Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Dogs outside all day

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭Hannibal

I have read through the thread and found interesting opinions.

I have two boxers who nearly point blank refuse to go out at night and during the day just to come in. I have two different pens in the garden that I lock them at night or when I'm at work but other than that they're in the house or running around the garden when I'm playing with them.

I've seen others with dogs that won't stay in but my two just want to come in and sit on their cushions.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    The issue with a lot of welfare charities from my experience as well as the experience of personal friends and my partner and his fellow vets, is that many of them are not really living in reality. Many of them expect over and beyond to the extent of not really realistically thinking of the animal as what it is, an animal.

The above is the problem with Irish people and pets, if you are getting a dog you need to fully commit to the dog. You don't know better than animal welfare charities. It only goes to show how far from best practice you are if you believe they are not living in reality.

If your dog is gonna be left alone for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week while you go to work you shouldn't have a dog. They are social creatures and shouldn't be left alone for long periods. And that is my problem with people who keep their dogs outside they get lonely, unless you are gonna spend all day outside with your dogs, then you should allow them inside.

The last dog we had, was allowed in and out of the house as he pleased. He used only come in in the evening, to sit down in front of the stove, for the company. My father would be out all day, so he would follow him around the garden for the day. The dog used sleep outside in Kennel, if the weather was very bad we used bring him inside, but he preferred sleeping outside generally.

I would love to get a dog myself now, but realistically I can't as I work from nine till half five and wouldn't be able to come home for lunch. It wouldn't be fair on a dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,779 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

My personal experience of rescues has caused me to come to the conclusion that some are nothing short of excuses for animal hoarding, not really wanted to rehome, but to have people fund their obsession. That said, I agree there needs to be a thorough selection process, but within reason. I had one friend have a rescue state they did not want her to get a dog because she had a back yard and were not convinced she would not keep it out there. Luckily she found a rescue with a sense of cop on and has a lovely little guy now that does not see the yard only for when she is doing laundry.

But that is OT, so back on track.

Dogs, so long as they have all their needs met can survive perfectly happy outside in most Irish weather. We do not have a ridiculously varied climate, most of the year is warm enough (though it does not always feel like it as we are so used to it) but generally it's fine. Obviously those with less fur and the vast majority of toy breeds are not as sturdy as a Labrador, German Shepard and a Jack Russell, so they need extra consideration, but overall, in my own opinion, which like everyone elses, is simply an opinion, most dogs are fine outside and contrary to some arguments, it is not an act of cruelty to simply have them outside during the day once they are properly cared for.

What are their reasons for barking for then in your view when they are left outside and owner has gone to work / niteclub / holiday! ?

They bored? - need company? - scared/feeling insecure? - too cold? - too hot? - in pain? - hungry? .... and are you saying as long as they have enough space and stimilation and if the weather is not too bad they are fine then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Swanley wrote: »
    Leaving Dogs outside all day;
    Leaving Dogs outside - all day;
    Leaving Dogs, outside; All day!
    Leaving Dogs;
    Outside;
    All day.

That's what we need now, deflation :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭LadyFenghuang

Swanley wrote: »
    Leaving Dogs outside all day;
    Leaving Dogs outside - all day;
    Leaving Dogs, outside; All day!
    Leaving Dogs;
    Outside;
    All day.

I am confused!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,749 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Jesus

If your dog wants to be outside then steps need to be taken to ensure he or she is warm, has enough space, gets exercise, water etc and is secure

If your dog wants to be inside them steps need to be taken to ensure the dog gets attention, walks, knows it's boundaries and is behaved.

The size of the dog plus the obstacles the back yard or inside may have make this all entirely CIRCUMSTANTIAL

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭bolopapa

Most of the time dogs needs space, as long as their is food and shelter available its okay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭Goat Paddock

FrStone wrote: »
    If your dog is gonna be left alone for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week while you go to work you shouldn't have a dog.

I would love to get a dog myself now, but realistically I can't as I work from nine till half five and wouldn't be able to come home for lunch. It wouldn't be fair on a dog.

Your being silly now, how do you expect people to pay for dog food and vet bills if they can`t go to work for 8 hours a day during the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Your being silly now, how do you expect people to pay for dog food and vet bills if they can`t go to work for 8 hours a day during the week.

Go back to the eighties, when dogs didn't have behavioural problems such as separation anxiety and the problems they lead to, it was highly unlikely that both parents worked outside the home, the mother was usually at home to mind the children and be company for the family pet. Now that circumstances have changed with people working longer hours, longer commutes etc, the dog is left alone to develop problem behaviours.

It's absolutely not fair to get a dog and subject it to solitude for such a big part of the day, whether the dog is left in the garden or the house. There's doggy daycare, pet sitters, dog walkers, or if they are out of budget then other family members can call in and walk the dog or break up the day for the dog. They are companion animals, not garden ornaments.

It's preferable to being left inside the house but it doesn't suit all. Mine would hate it as he likes the comfort of being inside but I feel guilty if I'm gone for a long period because his bladder might be full, at least outside he's free to go to the toilet. So I think outside is better but it's up to him really. That said, leaving them alone for extended periods of time anywhere on a regular basis is really the issue.

I wouldn't dream of leaving my dogs outside when we're not home. I've 2 retired greyhounds and a Westie and they are in the house all the time. They are walked once a day and let out in the back garden 5 or 6 times a day for a minimum of 15 minutes. We make sure that one of us comes home during the day to let them out, so they can do their business. They are not just animals to us. They are pets and are part of our family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I think regardless of whether they are an indoor/outdoor animal, the main issue is that they have adequate shelter, access to food and water and also social interaction and stimulation. I don't agree with keeping pets outside all of the time, nor do I agree with keeping them indoors all of the time. When it comes to dogs, they are pack animals and they really need social interaction, with other dogs and their owners. I moved about 6 months ago and I see dogs running around the area totally unsupervised. They are running around in a pack and they don't seem to be dangerous in any way and for them, I think they enjoy the freedom of it. For me though, I'd love to know who their owners are because you don't just allow your dog to wander around, there have been several near misses already where people have almost knocked them down, it is so irresponsible of the owners :mad: In the apartment above us there is a young dog who is rarely walked and he is kept alone on the balcony. I can hear him crying when I go into the communal garden. It seems like the husband works from home and yet the poor dog is kept outside on a small concrete balcony alone all day. Why do these people even get animals? I just don't understand it? :confused: Christ, if you have a dog, walk it, interact with it or give it so someone who will.

Where I was living previously my neighbours also had a dog that they never walked and who spent all of his time in a small concrete garden and occasionally some time in the house, so myself and my partner used to walk him and he was delighted with himself, it just makes me incredibly sad that it takes so little to make them happy and people still couldn't be bothered to do it. I might suggest to the neighbours above us that I could walk their dog, I'm just a bit hesitant because some people can get offended then.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭Celestial12

It depends on the breed. Some dogs don't do well outdoors whilst others do. I have two pugs, and they spend most of their time indoors. They're too fond of their comfort! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

My personal experience of rescues has caused me to come to the conclusion that some are nothing short of excuses for animal hoarding, not really wanted to rehome, but to have people fund their obsession.

Dogs, so long as they have all their needs met can survive perfectly happy outside in most Irish weather. We do not have a ridiculously varied climate, most of the year is warm enough (though it does not always feel like it as we are so used to it) but generally it's fine. Obviously those with less fur and the vast majority of toy breeds are not as sturdy as a Labrador, German Shepard and a Jack Russell, so they need extra consideration, but overall, in my own opinion, which like everyone elses, is simply an opinion, most dogs are fine outside and contrary to some arguments, it is not an act of cruelty to simply have them outside during the day once they are properly cared for.

Would you consider the Dogs Trust, The ISPCA, RSPCA in the UK & local SPCA's as dog hoarders ? They are all very wary of rehoming if the dog is to be kept outside.

I think that we want our dogs to more than survive.

It's not just an opinion. It's based on fact & it should be something that any Vet would support. But that could mean alienating some clients & losing revenue. You stated earlier that I had provided good reasons why a dog shouldn't be left outside. Your dog is probably very well cared for. The vast majority of outdoor dogs aren't.

Today could be a good day for outside dogs. It's Sunday & the sun is shining so they may get their, once a week walk. You can see dogs out on a Sunday that you never see during the week. On Monday we will be back to normal & the estates will be full of the sound of barking dogs left outdoors to annoy the neighbours.

The best thing that one can do, for any dog, is to get them a companion. Dogs can be left during the day provided they have company & plenty of exercise before they are left.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

bolopapa wrote: »
    Most of the time dogs needs space, as long as their is food and shelter available its okay.

Amazed at some peoples take on dogs! So much ignorance out there. Space food and shelter is all they need?

Dogs are complicated, intelligent, hard working pack animals, they thrive on company. They need to be with their adopted human family, not fooked out the back or penned in a "run" or chained to an old car.

Certain breeds shouldn't be left outside at all, rottweilers being one of them, they are bred to work and live with man, they thrive on human interaction and don't do well left alone outside the home for long hours or whole nights. (read up on any of the rottie forums)

Our hunting and early farming ancestors had it right. Dogs in the house with the family, out working with the family. This modern day fad of insisting the dog should be outside is nothing but an excuse to keep the house clean.

It's unfortunate, but since Victorian times dogs have basically been a fashion, nothing much has changed, people want their designer breeds, but their not willing to read up on them and treat them properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

My two are indoor dogs and wouldn't change it for the world.
    One is a huge Labrador / golden retriever cross and the other is a Staffordshire bull terrior cross.
    They ask to go out for a wee and a sniff and then they want to come back in again. They go for many walks throughout the day and I bring them everywhere with me if possible.

The Labrador is a rescue. He is only 4 but has huge callouses on his elbows and knees from where his previous owner kept him outside 24/7. (We think he was in a run as he's terrified of run like structures now he pees himself In fear when he sees a kennel). He was rescuesd as an abuse case who escaped as he was found straying. He was skin and bones. To this day he Will only go outside to go to the bathroom, for walks and to go for a drive in the car (he loves the car :D). When he goes into the back garden the door must be left open or he will panic. He will refuse point blank to go out the back when it's raining. He runs a mile from snow.

Now he's better, he will go out the back garden now and will potter around and might even have a lie down before panic sets in again. He has been so traumatised from being kept outside he may never truely be content being outside again. He needs so much reassurance.

The staffy X has full reign of the house, she's 13 and loves nothing more than to be by your side 24/7. When I worked in the pet industry she came with me to work every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I have two dogs. They spend the day in the garden unless it's cold then they're left inside. My mil usually comes over at lunch time to walk them and make sure they haven't got out/ran away. The OH is home early enough in the evenings, then at night time they sleep inside, and if they're sick they sleep with me.

They're not just pets, they're family.

One thing I have been looking into is doggy day care. There's a lady nearby where I live who's started to do it, 8 euro per dog per day. Where can you go wrong? She'll walk them, play with them and keep them company.

I feel guilty they're by themselves most of the day so we'll see how happy they are with her.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

My own dog spends 50/50 inside/outside.
    She sleeps indoors and during bad weather she will be in.
    She is completely spoiled which is probably not right but she behaves herself most of the time so is hard not to treat her that way.
    Plenty walks generally and she has a massive garden to run around in.

She is much a part of the family as anyone else is and i will never understand how people can neglect animals,They have individual personality's and can be great fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭316

Dog flap on back door is an idea. Can always close it or close off rest of house assuming it leads into a utility room.

Excellent for house theft too, send a child in the flap and open the doors.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭Swanley

I am confused!

It's a poem! Read it slowly and with punctuation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

316 wrote: »
    Excellent for house theft too, send a child in the flap and open the doors.

A child could get through the flap but someone could also snap the window locks quite easily. They would have to climb a high metal gate and get past my territorial Doberman to get to the flap though. There is shutter to seal the flap when nobody is home.
    The dog has the run of the house and garden when I am out and gets plenty of exercise and play when Im home. Im lucky as I never have to leave her alone for more than a couple of hours.
    She sometimes takes my shoes into the garden if she thinks I have been out too long.

Go back to the eighties, when dogs didn't have behavioural problems such as separation anxiety and the problems they lead to, it was highly unlikely that both parents worked outside the home, the mother was usually at home to mind the children and be company for the family pet. Now that circumstances have changed with people working longer hours, longer commutes etc, the dog is left alone to develop problem behaviours.

It's absolutely not fair to get a dog and subject it to solitude for such a big part of the day, whether the dog is left in the garden or the house. There's doggy daycare, pet sitters, dog walkers, or if they are out of budget then other family members can call in and walk the dog or break up the day for the dog. They are companion animals, not garden ornaments.

couldnt agree more with you....

I detest ownership of dogs in anywhere except the countryside of Ireland or a fairly similar environment.
    Where I live, there are absolutely massive dogs with huge coats that are paraded around as a status symbol. The poor things are dying under their own fur which is suited to a more northern climate.

I can do nothing about it because well, that's where I live.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

I detest ownership of dogs in anywhere except the countryside of Ireland

That's where the worst cases of cruelty and neglect are though. Dogs chained up, never let indoors, locked in outhouses and sheds, puppy farms etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I detest ownership of dogs in anywhere except the countryside of Ireland or a fairly similar environment.

Why?
    Dogs aren't allowed roam in the countryside. Irrespective of the garden size they need to be walked, socialised and mentally stimulated be that in a city, town, village or countryside. In your utopian view of dogs living in the countryside do you expect them to be taking in the views? If they're outside they're most likely sitting at the back door trying to get in. If they're not securely fenced into their garden there's a danger they'll roam where they can worry livestock, cause an accident or mate with the dog from the farm down the road, farmers tend not to neuter their dogs in case they are good workers and they want to continue the lines but have a look in any pound or rescue, the vast, vast majority of strays and surrenders are collies and collie cross pups.
    Where I live, there are absolutely massive dogs with huge coats that are paraded around as a status symbol. The poor things are dying under their own fur which is suited to a more northern climate.

I can do nothing about it because well, that's where I live.
    So there's nothing but double coated northern breeds where you live? All malamutes I take it? They're the biggest of the northern breeds, the husky is much smaller. Or maybe you live in an area where there's lots of newfoundlands even though they're a far rarer breed.

Did you know that the double coat protects from extremes of cold and heat by the way? In fact a dog with a solid black coat like a lab or a cocker spaniel is more at risk of heatstroke as the black coat absorbs the heat, whereas the dogs with lighter coloured coats tend to reflect the sun away. What is needed is awareness for people not to walk any dog during the middle of the day during a hot summers day, a bit like humans are meant to stay out of the sun. There was a golden retriever that died of heatstroke during one of the past summers due to his owner taking him out when it was too hot.

A child could get through the flap but someone could also snap the window locks quite easily. They would have to climb a high metal gate and get past my territorial Doberman to get to the flap though. There is shutter to seal the flap when nobody is home.
    The dog has the run of the house and garden when I am out and gets plenty of exercise and play when Im home. Im lucky as I never have to leave her alone for more than a couple of hours.
    She sometimes takes my shoes into the garden if she thinks I have been out too long.

Everyone who keeps a dog outside or uses a dog door should be aware that, if someone enters your garden & gets bitten, your dog may be put down.

Discodog wrote: »
    Everyone who keeps a dog outside or uses a dog door should be aware that, if someone enters your garden & gets bitten, your dog may be put down.

yes I heard that too - also that anyone who has dogs on the premises should put up a sign at gate or entrance by law that says to the fact or 'beware of the dog(s)' sign to pre-warn visitors

I have been told that the sign could be a bad thing in that it could be seen as an admission that your dog is dangerous. A child retrieving a ball might not see or understand the significance of a sign. It's why no one should ever train their dog to guard.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

Not true. Anybody bitten while on a dogs territoy (owners home) hasn't a leg to stand on. There was a case (in county Sligo I think) a couple of year ago, where a canvasser enterered onto a property in full view of a dog. There was a warning sign on the gate and to compound the persons stupidity, the dog was a German Shepperd. The idiot opened the gate, walked in and the dog badly savaged her arm. She ended up needing several surgeries.

The judge threw her case our of court, said she was duly warned by the sign and by the prescence of a barking dog. Yet she completely ignored it. He blamed her for her injuries and said the dog was only protecting its home. He said the dog owner took due care to put a sign up, keeping the gate closed and ensuring dog was within his own property boundaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Not true. Under section 22 of the Control of Dogs Act act the District Court, upon complaint, would have to decide that a dog is dangerous and not being kept under control in order to rule that the dog be destroyed.
    As for Beware of the dog signs, these can be an admission that your dog is dangerous and has indeed been taken as a indication that the dog is neither under control nor safe to own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I wouldn't dream of leaving my dogs outside when we're not home. I've 2 retired greyhounds and a Westie and they are in the house all the time. They are walked once a day and let out in the back garden 5 or 6 times a day for a minimum of 15 minutes. We make sure that one of us comes home during the day to let them out, so they can do their business. They are not just animals to us. They are pets and are part of our family.

I'm not sure if that post was meant in opposition to my post which you quoted? It seems like you're suggesting that it's somehow cold to put them outside, some dogs prefer to be outside, it doesn't mean you care any less about them. While they're not just animals to you, they are actually animals and treating them as humans isn't necessarily a good thing.

Like I said in my post, some dogs prefer to be outside. My own prefers to be inside to I leave him in. If he preferred to be outside then I'd leave him outside, there's nothing wrong with leaving the dog outside if that's where they prefer to be.