Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TB testing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Clear!

Thankfully, I can now get rid of a few and make space for calves again:)

Fair play. I've been locked up since September and reading in the morning. Please god twill be grand. Got caught to winter allot of stock that I should have sold in October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I was lucky to get clear just before calving last year and I have a good few weanlings and cull cows to move in the next few weeks. I was a bit worried as another neighbour went down before Christmas but I won't have to worry till July now.

Best of luck tomorrow but hopefully you won't need it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭RD10

great news guys. hoping the same result will go my way too.
    bit worried as i got letter in the post few days ago to say my next door neighbour went down recently. it seems the area has been hit hard in the last few months. few farms have gone down around me.

All clear thanks be to god.
    Tis a weight off the shoulders. Of the 3 winters ive been farming on my own since the auld lad passed I've been locked for 2 of them. It's great freedom to be able to go to the mart and buy and sell as you please.
    I might take herself out for dinner and a few pints tonight to celebrate.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    All clear thanks be to god.
    Tis a weight off the shoulders. Of the 3 winters ive been farming on my own since the auld lad passed I've been locked for 2 of them. It's great freedom to be able to go to the mart and buy and sell as you please.
    I might take herself out for dinner and a few pints tonight to celebrate.
    Great stuff.

It's a weight on the shoulders wondering whether you can sell or buy so at least you have 6 months of peace from that anyway.

Great stuff.

It's a weight on the shoulders wondering whether you can sell or buy so at least you have 6 months of peace from that anyway.

Oh dame right.
    I suppose twould make since to shift a few before the test in future just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,427 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Oh dame right.
    I suppose twould make since to shift a few before the test in future just in case.
    Good to hear you passed. Was locked up myself this year. Know well what its like.
    Would you consider moving your annual test to earlier in the year.

Good to hear you passed. Was locked up myself this year. Know well what its like.
    Would you consider moving your annual test to earlier in the year.

Twould be no bad idea. Are you allowed to move it significantly? I'm normally September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,429 ✭✭✭tanko

Twould be no bad idea. Are you allowed to move it significantly? I'm normally September.

I'm pretty sure you can move it to any month you like as long as there's no more than 12 months between tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,427 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ya, any month you like. I do mine in June so I get the calves done too. Should I go down, I will still be clear in time to sell weanlings before the winter.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Is there anyone on here affected by the M17 motorway? Badgers don't like being disturbed, just wondering what the tb levels are like in the area now compared to a couple of years ago.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

blue5000 wrote: »
    Is there anyone on here affected by the M17 motorway? Badgers don't like being disturbed, just wondering what the tb levels are like in the area now compared to a couple of years ago.

Not affected by the new motorway here but I read in the Tuam Hearld a couple of weeks back that Tb has become a massive problem to people in the area of new motorway. One dairy farmer lost about 60 of his 90 cows with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭RD10

Clear test here. Delighted! as was said above,big weight lifted from my shoulders.

RD10 wrote: »
    Clear test here. Delighted! as was said above,big weight lifted from my shoulders.

Goodman. Breath the free air my friend!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭mistybluehills

degetme wrote: »
    Paid 510 for 124 animals for t.b test recently includes call out charges. How does this price fair?

IFA have a price survey on their website.
    Think €3.50 a head was the average, call out 2 x €25 also.
    Cheapest in country was €2.50 @ head. But that could be some1 with 1000 cows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

A few people got notices of a local dairy farmer being locked up last week. Postman called with a registered letter for me this morning. Another notice saying that I'm restricted until further notice as I'm contiguous to aTB breakdown. Presumably its the same herd but the notice doesnt say. I have no land boundsing him and well he knows it. Theres a public road stream and a narrow field belonging to his first cousin between my ground and his. 200 yrds at a minimum
    Is the registered letter a new thing? Another neighbour who is just over the ditch was locked up 2 yrs ago but i never was restricted. I suppose another test is inevitable. I have 5 tests done since june 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

If you are in what's considered a high risk area you will get restricted. Is it possible the lad that got locked up is farming the ground across the river also? It's the department makes the call fella that got locked up has nothing to do with it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I'm not sure what criteria are used for restricting neighbours but once you go with the idea of it being badger spread rather than nose-to-nose then a certain distance rather than neighbours becomes rational.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

And some lads still think this is not a money racket..........

Just home from a funeral and after talking to a few lads who were notified. One lad locked up like myself because he has ground rented near the restricted farmers silage ground which is also rented. No cattle ever grazed this ground. He's appealing his case to the Dept. and suggested I do likewise. Theres a few more notified but they should be getting registered letters too if I'm anything to go by.
    Ive done 5 tests in the last 18months. Could badly do without putting heavy in calf cows through a crush twice in the near future.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

FF, you could ring the Dept and see what they can do. If you're willing to be locked up (as in, it makes no difference to you in the short term) then you may be able to wait for a while. However, the catch there might be who ends up having to pay for it, yourself or the Dept.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Got letter here last week informing me a man 3 miles away down with tb. Cousin got same letter. He is only a couple of strands of wire away from where the man has land rented. Will the cousin have to be tested? That's if the man has been honest about where his cattle do be

No luck in getting my restriction lifted. Will have to do a test by 13th March. The farmer that had the breakdown had 3 reactors and up to a dozen doubtful animals. Dept are taking out all the suspect cases.

I thought I'd throw up this bit from the Journal about TB.

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/watch-badgers-may-spread-tb-further-than-thought-347309
    Over six years, scientists monitoring badgers fitted with GPS collars in Co Wicklow found that one in five males roamed a typical territory of 975ac, compared with the rest of the badger population staying within their close group's territory of 425ac. In distance terms, a so-called "super ranging" badger will travel 1.4km in one night, encroaching on his neighbours' territory, while his companions cover only 830m.
    While the study did not identify causes for super ranging, it found that all badgers involved were young males, indicating that targeting this group could make TB vaccination more efficient,

I was at a talk that discussed the same project. The main advice coming from the research as regards prevention was:

1. Fence off all setts including middens. Sometimes these were in open land rather than ditches or copses. Cattle were observed to spend a long time congregated around them, playing with the loose earth.

2. Fence off hedges and ditches. Rather than move across open land badgers travelled along the hedges/ditches. They tended to shun contact with cattle, largely staying away from them.

3. Clean up all meal spillages in yards to avoid inviting them in.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,429 ✭✭✭tanko

What about drinkers, is water contaminated by badgers a source of infection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,666 ✭✭✭✭Base price

tanko wrote: »
    What about drinkers, is water contaminated by badgers a source of infection?
    A family friend did contract work for DAFM for over 15 years and always recommended to us to leave a healthy sett alone. According to his unscientific experience fouling around water troughs/streams from infected badgers leads to the spread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Running the gauntlet here. Test yesterday, reading Monday. Depending on the result, the vet may or may not get paid in a timely fashion.

There's one vet in local vet that hasn't seen a reactor in 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,848 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well they used to think it was, sick badgers were put out of the setts and then rambled.
    Heard of a tagged on being found after travelling 11 miles.
    Agree on both points, Base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

Running the gauntlet here. Test yesterday, reading Monday. Depending on the result, the vet may or may not get paid in a timely fashion.

There's one vet in local vet that hasn't seen a reactor in 20 years.

I'm biased as a vet but that's a really stink attitude to someone doing their job. If you have a lad out cutting silage and the silage is poor quality do you blame the contractor too?

Lads want reactors ignored to sell cattle to other herds...but then happy to moan about the TB eradication scheme taking 60 years?!