Keepgrowing wrote: » What's your ph?
yosemitesam1 wrote: » How many litres/ha are these lads putting out and what is there replacement+stocking rate?
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Litres /ha? You mean solids/ha any where from 1500 up from the last few farms I've visited Generally all 2.5-2.7/ha on whole farm and any where from 3-3.7/ha on MP
Mooooo wrote: » When people say solids/ha is it the whole farm or the milking platform spoken off? I'd be 906 kg/ha over whole farm but 1350kg/ha over MP with 40 acres of 2 cut silage off the mp but 25 of maize bought in also stocked at 2.85/ha over whole farm but locked up.
kevthegaff wrote: » Those silage pushers? Are they good and reliable or another for the ditch.
Keepgrowing wrote: Effin brliant yokes.
Keepgrowing wrote: I presume you mean the loader mounted ones?
Keepgrowing wrote: » Bally closes every year for Dec. Any major phuck ups in Bell this summer?
atlantic mist wrote: » where did ye hear belview was at full capacity this year? last we heard from our ceo was 800 of us were supplying belview, and its great quality they were getting we got a nice pat on the back, but it was only at half capacity no serious issues in belview this year, well besides the obvious...not able to sell product got chinese market wrong, although workers have been well warned as lads are geting sick of dealing with bad press issues in ballyragget instead, twil be cavan next year and then back to mexico the following year:)
kevthegaff wrote: » Yep! Are they hard to grab with the loader? Is the single wheel adequate?
Waffletraktor wrote: » Make it so that you can grab it with tines on loader to save swapping attachments constantly.
Mooooo wrote: » I got a lad to make up a blade and welded it in to the frame of an old shear grab. Just drive along and then silage slides in to the barrier, blade pushes it beyond the wheel. Should of got him to put the same on the the other side as passage is narrow enough to do both sides at the one time
Timmaay wrote: » Got an old lorry tire complete with the wheel sitting here, I was thinking of welding/bolting a pipe on top to us as one. Do I need to let the tire rotate still?
Timmaay wrote: » Photos please!
yosemitesam1 wrote: » Milk removes between 0.6-1g/p per l, liveweight 10g/p a kg. I'd be surprised if there was many farms in a deficit who were spreading their allowance.
Mooooo wrote: » Would you combine liveweight and milk figures for your cow then for the total?
yosemitesam1 wrote: » It'd be (average milk sold/ha × 0.001)+(average lw sold/ha × 0.01)= kg/p/ha sold off farm
GrasstoMilk wrote: » That for me would be about 12kgs P/ha gone out in the tanker. So that leaves 15 kgs/ha left in soil. Supposed to take 100 units to lift 1index. There inlies my point. It'll take me another 4 or 5 years to get to index 3 at my current production level. When my herd matures and milk output increases and milk platform SR increases I'll either have to rob P from outside blocks or just accept I'll never get to index 3 never mind 4
yosemitesam1 wrote: » How do you spread your p through the year? When do you spread your slurry/dung? Do you outwinter heifers every year? Edit. Could also be worth getting a proper pH meter for yourself, the lab test can give a misleading result as the soil is ground up before testing potentially changing the pH of the sample compared to the field
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Spread a big lump in start of season in form of 15 10 10 and then use up rest of my allowance between 10 10 20 for reseeds and pasture sward. Always get great grass with that regeime but the P allowance is what ms holding back the farm I think. Dung and slurry is spring and autumn