If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

bear1 wrote: »
    So I brought the car to the mechanic today to finally try and get a diagnosis for the rattling noise when accelerating.
    Came back with 2 errors, P2004 and P2017 - both related to the inlet manifold.
    Car going in on the 30th to have the valve cleaned out and see if it cures it.
    Bet you all it doesn't.

Hopefully it will be something small and cheap to fix. You have had some serious run of bad luck with that car. Tbh if it was mine Id of had to sell it months ago as Things constantly going wrong in a car would just wreck my head. Although I suppose getting a replacement there is no gaurantees that will be any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

So earlier today Myself and 166man were jumping on the front doors of the polo with the windows down (as you do:pac::pac:) if that makes sense... Now the drivers window needs to be held back as you wind it up or it falls off its rails in a weird way :( anyone have any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    So earlier today Myself and 166man were jumping on the front doors of the polo with the windows down (as you do:pac::pac:) if that makes sense... Now the drivers window needs to be held back as you wind it up or it falls off its rails in a weird way :( anyone have any ideas?

What were you re-creating Dukes of Hazard episodes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I was out with some of the lads from college to get something to eat and the guy that was driving has a mk5 golf 1.4. So there was him and another guy in the front and then three of us in the back the back 2 of us are 6ft2 the other is 6ft3 and all reasonably well built although headroom wasn't an issue the weight kind of was. Christ there was a few hills which the 1.4 was really struggling :pac: infairness Id say even empty they are not exactly quick although grand around town. I wonder what the 1.6 is like in the mk5 I was never in one and there is not that many around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

What were you re-creating Dukes of Hazard episodes?

Nope. Just using it as a bouncy castle :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Bpmull wrote: »
    Hopefully it will be something small and cheap to fix. You have had some serious run of bad luck with that car. Tbh if it was mine Id of had to sell it months ago as Things constantly going wrong in a car would just wreck my head. Although I suppose getting a replacement there is no gaurantees that will be any better.

Well worst case scenario is I'll need a new inlet sensor which new from Honda is the guts of 150e.
    The other scenario is the inlet manifold valve is knackered.
    Hopefully a proper clean on the inlet will cure it.
    I have had some bad luck with it but to be fair to it it has never left by the side of the road.
    I can't sell it either at this point as with a baby on the way I just don't have the time nor extra funds. Should have worn a condom lol :D
    Hey ho, at least I'll know that all the common issues with the CDTIs will have been solved by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Dat feel when you look at a proper build thread and then back at yours.

Okay-meme_reasonably_small-1-.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »

Its even worse in real life haha, when you see it happening in front of you and you're there going...yep I'll get there some day too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

That feel when you can't afford to even open a build thread.
    Unemoyment, it's a wonderful thing really. :rolleyes:

CianRyan wrote: »

I'd nearly bet as soon as you get a job you'l have one of the best built ones going, what with yer skills and all that

I'm in the same boat, hey. Pains me not being able to get car parts... among other things.

In fairness I'm impressed with what you can do with such a tight budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Ive had my gtv for nearly two years and i rejoined solely with the intention of doing a rebuild thread.....the thing will be complete by the time I get started on it:mad:

In fairness I'm impressed with what you can do with such a tight budget

Thanks. I do what I can, sometimes sacrificing other things, but it still doesn't seem like much, especially when compared to other threads I browse through.

It's the little things that make a big difference in my opinion, some people may do crazy stuff, but it might not work in the end, but countless times you see lads here changing the interior bulbs or indicator lenses and it makes the world of difference

I'd nearly bet as soon as you get a job you'l have one of the best built ones going, what with yer skills and all that

Here, the less skills I have to use on my car the better. Haha
    Perhaps the diff, depending on what way the build goes. :p

Here, the less skills I have to use on my car the better. Haha
    Perhaps the diff, depending on what way the build goes. :p

Yeah true that, or just go project binky on it

"whats left of the orginal car?" "Oh eh this bit of quarter panel riiiiight here" :pac:

I do have ideas of fitting full 323 GTR running gear into an MX5 but not this one. That'll be another car and another year. Hahaha

That would be some craic :D

Also after today my next car is gona be japanese, because supra :P I'll ship one over if i have to, after seeing a 2jz today I must have one

In black

I fully support your decision to come to the Asian side of the turbo world. :D
    6 speed twin turbos are getting rare now, such awesome cars.

I fully support your decision to come to the Asian side of the turbo world. :D
    6 speed twin turbos are getting rare now, such awesome cars.

I'm glad haha, cause i know absolutely 0 about them, So the research will start, and once im finished throwing my money away on the saabs I'll start saving for one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I'm glad haha, cause i know absolutely 0 about them, So the research will start, and once im finished throwing my money away on the saabs I'll start saving for one of them

just watch the first the fast and furious movie for an informal education:cool:

i had the pleasure of owning a silver 96tt 6sp supra myself for about 9mths but redundcy ruined my fun:(

davycc wrote: »
    just watch the first the fast and furious movie for an informal education:cool:

i had the pleasure of owning a silver 96tt 6sp supra myself for about 9mths but redundcy ruined my fun:(

I have watched it and the only thing i came away with was you should always check to see if the door is open before smashing in the window :o :pac:

Ohh nice, id say that was fun while it lasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

great craic as a daily but tiny cabin and feck all boot space either and attracted skangers like no car ive ever had:(

having said that id have it back tomorrow if i was secure working again or even if the idiots in gubberment put the tax onto fuel instead i could run it as a sunday wagon:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I think I'm going to turn the 525 into a Garden Ornament, would look well :pac:

You do just that, then buy yourself a Legacy. :D

Y'know, I was looking at an estate before I bought this but I really can not hack Jap interiors, they're brutal!

I've been in enough BMW's and I can tell you, they're not much better. :p
    Honestly, a GT-B with leather and a touch screen and you're laughing.

I've been in enough BMW's and I can tell you, they're not much better. :p
    Honestly, a GT-B with leather and a touch screen and you're laughing.

For me, this is seriously grim
    SUBARULegacyWagon-2249_1.jpg

Compared to even this SE model:
    10028.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

It's mad, just dawned on me that I've got the Corolla six months today.

Here's to another 10 years