If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

They should look okay, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Maybe, i threw it up on a 900 page on facebook too and so far they're stumped, so i figured someone here might have a small idea of where to even start, all the suspension components havent been touched, (springs and coils) and everything that was replaced is torqued to what it should be, so im at my wits end

Are the tyres fecked or wrong size ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Love the Subaru porsche blitzen alloys, dunno if they'd suit the celica. And kerry is a long way for most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/8814727

Are these too rally inspired to suit my celica? Really want to get the 18's off it, but finding anything 5x100 and non VAG within 2 countys of me seems very hard.

They look good better if they were black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Just spent a wedge on cleaning supplies so I can start washing the car weekly. Came home to realise the house doesn't have a hose :rolleyes:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/8814727

Are these too rally inspired to suit my celica? Really want to get the 18's off it, but finding anything 5x100 and non VAG within 2 countys of me seems very hard.

They're not too far off the OEM Celica wheels. Maybe get them refurbed in silver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

They're not too far off the OEM Celica wheels. Maybe get them refurbed in silver?

Or just buy a set of new OEM rims. Between purchase price and refurb you wouldn't be too far off the price of a new set I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

It's a 2k car, so really can't justify spending more than 4-500 on wheels (and tyres). Also don't want to drive across the country for something. It's just a waiting game for something nice to pop up and i'm getting impatient. I think i'l sleep on that set, they might look ok on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Tp, you're saying that you come back off lock and you have negative camber?

Not your steering anyway because it wouldn't affect camber being bolted to the rear of the hub.
    Have the strut towers got adjustment or could they be flexing?

Or is the wishbone able to move?

There the only reason you could be generating camber!

Very strange!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I forgot how annoying the service reminder was on the golf. Turn on ignition ping "service now!" Then you start the car get safety belt warning put on your safety belt then ping and "service now!" Flashes 10 times I suppose they are designed to be annoying.

A bit of a slightly early start tomorrow leaving kilkenny at 2.30am for airport very excited though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Have fun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

So, there is good news and bad news.

The good news is I need a new thermostat.

The bad news is I also need a new clutch:o

Can anyone lend me some beans for my toast for the next couple of months :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

pred racer wrote: »
    So, there is good news and bad news.

The good news is I need a new thermostat.

The bad news is I also need a new clutch:o

Can anyone lend me some beans for my toast for the next couple of months :(

I'm sure George Dalton can :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Actually....can someone lend me some toast too :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

pred racer wrote: »
    Actually....can someone lend me some toast too :pac:

We can lend you a Polo with a new clutch and thermostat :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

It's nice that it's being sold with a "unique" licence plate as if it's more usual to sell with a cloned plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Are the tyres fecked or wrong size ?

Nope tyres are the right size!
    YbFocus wrote: »
    Tp, you're saying that you come back off lock and you have negative camber?

Not your steering anyway because it wouldn't affect camber being bolted to the rear of the hub.
    Have the strut towers got adjustment or could they be flexing?

Or is the wishbone able to move?

There the only reason you could be generating camber!

Very strange!

It's very strange indeed, there's two wishbones on each side, upper and lower,

The struts might be fecked, they look very very worn

But basically this is what it looks like now

10506621_886780411365687_1663548648141111694_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

OSI wrote: »
    I think they're referring more to the fact the plate has 911 in it rather than it not being cloned :P

Jaysus I'm not that thick; I was trying out a funny way to point out their error. NOt sure that an L plate would be all that attractive in the UK. If using inappropriate year plates, generally better to get a good gap. If buying a 1999, would probably put something much older on it than a 1994 plate.

Nope tyres are the right size!

It's very strange indeed, there's two wishbones on each side, upper and lower,

The struts might be fecked, they look very very worn

But basically this is what it looks like now

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xtp1/t31.0-8/10506621_886780411365687_1663548648141111694_o.jpg

Christ that's shockin'. There must be no lower control arm bushes in it???

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

There is! Everything is in there, I've no idea what it could be, I'm going to start next week by getting it tracked and some new tyres on it, and if that doesn't cure it, well I dunno after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Thats the camber your polo needs:pac:

There is! Everything is in there, I've no idea what it could be, I'm going to start next week by getting it tracked and some new tyres on it, and if that doesn't cure it, well I dunno after that

If you turn it to full lock and then back to straight ahead does it stay like that? with the wild camber?

When you jack it up and hold the wheel at 6 and 12 what's the movement like? and the same at 3 and 9?

Thats the camber your polo needs:pac:

I'm a professional at this stage :pac:
    If you turn it to full lock and then back to straight ahead does it stay like that? with the wild camber?

When you jack it up and hold the wheel at 6 and 12 what's the movement like? and the same at 3 and 9?

Basically it'l stay the same when you steer it, and there is 0 movement in the wheel, bearings are grand, once you jack up the car, the wheels return to normal until they're turned while moving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

How is the drive shaft? I'm no expert on cars just thinking of what it could be as you said it only happens while driving.

I'm a professional at this stage :pac:

Basically it'l stay the same when you steer it, and there is 0 movement in the wheel, bearings are grand, once you jack up the car, the wheels return to normal until they're turned while moving

Are you sure you're pulling hard enough :p

What's the suspension setup on these? McPherson strut?

How is the drive shaft? I'm no expert on cars just thinking of what it could be as you said it only happens while driving.

The driveshafts are locked in, i made sure of it when i was putting them in

Are you sure you're pulling hard enough :p

What's the suspension setup on these? McPherson strut?

I'm pulling as hard as i can :pac:

Its this sorta set up

saabsuspension.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

The driveshafts are locked in, i made sure of it when i was putting them in

No but I am saying are they straight or warped. If warped it could cause that problem.
    I think anyway.

No but I am saying are they straight or warped. If warped it could cause that problem.

Ohh, gotcha now, no they're dead straight