Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Don't worry, nobody would give penalty points to Jesus.

I hope you're right pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Hal1 wrote: »
    Woah that was filthy.

Is it not just the one that came out of it was activated carbon as it sure looks like it and the replacement is the cheaper plain filter element as opposed to the activated carbon one which would be black from new obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Woah that was filthy.

Complete dirt, was Ford branded too, so it wouldn't surprise me if it was the original! New one I got was motorcraft, seems as if Ford are using that name more and more on their parts.

Thought I was being smart when applying the seal for the cover, said I'd dose it with silicone to stop any water getting down, more fool me. The smell of silicone coming into the cabin would knock you. Seems to have dissipated a bit this evening though. Hope it stops, don't want to pull it all up again!

CIP4 wrote: »
    Is it not just the one that came out of it was activated carbon as it sure looks like it and the replacement is the cheaper plain filter element as opposed to the activated carbon one which would be black from new obviously.

Looked to be a different colour from the start alright, different sort of texture, more rigid structure. The replacement one is a proper Ford one though, cost 16 beans I think.

Ye it's a genuine filter just not an activated carbon genuine filter if you get me. There is a pretty big difference they probably came with activated carbon from the factory. In saying all that you'd probably pay 30 for activated carbon one and if your getting rid of the car soon it won't make much difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

When it comes to basic service items bar spark plugs I would only use the mf's.

Aye, wanted the filter straight away, and the motor factors didn't have any in stock. Wanted to suss out the seal thing anyway (and see if there was any nice cars in :pac:). I'll learn yet!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Checked Google Maps and it said MicksGarage is open today. Went down and found out otherwise :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Woah...

10347155_922430237838033_5935036649556163370_n.jpg?oh=240b9ae4110d5f9a2560e490c0ac0402&oe=5721EDDC

Woah...

Looks cool but pointless.

Anywhere that tool can reach, the ratchet can reach better because it's smaller.

I can't think of any good use cases...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

shietpilot wrote: »
    Looks cool but pointless.

Anywhere that tool can reach, the ratchet can reach better because it's smaller.

I can't think of any good use cases...

But the mechanism means you don't have to turn it. You can work the ratchet outside and keep it static.

We had secret Santa in college and the presents had to be funny you know nothing too serious. I got a wheel cover that was in **** made into a necklace and a t shirt that was highly offensive that you couldn't wear in public. I got one of the girls so the obvious thing to do was go straight to halfords :) and get one of them key ring multi tools and a socket set she was desperately looking on the box of the socket to see what it actually was called.

Ye so needless to say she loved it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Oh look - it's clean(ish) after its first wash :pac:

20151219_111216.jpg

Seven Worlds will Collide

So I've decided that the e36 is coming off the road, it's going to become a dedicated track car!

There is an M52 turbo plan already well in place ;)

I now need to plan a cheap and cheerful daily so i can throw money at it :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    So I've decided that the e36 is coming off the road, it's going to become a dedicated track car!

How are you planning to transport the E36 to track days? Are you going to keep it road legal and drive it or are you getting a trailer?

YbFocus wrote:
    I now need to plan a cheap and cheerful daily so i can throw money at it

Another bmw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Red 6N1 Polo? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Has to be this!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-escort-lx-td/11036019

No it won't be legal, it'll probably be renting a van and trailer or something the odd weekend :)

No noccy it'll be something cheap cheap, might bring the astra back to life!

Has to be this!

Looks like the right yoke for the job!

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Red 6N1 Polo? :P

Ha ha ha no not unless i paint the roof :)

Duke the adjustable seats sold it me :)

No it won't be legal, it'll probably be renting a van and trailer or something the odd weekend :)

Do you still have the Astra forgot all about that car. Did something go wrong with it that you stopped using it I can't really remember all I remember is it was a good work horse for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

We had secret Santa in college and the presents had to be funny you know nothing too serious. I got a wheel cover that was in **** made into a necklace and a t shirt that was highly offensive that you couldn't wear in public. I got one of the girls so the obvious thing to do was go straight to halfords :) and get one of them key ring multi tools and a socket set she was desperately looking on the box of the socket to see what it actually was called.

Ye so needless to say she loved it :pac:

You should have gotten her a set of nightbreakers and shown her how you can both brighten up her life by over 100% ya big playa....!

I need a car in my life again. The van is just not good enough (obviously) :( Was in the pub last night. One of the lads asked me how the Volvo was going. Telling him I sold it was like telling him someone had died. I was ****e company after that. Spent the next hour browsing through DD :pac:

Do you still have the Astra forgot all about that car. Did something go wrong with it that you stopped using it I can't really remember all I remember is it was a good work horse for you.

Nothing wrong with it at all, it just was parked when i bought the e36.
    No test and stuff now but it wouldn't need much.

166man, yeah i think he missed a chance with that line :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

Golf 1.9d :pac:

In other news, there's a Lamborghini Veneno for sale.

(3 ever sold.)

Where? Dubai, UK, States?

No. Poland :pac:

http://allegro.pl/lamborghini-veneno-12v-750-km-mg-speed-warszawa-i5867682952.html

No it won't be legal, it'll probably be renting a van and trailer or something the odd weekend :)..........

Commercials can be very expensive to rent unless you have your own suitable insurance to transfer on, add in a trailer and the cost goes up bigtime.

Augeo wrote: »
    Commercials can be very expensive to rent unless you have your own suitable insurance to transfer on, add in a trailer and the cost goes up bigtime.

We've been renting one lately off a friend of the family for 90 for the weekend, not overly bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

i approve this dastardly plan :cool:
    as for the daily driver maybe use your old astra ?
    at least you know all its strengths and weaknesses

We've been renting one lately off a friend of the family for 90 for the weekend, not overly bad!

Not overly bad indeed. Not overly representative of typical rental prices either.