Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 24,388 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    450 euro to get ad-blue turned off and 30hp mapped onto a t6140, makes some difference

Is it certified tho at that price. Chipping can go wrong on ya

• Registered Users Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Reggie. wrote: »
    Is it certified tho at that price. Chipping can go wrong on ya

You can get 10% increase in hp safe enough. Over that it's dodgy.
    Doubt we'll bother but if we do we'll wait till warrenty is up

You can get 10% increase in hp safe enough. Over that it's dodgy.
    Doubt we'll bother but if we do we'll wait till warrenty is up

I think you can push to 20% as the safety margin is 30% built into engines.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Anyone know if you can run an adgitator with a 95hp tractor. I asked the contractor to come last Saturday and he promised me he would have the tanks mixed by yesterday. He now can't come till Monday and the slurry is up through the slats. Really considering picking up a second hand agitator

• Registered Users Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Anyone know if you can run an adgitator with a 95hp tractor. I asked the contractor to come last Saturday and he promised me he would have the tanks mixed by yesterday. He now can't come till Monday and the slurry is up through the slats. Really considering picking up a second hand agitator

Typical contractor and yes we ran an agitator on a 5640 ford and it had no problem stirring a 5 column tank

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Used to agitate with 5000 here, 95hp should be fine as long as you haven't sucked all the water out of the tanks.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Neighbour used to use a slurry pump with my old 398

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yea. No problem. Easily agitate with that. We use the T5050 on the agitator

Cheers lads will look into picking up a decent second hand yoke. Is there anything to keep an eye out for in a second hand adgitator?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Cheers lads will look into picking up a decent second hand yoke. Is there anything to keep an eye out for in a second hand adgitator?

Rust mainly!

If you lucked upon a galvanised NC 3000, it'd be a super job.
    Trouble is, nobody seems to sell theirs....

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭annubis

7211 and various other small zetors did the agitating here for years :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Who2

You’ll buy a brand new nc 3000 slurry pump for e2900. Anything second hand will be well wrecked. Rust is the main issue, gearbox is another and theirs a bit down beside the propellor that gets badly worn. After all that you could buy a new one and have it for life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Assume you have your own tanker then? As said, 95 will be enough for the likes of the NC3000. Willl prob do the tractor a world of good, But keep an eye on temperature.

Who2 wrote:
    You’ll buy a brand new nc 3000 slurry pump for e2900. Anything second hand will be well wrecked. Rust is the main issue, gearbox is another and theirs a bit down beside the propellor that gets badly worn. After all that you could buy a new one and have it for life.

Yeah had a quick look last night and a decent second hand one is up on 2k am thinking be as well off to get a new one.

Hope everyone has plenty of antifreeze in the workhorses

joecass123 wrote:
    Assume you have your own tanker then? As said, 95 will be enough for the likes of the NC3000. Willl prob do the tractor a world of good, But keep an eye on temperature.

Yeah have two tankers an old 900 Abbey that I didn't bother trading when I bought a Belmac 1600 2 years ago. Just for comfort I think it's time one was bought. There's been great drying here and I could have dropped all the tanks a few foot yesterday while I was off had the tanks been mixed.

12c here atm. Savage day. Pity it's to go down hill

Reggie. wrote:
    12c here atm. Savage day. Pity it's to go down hill

It's a savage day here. Ground conditions have seriously improved over the past few days that east wind has some drying in it. Hopefully it doesn't come as bad as they are saying

• Registered Users Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭kay 9

Thanks for the reminder reg.
    Have a little 20d that I need to drain this evening.

kay 9 wrote: »
    Thanks for the reminder reg.
    Have a little 20d that I need to drain this evening.

I did the taste test this morning. Well sweet jaysus there's plenty in mine

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I did the taste test this morning. Well sweet jaysus there's plenty in mine

Taste test?!

Finger in the water bottle and taste a small bit off the water. The more bitter it is the stronger the concentrate. It was wicked strong so hopefully it's good enough

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭FeelTheBern

Apologies for the extreme lack of knowledge but have MF390 and wondering where would I put in the antifreeze to be on the safe side? Is there an amount that should be added? Thanks (and apologies - I'm sure this is something any fool should know)

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭poor farmer

Where was that forecast on? I was just expecting an " ordinary " frosty weekend . -2° or so ?

Apologies for the extreme lack of knowledge but have MF390 and wondering where would I put in the antifreeze to be on the safe side? Is there an amount that should be added? Thanks (and apologies - I'm sure this is something any fool should know)

As others have said, do the taste test. It will give you a fair idea, although it not stuff you'd want to be drinking.
    Antifreeze or coolant goes into the radiator or expansion tank connected to the radiator.
    3 - 5 litres should be lots in an engine that size .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Yeah, 2- 3 liters should be ok. You'll prob need to drain off some water first to give you room. Should be a drain tap at the bottom of the rad on the RHS I think as you look out from drivers seat.

After you add the anti freeze run the engine at a good rev to warm it up. The thermostat need to open to circulate the antifreeze through the whole engine block.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭FeelTheBern

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Yeah, 2- 3 liters should be ok. You'll prob need to drain off some water first to give you room. Should be a drain tap at the bottom of the rad on the RHS I think as you look out from drivers seat.

After you add the anti freeze run the engine at a good rev to warm it up. The thermostat need to open to circulate the antifreeze through the whole engine block.

Just imagine ( purely hypothetical situation) that you were trying to explain to someone with a MF390 (1) where the radiator is or looks like (2) what the drain tap looks like and (3) what the top up opening looks like and is located. Thanks!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Finger in the water bottle and taste a small bit off the water. The more bitter it is the stronger the concentrate. It was wicked strong so hopefully it's good enough

Is there water in your tractor, I've been warned to use proper coolant.....is there a difference or am i just being codded

wrangler wrote: »
    Is there water in your tractor, I've been warned to use proper coolant.....is there a difference or am i just being codded

Nah it is coolant but if I said that I would have maybe confused some people

• Registered Users Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Nah it is coolant but if I said that I would have maybe confused some people

tasting the coolant reminded me of this.

The consultant urologist is demonstrating urine sampling to a class of students. As each sample is passed to him, he dips a finger in the bottle, raises his hand to his mouth and licks it. the standard tests follow and
    after each one he mutters “Hmm, thought so, too high/low a sugar level”, etc.

The students were then invited to follow his example, which they duly did, including the finger dipping and licking.

At the end of the class, the consultant addressed the students. “While I cannot fault you on your general techniques”, he said, “I would recommend that you pay more attention to observation”. He continued, “If you had been more alert, you would have realised that, when I dipped my finger in the sample prior to testing it, I then licked a different digit — class dismissed”.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Staring the tractor here this morning about 7.15. Around - 5 at the time. Started away no bother, around 10 sec later oil pressure light came on, so I stopped immediately.

Started thinking that maybe due to cold, oil in the sump had thickened and would be ok when warmed up. Cattle to be fed etc so I started up again and let it tick over. Oil light went off after aprox 2 mins and fine since.

Am I right in thinking that cold oil is the issue? Am I risking damage to the engine?