Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BrewDog Bar Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

Underdog and GBB bars take the absolute piss with pricing because they know they can and their fanboi regulars will still defend them.

Wasn't it mentioned in another thread that producers will charge what they can get away with/what the customer will pay, and that's how all businesses work?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Effects wrote: »
    Wasn't it mentioned in another thread that producers will charge what they can get away with/what the customer will pay, and that's how all businesses work?

Pretty much, your not just paying for the drink, your paying for the wages, rent, the brand, overheads and much more. Once those are out of the way, then the bar has to figure out how much will it get away with, does it want to be seen to be at par, above or below the nearest competition etc.

Where Brewdog is, while I wouldn't pay that price for some of their regular beers, based on location, they are not looking to sell to me, they are looking to sell to the nearby working crowd who happen to be in industries that are quite well paid. After that the Yuppie rental market in the surrounding apartments. They may also be looking for exclusivity, I lived and worked in the area years ago, alot of locals are not going near there and maybe, that's what they want. Don't want the Ferryman because it is too packed, too lazy to go into town just yet, that weird american bar and Eli place are your only other options, both have very different crowds and both leave a market open for someone else.

Are they renting, how much is that adding onto the cost?

I could see alot of businesses having their "lunchbox" meetings there, or there christmas party warm ups and whatever else comes over the year but it will be like the Harbourmaster, packed to the rafters at some points and dead at others. You'll get alot in for lunches as well. If they don't, their prices and model will change but we are in a boom again, it will be awhile before it has to change.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Ciaranis

Well of course there isn't, Mr Literal. But ultra-Brexity little Englander Tim Martin is still chairman of the company, as far as I'm aware.

And I note that you take no issue with the middle-aged sadness aspect!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Punk is a solid IPA on a par with O Hara's, not an amazing one, it should be a maximum of 6.20 a pint.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,811 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

CramCycle wrote: »
    They may also be looking for exclusivity
    From what I've seen in BrewDog bars up and down Britain, they look at what beer costs in similar venues in the city and add a BrewDog premium. I'd say they did the same here. Being the most expensive beer specialist in any locality seems to be the goal.
    Defend your gross margin like a junkyard rottweiler

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Conditional fire safety certificate (on one thing being fixed overnight) issued and their licence transfer should be ok tomorrow now.

I've a sneaking suspicion it's the licence from the Black and Amber in Islandbridge as it was held by the landlords of the Brewdog building but I've zero evidence to support that hypothesis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Ballso wrote: »
    Well drink in dead centre in Athlone then and spare the rest of us your bitter whinging.

Christ, between the moaning about JDWs cheapness attracting the wrong crowd and other bars being too expensive you'd think these were the only options.

Case in point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

The producer charges all three points of sale mentioned the same for a keg.

The difference is the point of sale.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Wooderson wrote: »
    Wishing them "all the best" w/ cheapest pints at 7.50 at the arse end of a quay and minimal footfall.

This is it

The location is sh1t except for sunny summers days.

The prices are excruciating.

Won’t be indulging.

Punk is a solid IPA on a par with O Hara's, not an amazing one, it should be a maximum of 6.20 a pint.

Proof indeed that the boom is back.

The whole craft beer movement started off the back of small, independent brewers making different beers in smaller batches than the worldwide conglomerates and undercutting them on price through a combination of reasons......in no small part to lack of investment in advertising etc.

Charging €6.20 a pint would have been practically inconceivable not so long ago. Now we have people clamouring to have it reduced to that price from €7.25 a go?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,811 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

undercutting them on price
    I think you've made that bit up.
    Charging €6.20 a pint would have been practically inconceivable not so long ago. Now we have people clamouring to have it reduced to that price from €7.25 a go?
    I'm just old enough to remember the prediction that nobody will pay £2 for a pint. The price of beer will climb ever higher.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,283 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

BeerNut wrote: »
    I'm just old enough to remember the prediction that nobody will pay £2 for a pint. The price of beer will climb ever higher.

I remember my father saying he'd never pay £1 for a pint. His resolve didn't last long. :D

When I started going to pubs a friend and I used to go to the local "disco bar" every Monday night with a fiver each. That was the exact cost of 4 pints of Carlsberg. I think it was about £1.17 in the grown-ups' bar.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Dellboy54

I think you've made that bit up.

Were you paid the same back then.....if so well done :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Ballso

Proof indeed that the boom is back.

The whole craft beer movement started off the back of small, independent brewers making different beers in smaller batches than the worldwide conglomerates and undercutting them on price through a combination of reasons......in no small part to lack of investment in advertising etc.

Craft beer has never been cheaper than macro beer.

Seriously, if people are price sensitive on alcohol to the point that they are fretting about a few euro difference in their bill they shouldn't be anywhere near a pub.

Due to open for regulars at midday Friday.
    28 beers on tap. €7.25 for a pint of Punk.

Is this confirmed???

• Registered Users Posts: 6,146 ✭✭✭Passenger

Ballso wrote: »
    Craft beer has never been cheaper than macro beer.

Seriously, if people are price sensitive on alcohol to the point that they are fretting about a few euro difference in their bill they shouldn't be anywhere near a pub.

The Porterhouse were always cheaper than surrounding pubs. The Porterhouse North sold their own oyster stout for less than Guinness when they eventually began selling it. Same when they changed to the Whitworth, their own brand stuff is/was always cheaper. JW Sweetmans on the quays today are the same.

Dellboy54 wrote: »
    Is this confirmed???
    Due to open for regulars at midday Friday.
    28 beers on tap. €7.25 for a pint of Punk.

Feck.......:eek: So what are the extra 2 taps for?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ipodrocker

agree, its the first of kind in Ireland would be happy Brewdog has come and you will get beer not easily available in other pubs.

Dellboy54 wrote: »
    Is this confirmed???

Maybe I am blind but I can't see the price of Punk in the photo due to the lampshade

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭DelmarODonnell

They are in a lot of cities around Europe and if there are any other credible alternatives, I will normally avoid them. All of them look exactly the same, serve 50% of the same beer and are usually 25% more expensive than going to the other craft beer bars around, that have their own individual character.

If Brewdog was either central in the city or at least surrounded by other places to eat/drink (maybe a Phibsboro), I'd definitely nip in every so often to see what they had on. But you are talking about walking 20 minutes past Mulligans to get to it, when you can just go to one of the Galway Bay spots/Underdog if you are looking for a good Craft selection.

Presumably hoping to do all/most of their trade from Google and other offices around there?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Passenger wrote: »
    Underdog have the same profit margin for every beer they tap. The cost of the keg is what dictates the price of the beer not the management, as some people might believe.

Every bar applies the same margin to everything. They all (99%) buy the same kegs at same price. The margin varies, so some bars are more expensive than others.

n97 mini wrote: »
    Every bar applies the same margin to everything. They all (99%) buy the same kegs at same price. The margin varies, so some bars are more expensive than others.

The cost of running a bar also varies from city to city, between rent, wages, rates, etc. and tax rates

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

The cost of running a bar also varies from city to city, between rent, wages, rates, etc.

I don't dispute that.

My post wasn't the best phrased either. What I meant is a bar will decide a margin and apply that margin to every beer they sell. So if one bar is more expensive like for like than another bar, that's why. There are a multitude of reasons to do this. Higher rent, higher wages, paying for a refit, greed etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Looks cool, can't wait!

I'm just old enough to remember the prediction that nobody will pay £2 for a pint.

Ah here, you're not that old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

The £1.95 pint was very handy, just count the 5p coins the next day to figure out how drunk you got.

Maybe I am blind but I can't see the price of Punk in the photo due to the lampshade

The price I quoted is correct. I was there on Tuesday. I posted the picture straight on as it showed all the prices better.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I don't get the hate for JDW. Yes, some of their establishments across the water are very rough around the edges, but any of their places over here are grand. The gripes people have against them are pretty petty and seem to be niggly just for the sake of being niggly.

"There's no craic / it's too sterile" - I don't know about you, but I go to the boozer with my mates and generate our own craic and atmosphere. Even if you were drinking in, say, The Long Hall on your own, it wouldn't exactly be a great buzz.

"middle-aged sadness and anti-EU sentiment" is a new one, though, I must admit.........Kudos.

If it was an Irish chain as opposed to an English one, nobody would care.

Some of the OTT bitching about the place is hilarious.