video the pube test!

did you buy something?

I guess that's a reasonable assumption. :pac:

I hope there's no pubes.

give us a hint ffs, is it German?

Pics and info in the morning. It's not German. Not Jap or Italian either.

that leaves, British, Korean or French then? you do have a bit of a lust for obscure stuff so i'm going to say; Rover 25, Hyundai Accent or a Pug 206 :pac:

GvidoR wrote:

Ah don't be at that shyte, tell us now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

GvidoR wrote: »

Has to be a Ford Focus :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Something like a 206sw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm going to say, a rusty Aston Martin Lagonda with a couple of misfires. Can't beat an occasional bout of Full-Retard. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Something like a 206sw

Dare I say... 206 sedan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Dare I say... 206 sedan

Ahh now

You've gone to far there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The jig is up. It's a City Rover.

Sorry to disappoint, but it's not a Focus or 206 SW, although both of those are not bad. Especially the Focus.

I'd tell you now but I want to add pictures to my introduction post and now is a terrible time for photos. I promise to post them early in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

Renault Clio 1.2 ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Volvo or a Saab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

electric-cars-for-kids-1.jpg

???