Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I was thinking of gps, anyone recommend any a ford able units? Some hills I wouldn't be able to drive straight up as too steep, so I could start a set iykwim so drive up flatter and come down steep bit. Wider is better as less travelling but wind can be quite strong here, I liked the sulky but Bro bought a new one 3 yrs ago and is seeing slight rust so ill stay away
    I've a Trimble EZ250 with a good few years now and tbh I wouldn't think of spreading without it. They're about 1k these days.

They are all pretty much the same, I'd say, and there should be a few other brands showing up for you once you search Youtube. There used be a lad on Donedeal from Cork bringing them in a good bit cheaper then the main dealers but I have no idea if he is still at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I've a Trimble EZ250 with a good few years now and tbh I wouldn't think of spreading without it. They're about 1k these days.

They are all pretty much the same, I'd say, and there should be a few other brands showing up for you once you search Youtube. There used be a lad on Donedeal from Cork bringing them in a good bit cheaper then the main dealers but I have no idea if he is still at it.

I rang a guy up the country about them the other day. He was selling a few different types but reckoned the ez250 wasn't accurate enough for spraying with standard antenna, could be a meter out either way and it's 400 extra for higher spec antenna to bring it to within 6 inches. 1100 for standard one including vat. Topcon is 1600 and it'll be accurate to 6 inches aswell. He has a new type coming in called ontrak that you use through an app on your phone but will only work on ios (iphone) nothing on android for some reason but accurate to 6 inches aswell and a good bit cheaper than the other types.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I rang a guy up the country about them the other day. He was selling a few different types but reckoned the ez250 wasn't accurate enough for spraying with standard antenna, could be a meter out either way and it's 400 extra for higher spec antenna to bring it to within 6 inches. 1100 for standard one including vat. Topcon is 1600 and it'll be accurate to 6 inches aswell. He has a new type coming in called ontrak that you use through an app on your phone but will only work on ios (iphone) nothing on android for some reason but accurate to 6 inches aswell and a good bit cheaper than the other types.

Using exguide here. Find it good. Offset it 1 metre when spraying. No missed patches

• Registered Users Posts: 24,378 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Just a topcon here on the dini for measuring fields. A little too complicated but once ya get the hang of things

• Registered Users Posts: 36 r4110

does anyone know how much unmarked white diesel is a liter delivered?

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭valtra2

r4110 wrote: »
    does anyone know how much unmarked white diesel is a liter delivered?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Grueller wrote: »
    You weigh 58kg? At one stage before I got back into running I weghed the same as yourself and the bag of nitrogen.

Yep. I was around 66 but it took a sudden drop before Christmas and hasn’t gone back up since.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

valtra2 wrote: »

I find there's no difference now between bulk and the pumps, just buy in bulk now to get it on one receipt

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭valtra2

wrangler wrote: »
    I find there's no difference now between bulk and the pumps, just buy in bulk now to get it on one receipt

They might be a few cents but ya same here just easier keep account of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 r4110

Thanks for the reply. I thought there might be a bit of a difference but in my case it's not worth it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

124 at pumps here. Pay with Bank card every time. Fully accounted for along with the coffee. Road diesel tanks have a big bullseye on them. Not worth the hassle unless you're living on the dark side of the moon.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

Any recommendations on a topper? Looking to get a new one as the old one is rusted that bad it ain't safe anymore. Something easy to change the height on. Some fields are rough/stoney others are clean and flat so height control would be important.

MeTheMan wrote: »
    Any recommendations on a topper? Looking to get a new one as the old one is rusted that bad it ain't safe anymore. Something easy to change the height on. Some fields are rough/stoney others are clean and flat so height control would be important.

Fully or semi offset

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭9935452

124 at pumps here. Pay with Bank card every time. Fully accounted for along with the coffee. Road diesel tanks have a big bullseye on them. Not worth the hassle unless you're living on the dark side of the moon.

We are 120.9 and 121.8 at the pumps at a few of the local petrol stations in newcastle west

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭larthehar

I measured the width of the slurry splash plate and drove the length of the field with the normal antenna with 100mm overlap on the EZ 250.. had a perfect overlap the whole way.. under trees can be an issue alright..
    Good enough for me!

Reggie. wrote: »
    Fully or semi offset

Semi offset would do the job. Was looking at Fleming ones. Seem a good yoke at a decent price. Would 6 foot be a bit much for 165?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Semi offset would do the job. Was looking at Fleming ones. Seem a good yoke at a decent price. Would 6 foot be a bit much for 165?

I got a galvanised major one with heavy duty gear box last year for 1600 at athenry co-op. Couldn't fault it and it has a lot of abuse got and stones hit.

Used to run one with a 135 so a 165 will be no bother. Major seem to be the standard for toppers

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Keep the blades sharp and the 165 will have no bother.

I have a Malone one and it mows stones and rushes:o. I looked at a few at the time and for the price the Malone came out on top. Major very good too but dearer. I paid €1050 for it 4 years ago but it was an end of season price I think. The skids are 4 bolts on either side and take a bit of work to change. I use a bit of copper grease on them to make it easier to take off but its not a 2 minute job. I think all the small toppers are the same though.

Cheers lads.

Thats a good price on the malone one. Must have a look at major as well. Bit more then I budgeted for. Real problem with thistles the last two years want to get on top of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭davidk1394

What apps to ye use to upload images on here ? I had Photobucket but they changed their app and I can't post the image straight to here.

davidk1394 wrote: »
    What apps to ye use to upload images on here ? I had Photobucket but they changed their app and I can't post the image straight to here.

Postimage is one

• Registered Users Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Anyone know where I could get fresh set of crown and pinion gears made up? Thought I could buy a new gear box but the machine is old and can't get a gear box that would fit it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭MfMan

On the cattle trailer the rear LHS taillights aren't working, but the corresponding front ones are. All the rest of lights are working. Is the plug pin the same for front and rear or could it be bulb problem? I suspect the former as both top and bottom lights are out.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

MfMan wrote: »
    On the cattle trailer the rear LHS taillights aren't working, but the corresponding front ones are. All the rest of lights are working. Is the plug pin the same for front and rear or could it be bulb problem? I suspect the former as both top and bottom lights are out.

pin should be the same. is there a junction box?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭visatorro

Anyone know where I could get fresh set of crown and pinion gears made up? Thought I could buy a new gear box but the machine is old and can't get a gear box that would fit it

What machine is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Guess the make.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭MfMan

pin should be the same. is there a junction box?

Ummm... maybe. It's an Aerlite, new enough. Might give them a buzz tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Guess the make.

Lindner ?

You're a bigger tease than Reggie!

Guess the make.

Linder