Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Deiseforsam

Was anyone else in fraher field this evening? An Rinn leading by four points in the 60th min & the ref blew for a penalty for a foul that clearly happened on the 21 if not a few yards outside it, it was converted then following the next 2 plays he gave 2 of the softest frees I've ever seen in my life against an rinn which were also converted!
    I am a complete neutral but can't help but feel sorry for teams who train all year then the crap standard of referring in the county let's them down time after time. It will be interesting to see if any more comes of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Who was reffing it as a matter of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭Ompala

debok wrote: »
    Dont think ballygunner are thinking of all irelands only game next week. If they get over that then maybe. Thurles are step up on anything in waterford

Tbf though Thurles do majorly underperform in Munster, wouldn't write Ballygunner off or anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ompala wrote: »
    Tbf though Thurles do majorly underperform in Munster, wouldn't write Ballygunner off or anything

I did hear ballygunner were pushing hard to get championship wrapped up when heard na piarsigh knocked out in limerick

Who was reffing it as a matter of interest?

Tom Dee Brutal Ref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭The blue blaa

cul beag wrote: »
    Lets be honest O Keefe has previous when it comes to all that sort of stuff. Tries to intimidate and upset full forwards and more often than not he gets carded as a result. Or in the cases of Fennelly and Callanan he just gets cleaned out.

Let's be honest O'Keeffe is the goalie and Barry Coughlan is the fullback.
    If your going to slate someone at least get their name right and you might be taken seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

I did hear ballygunner were pushing hard to get championship wrapped up when heard na piarsigh knocked out in limerick
    Sounds like utter nonsense to me. 'getting the championship wrapped up' What does that even mean?
    I won't be throwing the mortgage down on them to do too much in Munster anyway. For all their dominance in Waterford they always seem to come up short on the big occasion in Munster. Not a great side compared to previous teams they've had, and certainly not a side that should be winning three in a row in their county championship. Overall its been another poor county championship, one sided games, fixture mess. Poor standard of hurling. Poor officiating. In fact I think there have been better quality games and more exciting in the intermediate and junior championships as that's where a lot of our good young players are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Let's be honest O'Keeffe is the goalie and Barry Coughlan is the fullback.
    If your going to slate someone at least get their name right and you might be taken seriously.

If you took the time to read my other post explaining the mistake you wouldn't be having a pop to gain some likes at the end of your post. Maybe then I could take you seriously. Sorry if I touched a nerve about Coughlan but the truth is a bitter pill to swallow. Ask our ex selector hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Sounds like utter nonsense to me. 'getting the championship wrapped up' What does that even mean?
    I won't be throwing the mortgage down on them to do too much in Munster anyway. For all their dominance in Waterford they always seem to come up short on the big occasion in Munster. Not a great side compared to previous teams they've had, and certainly not a side that should be winning three in a row in their county championship. Overall its been another poor county championship, one sided games, fixture mess. Poor standard of hurling. Poor officiating. In fact I think there have been better quality games and more exciting in the intermediate and junior championships as that's where a lot of our good young players are.

They have 5 county starters hardly a poor side,only got it on the radio but not including Shane, seems he missed a lot of ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭thesultan

Ballygunner are a good bit ahead in Waterford. Seems to be in the gym alot too. The power of David O'Sullivan ,one time took four rattles and didn't put him off his stride. Their mass defence won't bring them Munster. Three forwards up the rest funneled back. Thurles will have paudie free, with possibly Pa bourke roaming to pick up any lose passes.

How did Michael O'Brien get the county final ? A big chested massive ego who shall not be questioned. The best referee in the county was doing the line.

O Brien is another shocking referee, The only good referee id rate is Kissane and hes a Tipperary man. Can anyone tell me why referees from outside the county arent brought for big games? This is normal procedure in other counties!
    Nothing against Dessie but wasnt he given the Senior Co Football final in 2014 as his last match? They even had a small section in the programme for him if memory serves correct.
    Is there enough been done to recruit young referees (I dont have a clue)? The only 2 young referees ive seen this year are that O'Toole young lad who hasnt a notion and A young Tyler Walsh lad from the West, Hes a very good ref id rate him as the second best in the county to Kissane.
    After seeing what happend last night in fraher field I think the clubs should stand up together and address the issue of Referees and the standard they referee games at. Last year at an adult Co Final I was talking to the linesman during a break in play and he said the referee hasnt a clue.
    Overall I think the refereeing in Waterford is crap and not fair on players who will be going back training in the next two months for next years championship. Surely they deserve better!
    I Would fear for Ballygunner in Munster club again because frees wont be given as soft as they get them in Waterford. Last year I think Ken McGrath brought up the difference in standards of refereeing when you get outside Waterford be it Intercounty or with your club. It will be interesting to see how they get on.
    If anyone thinks different go to DeLaSalles next Harty cup game and compare the standard of refereeing there with the standard in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

O Brien is another shocking referee, The only good referee id rate is Kissane and hes a Tipperary man. Can anyone tell me why referees from outside the county arent brought for big games? This is normal procedure in other counties!
    Nothing against Dessie but wasnt he given the Senior Co Football final in 2014 as his last match? They even had a small section in the programme for him if memory serves correct.
    Is there enough been done to recruit young referees (I dont have a clue)? The only 2 young referees ive seen this year are that O'Toole young lad who hasnt a notion and A young Tyler Walsh lad from the West, Hes a very good ref id rate him as the second best in the county to Kissane.
    After seeing what happend last night in fraher field I think the clubs should stand up together and address the issue of Referees and the standard they referee games at. Last year at an adult Co Final I was talking to the linesman during a break in play and he said the referee hasnt a clue.
    Overall I think the refereeing in Waterford is crap and not fair on players who will be going back training in the next two months for next years championship. Surely they deserve better!
    I Would fear for Ballygunner in Munster club again because frees wont be given as soft as they get them in Waterford. Last year I think Ken McGrath brought up the difference in standards of refereeing when you get outside Waterford be it Intercounty or with your club. It will be interesting to see how they get on.
    If anyone thinks different go to DeLaSalles next Harty cup game and compare the standard of refereeing there with the standard in Waterford.

I was at the game last night and it certainly wasn't a penalty as the foul was outside the box. The ref was behind play and while he appeared to initially indicate a penalty, he then conferred with the umpires who both indicated penalty.

There is no way that Kilrossanty should have won that game but Ring imploded. The goal aside, Kilrossanty kicked 4 unanswered points. Ring had a chance to stretch the game to 7 points around 50 mins in but went for goal which was saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,598 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Everyone is anticipating a Ballyhale Shamrocks or O loughlan gaels vs Thurles Sarsfield AI senior Club final( massive amount of hurling to be played before Paddy's day 2017) and Ballygunner will be massive underdogs next Sunday but u never knw.

Pauric Mahonys first match back in semple stadium since the kilkenny replay defeat, Thurles had a very one sided final and there will be pressure on them to perform at home (well very near there home pitch). Game is live on TG4 next Sunday

Would Lismore have a chance of the Intermediate Club All Ireland title (if they of course win the Waterford title) ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Everyone is anticipating a Ballyhale Shamrocks or O loughlan gaels vs Thurles Sarsfield AI senior Club final( massive amount of hurling to be played before Paddy's day 2017) and Ballygunner will be massive underdogs next Sunday but u never knw.

Pauric Mahonys first match back in semple stadium since the kilkenny replay defeat, Thurles had a very one sided final and there will be pressure on them to perform at home (well very near there home pitch). Game is live on TG4 next Sunday

Would Lismore have a chance of the Intermediate Club All Ireland title (if they of course win the Waterford title) ??

When Lismore will have Dunhill beaten they'll know all about it. They're a million miles away from winning an all Ireland club. Dunhill from what I've seen with the likes of Eamonn Murphy etc are a well balanced outfit and that county final will be 50/50. The winners of Ballygunner /Thurles will win Munster,and that's at the very least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭crottys lake

Did you really say Kissane is a competent referee ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭hurdles1

First of all o brien was reffing the final because his father is big noise in County board with years.

The incident regarding eoin kelly was a disgrace. He should never be allowed on to a field again. Allowing these so called stars attend cul camps etc and
    Work with impressionable children
    What message is this giving.
    Kellys kids were at that match watching that carry on.

This kind of thing is happening all over the country every weekend and now creeping into kids matches with parents getting involved.
    If gaa don't get their act together and start clamping down on this thuggery and making examples and banning players for 1_2 years and fining clubs they are going to have major problems with claims etc going forward.

I know of a case where a player was struck in an of the ball incident breaking his jaw, took the culprit to court and got €10k compo.

hurdles1 wrote: »
    First of all o brien was reffing the final because his father is big noise in County board with years.

The incident regarding eoin kelly was a disgrace. He should never be allowed on to a field again. Allowing these so called stars attend cul camps etc and

This kind of thing is happening all over the country every weekend and now creeping into kids matches with parents getting involved.
    If gaa don't get their act together and start clamping down on this thuggery and making examples and banning players for 1_2 years and fining clubs they are going to have major problems with claims etc going forward.

I know of a case where a player was struck in an of the ball incident breaking his jaw, took the culprit to court and got €10k compo.

Kelly hardly struck out at Coughlan for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭mickotallow

thesultan wrote: »
    Kelly hardly struck out at Coughlan for no reason.

You could see as the ball was going into the square Coughlan had his arms wrapped around Kelly. Not suggesting Kelly wasn't in the wrong but the cameras only caught Kelly and not what Coughlan had done before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

cul beag wrote: »
    When Lismore will have Dunhill beaten they'll know all about it. They're a million miles away from winning an all Ireland club. Dunhill from what I've seen with the likes of Eamonn Murphy etc are a well balanced outfit and that county final will be 50/50. The winners of Ballygunner /Thurles will win Munster,and that's at the very least.

You'd better get down to paddy powers if you believe ballygunner can win the all Ireland you'll get them at 16/1 by the way thurles 4/1 and patrickswell 15/2

hurdles1 wrote: »

I know of a case where a player was struck in an of the ball incident breaking his jaw, took the culprit to court and got 10k compo.
    Steady on now, he's not the first fellah to lash out at someone out on the field and won't be the last. He'll know more than anyone he let himself down, what would banning him for life achieve. Coughlan no angel either weve seen what he's like. He's not exactly a model for the game of hurling either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Deisedick

Steady on now, he's not the first fellah to lash out at someone out on the field and won't be the last. He'll know more than anyone he let himself down, what would banning him for life achieve. Coughlan no angel either weve seen what he's like. He's not exactly a model for the game of hurling either

Lads where is this myth coming out of that Barry coughlan is a dirty hurler he's tough sticky annoying and in your face defender which he is supposed to be as a full back but I've never seen him striking anyone or get sent off for violent conduct .. He does his job lets not deflect from eoin Kelly's behaviour here it's nothing to do with coughlan

Deisedick wrote: »
    Lads where is this myth coming out of that Barry coughlan is a dirty hurler he's tough sticky annoying and in your face defender which he is supposed to be as a full back but I've never seen him striking anyone or get sent off for violent conduct .. He does his job lets not deflect from eoin Kelly's behaviour here it's nothing to do with coughlan

I was surprised that Coughlan was pinned to the ground, he's no small man.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,114 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Tbh form an outsiders perspective I can't buy any excuse that the full back was provoking Kelly. So what if he was? Is a bit of jostling, arms wrapped around him and a bit of talking in his ear deserving of Kelly throwing him to the ground and attempting to throw punches? No its not.

I've no clue how he didn't get the line for it. Not as if the umpire could claim not to have seen it or anything.

He got more than he bargained for with Kelly, not excusing Kellys behaviour but Coughlan pulled him and dragged him down to the ground. Living on the edge the way Coughlan does, trouble is never too far away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

He got more than he bargained for with Kelly, not excusing Kellys behaviour but Coughlan pulled him and dragged him down to the ground. Living on the edge the way Coughlan does, trouble is never too far away

Uhm, not excusing his behaviour but then going on to do it! The ref bottled it totally, should never get a big game again, full back pinned down, punched, had his helmet ripped off and hit a few times with it? And not sent off, You're not the ref by any chance? Looked terrible on TV and seemed to put ballygunner off their stride for about 10 mins after... As an outsider wouldn't think much of passage, or Waterford refereeing after that incident...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

End of the day Coughlan didn't pull kellys helmet off. That's straight red no matter what anyone says never even mind the punches he threw
    . He stood beside the ref with helmet in his hands. Bucky didn't have balls to send off and hes the one should be punished now. He felt yellow cards were enough but they weren't so never let him ref big game again or at least get new set of umpires with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Jaysus just watched that incident now on the Irish Times website, madness that that thug wasn't sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Mehapoy wrote: »
    Uhm, not excusing his behaviour but then going on to do it! The ref bottled it totally, should never get a big game again, full back pinned down, punched, had his helmet ripped off and hit a few times with it? And not sent off, You're not the ref by any chance? Looked terrible on TV and seemed to put ballygunner off their stride for about 10 mins after... As an outsider wouldn't think much of passage, or Waterford refereeing after that incident...

Generalise much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Boeing001

Just when you think the Waterford Co Board can't get any worse,you get the situation where the winners of the intermediate Co final on Friday night have to play the first round of the Munster championship two days later on the Sunday! I know there was a replay involved in the western semi final but that is just ridiculous situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Boeing001 wrote: »
    Just when you think the Waterford Co Board can't get any worse,you get the situation where the winners of the intermediate Co final on Friday night have to play the first round of the Munster championship two days later on the Sunday! I know there was a replay involved in the western semi final but that is just ridiculous situation.
    What can they do?

Modeligo got to the west final after a replay and are still involved in the west football. That championship got held up because of Tom devines involvement with the hurlers as did the intermediate hurling with County players.